We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

If you don't need the extra large room, would not updgrade to the Maya, stay in the Lindo. The gourmet restaurants are not worth the additional fee and we believe the top shelf liquor was watered down. However, we loved our romm at the Maya, large, clean and the bed was really comfortable. The staff were excellent, very accomodating and nice. Loved the grounds, they are beautiful. Lot's to do with the night club, mall etc. and the pool area was fun. The umbrella situation on the beach is an issue if you don't get there really early to reserve a spot. Overall, we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Let us begin by extending our sincere appreciations to you for choosing our resort to spend your vacation, and for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the rest of the online community.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a nice stay and enjoyed our grounds, shows, pools, and our facilities in general.

On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed about our food and beverages quality. Our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager will be informed about your feedback.

We understand your disagreement about our chair pools and beach. This is not allowed in our resort but it is still done, so we are working on finding viable solutions.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you and your family again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,668
    893
    329
    132
    90
See reviews for
1,688
697
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sufffolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our first visit to Mexico to attend a wedding at this hotel and I must agree with previous reviewers that the rooms and food are way below par , we booked through Thomsons on the 10th August 2013 and requested 2 higher floor rooms but on arrival were allocated ground floor , they managed to find us one higher room but the kids had to wait a few days to be moved ( not a good start) . The rooms were dreary and need updating the hairdryer was not working so maintenance fixed it twice with a bit of wire ,sticky tape and some plaster to keep it in the wall , the bath had lime scale in the jets for the jacuzzi and the basin had a crack in it, the towels didn't always smell clean ( musty smell ) and the air conditioning was noisy , definitely not 5 star I would give it 3 star at best .
Now to the food , the breakfast was ok with plenty of choice but make sure you go to the buffet near reception which shuts at 10 as the buffet nearer to the beach that stays open until 11.30 is truly dreadful. Lunch is buffet style and the Lindo buffet is the better choice , you will find something I am sure but not always great . The biggest disappointment was the evening speciality restaurants the Mexican and Jambalya were incredibly poor and both French restaurants and the steakhouse were average at best, the best was the Japanese as this was cooked in front of you so stayed hot,most of our food was served cold or lukewarm , not a great experience when you book a 5 star hotel.
The grounds were maintained well but the longer we stayed there you would notice areas that needed attention especially around the pools
( broken tiles , fountain not working , etc ) the animals would tip the bins over for food and they would not be cleared, drink cups were left uncleared, at times the pool areas would look dirty and unattended . Room service trays were left outside and the animals would come in and eat from them.
We have travelled the world staying in 5 star hotels and this resort does not match any other experience we have had . I am sure Mexico has lots to offer and I expect there are some great hotels to visit, sadly Iberostar is not one of them,I would suggest that you look elsewhere for your 5 star experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very sorry that your first visit to our resort was not that you would have wanted.

Our goal is always to provide our guests with the best experiences, and to realize that we could not meet your expectations really saddens us. Please be sure our Front Desk Staff works hard to try and satisfy all of our guests’ requirements; however, we depend on our occupancy at the moment of arrival. We apologize for the inconvenient.

We truly regret that you were disappointed with the specific areas you have mentioned; your observation caught our attention because this is not the impression we wish to give to our guests; our Maintenance team and our Housekeeping Department supervise that our areas and our rooms are in perfect condition. They will be informed about your observations in order to pay attention to these areas.

Likewise we are very sad to read that you were not happy with our specialty restaurants; we do know they are a very important part of our guests' holiday, and that is why our Executive Chef is always working to provide the best for our guests; we will send him your comments to take into account.

When our guests present their concerns while at the resort, corrective actions are taken. We work to exceed your expectations and our service is key; so once again we apologize for the inconvenient with the Room Service, and please rest assured that all your concerns are our priority and will not go unnoticed.

We once again want to sincerely apologize for the experience described and really hope to have another opportunity to host you in our hotel or in any of our sister hotels to show you the great service we are capable of offering.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barto, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great trip, beautiful resort. Everyone was extremely polite and willing to help you in any way they could. A big thank you to Ivan, (Uncle Ivan) from Olympus Tours who was extremely helpful and a lot of fun in helping us plan our excursions. I would highly recommend this vacation to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya for your recent vacation in Mexico.

It gives us a great deal of satisfaction hearing that we have been successful in providing you with an outstanding vacation. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the service delivered by our staff. Moreover, we will also pass your lovely recognition onto Mr. Ivan from Olympus.

Once again, thank you very much for your trust in us. We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at IBEROSTAR!

Sunny regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We just returned 8/9/2014 from the Iberostar Paraisio Maya. Two things are clear. First, it is clear that this was intended as a much nicer resort and likely was when it was new. However, it is not new and it is not maintained in a way that can claim a 5 Star rating. Second, it is clear that ownership / investors are not reinvesting in this property to maintain it as it should be. Our room was very average, with average amenities, restroom marginally clean, light fixtures in disrepair, towel rack pulling off the wall. The electricity went out several times for short periods, the air conditioning broke for several hours and made one night stay uncomfortable. The pool deck was filthy, never observed any attempt to clean it. Feet became dirty just walking around the pool. Getting in the pool was the only way to clean your feet. It is a shame because the property has potential. Magnificent fountain in front was broken during our entire stay. We expected more.

Room Tip: Choose a different resort?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya for your recent stay in Mexico and for sharing your honest feedback with us.

We regret to hear about the issue you had with your accommodations. Our Maintenance Team works hard to keep our rooms, our pools and our facilities in general, clean and beautiful every day, so we are saddened to read about your experience, and no doubt will we inform them about your feedback.

Once again, we offer an apology for any inconvenience that may have happened during your stay. We have taken note of your concerns and we will meet with the departments concerned to avoid similar situations in the future.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and recover your trust, showing you the great service we are capable of offering.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This property is a perfect get away for families! We have stayed at this property about 8 times over the last few years. We traveled with another family and had three teenagers in our group. There is plenty to keep them entertained thru the day, lots of water sports, painting, games, & pool activities. There are many choices for places to eat with a large variety of foods. The food is NOT anything special but kids seem to like it. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing get away, this is NOT the place! Kids are everywhere. It is loud & constantly crowded. This was a little frustrating when trying to make reservations for dinner. The Japanese is consistantly booked, make your reservations upon arrival. The rooms are clean & large enough for a small family. The staff is friendly & helpful. We took a taxi into Playa for shopping & dinner. The bellman was very helpful to secure a van that we all could go together.

Room Tip: Our room was centrally located, not too far from the pool area. (Bldg 62) It is a nice walk to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire team of IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya, we would like to thank you for letting us know how your vacations went at our resort.

We feel very proud to receive these lovely comments from one of our repetitive guests. We are grateful for your praise about the cleanliness of our property and our high level of service.

Our a la carte restaurants are a very popular feature in our resort, and most of our guests wish to visit them, that is why we recommend our guests to make their first three dinner reservations in advance or immediately upon arrival. We have a limited quota per seating (4 seatings per day) so that our guests can enjoy a relaxing dinner. We are sorry about the inconvenience.

We genuinely hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again in the near future and as such, we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We traveled for 7 glorious days and we had a spectacular time. I traveled with my husband and 2 boys 17 and 14. We are fun people and enjoyed 3 amazing excursions (swimming with Whale Sharks, Tulum, and Xcaret). We did not utilize everything the hotel had to offer. We did not see any shows, but Star Friends were the friendliest people on the resort. This includes the majority of other tourists. The Maya seems to draw uptight snooty people. The people at Del-Mar were much more social. That being said we stayed at the Maya with hopes of better food and better drinks.
The food is OK. Steakhouse did not impress (the salmon was good). Japanese different than the states, but OK. La Marina was OK, but seafood overcooked and chewy. The best meal we had (we taste each others food and see who ordered the best) was the Duck at the gourmet. Kudos to the gourmet, best meal in 7 days. I can't stress enough the importance of getting reservations as soon as you get there. They did not receive our e-mail prior to arrival and glad we listened to prior reviews. The buffets had a little of everything, no one will starve. It gets old, just like it would if you ate everyday, twice a day, at a buffet in the States. The best was the Lindo buffet. The wait staff at the Lindo is also the friendliest. A smile goes a long way. Beer was Sol or Dos Equis. The snake bar had the best drinks.
The beaches were beautiful and yes the towel game UGHH. There is a towel stand at the beach. The waves are Wildwood NJ at best. The Dominican had great waves for jumping. The pools were nice. Wave pool is a ripple pool meant for under 10 yrs old. Del Mar pool is beautiful.
Our second room was beautiful with a view of a jungle. The first had no AC and after hours of patience, 5 trips to the main lobby after failed attempts by maintenance and my husbands expressions that we were not looking for an upgrade just a room with AC. We found out later the motor had to be replaced. The front desk manager finally found us another room. The showers are spacious room was clean, please tip the maid it is worthwhile. If you want a bath, plan ahead it takes 45 min to fill.
The taxi into town (soooo safe) is $25.00 each way, set rate. We were in Playa strolling everywhere and as per our taxi driver ate at El Fugon. This was the best dinner. 4 meals, 3 beers = $40.00 USD.
This was our third trip to Mexico and this AI did not offer the Wow factor. The shell of this resort was fantastic. The grounds, architecture and decor was impressive. We all agree maybe it is too big to offer continuously great service and meals. It's hard to feed masses and maintain quality. Maybe for us renting a condo, car, and eating at specialty restaurants to experience the heart of Mexico is the way to go.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for honoring us with your recent holidays.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us and that you were able to take advantage of the activities, the other facilities offered in our sister resorts and of course, the beautiful Caribbean beach.

On the other hand, we are truly sorry about the delay regarding the A/C issue experienced in your room. Our Maintenance Department follow a preventive program to avoid this kind of situations. We are happy, however, that our Front Desk offered you a practical solution Please be sure that we have already sent this review to our Maintenance department and to our Management for their consideration.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you once again to change your point of view about the aspects you mentioned.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Iberostar was a very nice first experience to Mexico for our family. The staff is super and very friendly with no troubles speaking English. Many selections of food for the entire family. Be sure to make your reservations as soon as you get there to be sure you don't have buffet every night. There are a lot of daily activities to satisfy everyone. Short walk to the beach which was very nice. Food and drinks always available. I did not like that there was no A/C in the theatre area where the shows are performed. We had very high temperatures during our week and just wanted to feel cool at night so we did not attend many shows. We were not able to get adjoining rooms for our family so if that is important to you, it is not possible at the Maya resort. The resort is very clean and the staff are so kind and friendly. Great place for families.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your first experience in Mexico and for choosing to stay at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya.

Your satisfaction is our main goal, so we are proud to hear that you enjoyed our grounds and each one of our amenities during your first visit to our resort.

On the other hand, we are sorry for not being able to meet your expectations about your room preferences. Our Front Desk staff do their best to honor our guests’ requests however, this cannot be guaranteed in advance, as these assignations are made upon check-in, and during the high season sometimes it is not possible.

We have taken note of all your observations and please be sure that they will be taken in consideration. We hope to host you for your second visit to the beautiful Riviera Maya.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., VISIT US, INC. , Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.