We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Johnston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

So reception greets you with a refresing towel and a drink, that was cool. The hotel has many pools and the beach is great. You need to make reservations in advance for the nice restaurants especially the Geisha, the hibachi cook was ok. Great rooms service is great, only grip is with the towel cards or room keys if you loose them there is a charge...I just spent 6k, and I have to get nickel and dimed for a card?.. other than that all was good the staff was nice and cared about the property. Maya and Lindo only ones with top shelf spirits....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback like yours, and on behalf of the entire team here at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude for choosing our resort for your family vacation.

It certainly strengthens our determination hearing that we have been successful in providing you with a memorable vacation and we are also very grateful for all your comments but especially those about our pools, restaurants and most significantly our staff. This type of comments drives us to continue providing the service that Iberostar is known for.

Concerning the card keys, this measure is part of the company’s policy for safety reasons. Unfortunately, we have found that it is only through making this charge that cards are kept by their rightful owners more carefully and thus, future incidents avoided (i.e other people finding your lost card and entering your room).

We are quite confident that you will be returning to our beautiful resort in the future and as such, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    779
    272
    112
    81
See reviews for
1,502
597
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The lobby was gorgeous, the beach was peaceful, and the rooms were nice. But I had problems with bed bugs at the beginning of my trip and it completely ruined the experience. At first I thought it was just mosquito bites, but when I received 8 clustered bites in one night I knew it was a bed bug problem. I went to complain to the front desk and of course they fumigated our room, but there was no compensation for our terrible visit. After the fumigation the problem was gone, but I was left with the bug bites that itched incredibly bad. I just feel violated. Maybe I was just an unlucky guest, but I was not happy with how they handled the problem at all. I will not return to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Client,

Please allow us to express our sincere appreciations not only for choosing our resort to spend your vacations, but also for taking the time to share your opinion of your holiday at Iberostar.

Our main goal is to offer the best vacation experiences to our guests, thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned such as our lobby, beach and rooms.

In regard to your comment about bed bugs, we regret that the circumstances mentioned affected your vacation experience and your perception of our hotel. Our resort is built within the jungle and it is one of its main features, which is very representative of our region; that is why there are all kind of insects, and as you mentioned we have a fumigation team who sprays all areas daily and rooms weekly. Also, our housekeepers check rooms thoroughly before a guest arrives. Your review has been forwarded to our Maintenance and Housekeeping Department for their follow-up. We do take very seriously your comments, so they will not go unnoticed.

We are truly saddened to read that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of serving you so we may prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is awesome! This was my first time at all inclusive, and I wasn't disappointed. Food was excellent (especially Laguna buffet at Lindo), service was good, beach is excellent. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, please allow us to express our genuine gratitude not only for choosing our resort for your Caribbean experience, but also for the time you have taken to write a review for Trip advisor about your opinion of your holiday with us.

We are extremely proud to understand from your comments that you had a memorable experience at our hotel and truly appreciate your special mention about our rooms, food, pool, beach and waterfalls. We are certainly aware that it is through our staff efforts that we are able to achieve our goal of complete guest satisfaction.

We are quite confident that you will be returning to our beautiful resort in the future and as such, we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned yesterday from a 7 day trip to Iberostar Paraiso Maya. We had a wonderful time from the second we got there!! Staff was very courteous and helpful- we were give a room with a king size bed initially which wouldn't work for our family, so they immediately changed it for us with no difficulty. We stayed in room 6010 which was a corner bottom floor room. I thought we would want to change to a higher floor but immediately loved the proximity to both the pool and beach and also the fact that we weren't running up and down steps all the time since we returned to it often. I think the trick to getting a room in the area you want lies with what you like to do. If you just plan on being at the pool or beach all day, then 60 or 61 are the buildings for you. We literally came out of our room and went down a short hallway, and at the end was the pool, and to our right was the beach. It was great!! If you plan on using the wave pool, lazy river, or kids club a lot, then stay a little farther up - maybe in 63 or 64. And if you love the lobby (that is where all of the reservation restaurants are), stay in 65. I don't think you can go wrong, and remember for all of you non walkers, if you ask the concierge, they can call on someone to come and pick you up at anytime!! If you stay at the pool, make sure you bring tubes, rafts, or blow up loungers (preferably with drink holders!) and toys for the kids. And please bring your own sunscreen!!!! We needed to buy two at the hotel and it cost us $50.00!!!! Also bring bug spray and put it on at dusk if you are out. We also went to Xel-Ha and the kids swam with the dolphins and we did some snorkeling- It was a lot of fun!! Also, take a walk down the beach to the left and you will see what the other resorts offer. There is a cabana that offers Yoga in the am and Zumba at 4 that I did not know about until the end of the trip. If you don't leave the resort, try and visit the other pool behing the LIndo for a change up. It is really nice and HUGE!! That one also has some loungers in the pool and cabanas that the Maya pool does not. Star friends staff were funny and tried to get everyone involved. My 11 year old loved the pool games!! Would def. return!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow us to express our sincere appreciations for choosing our resort to spend your vacations with us.

We feel honored to have contributed to making your holiday paradisiacal and we are extremely thankful that you expressed your sincere satisfaction with several aspects of our resort including our entertainment, the food, drinks and the beach.

We genuinely hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again in the near future and as such, look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your wonderful comments!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Various small problems, all excellantly handled by the onsite concierge. Fun time, great grounds, great food, perfect size pool [large] with lots to do on site. It is more family oriented than adult oriented, but that is not a bad thing. The ocean area was well maintained and easily accessble. The only dilemma is that the grounds are so spacious, you sometimes get a little lost or it is difficult to get from one place to another quickly. But the staff was great, and the various reservation required restaurants were very good.

Room Tip: Junior suites or higher are a must with the family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear friend,

Thank you for your kind feedback on our services. We are pleased to hear that you had a special holiday in our resort.

It was a pleasure to have been given the chance to serve you and very encouraging hearing that our service, food and various staff members served to make your trip even more memorable.

Regarding your comment about the distances, we would like to mention that our guests can order a ride with our golf cars at any time and to any place within the hotel complex – either directly and very comfortably from their room by phone or with any Concierge of any building. We also have a train going back and forth.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel and we thank you in advance for your friendship.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA- USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just got back and had a great time. 5 of us traveled (my mom 68, husband 45, me 44 and 2 daughters 16 and 12) I was a bit worried after reading some of the negative reviews especially the food reviews. We found everything about the place, including the food to be great.

Arrived at 1:30 from BWI and flew through customs/baggage onto the Olympus transport. We had a private ride and got to the resort in about 25 minutes. We reserved 2 rooms and requested them be near each other. A family suite (adjoining) was a lot more money at time of booking. I asked Cinthia who checked us in if any were available and she upgraded us for free. We were in building 66. Very close to the lobby, restaurants, kids water park and theater. While this resort is huge, you are never too far from anything. We are not exercise freaks and had no problem with the walking. The grounds are all beautiful.

The rooms: Very spacious, lots of storage and clean. We asked to have our room made cooler and it was put to 18 Celsius. Only tip I have for you is to bring your own hair dryer if you use one. The ones in the rooms are basically a hose blowing warm air. Our bed was not at all hard as I read in other reviews. It was a king with a pillowtop. No need to ask for an egg crate topper if you get one of these beds.

Pools: Pools are beautiful. Although many of the waterfalls including the one over the pool bar were not working while we were there. The wave pool is small but nice and the lazy river was relaxing. We brought our own floats and found that to be very useful. We used them at the beach as well. Pedro was a wonderful bartender at the pool! We did play the towel game and get up and reserve a chair by 7. I am an early riser, so not that big a deal.

Shows were OK, but nice that they have them. The staff works so hard. Loved the entertainment staff at the pool. There was always something going on. Loads of fun.

Beach: Beautiful. Not huge waves, but very nice. We stayed in front of the Maya as there are rocks further down the beach. We did a snorkel trip from the dive shop. We didn't want to give up a full day of our trip and it was perfect. 2 hours long at 10 am or 3 pm ($49) Just long enough and saw a lot. Also did banana boat ride. Kids loved that too. Paella on the beach was great. Be sure to check out what is going on at the beach every day. There is so much going on everyday, that we missed mechanical bull riding!!

Food: Overall Good! We had reservations for each night before we left. French, Seafood, Cajan, Japanese, Mexican, Steakhouse All were good. Loved the lobster thermador at the French. Breakfast at La Marina was very good. Made to order omelets, eggs, crepes with nutella. If you can't find something you like at breakfast then you must be really picky. We usually went to the Lindo buffet for lunch (liked the taco station there) or ate at the beach.

Negatives:
-Pool area is very slippery when wet
-Pool area bathrooms were a bit smelly
-Wifi in Snake bar/ lobby was not very good. Hard to get a signal. I did hear that there will be wifi in the rooms shortly. Within days in fact, I saw a lot of installation workers. The charge is about $17/day.

That's about it!! If you are looking for a resort to go to, you will not be disappointed in Parasio Maya!!

Room Tip: Building 66 is closest to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to use this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at our family resort, Iberostar Paraiso Maya. We would also like to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor about your experience at our hotel.

We are extremely proud that you have told us you and your family have had a memorable experience at our hotel and are pleased to know that you were amazed with our new facilities and services.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback. It will for sure help us to improve our service.

We are quite confident that you will be returning to our beautiful resort in the future and as such, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We take an annual trip and the stay here was awesome! Kids and wife loved it! Food was great at restaurants and buffets. Drinks were right on and the gym..... The best we've seen at any resort. The staff was courteous and always willing to go out of the way to help. Defiantly recommend this to any family looking for a very peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya. In addition, we very much appreciate your taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor about your opinion of your holiday with us.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated. They will be forwarded to our Management so that they know of your impression and experience of your stay with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and services that the resort has to offer and we look forward to having the opportunity to host your vacation again.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.