We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice for Active Families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Denver, Colorado, USA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Active Families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to this resort and we will absolutely be back. Each of our visits has seemed better than the one before. We have two kids, ages 9 and 11 and they enjoy every moment and experience. The food and service are top notch. Our breakfast/lunch waiter would have our drinks on the table before we even sat down in some cases! Our coffee was always hot and my water glass was never empty. We wouldn't miss the Japanese (went twice during our stay), Seafood and Steakhouse dinners. Order exactly what you want, even if it's not set up that way on the menu. We will sometimes order an entree to share with the table as an appetizer. We didn't have a great experience at the Mexican restaurant. It was outside the norm of our experience but worth mentioning because it was "that bad". The kids and I actually went straight to the buffet after that experience and had a delightful meal! So good, in fact, that we all blew off the reservations the next evening to each the buffet again.
Tips are optional but I will tell you that everyone works so hard, you will WANT to tip. We bring $150 - $200 in $5's and $1's and have become very comfortable giving out wet bills. The quality of the nightly entertainment exceeded our expectations. There are two nights, Pirate Night and The Perfect Couple that are audience participation shows. Fun but not the full blown show you see the other nights. Since we had been there and done that, we passed on those nights this trip. Our kids would head to the kids club after lunch at 1:30 to watch a movie. It was nice to get them out of the sun for a while and gave us an opportunity to head to one of the private pools and chill out in peace and quiet for a couple of hours. The ocean is incredible, super fun waves and great sand. BRING A Towel to put down on the chairs because the sand fleas are fierce! We were busy every day moving from the lazy river to the ocean to the wave pool to the main pool for some volleyball and basketball. Do as much or as little as you choose. Wonderful, wonderful vacation that left me wanting more!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Client,

On behalf of all our staff members we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our lovely resort, Iberostar Paraiso Maya. We would also like to express our gratitude for the time you have taken to share with us and the rest of the online community, your opinion of your stay at our resort.

Our main goal is to offer the best vacation experiences to our guests, thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned.

With respect to your comment about our Mexican restaurant, we are sorry to hear that you had that impression; our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte restaurants, so your comments will surely help him see what our clients’ perceptions are, to make appropriate changes.

Your feedback is very helpful to us in evaluating our service. We feel honored to have contributed to making your stay unforgettable.

Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again at our hotel and give you the excellent service that you and your family deserve.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,506
    783
    273
    112
    82
See reviews for
1,506
599
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the resort from June 1-6. We arrived the day of a horrible storm and had rain the entire week we were there ...which pretty much meant the staff was fixing leaks, and cleaning up water puddles etc. Agree with the previous review, be cautious of MOLD for future folks staying there because water was dripping from the ceilings throughout the resort. (not in rooms but in dining hall, lobbies, etc) Again, the rain issue is not the hotels fault, but I would expect a hotel of this standard to have better food, nicer quality rooms, and a friendlier staff. Seems like its declining.

I had a nice time with my family but would say I've seen a decline in service and didn't feel like i got what I paid for. The staff was not as friendly and property seemed in need of a paint touch up. Eg. wave pool had chips in the paint, pool had chips in paint etc. The food is what really let me down. The restaurant (non buffet) option was better but still there was absolutely no taste to the food. My two year old wouldn't even eat it. Buffets were pretty horrible and room service menu and food was disgusting.

With a toddler, we spent most of our time at the wave pool and beach and had a fine time at both. I used the gym and it was okay, but parts were closed off due to leaks in the ceilings. Tried the spa and the massage was relaxing and the staff was very friendly and talkative. The taco shop at the mall and the ice cream shop both were good.
Unfortuantely....we Wont be back again.....time to move on from Iberostar....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your recent stay in Mexico.

Our main goal is to offer the best vacation experiences to our guests. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our pools and had a great time with our staff at the Spa area.

We regret the inconveniences you suffered with the rain. Please note that during the period of 1 to 4 June we were affected by a tropical storm called Andrea, which affected most of our Yucatan Peninsula with thunderstorms and heavy rains for many days. This was also the remainder of a Hurricane from another part of the country. Winds blew from the east to northeast 30 to 50 km / hr, so that the Government of Quintana Roo sent a statement to all schools, asking to stay indoors and CFE asked the general public not to leave their homes unless it was extremely necessary. This storm affected much of the state’s electricity services and ground transportation by floods.

Such storms are not common in our state (amount of water, length and intensity); we appreciate your understanding for these natural phenomena that hit our hotels in an unusual way that would not have affected us in other rain situations.

In regard to your comment about our food, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte restaurants, so he will be thankful to learn about your perception so that he is sure to go on the right direction.

We would also like to mention that our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working in areas to be improved. All our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable. We wish you might consider giving us another opportunity to host you in the near future to experience all the positive changes made based on our guests recommendations, always keeping the natural environment that represents our hotel.

We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our 6th time to stay at this resort. Very bad storm - had to move from 1st floor room due to flooding. Leaks everywhere in the hotel and also in the restaurants - water dripping on food on buffet. Floors & walkways very slippery - saw several people fall. Not only was it not acknowledged by anyone that we have stayed there 6 times, we were not offered any sort of compensation for the inconvenience of having to move. I informed the Front Desk Manager, Alex, that we were not happy and told him this would probably be our last time to stay at this resort. Still no offer of compensation for our inconvenience. The leaking roofs are very unacceptable in a resort with such a high rating. I am sure there is a mold problem.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Please accept our most sincere appreciations for choosing to be valued guests of our property, Iberostar Paraiso Maya. In addition, we grateful for the time you have taken to write a review for Trip Advisor about how your holidays went at our resort.

We regret the inconveniences you suffered with the rain. Please note that during the period of 1 to 4 June we were affected by a tropical storm called Andrea, which affected most of our Yucatan Peninsula with thunderstorms and heavy rains for many days. This was also the remainder of a Hurricane from another part of the country. Winds blew from the east to northeast 30 to 50 km / hr, so the Government of Quintana Roo sent a statement to all schools, asking to stay indoors and CFE asked the general public not to leave their homes unless it was extremely necessary. This storm affected much of the state’s electricity services and ground transportation by floods.

Such storms are not common in our state (amount of water, length and intensity); we appreciate your understanding for these natural phenomena that hit our hotels in an unusual way that would not have affected us in other rain situations.

We do appreciate your loyalty very much and are very sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. We hope you change your mind and visit us again to give you the excellent service that you and your family deserve.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this resort for the 2013 Memorial Day long weekend. This resort does live up to expectations with multiple pools, eating options and lovely grounds. Check in was a breeze. Our room was in one of the middle buildings so it was easy to get to the restaurants, pool and lobby. Before arriving, I had made reservations for a couple of the restaurants. Restaurant La Marina was the seafood choice with the huge “appetizer” buffet. L'Etoile Restaurant was next with the amazing service and great beef choice. La Geisha Restaurant was our last and most rushed experience. We were sat at a table with cooking already in progress and then they added our food on to the existing orders. The breakfast and lunch buffets were plentiful and fresh. The beach bar for eating was great for wave watching. Every day we visited the ice cream bar above the pool bar or at the mall. The seating around the pool was plentiful and we never had to play the save the chair game. I took a short snorkeling trip from the diving shop on the property that was affordable. And as people mentioned the snake lobby bar is a must do as it is such a cool building and the bartenders there were wonderful. Overall would encourage anyone to visit this great AI resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us the absolute privilege of being your hosts by choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your most recent family vacation. We would also like to express our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to send us your comments on how your holidays went at our resort.

It certainly gives us a great deal of satisfaction to understand from your kind remarks that you had a wonderful experience at our resort, and also felt like stars while with us.

We also very much appreciate you taking the time to highlight the most memorable aspects of our resort such as our rooms, pool, beach, food, entertainment and last but definitely not least, our staff who were accommodating to you and especially your children.

We really hope you will be staying again at any of our hotels!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had nothing but an enjoyable time on this trip. Food was good (the only drawback was that our Japanese cook was new and he wasn't as good as what would be normal, but it was still good!), beach was nice, the entertainment was good. All around, a 5-star experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your recent stay in Mexico.

It is a cause of satisfaction to have contributed to making your holiday wonderful. Thank you for sharing with us and the rest of the online community your opinion of your stay at our hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our delicious food in our restaurants, our beach and our shows.

In regard to your comment about our Japanese cook, we are sorry about that. You can be sure we will pass your comment on to our executive chef in order to improve that point.

We are quite confident that you will be returning to our beautiful resort in the future and as such, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

If you want the warm weather, a beautiful beach, and a great pool, this might be the right place for you and your kids but maybe not. The stylish, modern rooms have plenty of space and some nice amenities. The staff couldn't have been more attentive or friendly. The reason for only three stars is twofold. First, the food just simply disappointed on regular basis. The quality probably equalled a Denny's. Variety certainly could not be faulted, but the fish and seafood should not have been served well done and most every food item felt like it came from a cafeteria. The emphasis on American "cuisine" also bothered me. I'm in Mexico; I don't want a hamburger. Secondly, we also caught the unfortunate weather delivered by a tropical depression which is no fault of anyone, but the hotel had leaks everywhere. Walking around the hotel meant risking a fall as several in our party suffered. Additionally, several of the rooms flooded and buckets littered the bar and lobby area. This not a regular occurance from what the staff told us, but water should not be pouring out of light fixtures. The resort gave us more of the feel of Las Vegas than of Mexico. This all-inclusive would work better for those who have little interest in experiencing the culture, beauty, and grit of the country. Next time, we will probably look for a place with a bit more character.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Customer,

On behalf of all our staff members we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our lovely resort, Iberostar Paraiso Maya. We would also like to express our gratitude for the time you have taken to share your opinion of your stay at our resort.

We truly appreciate your special mention about our rooms, food, pool, beach and our wonderful staff. We are certainly aware that it is through our staff efforts that we are able to achieve our goal of complete guest satisfaction.

Also, we will take into consideration your constructive comments about our food; we already shared it with the departments involved in order to look for improvement. Our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte Restaurants so he will be happy to receive feedback.

In regard your comment about the rain; please note that during the first week of June, we were affected by a tropical storm called Andrea, which affected most of our Yucatan Peninsula with thunderstorms and heavy rains for many days. This was also the remainder of a Hurricane from another part of the country. This storm affected much of the state’s electricity services and ground transportation by floods.

Such storms are not common in our state (amount of water, length and intensity); we appreciate your understanding for these natural phenomena that hit our hotels in an unusual way that would not have affected us in other rain situations

We genuinely hope to serve you again at Iberostar and therefore look forward to seeing you again at our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Maya was a gorgeous hotel with lovely rooms and a fantastic staff. Unfortunately, a huge tropical depression arrived on our third day in paradise and turned the entire place into a wet mess. Several first floor rooms were flooded and there was water leaking from nearly every roof. The eating areas had buckets to catch the dripping water and in many cases there were electrical shorts from water getting into the light fixtures.

The staff was working very hard to keep the water contained but it was just too much to handle.

The shining star of our trip was Ingrid. My son has life threatening allergies to all dairy products and she was assigned to us every day and night to make sure he had a good experience. She was so kind and helpful and really made our food portion of the trip fantastic. I can't speak highly enough of what a wonderful help she was -- and she did it with a smile at all times.

Before the rain hit, the resort was so much fun and we would definitely go back, only this time, not in hurricane season.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 61 with a view to the garden between the Maya and the Grand. I would highly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Friend,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your vacation in Mexico. We would like to express our genuine appreciation for the time you have taken to share your opinion of your experience with us.

We regret the inconveniences you suffered with the rain. Please note that during the period of 1 to 4 June we were affected by a tropical storm called Andrea, which affected most of our Yucatan Peninsula with thunderstorms and heavy rains for many days. This was also the remainder of a Hurricane from another part of the country. Winds blew from the east to northeast 30 to 50 km / hr, so that the Government of Quintana Roo sent a statement to all schools, asking to stay indoors and CFE asked the general public not to leave their homes unless it was extremely necessary. This storm affected much of the state’s electricity services and ground transportation by floods.

Such storms are not common in our state (amount of water, length and intensity); we appreciate your understanding for these natural phenomena that hit our hotels in an unusual way that would not have affected us in other rain situations.

We will pass your comment to Ingrid; this type of comments motivates us to provide an excellent service.

We genuinely hope to serve you again at Iberostar and therefore look forward to seeing you again at our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.