We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just returned from this awesome resort. Everything was great: amenities, food, entertainment. Nice beach, some stones under water but what can you do. We went with kids and with our friends (also with kids). It is definitely the best resort for family vacation - there is tons of activities to do, especially for kids. The trick is to book it with the right travel agent - someone who can go extra mile for you to make sure you get the best vacation. In our case we had TripGuy.com and it was all worth it - we had the best ride from and to airport (limo), all dinner reservations were made by the agent, rooms were great, nothing more you can ask for. Enjoy if you decide to go!!!!

Room Tip: use TripGuy.com agency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya for your vacation and for taking the time to post such a kind review about your stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful to hear that your vacations with us were as you expected and that you had the opportunity of taking advantage of all of our amenities. We are also happy to know that your children and your friends were very pleased with our children’s facilities like the pools and activities. Thanks to your review we know that we are on the right path and for this reason, we will keep working on providing the best experiences to our guests.

With your most recent trip to our resort being so pleasurable, we hope that you will be staying again at our hotel and therefore we sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    779
    272
    112
    81
See reviews for
1,502
597
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Let me first start by saying, we were here for a wedding! The wedding was beautiful....every detail was so carefully planned. I will say the kids had a blast, seeing all of the various wildlife and various activities. They have so much to do for children!!! The customer service was great! Our room was cleaned every day and the staff got us anything we needed. The resort is HUGE by the way.

Now here's the real reason the hotel got this rating. The food was TERRIBLE!!!! Every time we ate it was cold. The room service was horrible. Don't expect regular beef hamburgers, definitely a mystery meat for the patty. We did try the Mexican specialty restaurant, and that was equally cold and horrible! Overall, we were just not impressed....it's difficult to enjoy an experience when you are starving most of the time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are thankful for your lovely words about the experience you had with the wedding that took place at our resort, and about our lovely staff, who made every effort to provide a real quality service.

On the other hand, we are sorry that your experience with our gastronomy did not meet your expectations. Our Executive Chef works on offering a quality and wide array of food, but he is always open to read our guests’ feedback to work on areas of improvement. We would like to clarify that we have a Health & Safety Department that controls the food conservation, preparation and temperature, to make sure it is safe for our guests. The whole department will receive your review to take actions where necessary.

We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Paraiso
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Resort has potential however the property is not well maintained both facilities and rooms. Beds are substandard. Staff interactions were mixed however overall not very engaging. Not a resort I would recommend. To balance this review Iberostar Jamaica was exceptional when we visited 2 years ago. Very disappointed with the Mexican resort overall.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your honest review about your experience in our resort.

We are sad to know that some aspects of our resort did not live up your expectations; at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya we try to keep a standard in all of our areas with the only goal to offer a relaxed and wonderful vacation to our guests.

We are sorry about your discomfort for the issues you listed. Our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working on improving our facilities and a maintenance preventive program is in place and it is carried out throughout the year. We will keep working hard to keep our property in perfect conditions.

In regard to your comment about our beds; we are happy to inform you that attending to our guests’ comments we are slowly replacing our mattresses for softer ones that include a pillow top. You can currently request foam mattresses to our Public Relations Department, which make the bed significantly softer.

Regarding your comments about our staff, we are truly sorry to hear that. Our management are currently working on several programs for the reinforcement of training of our employees in specific areas or situations. Our main goal is the complete satisfaction of our clients and clearly the service provided by our staff is essential.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future to restore your confidence in our brand and change your recent impressions for more favorable ones.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I just returned from Paraiso Maya yesterday. Overall it was a great vacation. We had three adults, and three children aged 6, 9, and 12. There was no shortage of things to do for any of us. I have really nothing bad to say or complain about at all. The grounds and the rooms were excellent and spotlessly clean. The buffet food was above average of any all inclusive I've visited (with the exception of Couples Negril Jamaica which was nothing short of amazing). The staff was amazing, friendly and provided excellent service in every way. The seafood and Japanese restaurants were our favorite. While everything was excellent, I do have some advise if you're looking at this property. The Iberostar complex is huge, you will do a lot of walking. We were in building 60 closest to the beach, and contrary to what a lot of the other reviews stated - I'm glad we were in this building. We were closest to the ocean, the main pool, and both buffets for breakfast and lunch. The walk to dinner in the evening was long and hot. So if you're traveling with an older adult as I was, you just need to be prepared to walk in the heat. I visited the other resorts we had access to, Lindo, Del Mar, and Beach. I would definitely travel to the Iberostar complex again! However with young children I believe I would stay at the Lindo rather than the Maya. The Lindo is the center of everything, it's where all excursion tours depart, it's where all of the Kids Club activities, and children's water parks are, it's where all of the evening entertainment is, and it is slightly less expensive than the Maya. Now if you're adults or traveling with teenagers, the Maya is where the adult night-life is, and the teen dance club.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a property map and judge for yourself where you'd like to be. I liked bulding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management team and all the staff of the IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation in Mexico and also for taking the time to send us your comments about your experience at our lovely hotel.

Thank you for highlighting the different areas and services of our resort. We are glad to know that our staff always did their best to make you feel pampered and relaxed.

Once again, we appreciate your preference, we are quite confident that you will be returning to our beautiful resort in the future, therefore we look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was me and my family's 10th time at the iberostar complex in mexico. All the other times we stayed in the lindo but this year we decided to switch to the mayan side. The wifi in the rooms worked really well and the rooms where spotless. Never had a problem with anything in the room. The maids did an awesome job cleaning the rooms and making sure we had enough towels. The pools and beaches are always really beautiful. As you know from all the other reviews they have multiple pools and there all great. One thing that I have to point out about this hotel is the staff. They are absolutely amazing. They are such friendly people and we enjoy some of the same waiters and bartenders that we have seen from past years like fernando in the Mediterranean restaurant! Also a shout out to jose at the snake bar who we have seen for multiple years in a row. All the workers at the iberostar complex work so hard to make make your vacation an unforgettable one and they really do an excellent job. The star friends are also really nice hard working people, they work long days and always have energy and a big smile on there faces. Shout out to Brigham and Rodrigo who were still working there when we went last year, always working hard, and also alex diego ! They truly made our vacation amazing and memorable. Every night we went to the specialty restaurants, we went to the gourmet twice and it was really good, recommend getting the surf and turf. Went to the steak house, sea food, japanese cajun and Mediterranean and they were all pretty good. Everyone must realize that you are in another country so the food is not going to taste exactly like home, but there chefs try so hard to make all different kinds of food from all over the world and they do a great job with so many selections. if you can't find something to eat here, then you are truly picky and cannot be happy anywhere. They also make very good drinks i suggest trying the dirty monkey if you like banana. Theres so many more great things i could write about this hotel but i am trying to keep it short and sweet, and I think you get the idea. Iberostar Paraiso Maya and also the lindo are great and we are already planning our next trip back. Thank you so much for all the wonderful vacations!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very for much for your loyalty and for sharing with the online community your comments about your vacations at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya!

It is with great pleasure that we read how our staff members continue to exceed your expectations in every one of your visits by making you feel welcomed and at home. Especially Fernando, Jose, Alex, Diego, Brigham and Rodrigo, who have already been congratulated for the outstanding service provided during your stay.

Thank you very much for all the positive points mentioned.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel for your 11th visit. We feel privileged to have your friendship and loyalty.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just came back yesterday. The beach is great, we went to specialty restaurants -with 3 young kids, oldest is 7- every day for 7 days in row (make sure you reserve when you get there). Its the second time we go there, went to Lindo before, but this one is much nicer. The food was great specially the "Marina" restaurant, if we go back again would be because of the excellent attention received by Eduardo and Alonso from the Marina restaurant. The kids had a blast at the waves pool. Had a private pool at building 63. The staff is nice and Jazmin at the beach made sure we had drinks all time =) . Our 3 yr old son went to the ice cream shop at the pool while we were at the beach and security brought him back to us in 2 minutes.

Room Tip: Book your restarants when you arrive Wake up early and reserve your "palapa" at the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for letting us know how your vacations went at our resort.

We are happy that you enjoyed our facilities and that everything was according to your plans. We appreciate your recognition about our food and our friendly staff: Eduardo, Alonso and Jazmin will be excited to know that thanks to their service you felt happy and relaxed. Our Security Department will also be congratulated for having helped you with your son.

Once again, thank you for your loyalty and for your excellent review and we look forward to seeing you again at our hotel in order to give you the excellent service that you deserve!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the Maya January of 2014. The beach was good, the drinks were good, the rooms were decent. All employees very nice. Always ask for double shots in your drinks and try to find a consistent waiter/waitress to tip a couple of times knowing that technically you aren't required - they will be appreciative and show some extra love. The Lindo was better and would stay there next time instead. Buffet food is OK for about 2 days then you will get tired of it. Beach food was horrible low grade burgers and fixing. The dinners were better but not as good as NYC area food. Kids had fun in the pools but the water was a bit too cold for many of the adults because of January. Great massage and great spa!!!! Might have been my favorite part of the facilities.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your recent stay in Mexico and for sharing your comments with us through this medium.

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our rooms, drinks, beach, and our friendly staff around our hotel; especially at the spa; we are glad to know that thanks to their service, you enjoyed a memorable vacation at our facility.

We are sorry that we could not meet your expectations with the food in our beach and our buffet, our Executive Chef is working everyday on offering a gastronomy that will fulfill the satisfaction of our guests, he will take your review into consideration.

Once again, thank you for your constructive comments; we hope you give us the opportunity to offer you our hospitality again at IBEROSTAR.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.