We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We took our 9 year old daughter her for her spring break & we all loved it. The hotel grounds were beautiful, The animals were gorgeous ( except for the stry cat that hung arounf the lunch bueeft). The pools were nice & spacious. It was several activities during the day & evening hours. The room was nice, spacious and clean. All of the workers were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations.

We are more than glad to know that everything was so great during your vacation and that the service, wildlife, pools and the buffets were of your liking.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were so pleased with our lovely and helpful team.

We sincerely hope to have the chance once again to welcome you back in the near future.

Truly yours,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,516
    944
    335
    128
    77
See reviews for
1,018
893
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just would like to share a quick experience about our trip to this resort. It was the best. Booked our vacation through APPLE Vacations. Room was very roomy and very clean, HK made those cute little animals out of towels everyday. Food was pretty good but have had better. Did NOT like the Mexican Restaurant at all. You would think that a Mexican Rest. in Mexico would be awesome but it wasn't . We actually left and went to one of the buffets. They are great especially for breakfast. Did not like seeing the stray kitties begging for food in the Buffet areas. I wanted to feed them so bad and my husband did not think that was a good idea. I have 3 kitties of my own and that bothered me. Loved the COATIE that we would see through out the resort and right out our terrace sliding door. They are a cross between a cat/raccoon/monkey/anteater. They will not bother you or hurt you. We stayed in a room that was very close to the beach for the resort is very big, had a longer walk to the restaurants but that was ok. Show were good at night. There was a different theme every night. No FREE WIFI but if you go next door to the Mall/Shopping center you will pick up FREE WIFI. Overall I still give this resort 5 green circles because anything negative was nothing that we had to complain about. Would we go back......ABSOLUTLY. Have fun people :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation.

We truly appreciate the time you took to share your review with us on Trip Advisor. It is great to know that your recent stay was so perfect and you enjoyed it. Thank you for your praise about our spacious rooms and their cleanliness.

We regret that the Mexican restaurant was not as you were expecting. At IBEROSTAR, we are very much focused on meeting our guests' expectations, that is why you can be sure that we will share your comments with the Head Chef to take them in consideration. We will continue working on that point in order to offer the best Mexican culinary experience possible.

It is a pleasure to read that you will consider our hotel for your future vacations. We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Paraiso
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Paraiso Del Mar is overall a fine place for an all inclusive holiday. I stayed in building 10, which is closest to the beach, and I absolutely loved the terrace that overlooked the beach. Yes, building 10 is the furthest from reception, but walking that 6 minute walk is really quite lovely, as the grounds are beautiful, well-maintained, and filled with wildlife. With every trek between my room and the restaurants and reception, I saw iguana, coatis, and numerous birds. The staff, particularly the restaurant and bar staff, are wonderful and very pleasant. I was impressed with the overall service I received during my week long stay.

However, coming to the Riviera Maya in July was oppressively hot and humid. Note that the Paraiso Del Mar only has a few air-conditioned areas. While the individual rooms have ample air-conditioning, the public spaces do not. The only spaces at the Del Mar to cool off are the sports and cigar bars. Even the enclosed restaurants have minimal air flow. Reception, the buffet restaurants, and the theater are open and become quite hot. Be prepared to sweat in summer. I have no idea how the staff is able to get used to the heat.

The restaurants, even the theme restaurants, have mediocre food quality. I found the Mediterranean the tastiest with the best variety, but the sponge painted decor made an otherwise nice space look cheap. (Painting it one solid color would be a nice change.) The restaurant staff, particularly Alexis, were friendly and helpful however.

There is no free wifi on the hotel grounds. If you don't want to pay for the spotty wifi service in your room, you will have to trek to the mall for free wifi. In the 21st century, wifi is something that is expected with a hotel stay, at least in the hotel lobby.

The information on daily operations was spotty. The brochure we were given at check-in had a map, but some of the features on there were incorrect or incomplete. It would be a great improvement if the brochure map includes hours of restaurants, types and locations of activities and their hours, and hours of the bars.

The colored bracelets that identify at which of the five resorts you are a guest are ridiculous. It was annoying to have these bracelets for the entire duration of our stay, and their presence made us an easy target for being hassled by 5th Avenue merchants in Playa.

Overall, I most enjoyed the grounds and picturesque beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear client,

On behalf of the Management of IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your observations provide us with great information regarding our services, facilities and the general environment offered at the hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the wildlife that we are privileged to have in and around our resort.

We appreciate your mention about the service provided by our staff and especially from Alexis; we will share your nice compliments with him as they motivate our personnel to keep giving the best of themselves to satisfy our guests.

On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that all in all our restaurants and buffets did not live up to our expectations. Be sure that we will keep working hard on it and that your valued comments have already been sent to each department concerned to be reviewed.

As per our Wi-Fi service, let us explain to you that we recently introduced it all around the resort, following our guests' recommendations, and we have tried to make prices as accessible as possible.

We would also like to thank you for your constructive comments regarding our map and the information given at the Front Desk, we are sorry about the inconvenience. We are constantly reviewing what information can be printed that is not constantly changing, so that it will not be confusing for our guests. We are creating a new format for that purpose.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Truly yours,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The grounds:
This resort is huge and located about 40 min from Cancun, and is part of a vacation complex consisted of a few different resorts. The two closest ones (del Mar and Playa) although have separate lobbies, share the same swimming pools, restaurants and entertainment. The one next to it (just ~100m away) Lindo, is placed slightly higher on the “resort social ladder” than those two, and anyone registered to it can use all facilities of del Mar, Playa, and Lindo, (while the two first one cannot use Lindo). Right after those three, there is Maya and Grand. That last one is considered as the “prime” and if you are the guest over there, you can use all of the facilities on the grounds mentioned above.
If one looks at the grounds (use Google Earth) one will notice a row of accommodation buildings on each side of the lobby with a set of swimming pools between. There is approximately ~400 meters from the lobby to the beach which takes about 7 min of walking (there is a shuttle if you dont want to walk). The entertainment section/arena, the main restaurants as well as buffet are located just behind the lobby, while two other buffets close to the beach. The last two are also used as a la carte restaurants at evenings. We feel that the accommodation close to the lobby was perfect as one has access to all amenities within reach the of your hand; what especially comes in handy during the evening. Loggings close to the beach might sound better, but personally we made only one trip to the beach in the morning, while later at evening there were many trips back and forth to the room.
When going to the beach one might feel like walking through a jungle with a difference, that there a concrete pathway swept/cleaned every day. At the point of entry to the beach, the concrete joins wooden, let’s call it, side walk, which stretches along the beach, thus one might chose if she/he wishes to stroll on the side walk or on sand. Furthermore, there a few places reserved for people with disabilities, with easy access for using wheel-chairs. Thus those gest can also have their own beach-beds in shade.
On the beach there are two towers with life guards, whistling from time to time on those trying their skills in deeper waters. When going for a swim one might spot rocks at the bottom which are covered with some kind of fabric to protect your feet from scratches. Of course accidents to happen, and one still might get cut, but the point is that precautions were taken to minimize such incidents. Every day a group of workers remove sea-weed.
Five minutes’ walk from the lobby, there is a small plaza area (part of the resort) where one can get fresh taco, ice cream or pan cake. There is also a night club or disco, but because alcohol is served for those 19 years and older, if you are under then it is out of limits as there are guards checking your bracelet (if it’s white, then you are “doomed”). The whole are of the plaza has FREE WI-FI, thus one can see groups of young and older fellows “socializing” with the rest of the world. If one wishes to have full access to Wi-Fi and not being restricted by location, then it is possible by purchasing 1 hr for $4 or a week for $40.
It is worth to mention that there is also a medical center and an ambulance just in case….

Accommodation:
Rooms are fairly big, clean, and with AC, which can be controlled by guests to suits their personal needs. One must remember that when you leave the room, the lights as well as power in receptacles are turned off. Therefore, leaving your charger plugged will not do anything good, but it will work when left plugged in overnight.
We never watch TV when on vacation, thus this does not make any difference to us, but those who wants to watch TV there are few channels in English (mainly news), I found one in French and one in German. There was also one in Russian, but I’m not sure if it was just something Russian on TV or if it was full Russian channel.
Each room has a small fridge with a few bears, pop, and water refilled every two days. I do not think that this was even required as the bars are always open, but for those who need a cold bear after midnight it might be a “life saver”. There is also a safety deposit box (free), coffee maker and an iron if one wants to straighten up a wrinkle or two on a shirt.

Entertainment:
As I have already mentioned, the main area where all show take place is close to the lobby, between two buffet restaurants. Unfortunately it is open space (no windows, walls) thus no AC. If one is brave enough to participate in a show, then in these conditions one will sweat in no time. Actually even if one is just sitting and sipping on a drink, you will be embraced by the humidity in no time, and this is one of the reasons to have accommodation close to the arena (or lobby) as one can quickly go the room and change or have a shower.
The shows are OK, but as we have different tastes it will be difficult to please everyone. Nevertheless, I have a silly comments in regards to “rewards” offered to the participants (tourists). In most of the time one will get a hat or a shirt, and mostly “gold medals” of Iberostar, and the lucky ones will get a bottle of Tequila (so rare as diamonds). Therefore I’m calling on the Management - we (the guests) spent enough money on the stay and you can afford a $10 bottle of booze. We do not need charity, but a game is just a game and it would be nice if we get something better than just “gold medals. Remember that we (tourists) like perks, and this is part of our nature. Perks make people happy and happiness is contagious, thus the more happy people will affect others and recommend the resort which in turn brings more money.
During the day the whole entertainment team is working hard on the beach to involve people in various games, so do not be shy, as what else do you have to do! Engage, play, have a drink and enjoy your stay!

Food:
I cannot complain as the food was very tasty. Those who never been in any other resorts will be truly amazed, but those who on the other hand have already a scale to compare to might be slightly disappointed due to scarce varieties. Nevertheless, all this depends on your expectations, thus do not expect too much to avoid any frustration (in general food was truly good ). If you do not like the food or do not want to go to the main buffet, then you can grab something at the buffet close to the beach or BBQ next to the beach bar (open from 10am – best burgers I have ever had).
Around noon, there is also a daily feast next to the beach BBQ, where a chef prepares a different daily dish in a 5’ (five feet) wok, thus be gentle on your burgers and leave some room for typical Mexican food (very good).

Excursions:
As always in such places there are a few excursions to choose from. As we already saw many of those before, this time we only went on the ATV/Cenote. It’s fun for younger people as one gets to drive an ATV through a dusty road in the jungle (if you have back problems I would not recommend this excursion). During a few stops one can take pictures or swim in a cenote. Those who prefer something more relaxing, should try a quick trip to Playa de Carmen (the 5th Avenue – shopping). At the lobby you can ask for a TAXI which are awaiting just outside the resort. Within a few minutes a driver picks you up and you’re off for shopping. The TAXI cost $25 one way for up to 5 people. We made arrangement with the driver so he picked us up where we were dropped off and back to the resort a few hours later, but there are many TAXIs in the city and you do not need to use the same one (for us it just felt safer – remember to only take a registered taxi). Whatever you are buying look around first as the prices vary; be also prepared for aggressive merchants who will try to lure you into their stores/shops “just to take a look”.

To conclude, one will never find the perfect place, and there will always will be “something”, but I have to admit that in general it is a good place to stay for a week or so, although if I had to choose again, I would choose Lindo (sharing the same grounds with Del Mar ).

Room Tip: I would personally recommend the rooms right by the lobby. Yes the walk to the beach from here is ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations in Mexico.

We are more than glad to know that your stay was wonderful and that you took the time to share it with us and other travelers. We will share your nice comments with our staff since they provide a very good motivational tool.

Thank you for praising our grounds, pool, services and the environment at IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar. We have also shared your feedback with the Management and for sure they will take it in consideration to provide better experiences to our guests.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to our Hotel!

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Paraiso
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just walking into the lobby is impressive. The resort is very clean and well maintained. Buffet food was what I expected but having multiple locations was very convenient, especially for breakfast. The restaurants were very good, our favorite was the Brazilian. We stayed in the #14 building which was very close to the pool and in about the middle of resort between the beach and the lobby. The beach is very nice much nicer than the other resort we stayed at a couple years ago. If you want to stay at a nice resort with a nice beach this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar for your vacations.

We are thrilled by your wonderful review and nice comments regarding your recent stay. It is a pleasure for all of us to know that our service and facilities made your vacations spectacular.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Truly yours,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a wonderful trip we had at the Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar. The resort is beautiful and the staff is superb. Kudos to the following who made our trip so special....Valerio, Caesar, Laura, Rita, Gabriel, Ricardo and Victor the bartender. Can't wait to see you all again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations in Mexico!

We are more than happy to know that you found the service from the staff superb, and that we provided you with an incredible stay. We appreciate your mention to all these single employees and their commitment to delivering unforgettable vacations.

We are looking forward to your next visit to IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar.

Saludos :-)

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel room itself is great, the food is OK and not as good as it was at Iberostar Cancun even though they are both Iberostar hotels which we found to be very strange. The hotel layout is what is most frustrating because the beachfront is narrow and the hotel is sprawled out for what seems like an eternity. If you like walking, you will enjoy this hotel very much. I don't, especially with a 17 month old and because of the heat rash. The second knock in this hotel is the lack of A/C anywhere but your room. It is ridiculous. When you eat, you are in the heat. When you are anywhere in the hotel thereis no repreave from the heat. I don't know about you but I don't mind the heat when I am enjoying the pool but not at diner time when I'm all dressed up and sweating. The pool and beach are so far from the reception it is ridiculous. The first day my key card didn't work and it took me 20 minutes to walk to the reception barefoot because my shoes were in the room, and of course then my feet were blistered. We asked for a crib for our son and they brought it at midnight!! While we were sleeping they knocked to bring in the crib!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar for your vacations in Mexico. Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us.

We are sorry that you felt that the hotel and the facilities were too spread out for you. We have a train and also golf carts providing transportation to our guests to avoid any inconveniences. However, this point is being reviewed and we are drawing a plan to improve this service.

As per the air conditioner, we provide this at the specialty restaurants and also at the main buffets to cool the temperature down, even if they are open air. We are sorry that you felt it too warm.

We hope to have the chance once more to welcome you back in the future to enjoy this paradisiacal environment.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.