We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful resort!! Friendly people, amazing food, super clean and lots of fun!!!
We would recommend this resort for couples and families. The steak house is amazing, Italian restaurant was awesome and the Japanese restaurant everyone should go to at least once. We loved it and would go back!!!

Room Tip: Second floor and away from the pool if ou want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community, how your holidays went at Paraiso Maya.

Thank you for your constructive comments, this feedback helps us in order to improve our service for our guests. It is a cause of satisfaction to know that as a team we were able to meet your expectations during your vacation in Mexico.

Thank you very much for trusting us, we hope to see you again in our resort in the near future and provide the service that you and your family deserve.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,365
    704
    246
    102
    72
See reviews for
1378
529
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My two sons, 18 and 16, and my wife and I had an amazing time at the Paraiso Maya. Everything was wonderful. Would like to make special note re: two concierges and one of the bar keeps. Francesca and Rosanna did an excellent job providing us with 5 star concierge service and did so in a warm and genuine manner. Artemio proved to be an excellent bartender and conversationalist. Thank you for a great vacation.

(spero tutto bene... Ciao... Francesco)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for giving us the absolute privilege of being your hosts by choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your most recent family vacation.

We would also like to express our sincere appreciations to you for taking time to send us your comments on how your holiday went at our resort.

It certainly gives us a great deal of satisfaction to understand from your kind remarks that not only did you have a wonderful experience at our resort, but you also felt like stars while with us. We also very much appreciate your taking the time to highlight the more memorable aspects of our resort, our staff included.

Your comments about the friendliness of our staff motivate us to provide an even better service to our customers. We have passed your comments on to Francesca, Rosanna and Artemio; special mentions like yours are very motivational.

We hope that if ever returning to our beautiful Riviera Maya, we will have the absolute pleasure of being your hosts again.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent 6 nights at resort with extended Family. In-laws, Sister and her family of 4, girls ages 12 and 15. Brother, and my family of 5, boys ages 13, 18, and 19. Overall resort was really nice. A tremendous amount of walking!!!!! We needed to get a ride from the employees with golf carts a lot. Pool activities were fun but otherwise quiet. Good thing we had a Bose stereo system to play our music! Food was edible, nothing great. Dined at the specialty restaurants as well as the buffet. Seafood restaurant was pretty good, Japanese restaurant didn't cook enough of food for our table and had us sitting for over 2 1/2 hrs before we actually ate. never made it to the steak house because we had ordered a piece of meat from another restaurant that was not edible at all. Didn't want to take the chance at steak house. Breakfasts were good, made to order omelets, and crepes. Rooms were not airconditioned too well. They said they follow Green Global regulations. I like it cool especially coming in from a day in the hot sun. The shows were nothing to brag about. Chairs by pool... get out early if you want a lounge chair. People start putting towels on chairs earlier than 7 am. ugh. Drinks were very weak. Had to order shots of alcohol on the side to add to our drinks or else it seemed like you were just drinking slushies. Pretty expensive! Spent a lot less at Iberostar Grand Bavaro, Punta Cana last year and had a much better time. We paid more money to stay at the Higher up resort, and I really couldn't tell the difference one from the other. Actually, the Paraiso Beach resort had a Much better pool area! Would have been great to have saved a bunch of money on the other Lower graded resorts if I had this info. They all ran into each other. Cant comment on their food, although, Our Top rated hotel wasn't anything to write home about, and Im sure they serve basically the same things at all their resorts. The lazy river was just that...LAZY. Only a few tubes available, most people were just wading through themselves, and the water was basically standing still. Nothing to write home about. The Wave Pool was cute. Went in it just to say we did it. There was a night club that was decent, not too crowded considering the size of the properties. And it was really the only other activity other than the show at night and couple of bars. There was a teen nightclub as well, very cute concept and design but no one was ever in it. Staff was friendly and helpful. We also tipped a lot, which Im sure, helped. Don't think I would go back for the main reason that we felt we spent more time walking from place to place than we actually got to enjoy what we were doing. We missed the Paella cook out on the beach. Noone notifies you exactly of were the activities are being held.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 6201, 6210, 6218, 6222 and 6225. I guess pretty good central location, but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Customer,

Let us begin by extending our sincere appreciations to you for choosing our resort to spend your vacation and for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community, your honest opinion of your stay with us.

Your comments regarding the kindness and effectiveness of our staff will also go far way in encouraging our team.

With that being said, we would like to express our sincerest apologies if you were displeased in way with any aspect of our resort.

We regret any dissatisfaction regarding our services and the layout of our resort. Some guests love the long walk around our beautiful grounds and other guests prefer to take a ride. We have a train going back and forth and we also have golf carts with our bell boys. We are happy to tell you that we have just bought new golf carts for our guests comfort. You can also pre-program a ride with the Concierge and wait comfortably in your room until it arrives.

Our hotel tries to set an example in environmental friendliness by participating in a sustainability project which aims at saving energy, reducing waste and protecting our planet to show we care about future generations. This is the reason why we maintain the temperature of the air conditioner at 23 degrees and why the air conditioner automatically turns off when the balcony door is not shut properly. However, as our guests’ satisfaction comes first, we lower the temperature limit if our guests do not feel comfortable. They can feel free to talk to the Concierge about their concern and we will be more than glad to adapt the temperature to your personal needs.

In regard to your comment about our Japanese and steakhouse restaurants, we feel sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Our executive Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte restaurants, so he will be thankful to learn about your perception so that he is sure to go on the right direction.

As far as our pools go, we would like to inform you that we provide of enough sun beds for all of our guests at the pool areas; what occasionally happens is that guests want to go back to the same area every time they go to the beach or pool. Unfortunately, this is not always possible. However, if you see that somebody occupies a sun bed for hours without even being there please inform any of our staff in the beach and they will pass on the information to the people in charge.

We are truly saddened the read that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of serving you at our resort so we may prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I just booked another trip back to Iberostar Paraiso Beach for a Girls trip next week. My family was at the Iberostar Maya in November and had a wonderful time.

We did pay for an upgrade room then but I will not this time. I did not see any value in that. I did not pay for an upgrade for my kids room and we were relatively close and the rooms were no different. It was just location and if you do not have a problem with mobility no need to upgrade. We were there in low season so there was no issue with getting chairs.

The resort is large and very well maintained. The staff are friendly and eager to please. I agree with the others on the WIFI issue but hey I go on vacation to get away so no big problem for me. Check in and check out were relatively easy.Food and drinks were plentiful. I am not sure why others complain but I would recommend to all my friends and family.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your invaluable feedback. We are really glad to know you are coming back to our resort and appreciate you sharing your opinion with other travelers. Thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned.

In regard to the differences between the two hotels, Paraiso Maya offers exclusive services for guests such as 5 restaurants + access to other restaurants, a la carte for breakfast and lunch, the baby kitchen, elevators in buildings, DVD in rooms, internet in rooms via cable (extra charge), more complete and spacious rooms, private swimming pool, free Wi-Fi in lobby, access to spa wet area for adults only, and other services that are in the facility Paraiso Maya.

But of course both Lindo and Maya offer excellent services.

Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again at any of our hotels and give you the excellent service that you and your family deserve!!

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The main annoying things about the resort are the aggressive mosquitoes, and the lack of routine consistent shuttle service in such large resort. Everyone had multiple large skin reactions from mosquitoes bites despite spraying with repellant. My sister was disable and had difficulty getting around the large resort without the shuttle, which we often had to wait a long time for. If they can fix these issues, then the resort would be a great place to go to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya and for taking the time to share your review about your experience.

With respect your comments about mosquitoes, we regret about that situation; but we would like to inform you that the hotel has a weekly fumigation program to keep mosquitoes away from rooms and daily fumigates common areas. But in cases where guests report any additional problem, we assist them right away and follow up during the week to make sure mosquitoes are not a bother anymore.

We regret any dissatisfaction regarding our services and the layout of our resort. We have a train going back and forth and we also have golf carts with our bell boys. We are happy to tell you that we have just bought new golf carts for our guests comfort. You can also pre-program a ride with the concierge and wait comfortably in your room until it arrives.

We genuinely hope to serve you again at Iberostar and therefore look forward to seeing you again at our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just came back from our first family vacation in over 10 years and I can say every member of my family would give the Iberostar Praiso Maya the same rating. This hotel was great. The staff was friendly, helpful, and entertaining. The grounds are beautiful, the pools are great, and the beach is amazing. The shopping area (with food and drink and even crepes!) and golf course (inexpensive, unlimited drinks/food) were just added pleasures. The food was great and plentiful and along with the variety you couldn't go wrong. We spent an entire week here and would go back in an instant. The bartenders (Israel, Jose, Gloria), waiters (Sergio), concierge, water sports/dive shop folks were all awesome. I wish I could remember all of their names to give them credit...there were too many good folks and I am not so good with names! We even tried room service a couple of times and were just as impressed.
We had a room in building 64 which was a great location half way between the lobby and beach and away from the pool if we needed quiet time. Our room was at the end of the floor so our balcony wrapped around the corner and was twice as big as another other, great place to chill after a long day of beach, sun, drinks, and excursions.
We tried every restaurant except for the French one and enjoyed them all. We had no trouble getting reservations through our concierge for every night, even changes were easy.
No problem with beach towels or finding a spot on the beach, only on Thursday and Friday did it get a bit crowded, but still plenty of room. The food and drink at the beach was great. Just what you expect for a beach restaurant.
If/when we go on the next big vacation, we will consider anywhere there is an Iberostar and hope that it will be as good as this experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our most sincere appreciations for choosing to be valued guests of our property, Iberostar Paraiso Maya. In addition, we are most grateful for the time you have taken to write a review for Trip Advisor about how your holiday went at our resort.

We are truly thrilled to understand from your gracious remarks that not only did you have a memorable experience at our hotel but were also extremely impressed with our staff and facilities. We will certainly congratulate all the staff for contributing to making your holiday special.

We genuinely hope to serve you again at Iberostar and therefore look forward to seeing you again at our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just spent 5 days there with 12 recent high school graduates and their parents. Was very impressed by the cheerfulness, friendliness, and competence of the staff. Interacted with dozens of maids, bartenders, servers, etc. and there wasn't a sourpuss among them. "Hola" and a pleasant smile and wave wherever you go.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach and pools if you have an issue walking very far. I had no iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Client,

Let us begin by extending a special word of thanks for the opportunity you have given us by choosing to vacation at Iberostar Paraiso Maya. We are also very thankful for the time you have taken to share with us and the rest of the online community, how your holidays went at our hotel. It definitely motivates us to continue improving our service.

We feel honored to have contributed to making your holiday especial. Our main goal is to offer the best vacation experiences to our guests, thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned. Your comments about the kindness of our staff will go far in encouraging our team.

We are confident that you will be staying again at Iberostar and as such sincerely look forward to your next visit. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you and your family again.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.