We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAD A WONDERFUL TIME!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“HAD A WONDERFUL TIME!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned yesterday from a 7 day trip to Iberostar Paraiso Maya. We had a wonderful time from the second we got there!! Staff was very courteous and helpful- we were give a room with a king size bed initially which wouldn't work for our family, so they immediately changed it for us with no difficulty. We stayed in room 6010 which was a corner bottom floor room. I thought we would want to change to a higher floor but immediately loved the proximity to both the pool and beach and also the fact that we weren't running up and down steps all the time since we returned to it often. I think the trick to getting a room in the area you want lies with what you like to do. If you just plan on being at the pool or beach all day, then 60 or 61 are the buildings for you. We literally came out of our room and went down a short hallway, and at the end was the pool, and to our right was the beach. It was great!! If you plan on using the wave pool, lazy river, or kids club a lot, then stay a little farther up - maybe in 63 or 64. And if you love the lobby (that is where all of the reservation restaurants are), stay in 65. I don't think you can go wrong, and remember for all of you non walkers, if you ask the concierge, they can call on someone to come and pick you up at anytime!! If you stay at the pool, make sure you bring tubes, rafts, or blow up loungers (preferably with drink holders!) and toys for the kids. And please bring your own sunscreen!!!! We needed to buy two at the hotel and it cost us $50.00!!!! Also bring bug spray and put it on at dusk if you are out. We also went to Xel-Ha and the kids swam with the dolphins and we did some snorkeling- It was a lot of fun!! Also, take a walk down the beach to the left and you will see what the other resorts offer. There is a cabana that offers Yoga in the am and Zumba at 4 that I did not know about until the end of the trip. If you don't leave the resort, try and visit the other pool behing the LIndo for a change up. It is really nice and HUGE!! That one also has some loungers in the pool and cabanas that the Maya pool does not. Star friends staff were funny and tried to get everyone involved. My 11 year old loved the pool games!! Would def. return!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow us to express our sincere appreciations for choosing our resort to spend your vacations with us.

We feel honored to have contributed to making your holiday paradisiacal and we are extremely thankful that you expressed your sincere satisfaction with several aspects of our resort including our entertainment, the food, drinks and the beach.

We genuinely hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again in the near future and as such, look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your wonderful comments!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,377
    711
    250
    104
    72
See reviews for
1394
531
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loudonville, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Various small problems, all excellantly handled by the onsite concierge. Fun time, great grounds, great food, perfect size pool [large] with lots to do on site. It is more family oriented than adult oriented, but that is not a bad thing. The ocean area was well maintained and easily accessble. The only dilemma is that the grounds are so spacious, you sometimes get a little lost or it is difficult to get from one place to another quickly. But the staff was great, and the various reservation required restaurants were very good.

Room Tip: Junior suites or higher are a must with the family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear friend,

Thank you for your kind feedback on our services. We are pleased to hear that you had a special holiday in our resort.

It was a pleasure to have been given the chance to serve you and very encouraging hearing that our service, food and various staff members served to make your trip even more memorable.

Regarding your comment about the distances, we would like to mention that our guests can order a ride with our golf cars at any time and to any place within the hotel complex – either directly and very comfortably from their room by phone or with any Concierge of any building. We also have a train going back and forth.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel and we thank you in advance for your friendship.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA- USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just got back and had a great time. 5 of us traveled (my mom 68, husband 45, me 44 and 2 daughters 16 and 12) I was a bit worried after reading some of the negative reviews especially the food reviews. We found everything about the place, including the food to be great.

Arrived at 1:30 from BWI and flew through customs/baggage onto the Olympus transport. We had a private ride and got to the resort in about 25 minutes. We reserved 2 rooms and requested them be near each other. A family suite (adjoining) was a lot more money at time of booking. I asked Cinthia who checked us in if any were available and she upgraded us for free. We were in building 66. Very close to the lobby, restaurants, kids water park and theater. While this resort is huge, you are never too far from anything. We are not exercise freaks and had no problem with the walking. The grounds are all beautiful.

The rooms: Very spacious, lots of storage and clean. We asked to have our room made cooler and it was put to 18 Celsius. Only tip I have for you is to bring your own hair dryer if you use one. The ones in the rooms are basically a hose blowing warm air. Our bed was not at all hard as I read in other reviews. It was a king with a pillowtop. No need to ask for an egg crate topper if you get one of these beds.

Pools: Pools are beautiful. Although many of the waterfalls including the one over the pool bar were not working while we were there. The wave pool is small but nice and the lazy river was relaxing. We brought our own floats and found that to be very useful. We used them at the beach as well. Pedro was a wonderful bartender at the pool! We did play the towel game and get up and reserve a chair by 7. I am an early riser, so not that big a deal.

Shows were OK, but nice that they have them. The staff works so hard. Loved the entertainment staff at the pool. There was always something going on. Loads of fun.

Beach: Beautiful. Not huge waves, but very nice. We stayed in front of the Maya as there are rocks further down the beach. We did a snorkel trip from the dive shop. We didn't want to give up a full day of our trip and it was perfect. 2 hours long at 10 am or 3 pm ($49) Just long enough and saw a lot. Also did banana boat ride. Kids loved that too. Paella on the beach was great. Be sure to check out what is going on at the beach every day. There is so much going on everyday, that we missed mechanical bull riding!!

Food: Overall Good! We had reservations for each night before we left. French, Seafood, Cajan, Japanese, Mexican, Steakhouse All were good. Loved the lobster thermador at the French. Breakfast at La Marina was very good. Made to order omelets, eggs, crepes with nutella. If you can't find something you like at breakfast then you must be really picky. We usually went to the Lindo buffet for lunch (liked the taco station there) or ate at the beach.

Negatives:
-Pool area is very slippery when wet
-Pool area bathrooms were a bit smelly
-Wifi in Snake bar/ lobby was not very good. Hard to get a signal. I did hear that there will be wifi in the rooms shortly. Within days in fact, I saw a lot of installation workers. The charge is about $17/day.

That's about it!! If you are looking for a resort to go to, you will not be disappointed in Parasio Maya!!

Room Tip: Building 66 is closest to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to use this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at our family resort, Iberostar Paraiso Maya. We would also like to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor about your experience at our hotel.

We are extremely proud that you have told us you and your family have had a memorable experience at our hotel and are pleased to know that you were amazed with our new facilities and services.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback. It will for sure help us to improve our service.

We are quite confident that you will be returning to our beautiful resort in the future and as such, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We take an annual trip and the stay here was awesome! Kids and wife loved it! Food was great at restaurants and buffets. Drinks were right on and the gym..... The best we've seen at any resort. The staff was courteous and always willing to go out of the way to help. Defiantly recommend this to any family looking for a very peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya. In addition, we very much appreciate your taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor about your opinion of your holiday with us.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated. They will be forwarded to our Management so that they know of your impression and experience of your stay with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and services that the resort has to offer and we look forward to having the opportunity to host your vacation again.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful resort!! Friendly people, amazing food, super clean and lots of fun!!!
We would recommend this resort for couples and families. The steak house is amazing, Italian restaurant was awesome and the Japanese restaurant everyone should go to at least once. We loved it and would go back!!!

Room Tip: Second floor and away from the pool if ou want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community, how your holidays went at Paraiso Maya.

Thank you for your constructive comments, this feedback helps us in order to improve our service for our guests. It is a cause of satisfaction to know that as a team we were able to meet your expectations during your vacation in Mexico.

Thank you very much for trusting us, we hope to see you again in our resort in the near future and provide the service that you and your family deserve.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My two sons, 18 and 16, and my wife and I had an amazing time at the Paraiso Maya. Everything was wonderful. Would like to make special note re: two concierges and one of the bar keeps. Francesca and Rosanna did an excellent job providing us with 5 star concierge service and did so in a warm and genuine manner. Artemio proved to be an excellent bartender and conversationalist. Thank you for a great vacation.

(spero tutto bene... Ciao... Francesco)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for giving us the absolute privilege of being your hosts by choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your most recent family vacation.

We would also like to express our sincere appreciations to you for taking time to send us your comments on how your holiday went at our resort.

It certainly gives us a great deal of satisfaction to understand from your kind remarks that not only did you have a wonderful experience at our resort, but you also felt like stars while with us. We also very much appreciate your taking the time to highlight the more memorable aspects of our resort, our staff included.

Your comments about the friendliness of our staff motivate us to provide an even better service to our customers. We have passed your comments on to Francesca, Rosanna and Artemio; special mentions like yours are very motivational.

We hope that if ever returning to our beautiful Riviera Maya, we will have the absolute pleasure of being your hosts again.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent 6 nights at resort with extended Family. In-laws, Sister and her family of 4, girls ages 12 and 15. Brother, and my family of 5, boys ages 13, 18, and 19. Overall resort was really nice. A tremendous amount of walking!!!!! We needed to get a ride from the employees with golf carts a lot. Pool activities were fun but otherwise quiet. Good thing we had a Bose stereo system to play our music! Food was edible, nothing great. Dined at the specialty restaurants as well as the buffet. Seafood restaurant was pretty good, Japanese restaurant didn't cook enough of food for our table and had us sitting for over 2 1/2 hrs before we actually ate. never made it to the steak house because we had ordered a piece of meat from another restaurant that was not edible at all. Didn't want to take the chance at steak house. Breakfasts were good, made to order omelets, and crepes. Rooms were not airconditioned too well. They said they follow Green Global regulations. I like it cool especially coming in from a day in the hot sun. The shows were nothing to brag about. Chairs by pool... get out early if you want a lounge chair. People start putting towels on chairs earlier than 7 am. ugh. Drinks were very weak. Had to order shots of alcohol on the side to add to our drinks or else it seemed like you were just drinking slushies. Pretty expensive! Spent a lot less at Iberostar Grand Bavaro, Punta Cana last year and had a much better time. We paid more money to stay at the Higher up resort, and I really couldn't tell the difference one from the other. Actually, the Paraiso Beach resort had a Much better pool area! Would have been great to have saved a bunch of money on the other Lower graded resorts if I had this info. They all ran into each other. Cant comment on their food, although, Our Top rated hotel wasn't anything to write home about, and Im sure they serve basically the same things at all their resorts. The lazy river was just that...LAZY. Only a few tubes available, most people were just wading through themselves, and the water was basically standing still. Nothing to write home about. The Wave Pool was cute. Went in it just to say we did it. There was a night club that was decent, not too crowded considering the size of the properties. And it was really the only other activity other than the show at night and couple of bars. There was a teen nightclub as well, very cute concept and design but no one was ever in it. Staff was friendly and helpful. We also tipped a lot, which Im sure, helped. Don't think I would go back for the main reason that we felt we spent more time walking from place to place than we actually got to enjoy what we were doing. We missed the Paella cook out on the beach. Noone notifies you exactly of were the activities are being held.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 6201, 6210, 6218, 6222 and 6225. I guess pretty good central location, but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Customer,

Let us begin by extending our sincere appreciations to you for choosing our resort to spend your vacation and for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community, your honest opinion of your stay with us.

Your comments regarding the kindness and effectiveness of our staff will also go far way in encouraging our team.

With that being said, we would like to express our sincerest apologies if you were displeased in way with any aspect of our resort.

We regret any dissatisfaction regarding our services and the layout of our resort. Some guests love the long walk around our beautiful grounds and other guests prefer to take a ride. We have a train going back and forth and we also have golf carts with our bell boys. We are happy to tell you that we have just bought new golf carts for our guests comfort. You can also pre-program a ride with the Concierge and wait comfortably in your room until it arrives.

Our hotel tries to set an example in environmental friendliness by participating in a sustainability project which aims at saving energy, reducing waste and protecting our planet to show we care about future generations. This is the reason why we maintain the temperature of the air conditioner at 23 degrees and why the air conditioner automatically turns off when the balcony door is not shut properly. However, as our guests’ satisfaction comes first, we lower the temperature limit if our guests do not feel comfortable. They can feel free to talk to the Concierge about their concern and we will be more than glad to adapt the temperature to your personal needs.

In regard to your comment about our Japanese and steakhouse restaurants, we feel sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Our executive Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte restaurants, so he will be thankful to learn about your perception so that he is sure to go on the right direction.

As far as our pools go, we would like to inform you that we provide of enough sun beds for all of our guests at the pool areas; what occasionally happens is that guests want to go back to the same area every time they go to the beach or pool. Unfortunately, this is not always possible. However, if you see that somebody occupies a sun bed for hours without even being there please inform any of our staff in the beach and they will pass on the information to the people in charge.

We are truly saddened the read that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of serving you at our resort so we may prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, VISIT US, INC. and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.