We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week at Iberostar Maya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Week at Iberostar Maya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned from a great week at the Maya. We arrived Friday 11/2 after Hurricane Sandy, glad JFK was operational. Hotel is about 20-25 min from airport, not bad. The Maya lobby is so beautiful, the whole resort overall was clean and well maintained. We requested and got Bldg 63 overlooking the wave pool, very centrally located. My kids enjoyed the non-stop activities, always something to do (much different from Iberostar in Jamaica). Glad we chose the Maya as the rooms were large enough for our family to spread out, and the changing area had plenty of storage for clothing. We did play the washcloth/towel game with housekeeping the first 2 days, 4 people, but 1 or 2 washcloths, so I asked our Bldgs concierge how to say it in Spanish and left a note in the bathroom and didn't have a problem after that. Our room was on the end so our balcony wrapped around, most balconies had a swing (kids used it more than I did). Make ala carte reservations on your first day, actually we made ours via email before arriving, our favorite was La Marina, the seafood was very fresh, we ate there twice. No rush for sun beds, unless you wanted to be near the Star Friends, those went pretty quickly. But there are so many places to sit and enjoy the weather. The only negative I would say is there are no ocean views, hotel sits back from the beach and you have to take a short path to the beach. The beach in front of the Maya was warmer than the pool and you could walk out 15 feet and the water would still be at your waist. We hit the beach everyday, the water was clear and you could see little silver fish swim by. Shows were ok, we only saw 2 complete shows as we were exhausted most nights. We visited the shopping center, loved the tacos there, better than at the hotel. There was also a Johhny Rockets style restaurant and disco. Great property, we met some great people and I would definitely return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your vacation, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya.

Our main goal, is to offer the best vacation experience to our guests, and reading your comments makes us feel extremely proud. Thank you very much for all the positive points and the negative one that you mentioned. We will be happy to have you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    726
    254
    106
    76
See reviews for
1,419
542
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed for two weeks mid to late october and had a terrific holiday. All staff absolutely wonderful. could not be more helpful. Welcome by bellboys and then reception an example of service throughout 2 weeks. Room, all common areas, gardens and pools spotless. we watched the chap clean tiles round pools daily( never seen that before) breakfast very relaxing as no rush to get sunbeds.All other meals very good and chefs always asking if we needed anything else. Chaps serving in buffet could give details of food they were serving which I found helpful. Bar staff at all 4 bars excellent as we tried all for a bit of variety. Tended to start evening at Beach(cigar allowed and didn't feel like outcast) and then went to Lindo for piano and then Maya. Fabiola? at pool always remembered what we drank without asking and also enjoyed ice cream parlour(this was our lunch as too much food for us to eat all meals) weather was perfect for us and as hotel was not full we enjoyed the ambience. Planning on returning next october as summer too hot. Beds perfect and didn't have sore back for two whole weeks.

Room Tip: we found block 63 handy for pool and restruants but as we enjoy a little walk it did not appear as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear you had a great vacation at our hotel and enjoyed the areas, restaurants, pool, beach, etc.
We will be pleased to welcome you back in your next vacations.

Best regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Iberostar for 3 nights (not long enough!) for a wedding Nov. 2nd.

This was my first 'all inclusive' experience. As far as value goes, well, I'd say in regards to all the free drinks (read: alcohol...or in my case, Mojitos) it was a good deal. The food however...

Food:

~Breakfast buffet: very good. Can't go wrong with breakfast food at most places
~Lunch/Dinner: not good. Very bland, dry.
~Room service: The worst! Do not, I repeat, do not order room service. The 'pizza' and the rest of our order was so bad we started laughing about it. And I left all of it. And I LOVE pizza.

We spent all day Sunday at Xel-Ha and ate there. Now THAT lunch/dinner buffet was great! Highly recommend you sign up in the lobby for that excursion.

Moving on...

The rooms were beautiful. Huge. But also really really loud. Did not sleep well as you can hear everything outside room and beds are hard and bedding is not comfortable.

The grounds and pool and beach were beautiful.

The employees were all very friendly, HOWEVER...

Do NOT misplace a towel card or room key or it's your @$$!

I live in the good ole USofA where when you leave a hotel you can leave your room key in the room and head on out. Not here. You MUST bring them to the front desk upon checkout. We didn't. So we had to trolley back to our room (a good mile away it seemed) to get them. Then, we had misplaced one of the 2 towel cards they give you (you exchange them for towels on the beach/pool). It's a BEACH vacation..one 'may' pop out of your shorts or bag and get lost. No big deal right? WRONG!

I couldn't find one of the towel cards upon checking out. It's a huge resort. I figured it fell out somewhere. I told this to the front desk person (it was a male and it was early Monday morning 11/5/12 if mgmnt is reading this) and we were chastised like children for misplacing it! I heard my boyfriend being scolded. My boyfriend said he'd pay to replace it and the man said "that's not the point." What?? So I walked right up and told the guy we didn't have it. He said "my question to you is where is it?" I said flat out and angry at this point "We have paid to be here on a VACATION, there is a beach and a pool and a lot of VACATIONING about and things happen. It must have fallen out and is gone." He was silent. And then our taxi came.


Bottom line:

Lovely hotel.
Eat breakfast there and rest of meals elsewhere.
Tip for drinks so they make em good (at the beach bar).
And DO NOT LOSE A TOWEL CARD lest you receive a verbal spanking upon checkout!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, they are very important to us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and will take much in consideration your comments about meals, room and the towel card. We are sorry with your trouble at check out with the towel card, we will be checking this issue also.
Hope you come back once more so we can have a chance to change some of the impressions of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We travelled to the Iberstar Maya on the 6th Oct for 2 weeks
The Flight – We went as always with first choice. We paid the extra for prem class, for the extra leg room etc. but the seat were very uncomfortable plus the couple who was sat in front of us on the way out had their seats right back from take off to landing the full 11hrs….. so please if you’re thinking of putting you seat back even in prem seats think about the people behind….!!!!! there’s not only you on the plane…... Some people just think of them self’s….get a grip ….on the way back they were two seats in front of us…I would of paid for them to be behind us…and they did the same too the poor old couple behind them again….The poor woman couldn’t move when the plane landed in Manchester….selfish ******’s
The Hotel is beautiful. The rooms were lovely. We were in block 63, its about half way between the beach and lobby, close to the pool but remember this place is huge so it a longish walk were ever you are. We’ve been to different places and Hotels in the Caribbean for the last 5 years but the Maya is the best we’ve been to but its the newest as well saying that…!!. The private pools are a lovely touch….This is the 3rd Iberostar hotel we’ve been to and I must say they take some beating they’re so very well run ….
The Maya and Lindo are basically the same hotel but with different lobby bars and receptions in fact I think we spent more time in the Lindo side then the Maya because the theatre and main buffet are on the Lindo side…
We did all the restaurants. Steak house lovely try the ribs on the buffet starter delightful - Cajon lovely. We’re not lovers of Sea food but tried it and it was ok .Japanese restaurant – lovely. Didn’t like the gourmet / French but again we tried it. A good tip don’t order you mains meals until you’ve had your buffet starter else they come half through your starter and it ends in a bit of a rush. We like taking our time between courses but that’s us…Buffet – there’s was always something to eat. There is a main meat or fish dish every night were the chef cuts you a slice off. Please please try the beef oh my god it melts in your mouth. The bar and the bar staff are all first class. They'll make you anythng you ask for plus in the main bar they got all the top named drinks
The hotel and grounds are beautifully kept. The workers are first class they never stop and always have time to smile and say hello. The lobby bar at the Maya is absolutely stunning; the attention to detail is unreal. The star friend’s shows at night were very good. They put so much effort in.
This is the first time we’ve been so late in the year due to work but we couldn’t have picked a better time to go. Like I've already said this Hotel is huge but it was at best only a quarter full, it got a bit busier at the weekends but not much and it was heaven…no getting up at stupid times just to get sunbeds….We’d roll out of bed at 10ish have a later breakfast walk down to the beach till mid-afternoon then go round the pool and have our pick of sunbeds it was heaven but on the same point I wouldn’t like to be there when its full… it would be a different holiday totally I bet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear client,

On behalf of all our staff members we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our lovely resort, Iberostar Paraiso Maya. We would also like to express our gratitude for the time you have taken to share with us and the rest of the online community, your opinion of your stay at our resort.
Having said that, we are delighted to have provided you with an outstanding holiday and are also pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff, delicious food, services and our beautiful well-maintained grounds.

With your most recent trip to Iberostar being so pleasurable, we are quite confident that you will be staying again at our hotel and therefore we sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafalgar, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had stayed at Barcelo Maya Palace three prior trips and was skeptical about trying anything else.
Barcelo does have a nicer sea front--no mangrove jungle to walk through to get to it.
But after staying at the IPMaya, I would have no qualms about going there again.

We rented a Hertz car and used it to go to Coba(I made it to the top of the 126 step pyramid) and Playa del Carmen to shop, get massages,and see the Nasty Ba$tards at the Wah Wah beach bar. JJ and his boys are a lot of fun.
The resort is relatively close to the airport and PDC which makes it nice to drive--we saved transfer fees,Coba trip fees, and shuttle or collectivo fees to PDC.

Checkin was a breeze. We arrived 7:30 pm and headed to the snake bar after checking in our rooms. We had made all of our restaurant reservations two weeks prior and had the Steakhouse the first night at nine. Very good seafood and steak. We ate at the Japanese Geisha three times, the Marina seafood twice and the gourmet once. Every thing was very good, especially the stone crab and king crab appetizers at the seafood. Had lobster, steak and shrimp at the Japanese--excellent.
The morning and lunch buffets were very good and offered many choices.The bars all served good drinks and we had a huge variety --Mexican flags to Dos equi beer. Enrique at the snake bar is a jewel, though all the bartenders were very good.
Service was very, very good and helpful throughout the complexes.

We used the hobie cats three different days and had nice sails--staff very nice at the divers shop.
Went to the special halloween party at the shopping center--they did a tremendous job with the "scare tunnel". The regular shows were not Vegas, but with a few timely drinks they were doable.
We had great weather the whole week(Oct 28-Nov4).
Didn't mind the walks--needed them after the meals.Golf carts were always at the lobby areas if you did want a ride somewhere.
Grounds were spotless with much vegetation to care for.
Again, the employees made things extra special and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We stayed third floor jungle side in 61--Even though 60 and 63-4 have private little pools, I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear client,


We would like to thank you for choosing the Iberostar Paraìso Maya for your vacation. We also apreciate your comments about our speciality restaurants, the food, bars and most important of all, our service/staff. Our main goal is guest satisfaction, and it is very gratying to hear we had acomplised that.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We returned to the Maya for the 3rd time and could not have had more fun. The rooms and food are good, but even better this time was the entertainment staff! The Star Friends work so hard and make the trip so much fun! We had such a great time thanks to Sandy, Juan Carlos, April, Marilyn, Carlos, Jonathon, Tracy, and team! Jorge in the Theater Bar was awesome!

Hope to see you guys soon!

<3 Vensors! (aka Miss Iberostar, Mr. Dancing with the Stars, Ashley from Colorado and Reese - Star Friends in Training!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear clients,

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed even more your 3rd stay with us. It motivates us to continue improving our services.
We have new management in our entertainment team so we are glad you like the changes.

We will be waiting for your, we hope very soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family of 10 loved this place. Just about everything met our high standards. Our rooms were clean, colorful, attractive. The food was very good..... not great, but very good. We never went hungry and particularly loved breakfast..... wonderful fruit and enough mangos for everyone.

Drinks were ok.... wine was just ok.... but drinkable.

Beach clean and fun with the huge waves to ride. Bring your own canvas raft for more fun.

Only detriment is that it is very, very large.... lots of walking to get from place to place, especially to the beach. Wave pool and lazy river barely adequate for this day and age of wonders. These could have been more elaborate.

But all in all we got our money's worth and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: There are hundreds of rooms ..... anyone will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took in writing this excellent review. We feel honored to have contributed to make your stay very pleasant.

WE also thank you for your comments about the lazy river and the wave pool. It is true the hotel is quite large, but we do have the “train shuttle” running through the complex for the clients that don’t feel like walking that much.

We hope this will not be a reason for not coming back, so we look forward to welcoming you once more in the near future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, VISIT US, INC. and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.