We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We went to the Rivera Maya, May 9 -16. We had a wonderful time in the end.
When we arrived at the airport for our transportation to our hotel, we were informed that our hotel, the Del Mar was closed. After about 15 min. of talking, we were told that they were taking people to the Lindo or the Maya. I understand that the travel agents were informed. Our agent at Liberty Travel didn't inform us of any changes. Also they didn't inform us about the airline changes either. It was a good thing that my husband was keeping an eye on things.
We were taken to the Lindo but told that we should go to the Maya. I was getting concerned. When we arrived they were wonderful. We had a Jr. suite overlooking the pool.
The hotel was beautiful. The art work was amazing. There were not a lot of tourist there because of the flu scare. We could go to the specialty restaurants every night. Some were closed different days because of the lack of tourist .By the time we left it seemed to have more people there.
The food was good. All the restaurants were fancier than the del Mar. If you were to stay at the Lindo or Maya bring dressier clothes . The del Mar had a casual atmosphere.
It has been said before, if you don't like to walk, this is not the place for you. The grounds were well kept and beautiful. But a lot of walking. We ate at the Italian, steakhouse, Mexican and the Japanese. All were good. The only problem was the Japanese. My husband ask for certain items cooked. They cook everything all together, then separate with what was ordered. He was served last. He had asked for shrimp,scallops, lobster and steak. NO SHRIMP, NO SCALLOPS LEFT. When we mentioned it they said OK. but nothing was done. One good thing I asked for no soy sauce and they did make it the way I wanted.We ate at the buffet a couple of times. I am a picky eater but I always found something. They will make it the way you want. The breakfast buffet is the best. A big variety of food.. I really miss the fresh fruit and juices every day.
We went on a shopping tour in Cancun, it was fun. We sent to X-caret. There is a lot of walking, so bring comfortable shoes. There is a lot to see. Not a lot of people. We talked to a man from the dolphin training. He gave us a deal. We swam with the dolphins, worth the cost what ever it is. They are beautiful creatures. We bought the DVD and picture CD. Always a plus. You really want it for future viewing. You can't use your own camera so the picture Cd is a plus. We did the X-caret plus. The night shows are very interesting. It also includes lunch and beverage.
We went on the snorkeling tour on the reef from the hotel. It was a lot of fun. Only 3 people on the boat and 2 guides. We met Lois, she stayed around the boat. Didn't like going very far away. My husband and I swan with the guide. The reef was fantastic . We saw a lobster and the coral was great. We even saw a sea turtle swimming around. The guide swam to the bottom and brought up at star fish. He put it on my hand. It was creepy but cool. We took a lot of pictures. The price is normally $45.00 which includes your equipment. They were giving a deal because it was slow. You are only gone for about and hour and a half, so you could go in the morning and still have lunch at the hotel. Well worth the money.
The rooms were very nice. The beds are a little hard but after a long day, it really doesn't matter. They do have extra pillows, it not just ask. The towel art was cute. Being our 4th visit, we have a fruit basket when we arrived and t-shirts. Nice touch!
The beach was very well kept. A few rocks but just watch where you are walking. There is a lot of activities on th beach. They are announced daily.
The pool was fun. I wish they had more activity games with the star friends. It seemed like the del Mar had more games.
We met some really nice people . One couple Jeff and Brandi from Texas. They were really nice, They were getting marries there. They invited us to watch they wedding. It was very touching. We hope they have a wonderful life together. We talked to another couple from Boston. Every one was very friendly I hope he was able to go back to work when he got back. (with the flu scare) Thanks for taking the picture.
If you need anything, you just have to ask the staff, They are all very accommodating.
The bars were good, Samuel at the Lindo bar was a lot of fun. He also made great drinks
Bring a lot of film The hotel is great, so may picture opts.
The lazy river and the wave pool was nice. We went in a few times. It would be great for children. They did have 2 hot tubs in the pool, only problem was there were not steps or railings You had to jump down in. It was not real easy.in or out. The weather was hot but the ocean breeze really helps..
My husband talked about people complain that the drinks are watered down. We disagree, the bar is watered down not the drinks. The waterfall over the pool bar is really neat.
I would highly recommend any the the Iberostar resorts in the Rivera Maya. We have always had a great time there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,384
    716
    252
    106
    73
See reviews for
1401
537
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

This is our second visit to the Lindo/Maya. Why, because we love it. Everything people say good about this place is right on.
It is really sad that Iberostar Star had to close four out of seven of their Riviera Maya Resorts. Shame on the media for making such a big deal about the swine flu. Don't let it stop you from going to this wonderful place.
Occupancy rate was only at 50%. The Star Friends hope the other resorts will be open again in June. We walked over to the Del Mar/ Paraiso side. It was so sad to see this resort empty.
If I wanted anything changed about this resort it would be for Iberostar to have a no smoking section in the theater. We left a few nights during the shows because the smoke really bothered us. Wish smokers would be more considerate.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Just returned from the Iberostar Paraiso Maya after being moved from the Iberostar Tucan. Well I'm sure everyone is aware of the current tourist downturn in Mexico but that's all the more reason to go to Mexico now! It's the best deal you'll ever see.
First of all this hotel is an upgrade from the Tucan / Queztal in Playa del Carmen. Is the service better? It's the same - great. Is the food better? It's the same menu's used in similar ale carte's at ALL Iberostar Mexico/Carribean restaurants. There is food to suit any taste or diet - but why diet it's a vacation. I've now stayed at quite a few Iberostar properties and I love them all and the similarities are very obivious - quality food, great service, good value, and beautiful surroundings. The Maya has very nice rooms, with plenty of space, comfortable beds, very clean, and maintained very well. The beach is fantastic and provides all the Iberostar amenities - beach bar, grille, water sports, and beautiful clear Carribean water. The pools are big including 2 lake pools, a wave pool, a lazy river, and a sports pool. Their is a swim up bar under a waterfall and a pool bar at the wave pool. There is a seperate kids pool with fun things for little ones. This complex is great for couples, families, or even singles. Plenty of things to do for all and nightly entertainment that is fun. The "Star Friends" staff work very long hours to make your stay enjoyable and certainly put their hearts into the nightly performances! My stay has to rank as one of the all time best in Mexico (11 trips) and I was totally happy with the hospitality Iberostar and all the staff extended me - both the Tucan reservation department and the Maya staff!!! If you've never experienced Iberostar Hotels give them a try - you won't be disappointed!
Now just a word about the carping over the consolidation. If you don't have an experienced and reliable travel agent I feel sorry for you. For those folks unhappy because some got an upgrade to this property shame on you. We who booked at other Iberostar properties didn't ask to be relocated and Iberostar didn't ask to have their business crushed by the "W.H.O." & "C.D.C."!! Those who paid full price for the Maya or Lindo - no one twisted your arm - start researching your vacations better - there have been plenty of sales prior to the flu scare - enough said.
"Flu"!! - How many gun murders have there been all over America just this year - small towns and big cities - it's the times and smaller world we live in.
Go on vacation - enjoy yourself - be smart!!
If you have specific questions please feel free to email me.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We were at the resort May 10-16 and loved it. The food was average for an all inclusive, but the rooms and bathroom were big, the grounds were beautiful, the facilities were attractive and very well maintained, the service was great, the beach was big and clean, and the pools were clean and fabulous. Another plus was that it's fairly close to the airport (about 20 minutes), unlike the hotels at the other end of the strip, which would be up to an hour away.

The resort is large, so we definitely walked a lot, but the walking was nice because everything was so beautiful. We chose the hotel based on price and were very happy with what we got for the money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I have been to many Caribbean resorts in my life and this resort was the absolute best! The beach is pristine. It can be busy by the beach bar, but if you walk down a bit, it is very quiet and peaceful. The pool is amazing. We relaxed in the lazy river at least once a day. The food was very very good. We ate at the buffet by the pool for breakfast and lunch and Armando was always there to greet us with a smile and sodas. There were so many specialty restaurants to choose from - we didn't have enough to fit all of them in to our stay. But our favorites were: La Marina (seafood), Italian, L'Etoile (French) and Japanese. All of the restaurants were very quiet and relaxing except the Japanese as this seemed to be the most popular restaurant. The rooms were immaculate and so spacious. Big jacuzzi tub, shower, two sinks, king size bed, sofa, balcony. We also went to the spa regularly for a break from the 90 degree sun from time to time. The roman baths, jacuzzi and massage pools, along with sauna and steam room are all included. However, I also booked a massage and facial at an additional cost and the services were amazing. The entire resort was spotless. The staff was very friendly. Lots of space to find quiet, relaxing ambiance. Our favorite places to sit with a drink were outside of the Lindo bar by the fountains and in the Maya lobby bar. I am recommending this resort to everyone I know and I know for sure I will be back at the Maya again in the future. Oh and last thing... our cell phone and internet on our i-phone worked which was perfect so we could check on our children back home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

service service service. Can I say more. hotel grounds amazing. went MAY 9 - 15TH . Resort slow first few days because of the bug. Their loss our gain. Ive been too all 4 islands hawaii and loved it there. But this resort is better. never once had to get my own drink refill even at buffets. Food was great at all restaurants. Pools were large perfect water temperture. beach water amazing. Resort rooms the best; very large and quite.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

One week before my boyfriend and I were supposed to go to Mexico, the swine flu broke out. We were skeptical to go to Mexico at first, but we realized that people were making a huge deal out of nothing, so we decided to go. Everyone told us not to go, but we knew that this would be an AWESOME vacation.

We were supposed to stay at the Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, but when we arrived to the hotel, they told us that they were closed!! The front desk told us that they would be taking us to the Iberostar Paraiso Maya, which we didn't know anything about (we always do a lot of research before booking any vacation). As soon as we arrived, we amazed how gorgeous the place was. The check in only took 5 minutes and they even gave us a cold drink while we were waiting!!

After checking in, they brought our bags to our room, which was nice because we were able to relax. The room was very nice. Big TV, private balcony, king size bed, and a decent size shower. There was even a mini bar in the room that had beer, soda, and water. We told the maid to leave us a lot of water and beer and she did.

While we were walking around, we noticed that the hotel was EMPTY!!!!!!! We were happy because we knew that we would be able to make as many reservations to the specialty restaurants as we wanted. At first we couldn't find the conceirge desk, but its right below the stairs. We booked 6 reservations at the different specialty restaurants.

FOOD- The first night, we ate the Cajun restaurant. The food was good, but VERY salty (I am not kidding). The breakfast was the best at La Marina. They had new things to try everyday! All of the fruits and breads were fresh. We loved the omelete station. The hamburgers, nachos, and french fries are a nice snack on the beach. The seafood restaurant was also really good. The lobster was DELICIOUS!!! The Mexican restaurant was ok. French restaurant was good also. We got the grilled lamb ribs and tenderloin steak. The best was the rib eye steak at the steak house. On our last night, we ate the steak house and they brought over a plate of onion rings and grilled shrimp on top of our meals!!! That was really nice of them.

Room Service- We ordered food at around 3PM and they told us that it would take a 1/2 hour. The food ended up coming at 4:30! We didn't order room service the rest of the trip. It is nice that it's 24 hours.

Drinks- The drinks were ok at the pool bar, but at the lobby bar they are the best. We ordered 2 shots and before you know it, the bartender is bringing us 4 at a time. They are trying to get everyone to have fun, which is nice.

Pools- Wow!!! We loved the sports pool, the main pool, and the private pools. The place also had a lazy river, which is nice while you having a drink to float in the water. There was a wave pool, but we didn't go in. We are shocked that parents would allow their children into the wave pool unsupervised. They would walk away!!!

Don't forget to pack the following:

- Sunblock
- Aloe (that helps with the sunburn)
- Soap (they only had shower/bath gels).
- Conditioner- they dont have any at the hotel.

Overall, we had a nice relaxing vacation.

Liked- Beach, private pools, food, drinks, staff
Disliked- While we at the lobby bar, we noticed that someone didn't finish their popcorn, so they put fresh popcorn on top of the old popcorn and gave it to us. I am not kidding. Also, they only rinsed the shot glasses, but didn't clean them.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, VISIT US, INC. and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.