We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberastar Parisio Maya” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Iberastar Parisio Maya”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been to several all inclusive resorts. This resort has beautiful rooms friendly and helpful staff but the food was nothing special, also people reserve chairs on the beach and at the pool areas at 7:00 AM therefore it becomes difficult to find shaded areas if you wake up after 8:00 AM.
After being there for 6 days we were ready to come home...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,365
    704
    246
    102
    72
See reviews for
1378
529
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I agree with the other reviewers. Spent 5 days for a destination wedding. The food and service at this hotel were not good. The facilities at the hotel were very nice. Rooms were large, and so were the bathrooms, and both were very modern. The service at the "fine dining" restaurants was not good. They required reservations and argued with part of our party about seating them even though the restaurant was nearly empty. We had a larger group - after arguing with us about seating part of the group that didn't have a reservation, they also would not let us put our smaller tables together. We had the same issue in the French restaurant and the steak restaurant on two different nights. Also, when we ate at the French restaurant, we had a manager come over to our table and tell us that customers had complained that we were too loud, even though we were not loud and our friends across the restaurant said they could not hear us. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REHOBOTH, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Let me first say that I have stayed at quite a few all-inclusive resorts. That being said, I didn't think this resort was that nice considering the cost of the rooms. The hotel, itself, was clean and the staff was friendly. The food left something to be desired. We went to breakfast after the morning rush and they constantly ran out of food. They only had one person cooking the eggs to order, so there was always a LONG line for that. The food temperature was not safe I felt for the meats and cheeses that were left out for consumption. You had to make a reservation to get into any of the specialty restaurants, which was okay, but the restaurants were never even at half capacity and we were told that they could not accommodate us. The seafood restaurant was the worst, by far. Not one of us, from a party of 6, could eat our meal. The food was inedible. Overall, we made the best of it, but we will not be returning to this resort any time soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent a weekend here for a destination wedding. The grounds are fantastic, big, pretty, very Mexican. Rooms are v. big an spacious. Huge pool, great beach.

Food - well below average. Service - borderline rude at times, slow and apathetic.

Would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya and for taking the time to post your comments!

We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our delicious food and our terrific beach.

We take pride in offering a unique and memorable visit to our guests, so we are all very motivated by your words.

In regard to the situation in one of our shows, we are so sorry for the attitude you are describing. Our performers should be able to improvise in those cases. We will forward your feedback to our Entertainment Manager for his consideration.

We appreciate your lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this is our fourth time to this resort over the last five years, we love this hotel because it is close to the airport only 40 out,
we have noticed that this hotel is getting old and the quality is starting to go down a bit,
I agree with most of the other people, the food is just OK, the drinks on the other hand are definitely water down for sure, but if you want a decent drink then the only place to get it is at the lobby bar ONLY,
the room, bed, pillows, blanket were are ok and comfy for us,
there are other pools in this property that are quite and busy, for example building #60 has its own private pool, so we spend some time there with the kids , it was relaxing and very quite,
so over all this trip to this hotel was just OK

Room Tip: choose building #60 not facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel was just ok. Pool area very nice and convenient to our hotel. Lobby was also nice. The biggest complaints that i have are with the room and the fact that not enough people speak english. The toilets do not flush well and the shower leaked like crazy on the floor. There arent enough outlets to charge your phones and other devices. The room does not have enough light. More of the staff need to speak english. My husband had a simple request for an ironing board and they had no clue. Lastly, the food was just ok. It was very hard to get a restaurant with reservations.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was the first time our family has been on vacation to Mexico and we really found an excellent place for our first experience, everything was well above expectations (food, decor, service, friendliness, pool facilities, etc..).

The only 2 minor issues we had were:
1) Look out for coral reefs underwater at the beach! They can really hurt you if you step on them, and they are practically impossible to see through the waves and the surf. Overall, they are quite far and few in between.

2) Our bed was not very supportive, it sagged so much in the middle that it made for a horrible night's sleep. My wife and i are not very heavy people, we are about equal weight and we have a combined weight of 280lbs, so this should have been easy for the bed to handle. We informed the hotel staff, and they promptly added padding to the top of the bed, but that didn't solve the problem. I ended up sleeping in one bed with my 7 year old, my wife slept in the other bed with my 3 year old, then everything was fine.

Overall, we would gladly return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.