We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VACATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT VACATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent week we would like to say thank you to all the friendly people that took care of us especially Mrs. Tatiana the lady at Concierge lobby (the lady with the big smile)very professional she helped us with everything we needed. I wish you can train all concierges like her.
We will be back

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    873
    316
    126
    87
See reviews for
1,647
679
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our family of five had a fabulous vacation at the Maya!! The staff went to amazing efforts to make sure this was an excellent stay. We had three scuba divers in our group, so it was very convenient to have the dive shop on site. I would definitely recommend this property to others for a top notch/relaxing vacation. I would also like to suggest the Xenote Oasis Maya tour for beautiful/adventurous scenery. Do not let negative comments keep you from staying here as I feel those people are generally just a negative person. I have been there and have no idea what they are complaining about.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great food, pools, proximity to the cirque du soleil. Nice gym and possibilities to play golf or simply drive balls. There is always food if you are hungry. The lounge bar has sheshas for rent for appox 28usd. The cab ride to playa del Carmen is approximately 25$ and takes about 15 minutes.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Large Resort with lot's of eating options....IF you make a reservation.
This is a large resort, fairly well kept. The food was surprisingly good.
When you check in, make SURE you select and reserve your table at your desired restaurant. If you try and go with a reservation, you will be offended at how you are treated. I think this "policy" is an effort to reduce food waste and maybe to regulate traffic flow in the restaurants, but, oh yeah, WE ARE ON VACATION ! We were turned away from two restaurants with less than 30% of the tables occupied, because we did not have a reservation. The room location matters as this resort is quite large. We had a garden view, which I recommend for the "quiet time" you'll need. I read previous reviews about the beds, and I am here to tell you the beds are QUITE FIRM. Our maid service was excellent. My kids wore out the poor room service folks, but they showed up with a smile each time. The WiFi was very good for a Mexican resort. We have been to over 15 different resorts in Cancun and the Rivera Maya. You can also enjoy the adjacent Iberostar properties if you plan to stay for more than 4 or 5 days, you'll want to check it out. The buffets are well presented with lots of options, so my kids and parents had no issues finding something they liked. The golf course is incredible, but be sure to bring lots of golf balls, and drink a lot of water. The wave pool was a disappointment for the kids, it only makes waves once per hour, so the kids lose interest. The water slide "pirate ship" is for little kids, no more than 8 years old. Poolside drink service was hit or miss, even though we tipped every time. Lounge chair BLOCKING is alive and well, so if you want shade; get out there early. One last thought, we were asked to attend a "free" breakfast to hear the spill about joining the Iberostar Club, we agreed, but later decided not to, the representative was nothing short of nasty about it when we cancelled.
We used "Iberoservice" for our transportation and it went perfectly.

Room Tip: Room location matters a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was my seventh trip to this wonderful complex, over the last 5 years. The first three visits were to the sister resort of Iberostar Paraiso Lindo with the next four being the Maya. These two resorts were similar in regards to privileges until about 2 years ago. As a result, the Maya is worth upgrading to.

When writing a review it’s always important to know a person’s experience and background. Personally, I travel 5-7 times a year to the Caribbean and Mexico (both coasts) usually to 4.5 and 5 star resorts. Higher end chains like Iberostar, RIU, Barceló, Gran Bahia, Melia and Sandals to name a few.

Below are a few comments on all areas of the resort.

ROOM
Even though we spent little time in the room itself, it was wonderful. Rooms are very large with all the comforts of home. Not only was the room and the sitting area large but they were very well decorated and maintained. In addition the bar fridge was full upon arrival and refilled with beverages on a daily basis. It contained a wide selection of beverages.

The room also had a decent size flatscreen tv (dvd player attached) with a decent selection of channels including CNN International, BBC World News, TNT. In addition, we also had a clock radio with a built in cd player.

The room had very large closets (2), with plenty of hangers and a nice size safe. Closet also contained an umbrella and an iron. Coffee maker with supplies was also available.

The bathroom was very large with a nice size walk-in shower and a very large tub with a built-in whirlpool.

Towels were plentiful and replaced daily.

Maid service was done early each morning, usually by 9am.

Each building has its own concierge desk which is mainly used for booking dinners but they can and will assist you with any questions and concerns.

In addition each building has a unique outdoor lobby that you simply can`t walk through without staring in amazement.

Unlike the Lindo, the Maya has elevators in each building.


LOBBIES/BARS
Perhaps the most famous bar in the Mayan Riviera, the famous snake bar.
This famous bar is inside a replica of the Mayan Pyramid of Kukulkan, the pyramid that`s found at Chichen Itza.

The entire lobby area is nothing short of amazing. It`s basically like walking thru a museum.

In the general area of the bar is a cigar lounge, café and plenty of shops.


BUFFETS
Even the pickiest eater can find something to eat.

The main indoor buffet is in the lobby area of the neighbouring Lindo. The buffet is split into two adjoining seating areas though one side is usually closed during off-season.

In addition to the main buffet, you have the option of two restaurants near the main pool area(one reserved for Maya guests) as well as the outdoor restaurant in the neighbouring Iberostar Paraiso Beach/ Del Mar.

For breakfast there is also a buffet in the Seafood restaurant in the Maya lobby area (a la carte at night).


À LA CARTES
Even though the buffet would satisfy most people, it`s always nice to be pampered at one of the wonderful a la cartes. Be warned that seating is limited and not all restaurants are opened every night. Several seating’s are available each night.

The Steak House, Japanese and Cajun were my favourite three restaurants though I really enjoyed all the selections available.

Unlike many resorts you can go every night to one of these specialty restaurants.

Book early at your concierge desk.

POOLS
The complex has a countless number of pools in the 4 resorts that you are allowed to visit and enjoy. All pools are very large with a unique design.

In addition, several pools have a swim up bar. Pool activities usually end around lunch time. This can be very loud so it`s always a good idea to visit the beach in the morning and one of the pools in the afternoon.

Pools are well maintained but are not heated.

Attached to the main Lindo pool is the wave action pool that is mainly for children. A short walk away is the lazy river that is very lazy, suited for younger children.

BEACH
Wow. A large and wide beach with plenty of shade. The water can be very rough with a red flag being the norm depending on season. This trip the water was calmer with a daily yellow flag.

The beach is well maintained with a life guard tower that isn`t always manned.

The water can be very refreshing with few, if any rocks.

In addition to the great sand and water and shade you also have a very convenient beach bar and bbq area with burgers, fries, tacos, etc. and a second area with desserts.

In this area is also some of the activities including archery. Walk along the beach and you`re quickly in the beach area of the Iberostar Beach and Del Mar which has its own bar and bbq area. Since it has a different selection of food, it`s worth the small walk.


GROUNDS
The grounds are nothing short of amazing. This complex is a combo between a museum and high end beach resort.

It is well maintained. Since this is a very large complex, it`s easy to get lost and confused but it will never be boring.


GYM
The complex has a well-stocked gym for burning off those excessive calories that can easily be consumed throughout the day. In addition, bicycle tours are available to enjoy and become familiar with this large complex.

STAFF
The resort is well staffed with plenty of people throughout. They are very fluent in English and very helpful and friendly.

ENTERTAINMENT
Year over year the entertainment hasn’t changed much but I always thought it was well done with a wide selection of performances. The theater is very large so even during peak season you should find seating.

INTERNET
Free to visitors of the Maya and Lindo resorts. Wi-Fi is now throughout the resort, including the beach area.

CLIENTELE
Mainly English speaking tourists from Canada and the United States.

SHOPPING COMPLEX
In addition to the shops that are within all lobbies, there is also a shopping complex that is shared by all resorts in this complex. It is across from the Lindo lobby.

In addition to shops, you also have more free food options which includes hamburger, taco and crêpes restaurants. All indoors. A new bar is also available.

Local vendors will be near the lobbies of the Maya and Lindo two or three times a week.

CONCLUSION
Most people ask two major questions of any resort. Would you recommend it and would you go back. Easy answer is a big YES to both questions.

This is a very large complex and you have access to four resorts, all offer something to do during the day and night. Take advantage of the entire complex and not just your section of the complex.

Room Tip: Building 61 facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmoore,
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Book though Apple vacations, it was termed a mystery trip as we would not know where we were staying until we got to the departing airport which was Philadelphia. We were then told where we would stay. Four to Five Hotels were included in the mystery trip, all in Mexico and all Golden Apple ratings.
We landed at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, Mexico. The hotel was beautiful with a Mayan theme including many Mayan statures. Rooms were spacious, comfortable and well tended. Being near water, I would say that there was a moldy smell, but we were able to cope. Travedl with four other family members. All had a great time. The pool is humongus, with large swim up bar, wave pool, bar by the pool. Weather was great every day, not too hot or too cold. Floated on the lazy river, enjoyed the pools, food was usually good. All in all, a good experience. Only one issue, not ocean front, but still a short walk to the beach and sea. Numerous chairs surrounding the pool area and also the beach, however, even though signs everywhere stating no reserving chairs, you had to get to the pool and beach areas as most of the chairs were reserved. Gentle breeze from the sea was most enjoyable. All in all, a nice respite from the winter cold of Phila area.

Room Tip: We were in room 6203, no view from the rear, porch with chairs and table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We travelled with teens and toddlers and there was something for everyone . The todlers loved the wave pool and the teens love the waves at the beach and the icecream bar.
Food was excellent and so was the service .
If being connected is important...there was strong WiFi in the room and by the pool.
The night shows were very entertaining specially the Magician from Argentina.
Loved the decor with Mayan thems everywhere .
Definitely a great place for families .

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.