We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great holiday!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a great hotel !! The staff are amazing , so friendly and helpfully, rooms are massive. The food is very good in all the specailality restuarants. This is the second iberostar we have visited and would defiantly use this chain again . Before we stayed in the punta Cana iberostar .
Lots of reviews mention how much walking you have to do, at first it seems that way , but after a couple of days you get used to it,we stayed in 6005 , near the beach , we found this worked for us because you could pop back if you needed anything in the day and of an evening it's a nice walk to all the restuarants at the main lobby area . Great place would recommend !!!!!!!,!

Room Tip: Room 6005 good location for all day time activity as its near the beach, pool and lunch , there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Your fabulous experience may encourage other travelers to choose us as their vacation destination in Mexico.

It is very gratifying to hear that you have had a wonderful holiday at our hotel and it certainly motivates our team learning that you were pleased with our beach and Staff.

We are confident that you will be staying again at Iberostar and as such we sincerely look forward to your next visit. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you and your family again!

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,236
    626
    208
    84
    62
See reviews for
1174
489
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olm, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stay at this resort during more than one week, for our great pleasure. The persons are really sympatic and smile all the time.
This resort is very large with up to 5 hotel into, but we have small electric cars available to cross the hotel from one side to the other. This was really useful with our diving equipment to bring everything to the diving center.
I want also to thank this diving center for his huge level of expertise and the nice exploration we did. For whom are interested, Dressel Divers will open soon a new diving center on pacific coast...
At the hotel, restaurant, bedrooms are very confortables.
Globally, I recommend this resort without any restrictions.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire management team and all the staff at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, we would like to thank you for choosing us as option for your recent stay in Riviera Maya and for taking the time to send us your comments on how your holiday went with us.

It is certainly a cause of satisfaction hearing that you were pleased with several aspects of our resort including our food, facilities, activities and the attentive and friendly service delivered by our staff.

Once again, thank you for choosing Iberostar and we look forward to seeing you again at our lovely hotel.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed with 4 kids 7-13, three adults and one senior. Very nice stay. Resort is very clean, beautiful grounds, awesome beach. Lots for the kids to do. We mostly stayed on the beach the whole time as we are beach people. Always chairs, people do reserve them, but I simply move their towels- one day we moved two towels and when the people showed up 2 hours later it was very entertaining - they knew the could not say anything! The staff was excellent. It is a very large resort, but everything is a short 5-10 minute walk away, and it is a very nice walk. If you want a ride- just ask the conceirge and they will arrange it. Book your a la carte by email for the first few nights you are there- then see the conceirge and book the rest on your first day there. We had no problems getting reservations. The conceirge also had beach towels, we got our towels from her when we arrived, then every day at the end of the day we exchaged them for fresh ones so we would have them in the morning- very simple. The food was fine- breakfast was great, we really did not eat lunch except at the beach- burgers, fresh guacamole and chips, Japanese was great- all others were fine- what you would expect from all inclusive- there is plenty of variety and plenty of food- the ice cream was great!
All in all a very nice resort, fun for all ages. I would go back and reccommend to a friend.
I think people who write bad reviews need to keep in mind, you are in another country- nothing is going to be exactly the same- and you are on vacation- don't sweat the small stuff!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Friend,

Thank you for your kind feedback on our services. We are pleased to read that you had a special holiday. It was a pleasure to have been given the chance to serve you, and very encouraging reading that our service, food and various staff members had served to make your trip even more memorable.

Our main goal is to offer the best vacation experiences to our guests, thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned.

We are thankful that you will recommend our hotel to others and are quite confident that you will be staying again at our lovely hotel!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is our second visit and we highly recommend it for families especially with young children. We had 5 young ones with us who had the time of their life. I love the size of the rooms; we had junior suites which gave us the extra space that functioned as a small living room with couch. But there is one maddening flaw and I see many guests are complaining: a byzantine process of making hotel reservations which never allows you to get the time you want. We got babysitters every night for very young children at 7:00 so we wanted a nightly dinner reservation at 8:00 to give us time to settle in the kids, and then have a drink at the lovely bar before going into the restaurant. Consistently we were told we could have 9:00 or 9:30 or 8:30. And almost every night when we would look at the restaurant at 8:00, the restaurants were at least two thirds empty? Why this madness to make everyone unhappy? Concierges are not allowed to make a reservation other than 6:30 or 8:30! And yet the restaurants are empty at 8:00. Let people do what they want. I spent more time working on reservations at the Maya than I ever do in New YOrk City! Please correct. Also baby sitting rates are exorbitant ($15-20 per hour) even by NYC standards! But in general, other than that one hassled, everyone was pleasant the the facilities were fine. Food was average, like that in most resorts, but we didn't expect more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear you had an excellent time with your family.

With regard to our dinner service at the “a la carte” restaurants, our main goal is to offer our guests with a unique and special experience where meals are made-to-order, so we can provide freshness and quality along with a personalized service. In order to achieve this, we cannot occupy all the restaurant tables during the first seating because some of our guests take longer to enjoy dinner and part of the experience is not to rush while serving them. During the second seating we can have most of our tables occupied but as you well mentioned some of our guests prefer earlier times to have dinner so they will not miss the show or enjoy our different bars. This 2nd seating is usually the most popular and fills up first. It also happens sometimes that we get no shows at the restaurants and then of course we have tables available but we cannot re-use those tables until 15 – 20 minutes after the reservation time, when it will become a cancelation.

This is not to excuse ourselves but simply an explanation of how our system works to give our guests the best possible experience. We are working hard to make it easier and effective for all our customers. One suggestion would be to contact your concierge or butler as soon as you arrive, and schedule dinner reservations in advance for your entire stay.

We would like to assure you that we will keep on the hard work in order to offer a better service every day and make our guests feel as at home.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It's huge and very welcoming. All the staff was amazing especially Veronica at the El Tapio Mexican Restaurant. Every one was always smiling and really working their butt off to make us feel great.

For the first time in this decade I tried no cell, no ipad or iphone, no computer for a week. After 2 days of withdrawal syndromes it ended up to be very calming.

The food was amazing also and really don't understand those who criticize the food. Oh I know there's no caviar ;)

Scuba diving was amazing thanks to Kayla. The scuba diving sites are so close and convenient.

Some really small picky criticism that don't overshadow the greatest of our experience:

There's a hamac chair on our balcony, it's mostly there for show cause I don't know who feels comfortable sitting there.

A don't disturb sign would've been nice we didn't have one in our room

Even if I took a week off the internet, now a days wifi should be included in the room price.

Thanks to Iberostar and their staff for this trully amazing vacation.

Room Tip: rooms near the pool are a little more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let us begin by extending a special word of thanks for the opportunity you have given us by choosing to vacation at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo. We are also very thankful for the time you have taken to write your review online. It definitely motivates us to continue improving our service.

With respect to the “do not disturb sign”, we apologize about that; please do not hesitate to ask our Concierge or Front Desk staff about it; they will be more than happy to assist you.

With respect to the internet access, this is one of the differences between the hotels, we have 5 hotels in the complex and each one has different facilities. We offer convenient packages when getting more than one day of internet service, just to let you know in the Iberostar Paraiso Maya the Internet service in the lobby area is included. However, thank you for sharing your point of view on regards to this service, and we are happy to add that we will be introducing wifi in the rooms as well at the end of this year.

We hope that if ever returning to Mexico, you will not hesitate to visit Iberostar as we would consider it a privilege to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am so happy with the service, food, location, the condition and cleanliness of the room and all the activities. The resort is like a mini city with small shopping mall and everything. We only left the resort once to go snorkeling in Cozumel. This was our second time there and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dearest Guest,

First of all, thank you so much for choosing Iberostar. Our main goal is to offer the best vacational experiences to our guests, and reading this kind of reviews make us feel extremely happy. Thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned.

We really appreciate the time you took in writing this excellent review. We feel honored to have contributed to make your stay unforgettable.
We are already looking forward to your return trip next year.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was my first time at an all inclusive. I went as part of a large group for a 4 day weekend. It was very convenient not to have to sign for drinks and food. Food was okay but I missed not having many menu options to choose from at dinner. This place was packed with things to do from daily activities (water aerobics, archery, beach volleyball, etc) to hanging at the pool to laying at the beach which I have to say was the best parts of this resort. At night there is a Star Wars themed disco (one for adults and one for kids). A theater that has live entertainment each night. The pool has a small lazy river and wave pool which was perfect for small kids. There are alot of water sports options right on the property. Overall if you like an action packed, no worries, no hotel bills at checkout vacation then this is a great place and great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar Paraiso

It is a cause of satisfaction to have contributed to making your holiday wonderful. Thank you for sharing with us and the rest of the online community your opinion of your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel!

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico
Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, Otel and VISIT US, INC. so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.