We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Paraiso Maya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Iberostar Paraiso Maya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have been staying to this hotel 4 times (in which 2 years in a row) and this year we have felt that there was slackness in the hotel management and the service related to it. We traveled with family members and some of them had problems with room service either by not having their mini fridge filled with water, etc. on a daily basis. For ourselves it was in the night room preparation we have seen some lacking. Some nights we had someone over to prepare beds, remove dirty towels to put clean ones and some other nights no one came. Other than that, food is good, excellent service at the restaurants, however some time food was cold at the lunch buffet (Maya or Lindo). As we have disbursed quite a good sum for our week of vacation, we would have expected the service to be as it was before or even greater.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are located in quiet areas except ones facing the pool area. You should ask for ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    815
    290
    118
    84
See reviews for
1,575
621
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed at numerous Iberostar resorts, the Paraiso Maya was by far the best. The resort was clean, beautiful and the staff was impeccable. We were upgraded to a family suite with adjoining rooms which worked perfectly for our family of six. Our rooms were cleaned by 10:00AM each day and done perfectly. The Maya had a wonderful selection of eateries from full course dinning to casual meals excellent when traveling with a large party which includes children.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everything about our experience was exceptional. The people were very friendly, the facility very clean, the shows entertaining, and the variety and quality of food was good. We really liked the steak house El Rancho. My only regret is we weren't there longer than five days as we didn't have enough time to experience everything there.
I would definitely go back and recommend to anyone. Just watch out for the Tequila it will sneak up on you if you're not careful. Lol.
The Star friends who perform at the shows and lead activities on the beach and at the pool are a lot fun and are very enthusiastic.
They are continuously performing maintenance like removing every dead leaf from trees and the ground keeping the grounds and facilities pristine.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

this property was rated a 6 golden apple from Apple Vacations as was the property next door (Grand). It appeared there was no comparison. That being said, we had a great time and the staff and facilitates were great.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

are sink wouldn't drain the first day we got there called and they came and fixed it right away. But the next morning the shower drain was plugged they sent someone out but it stayed clogged and buy the looks of the wall in the entryway it had been an issue for a while.. I'm sure there is a mold issue from this the water would fill up and seep threw the wall and come out in the entry. It was slippery and very dangerous and you could smell a moldy smell. We both was feeling sick when we left

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The food was not good! It was the same every night, with very little changes. The only a la carte that was enjoyable was the Mexicana one. We didn't enjoy the Buffet which we would normally like. Breakfast was where we got out fill.

The Gym workout room had the basic equipment, but I was advised that everything would be upgraded in a year. However the classes AT the gym were great!! loved the boot camp, and my sister in law enjoyed the pilates!

Gina and Lety at the Star Kids club were great with the kids. My son had enjoyed and made some friends there.

Gil, David, Sarai, Alex, Esau, and Israel and teh rest of the entertainment crew were AMAZING!! They made the whole trip for the family entertaining. and they engaged with a lot with the guests. Gil chatted with the whole family (11 of us) daily. David had a lot of energy everyday!

Room cleaning service was great! Couldn't as for better.

If you like tennis, booked it as soon as you arrive, spots go quickly.

Room Tip: Choose a buildings away from the beach, that way you are more are central to the beach and and the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers Lake
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'll do a quick recap and then a longer one for those wanting more info.
We had a group of 11.... 6 adults, 5 smaller kids. We are regulars at family friendly all-inclusives and we were at an Iberostar last year in Jamaica.

QUICK RECAP:

Pros: Beautiful resort, rooms were good and clean, staff was polite/helpful, lots to do, nice pools, kid friendly, decent entertainment, we needed a trip to the ER which was handled well/professionally

Cons: Way too spread out/way too much walking + poor signs to guide your way around, you can't actually see the beach from anywhere else on the resort (there's a large grove of trees that blocks the view of all rooms/pools/etc), the food is below average even by all-inclusive standards, a large number of staff weren't fluent in English which made navigating the resort difficult and getting accurate information a challenge at times

DETAILED REVIEW:
*Airport trip was only about 40 mins, not much traffic
*Check-in was easy and quick BUT they wouldn't consider our request for months to get Bldg #60 or 61 which would have meant less walking around etc
*Rooms are nice, almost exact same as other Iberostars we've been at
*The entertainment stage had decent shows, better than previous resorts for the most part
* Pool/beach chairs go quickly

*The staff was nice/polite and never rude but at the same time they weren't very outgoing or overly eager to please like what we experienced last year in Jamaica--we felt more taken care of there.
*The food isn't that great at all and we're not really overly concerned with food quality. All-inclusive are known for so-so food options and this resort is probably a little below average. Japanese and Steak were best options. Seafood and Italian were pretty poor.
*Room service was pretty good...they got it right and were usually there before their standard warning of "it'll be approximately 45 minutes"
*Maids were great, room was cleaned each day very well, zero complaints

*The resort is too big. If you have someone in your group with difficulties getting around (elderly, kids too big for strollers) I would consider a different resort. The add'l activities that a larger resort allow aren't worth the add'l walking around. We wasted way too much vacation time walking between locations, not to mention the wandering around not knowing exactly where we needed to be (the maps they give you aren't helpful enough and the signs are pretty weak)

*Not being able to see the beach is a bummer....it definitely detracted from our experience and I probably would have considered another resort had we realized that you literally cannot see the beach from anywhere on the resort until you actually go out to the beach.

*The beach area is decent/plenty of room, sand is nice, lots of activities..there is a decent amount of seaweed on the shore and particles of it floating in the water, but we also noticed this down in Playa Del Carmen and at other resorts we walked by. I think this probably has more to do with the Riviera Maya area this time of year and isn't a knock exclusively against this resort.

*WiFi was decent in most areas, including our room

*We had a trip to the ER. My wife slipped in the bathroom (our own fault) and it was handled well by the staff. There was a physician in the room in 5 mins, very professional and competent (my wife is a P.A.) ambulance ride was quick and uneventful, hospital in Cancun was good and staff was very good following up and showing concern when we returned from ER (she needed staples in her head and had concussion), a formal incident report was required. Overall we were surprised at how quick and thoroughly it all was handled.

CONCLUSION:
Overall we had a nice vacation. We will probably look elsewhere next year due mainly to the amount of walking required and lack of beach views.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., VISIT US, INC. , Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.