We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Windy 10 days in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Menasha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Windy 10 days in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

We returned from Del Mar on February 16th. We stayed for 10 days and booked through Apple Vacations - Fox Travel. This was our second visit to the area and our second stay at an Iberostar resort. It started off a little cool -60's but quickly rose to the 80's. The resort is huge, but the grounds were beautiful to walk through....with peacocks, (one white) coatis, guinea hens, and lizards. Flamingos live in the ponds near the del Mar lobby, while swans inhabit the ponds near the lobby of the Beach hotel. Beautiful flowers and trees. Just outstanding, clean and well maintained. Iberostar staff lived up to our memories, from the Quetzal last year. Gabriel, the bartender in the del Mar lobby bar evenings even made us Cheeseheads Brandy Old Fashions. Wireless Internet was available in the lobby for $13.00US per 24 hours. Food was good. We loved the Japanese, and Steakhouse. Mexican and Brazilian were good. The buffets were great, always having something for all and different specialties each day. We were in building 12, and on the hot days it was quite a walk to the lobby, so we took advantage of the shuttle that went around. Those drivers were great and would stop anywhere for us.
Can hardly wait until next year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    937
    334
    126
    77
See reviews for
1,010
883
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this resort from Feb 13th-17th, and absolutely loved it. This was our first trip to Mexico, and we are already planning our next trip. The rooms were very clean, the grounds were absolutely gorgeous. The service and staff were fantastic. Everyone always said hello. The food wasn't the greatest, this was the only disappointing part of the trip, but we learned to make do. The drinks from the bar were good, but you need to ask them to put a little more alcohol in them. Out on the beach I really enjoyed a frozen lemonade with vodka. It was really refreshing. There is a bartender at the lobby bar named Demetrio. He is a fabulous bartender. The beach front is rocky, but if you go down just a little bit towards the Lindo and Maya, the beach is fine. My husband and I really enjoyed the nightly shows that are put on at the resort. We saw them every night we were there. The walks can be very long to get from one place to the next, but they do have a trolley that will pick you up and drop you off. We also went parasailing while we were there. There is a dive shop right there on the beach that you can sign up to parasail. This was the first time for both of us, and it was great! One day while we were there we did the excursion to Chichen Itza. That was also a great experience. The resort has shuttles that will take you into Playa Del Carmen, but they have their scheduled departure times. Our Apple rep suggested we go in the evenings since that is when more people are out since it is not as hot. We took a taxi, and with the recommendation from the Apple Rep, we paid for our taxi in pesos instead of dollars. Apparenlty if you pay in US dollars, the taxi ride will cost $20, but if you pay in pesos, it is 200 pesos. The exchange rate at the hotel was 14 to 1, which is a good rate.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

What an excellent resort! My husband and I were looking for a week of relaxation, and that is what we got!

We travelled with Signature Vacations, and they certainly helped make our trip easy! (However, not sure that we enjoyed the airline ( Skyservice) --limited space, food OK, only can reserve seats at a cost-- but which airline is much better these days!) The Signature rep was waiting for us at the airport and took us directly to our hotel.

Check in was easy and efficient. We arrived at 3am, and there was still a restaurant open! They exchange money at the desk at a very good rate. Would recommend using pesos if you are shopping, as you will get a better deal. We took American money, but next time will probably just take Canadian and exchange into pesos.

The grounds are incredible. There are peacocks, flamingos, turtles and other jungle creatures all over the well groomed property! Didn't really enjoy the feral cats running around everywhere, but it seemed that lots of other people didn't mind them.

The pools were incredibly clean and not crowded at all (even though the hotels were 100% full). There were plenty of loungers and shade. Even though many people "reserved" their chairs, we never did and always found something comfortable.

The beach was gorgeous. There were lots of chairs and shade! The snack bar had excellent burgers and was the only place I found guacamole on the whole resort -- worth checking out!

Night shows were very good, and buffets had a wide selection. Wouldn't reccommend the "Tropical" restaurant as one of your sit-down meals, but others were excellent.

The "collectivo" that picks you up from the shopping centre is very affordable (40 pesos) and make many trips to & from Playa del Carmen. If you take a cab, be sure to have the price set BEFORE you get in, as they have no meters.



Down falls:
Check your bottled water --make sure it is sealed!! On 2 occasions, there was bottled water in our fridge that was not sealed & probably refilled!

I was ill with stomach cramps, etc. for the last 2 days of our trip (we never ate off of the resort), however my husband was fine.

Overall, LOVED the resort. The service was fantastic, the food was always good, and there was plenty to do. We will be going back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Beautiful grounds and swimming pool. The beach was also very nice with plenty of chairs and shade available, but it was quite windy during our stay. The drinks were not strong, so order doubles if you don't feel like going back to the bar many times! The swim up bars were fun. Nice international set of travelers. Food was decent but not outstanding. Ate at the Steakhouse and Tropical specialty restaurants and the appetizer bars were the best part. I traveled with a friend, but it was mostly couples and families. Not a place for a group of singles looking to mingle with others and party IMO. We did get upgraded to the best building in the resort - building #10, oceanfront. The balcony overlooking the ocean and the warm breezes and ocean waves at night made this vacation truly spectacular! It would probably even be worth paying extra for that building. Ahh!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Arriving Feb 7th from Boston, MA we found a magnificent experience. We stayed in room 1149 which couldn't of been closer to the pool and the beach for us. The resort, staff, food, cleanliness, entertainment, restaurants, drinks, pools, activities and the Apple representative were all top notch. Our room was always very clean and comfortable. The swim up bar in the pool is a geat place to meet people and make new friends. It's a large pool with a waterfall, footbridge and well manicured landscaping. The beach has a bar, grill and plenty of lounge chairs to soak up the sun. The buffett food was always fresh, the speciality restaurants were just that....special. We enjoyed the Japanese the most. Entertainment provided each night was a nice variety, colorful, funny and well choreographed. The activities staff always had something new each day, worked long hours and certainly enjoyed their job. This is a very large resort but the walk to dinner, the lobby, or the beach was picturesque through the grounds.

I can't imagine how anyone could be disappointed or have negative remarks about this resort. My "bucket list" is to visit every Iberostar resort.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Just got back from the Iberostar delMar. Booked thru Apple Vacations, which is the best way to go from US. The new airport in Cancun is top notch, seemed fewer solicitors this time. This was our first time at an Iberostar after 3 previous visits to the Bahia Principe resorts in Tulum. The two properties are very comperable. The delMar is a beautiful, sprawling property consisting of a total of 5 resorts: Iberostar delMar, Beach, Lindo, Maya and The Grand. The Grand is the Adult-only 6star top-luxury part of the Iberostar resorts (we actually ended up upgrading there for the last 2.5days of our trip, for an additional cost)

The grounds of the delMar are immaculte, the walking paths lead you through jungle-like settings, which encourage wildlife to stay in the area and become part of the grounds apeal. We saw lots of peackocs, pink flamingos, cats, mexican racoons, giant guinea-pig like creatures and of course iguanas. If you have only been the the Hotel Strip in Cancun, this will seem like a lot of walking, but if you've been to other resort properties in the Riviera Maya, you will be used to this sort of setup. There are two buffets near each other, because they are meant for the guests of both delMar and Beach. The buffet is just fine, plenty of choices for meateaters and vegetarians alike. The buffets are in the open air, so can get warm, but hey, you're in Mexico. They have different features on different days, on tuesday, I think, was seafood day with stone crab claws, mussels, clams and prawns ffor lunch. As for the al a carte restaurants, some of them are also outdoors (ex.Steakhouse) and some are airconditioned (ex.Gourmet, Brazilian and Japanese) We enjoyed everything but the Brazilian. The idea is fun, food on giant scewers, but the meat was not seasoned at all apart from being brined (soaked in salt water).

The pool(s) are gorgeous. The delMar has an enormous winding pool and we never saw a problem with getting a chair, though we did usually rerserve one in the morning with a towel and a book. At the end of the winding pool is a short walking path to the beach, the beach is gorgeous. It goes on and on along all the other Iberostars until you reach The Grand, which you admire(ogle) from afar :) (I will review our stay at this hotel separately, under the Iberostar Grand Hotel search name. ) note: someone said they offer tours of this property, highly recommend doing so, it's just gorgeous!

As to the location, the Iberostar resort is only about 35min bus ride from the airport, so it's great! It was our second stop (after the N.H. and before Xcaret) I would definitely recommend this hotel and we plan to return ourselves.
2Michiganders

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Arrived at the Del Mar for a 7 night stay through Apple Vacations with the Apple, Iberostar Square deal. We were hoping for a higher rated location but were pleased with the resort. Good flight, non-stop transfer and quick check in/out. Room was nice, nothing special but adequate and clean. The buffet was comparable to what we had last year at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. We tried 3 specialty restaurants; Mexican=good; Steakhouse=OK and the Japanese=excellent. We had excellent service from just about everyone. The entertainment staff was very good and we had fun with the pool games and beach volleyball. We enjoyed the 'Movie" show the best. Lots of walking and animals which was cool. There are cats that hang around the outside restaurants and occasionally the buffet but they don't really cause any trouble just takes a little time to get used to. We used the shuttle that picks you up in the back of the shopping center to go to 5th Ave for $4 pp. each way. Met lots of nice people from the US and Canada and of course Mexico. Would definitely do another Iberostar Square deal and stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, VISIT US, INC. and Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.