We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Please look at my previous review at Lindo in order to understand the comparison between there two twin hotels, which share the pools, bars and activities.
So we moved to Maya from Lindo after staying one week in Lindo. The only reason, we did not do it before, because there was no availability before Jan. 2nd.
Maya is newer hotel than Maya and the rooms are much better than in Lindo. The Maya rooms are facing the exclusive and luxorious Iberostar Grand and thats why the rooms are very quiet too. The housekeepers kept the rooms spotless and were very effective and fast in their job. The restaurants in Maya serve better food than Lindo, allthough the food quality in both hotels are generally good. The only problem is the service in the restaurants, poor in both hotels. This is especially strange in Maya, because otherwise the hotel is very good. It wouldnt take much to fix this thing, but nothing seems to bother the management in this issue. I told several times to the restaurant management about this, but no visible change???
I would highly recommend Maya to especially families. We were in building 65 and had a connection rooms, which were perfect. However would recommend buildings 60,61 and 63 more, due to the closeness to the beach and pools.

Room Tip: Building 60,61 and 62 are good, closer to pools and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your constructive comments about our resort; we are glad that you have enjoyed Iberostar Paraiso Maya.

Your comments about the service in the restaurant will be sent to our Food & Beverage Manager to review and take actions. We are sorry that the service you received was subpar.

We hope that if ever returning to our beautiful Riviera Maya, you will not hesitate to return as we would consider it a privilege to host you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,760
    935
    344
    136
    94
See reviews for
1,777
734
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya from December 8th to 19th. Travelled with a group of 6 adults and two children (age 1.5 and 3). Prior to booking this vacation we had reviewed several properties through trip advisor. This resort was chosen mainly for our children and for its proximity to the Cancun airport. We booked via Westjet Vacations and as a part of our package Best Day travel provided a shuttle to the resort. It was about a 20 minute trip from the airport.

The Iberostar Paraiso Maya is a part of the Iberostar complex (Grand, Maya, Lindo, Beach, Del Mar). Having stayed at the Barcelo complex in the past we did not find this complex to be nearly as large and enjoyed walking through all of the various resorts. We read lots of comments about how large this resort is, but in our opinion the resort is quite reasonable in size. We walked comfortably everywhere and even the kids kept up. We do enjoy walking around and that should be considered. There is a nice path system that takes you through all of the other resorts. As a guest of the Maya you have access to all of the restaurants and bars of the other resorts (except for the Grand). We never had any issue pulling into a lounge and getting top notch service at any of the resorts. Each morning started off with a cappuchino and hot chocolate compliments of Artemio. Most of our evenings were spent in the lobby bar where we received superb service from Israel and the rest of the staff. The staff at the lobby bar took the time to talk with us and get to know our family during our stay. We really appreciated all of their hard work and the time they spent talking with us.

Travelling at this time of year we did not have a problem with finding a chair on the beach or around the pool. The kids enjoyed the wave pool and the children's pool, but really clung to the shallow shelf that runs along the side of the main pool. It allowed them to lounge in 1' of water without having to be submerged. The wave pool comes on about every hour and was comfortable for our family.

We tried many of the a la cartes and really enjoyed la Marina and el Rancho at the Maya. The Japanese was OK and the Mexican was bordering on terrible. The Lindo had a decent buffet, but once we realized that la Marina or el Rancho was open every night (without menu service) we found ourselves going there every night. We did not have any problem finding something to eat at the buffet. The menu is similar every night, but with the large selection of food it is not too difficult to find something you like. Alternating nights between buffet and a la cartes helped to keep the food interesting. A fantastic feature that the Maya offered is the a la carte option for breakfast and lunch as well. This was offered at el Tapatio which is located by the main pool. The tacos, ice cream and drink service at the Iberostar Shopping Complex is included free of charge. Kids loved the carousel.

We did not have any issues with mosquitos. Nobody in our group used bug-spray at any time during our stay. Be sure to take lots of sun screen as the prices at the resort are double to triple what you will pay in Canada. Unfortunately, almost everyone in our party fell ill for one day during the trip. We are not sure if this was something we brought down with us or the fabled "Montezuma's Revenge". It seemed to catch one of our group each day from day 3-9.

There is WiFi included in the lobby, around the pool and in many of the rooms. The speed was OK and we were able to use Facetime if you picked the right time of day. The rooms are the largest we have ever had at a resort. The mattresses were very comfortable and we noticed that our two double beds seemed to have a pillowtop, while the king beds were quite a bit stiffer. The pillows were an issue for us and if we went back we would likely take pillows with us.

What stood out at the Maya:
1. The beach and ocean sand were beautiful - my wife and I walked down the beach for over 2 hours one day. We did have decent sized waves every day.
2. The service that we received during our stay was unbelievable. This has to be the best service we have ever received at an all-inclusive. This includes everyone who works at the resort. There was always someone cleaning and maintaining to keep this resort clean and current.
3. The lobby bar was very unique and had live entertainment many nights.
4. The magic show and the Disney shows were excellent.

Based on our vacations to date the Iberostar Paraiso Maya and the Barceló Maya Palace are sitting at the top! Each has a few things to offer that was missing at the other resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 61. We had requested this due to its proximity to the pool and short walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you so much for choosing our resort for your vacation. We appreciate your taking the time to post such a pleasant review of our resort!

We really appreciate your recognition for our service. Your comments regarding the kindness and effectiveness of our staff will also go far way in encouraging our team. To know that you love our resort is very important to us.

On the other hand; we regret to hear your discomfort with our pillows; we will pass your feedback on to our Housekeeping Manager for her consideration.

Thank you very much for trusting us, and to the above, we are confident that you will soon be with us again. We look forward to it!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

we were a group of 19 people ,the hotel is great although paying the high price to stay in the Maya does not worth it ,you could stay in the lindo and have all the services .
food is great ,the place is huge , just one advise don't book any outside activities with the guys in the lobby , we booked 2 activities and we went to the first one and it was rainy and didn't do anything just waited for the bus to pick us back and the kids got sick from the food so we decided to cancel the other one ,they refused to cancel ,we talked to the hotel manager and she didn't do anything and after 2 hours of discussions we decided to go to the other activity because they want to give us only 1/4 of what we paid .
next day the bus driver was so rude he refused to wait 10 minutes for on of our friend to get his towels and drove away and after we called the travel agent she came and call the bus driver and told him to come back .it was the worst experience ever

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your opinion with other travelers.

Regarding the situation mentioned about your tour, we regret the inconveniences caused. It is as an external company and independent of IBEROSTAR and therefore they have their own policies, however it is our concern to ensure that quality services are delivered to our mutual customers, to achieve their complete satisfaction, so your review will be shared with them.

We offer an apology for any inconvenience that may have happened during your stay. Again, thank you for sharing your comments, we look forward to welcoming you in the near future and show you that we are the best choice for your family vacation Mexico.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was our first time at an AI, and much of my criticism is admittedly of AIs overall. Like staying at a theme park with overgrown spring breakers and without the Disney competence

But, as you’ll see, this resort makes some terrible mistakes of its own.

The primary impression we came away with is that it was overcrowded and understaffed

The staff doesn’t care about hospitality or guest experience. They are just trying as best they can to tread water in the responsibilities they are assigned to keep the theme park running. Which they are simply unable to do, because the resort is so understaffed and overwhelmed with guests. And so the staff visibly just stop caring. Going through the motions without the slightest care of what their job is about, or trying to take care of the guests.

- There are basically no waiters/waitresses at pools and beach
- The concierge desk in our building unstaffed more often than staffed
- Prior to their big Christmas eve party, they were preparing the main “snake bar” and the restaurants in each of its corners to hold hors doeuvre tables. The staff did so by just dragging chairs and tables scraping across the floor across the entire large room. The noise was both deafening and incredibly annoying – like fingernails on a blackboard. Any guest who could be somewhere else was bailing out of there. Remember this is the main “hangout” venue for guests. Unbelievable. It reflected absolutely no care or thought by the staff for the guests.
- The “Melody Bar” (the only public spot with a big screen TV where you could watch sports) was always dirty, never cleaned (old drink glasses that we noticed when we came there one evening were still there when we came back after lunch the next day, lots of sticky spilled drinks across the floor and tables that were never cleaned up the entire 4 days we were there), smelly (musty, spilled beer and sweat), and mostly not air conditioned. Broken pool tables. Absolutely disgusting.

They offer quantity, not quality, when it comes to food and drink. Sorry, but I tired of that after my freshman year in college, many decades ago.

The furniture in the rooms was beat up chipped and dented. The mattress was thin mattress with springs sticking out. We're talking youth hostel quality here, folks.

The biggest disaster we experienced there was the Christmas eve dinner.

They shut down all their restaurants.

You read that right.

Now I get that staff want off on Christmas eve. But you have a lot of guests at that time (they were sold out), you are charging a massive premium for that time of year, and this time of year is when you make your money for the whole year. You have to be willing to take care of your guests.

The resort does dinner as two buffet banquets. One of the banquets is white tie only. HUH?!? You’re a family resort on the beach, and you think you should have a white tie dinner? And that too, as a buffet? Folks, it doesn’t make sense on so many levels that I can only conclude they were either lying about the formal banquet, or they don’t understand what white tie means, or they are so clueless that there are no words for it!

Whatever it was, the fact is that NOBODY was wanting to go to the white-tie dinner. And so the other dinner was completely overrun. Yes, they assigned reservations, but they were either not keeping to the reservations or they had handed out too many. The upshot was LONG lines to get into restaurants even when you had a reservation. Just what you want at Christmas eve on your big vacation with your family, right? Standing in a line with a bunch of panicked people for food. Heck, what’s a Christmas eve at a supposedly nice resort without feeling like a refugee?

And then once you were seated and you walked around the buffet area, what you saw was basically a full-scale food riot at a refugee camp. People pushing and shoving. 20 minute lines at the food stations. They had sushi rolls for an appetizer and ran out of them. They’d arranged them around a decorative tower of sushi rolls that they hadn’t cut into little pieces – i.e. rolls out of the full sheet of seaweed. People started reaching into the display and were ripping out the uncut sushi rolls put there for decoration and were eating them (remember now, this is like a foot-long uncut sushi roll). Absolutely unbelievable. The lobster and shrimp were massively overcooked and then put on steam tables to cook even more, until they had turned so hard and chewy that they were utterly inedible.

All in all, an absolutely miserable dinner experience. Christmas eve dinner is supposed to be special, not an attempt to survive a food riot.

Nobody from the resort apologized for the Christmas eve disaster. In fact, no one even acknowledged it, other than our bellman on the way to checkout. He asked how our Christmas eve dinner was, picked up on my hesitance to say anything about it, and was deeply embarrassed and said he totally understood what a disaster that was. But, when we’re at the front desk to check out there was absolutely no acknowledgement, let alone an apology for the abject fiasco.

One final thing. The beach is not very good. The ground is very rocky -- large, sharp rocky outcrops hidden all over the beach once you are in the water. And there is tons of seaweed. Finally, it is not a well protected beach, so that water is quite rough (not very good for a family resort - i.e. lots of kids -- right?)

The bottom line from our experience: Stay away from this place unless you’re the type that really just wants all you can eat and drink. Many of the guests here seemed to just want that (especially the drink). Not our thing – our frat/sorority days are long behind us, and we have no desire to go back, let alone to pay for the privilege.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We travelled as a family of 4 (13 & 9 yr old) 12/22-12/27. This was our first trip to Mexico, and first all inclusive. You may read through this and get the feeling that we did not enjoy the trip. It couldn't be further from the truth. Overall we found the grounds impressive and clean, the staff very kind and friendly, and the food average. The notes below are just to hopefully help others considering this location.
Thanks

The good


* The staff are very friendly and helpful.
* We were a day late as we missed a connection due to weather. The resort was very helpful in extending our stay by a day.
* The grounds are very clean and we'll done.
* The rooms were very spacious.
* The cleaning staff were very creative with nightly decorating of the room (rose petals, stuffed animals)
* The restore is enormous but it does not feel overcrowded even at capacity. There are many complaints from people to choose this building or that building because it is a long walk from the beach to the lobby. Good god people get out and walk for once your life. It wasn't that bad at all.

The bad


* First day I cut my foot on a broken tile in the pool. A 3 inch gash in the bottom of my foot. Bad way to start vacation.
* Hot tub was broken (cold)
* The room smelled like mold
* The shower leaked and the wood was rotted
* Day 2 the hammock my 9 yr old was in on our porch snapped and she fell on her arm. She was not hurt luckily but the staff did not seem to care at all.
* The internet was turtle slow at best, when it worked.


The ugly


* The food was bland at best. The vegetables were mushy, the chicken rubbery and the breakfast sausage tasted like a dog chew. I have been to other all inclusives and they were not as bad.
* We were there on Xmas eve so there was definitely a bit of a different vibe to the place but the staff seemed to be very confused about what was or wasn't open. We had a family of 4 and had 8:45 reservations for dinner. My family is used to eating quite early so we were looking for somewhere to get a snack. We were told the Mexican take out restaurant at the shopping center was open. We walked there In a driving rain storm only to find it was closed.
* The nightly theater shows were laughable. As long as you go in understanding what you are getting you will enjoy it. The one downside for those coming from the USA is there is open smoking everywhere. If you are not used to it you will be disappointed.
* Upon leaving our transport (Olympus Tours) was delayed by a family who was late, didn't follow procedures and were physically abusive to the staff. It was downright frightening to my children.


The funny


* On the first day I encountered a family complaining that all of the televisions were in Spanish. Way to live up to the stereotype of the ignorant American.

Tips


* Contact the concierge prior to your arrival to make dining reservations. It is difficult to find but if you google around enough you can find the email address for the concierge for your hotel. You are limited to 3 reservations prior to arrival, use the reservations to get your top 3 then make the remainder when you are onsite.
* You can also request which building you would like to be placed in ahead of time. There are plenty of property maps out there on the internet for your review.
* We did a side trip to Xelha. The ride there was comfortable in a nice full sized bus. As others have stated you do need to be prepared for a very long day. We left at 7:30, and did not return until after 7:00.
* When making reservations if you get later reservations you can ask the host at the restaurant if you can get in earlier. We found the restaurants were mainly empty and we were able to get in earlier than our times.
* Make sure you follow the check out procedures fully and allow time for them. If you don't have the slip of papers to leave it can create a problem.
* While not required, a daily tip to your maid will make sure your fridge is nicely stocked with Cervesos
*

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were at Paraiso Maya in early December, I have to say it was an extremely nice resort, the grounds are absolutely stunning and well maintained, its luxuriously decorated and the mexican flair makes it all that much more beautiful. We unfortunately did have an unfortunate incident which I will bring up regarding the hotel's management, but for the most part, this hotel surpassed our expectations.

LOCATION/SITE: It took about 25 minutes from airport to resort, this was ideal after a long flight. Its a $24 cab ride to Playa Del Carmen which is always great to go shopping as hotel/airport items are always more expensive. The hotel grounds are simply amazing, and kept very clean by the hard working staff. Its a total of 5 resorts together, and if you stay at the Maya, you have access to all the facilities of the other resorts (Lindo, Beach, Del Mar, not Palace as its an 18+ exclusive). Even if they say that these other resorts aren't quite as high-end as the Maya, I disagree. Perhaps the rooms are slightly smaller, but the pools/grounds are really nice, they even had water loungers, beds and comfy sunbeds that the Maya/Lindo pools didn't have. Same beach and same quality service.

This makes for a very large site, its easy to get confused at first, but after 2 days you'll know your way around. I don't see why people complain over how big a resort is, its great to be able to walk around and explore, just pick a smaller resort if you're too lazy to walk, but seriously, from the beach to the hotel lobby (2 extreme ends) you can walk it easily within 10 minutes. We appreciated the little shopping centre right across from the hotel. The carrousel doesn't work though, too bad for the kids.

Pools were great, we always managed to find chairs but did notice a real problem with people leaving their towels to reserve the best spots and yet not attending to them. We loved the wave pool for the kids as its a gradual swim, it goes off almost every hour for 20 minutes. The beach is nice, very crowded as its opened to all five resorts, the waves and current are very strong though, so no good for small kids.

FOOD: The buffets were really average, it didn't matter which restaurant you ate at, pretty much all the same, lunch and diners seemed the same with some small daily variations. It always felt like we were eating left overs from the previous night. I did appreciate the sea food bar at La Marina, but it didn't taste as good as it looked! That being said, the A la Carte restaurant meals were delicious, it was quite a nice change from the buffet. We went to the Japanese (Gaisha), LaMarina and Steakhouse El Ranche and all 3 meals were very good!

SERVICE: In general, staff was very friendly, check-in was great (thank you to Luz for always smiling and being very accommodating), but they should have had more than 2 staff to greet a bus load, I was lucky to be one of the first ones off the bus but did see some people waiting a very long time before getting their room. The resort wasn't full, so even if we arrived at 10am, the rooms were ready which is vey nice when you've been travelling with kids for so long. A nice touch for us was that we were celebrating our daughter's birthday and they decorated the room with balloons and flowers for her, she was quite happy.

The concierge service is good but the one in our building was there only 2 days out of the 7 we were there. We had asked for a baby crib in our room, it wasn't there. We asked 3 staff for one on 3 different occasions, and it never arrived. Finally, our concierge was the one to make it happen and it was nicely set-up for us. Towel service was great, always got clean ones when needed.

ROOMS: Very large and kept clean all week. Room was done in a timely matter. We asked only once for extra water bottles (to wash our baby bottles) and every day we were stocked with more than enough. Beds aren't very comfortable though. All the buildings have unique features and pretty courtyards. We were in building 66 which is the closest to lobby/buffet and it was nice and quiet.

... Not everything can be perfect....

We were travelling with an infant, so needed purée food. The restaurants did not provide any nor seem to know anything about how to prepare some (although they claim to be a family resort), this is unfortunate as its quite a drag to travel with your own food when you pay so much money for an all-inclusive. I am not a fan of preserved jarred food, but am glad I had brought some in case cause when I asked if it was possible to mash some veggies, the staff seemed at a loss. The veggies they serve is full of salt and oil and still too crispy to bring the a puree using a fork. So lets just say our baby probably got really sick of eating bananas!
They have a "baby kitchen" in which it is mentioned that parents can make purées using blenders and sterilize bottles, I was quite impressed about this, nothing more annoying that to wash your bottles with cold bottled water in the bathroom sink!!! But once we arrived I went to use it and was not provided access, as there is an extra fee to use it. Its hard enough to travel with an infant, I find it rather wrong to promote this "family-friendly" service, all the while providing all the "all you can drink" alcohol, and yet charging parents for the use of a blender and microwave!

We were very very unfortunate as our children got very sick during the trip. From day one, our 3-year-old started a high fever and was up all night, which of course kept our infant from sleeping. We consulted the doctor who confirmed it was a bad virus, so aside from tylenol, not much more we can do! By all means, this is in no way the hotel's fault, however after spending 2 nights wide awake and being completely exhausted, we decided to seek help in finding a solution with the reception/concierge staff to try and avoid our baby from getting sick and attempt to get some shut eye. We just couldn't bare spending a full week like this, and were willing to pay extra for an adjacent room. The staff showed absolutely no empathy, they were borderline treating us like we were idiots for travelling with kids (family-friendly hotel, right?), one of them even said to us "don't worry, your child will eventually get over-tired and sleep". You simply don't say this to parents who are living this out-of-country nightmare! Our child was very SICK with high fever, was coughing to the point of vomiting everywhere, not eating, in a strange country.... and this is the best you can say and do for us? When we asked for a second room, they said it would cost $400US/night!! INSANE! That would end up costing more than what our entire trip cost for 4 people. The hotel was not even half booked, I am sure they could have made a better deal, but they showed no desire to assist us, tried to brush us off by saying "i'll speak to our manager and see what we can do", but never getting back to us, or, referred us to our vacation agency that was closed on the weekend, and our rep. never got back to us, so no luck there either. Ultimately, we felt very unwelcomed when we'd go to the lobby for questions, felt like because of the situation, they had triggered our room number as "problem clients" and yet, we are very quiet people who never usually complain, but this situation was extremely hard on us, and unfortunately, our baby ended up getting very very sick and continued to deteriorate when we got home = lots of hospital time at Christmas! This could have been avoided had we been able to sleep the two kids in separate bedrooms. One of the managers did attempt to cheer us up and sent flowers to our room, it was a very nice gesture but the situation at that point was simply past being bearable and we left Iberostar with a bitter taste.

Note: Lots of girls enjoy getting those lovely brades in their hair, and there is one place on the beach where you can do that, however BEWARE!! It is VERY expensive there. They are associated with the hotel and charge the room, so they don't negotiate, and charge about $25 a brade which is excessive and you can get much cheaper elsewhere outside the resort, but be careful, some may be way too cheap and do a poor job. We went to this little SPA in Playa del carmen and had it done for $30 total! Takes 1 hour but the brades were still beautiful 2.5 weeks later.
....

Overall, this was a great choice for a resort and had we not been unlucky with sick children, our vacation would have been close to perfect!

Room Tip: If you wish to be centralized, I recommend #62, but you'll be walking one way or another to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your most recent vacation and for taking the time to write down your review on how your holiday went at our resort.

We are sorry to hear that our buffets did not live up your expectations. The food variation in our buffets are part of our quality standards and under no circumstances would our Chef and our Health and Safety department place the same food from previous services at any of our restaurants. However, our executive Chef will take note of your feedback to make appropriate changes in the future. We have also sent him your comment about the inability of making baby food. This is an important point that will be reviewed with the staff.

We regret that your children got sick during your visit, and we are really concerned about your statement and apologize. We are currently taking part in several initiatives and programs for the reinforcement of training of our employees in specific areas or situations. Our aim is the complete satisfaction of our clients and clearly the service provided by our staff is key.

We understand your disappointment with the baby kitchen, however we have extra services out of the all-inclusive package and this is one of those; we will send your comment to our management in order to analyze it. Once again we ask for an apology about this.

Please rest assured that we will do our best in order to improve constantly and make our guests feel as comfortable as in their own home. We hope we will have the opportunity to change your point of view in the future.

In case of any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband, my 16-month old daughter and I stayed at the Iberostar, Paraiso Maya for 10-days where we gathered for a family reunion.

Let me start off by staying that we loved our stay at the Iberostar, Pariso Maya and will return when there is an opportunity. The food was excellent, the service excellent, the people friendly, and it was a wonderful place to take our daughter who had a great time walking around the resort and loved seeing other children. Iberostar, Paraiso Maya was extremely child & baby friendly and is one of the best places I have been to with my baby. I felt completely comfortable and relaxed. More detail below, following my discussion on the excursion via Lomas Travel, which I was NOT happy with.

While I was extremely happy with the hotel, I am Not happy with the excursion desk. We will Not and do not recommend that anyone book any excursion via Lomas Travel (which is one of the booking companies in the hotel). The representative Rodger and his colleague are dishonest and will tell you whatever story they can to make the sale. My poor parents, who booked a separate excursion on a separate day from this wretched company, also had a terrible experience.

My husband and I booked a tour to see Tulum. We were told there would the van would only stop once for other passenger on the way (which we were told was within the Iberostar complex) before proceeding directly to the archaeological site (which we were told was c.55 minutes away). We were also told that the van would bring us back at the hotel by 2:00 p.m. Based on this information, my husband and I arranged to have my parents watch our daughter. The van picked us up at 7:00 a.m. (on time), but to our mounting dismay, the van stopped for a total of 6 pick-ups (all outside the Iberostar complex and all very lengthy diversions), which included a pick-up at a random bus stop for a local. The van at that point had no seats and so this guy sat on the ice chest in the van. We did not arrive at Tulum until 9:30 a.m.

When we arrived, we were told that the guide was waiting for more people and that we should use the bathroom at the back of one of the souvenir shops. We got into a very long line (7 people ahead of us) and waited for the one unisex toilet. The toilet was clean and functional. However, when we returned, the guide had left (mind you he was outside the store and had told us to go into it to use the bathroom). Our driver (to his credit) immediately got onto his phone and managed to call the guide to tell him he had left behind 3 people. Then we raced to catch up. We never stopped running though, as, once we caught up with the guide, he kept a very fast pace (he must have been running very late) which pretty much left half the people behind (please note my husband and I are young and in good shape).

The tour guide’s knowledge of Tulum was mediocre. He read from a script and when asked any probing questions essentially either ignored them or provided an answer that didn’t make any sense. The tour lasted approximately 40 minutes and had I known would have completely skipped it and used my guide book. Afterwards, we were allowed to wander the beautiful ruins (please note Tulum is beautiful and worth seeing just do NOT book with this tour company). After, we then proceeded to get into the van and go to two other sites (the first a beach/ the second a cenote). We were promised drinks and ‘snacks’ as part of this all afternoon excursion. The cooler contained beers and soft drinks. But our ‘snacks’ were a very small bag (94 calories) of potato chips. We ran into other tours which provided proper sandwiches (in fact I almost accidently took one thinking it was our tour!). Afterwards, we all piled into the van again which left 1:30 p.m. for home. We then proceeded to drop people off including two extras and some workers who sat in the front and got home very late at 4:30 p.m. By this time my parents were extremely worried and thought something had happened to us. I complained to Rodger and demanded to speak to his manager (who was conveniently not working that day) and was promised that they would call me later, as he studiously jotted down my hotel number. We never heard from anyone.

I hope that this story is helpful. I had previously been to Tulum with another company and had a lovely time without the dishonesty or discomfort that this tour had.
With regards to Paraiso Maya, we had a fantastic time. The resort was extremely baby friendly. The food offered at the buffets were varied and I was easily able find something for my baby to eat, every day. Even at the bars they made my baby delicious banana smoothies that she loved.

For breakfast there was a lot of fresh delicious fruits (blackberries, papaya, strawberries, pineapple), an omelet station (only small niggle was that the people doing omelets are very SLOW), delicious pastries for breakfast, a variety of cheese, bread, yoghurt, hash browns, really there was not much lacking in terms of breakfast foods. Each evening we ate at one of the specialty restaurants (--we ate at 7 in total--) we had booked these in advance before our arrival and I would recommend everyone to do that. There are two specialty restaurants that do not allow babies but all the others were very accommodating.

The rooms were of a very good standard and were clean. The maid service was inconsistent. Our rooms were always clean, but on some days, the room was cleaned very quickly and on others it was all day before they got to it. That is only a small thing and we were out of our room for most of the day so it did not really matter.

We enjoyed the wave pool with our baby and the bartenders made any kind of delicious drink we requested. They were fast, efficient and very nice.

We are grateful. We loved the staff at the Iberostar. They were excellent. We also give special acknowledgment to the people cleaning up the tables, they were very sweet and kind, especially after our baby had left a rather large food trail around her high chair. All were so sweet to her and for us that made this trip all the more memorable. Thank you, Iberostar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Let us begin by extending a special word of thanks for the opportunity you have given us by choosing to vacation at Iberostar Paraiso Maya.

We are very happy to know that you have had a wonderful vacation with us, and that our food, our friendly staff, our pools, and the rest of services available have met your expectations.

Regarding the situation mentioned about your tour, we regret the inconveniences caused. It is as an external company and independent of IBEROSTAR and therefore they have their own policies, however it is our concern to ensure that quality services are delivered to our mutual customers, to achieve their complete satisfaction, so this will be reported to the Area Manager.

We wish to have the opportunity to host you and your family again in the near future. Thank you very much for your comments!

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and VISIT US, INC. so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.