We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Paradise. Bill S” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Conowingo, MD.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellence in Paradise. Bill S”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our second time to this resort paradise. First off, the staff was incredible. Room service was great, always cleaned daily, special towel animals each day. Food was incredible, a very large selection. If you come here and can't find something to your liking to eat, there is something wrong with you. Can't figure out the crybabies on some of their posts about the food. Loved the size of the property, did daily walking excursions at sunrise. Just incredible vegetation and wildlife! Now the best part, the Star Friends. You helped make this an incredible week! Cesar, Monsye, Benito, and beach bartender Roger. Can't forget magic feet, Edu! Your incredible energy was appreciated. Day and night. Hope they are paying you a lot as you went above and beyond every day. Yaya, keep on singing! Billy the Kid(sexy poppi) cannot thank you enough!!! Cannot wait until next year, hope to see you then!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Iberostar Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us again as option for your vacation in Mexico. We appreciate you sharing your opinion with other travelers. This is the type of comments we love to receive from our guests after a wonderful stay as they motivate us to improve our service daily.

We are grateful for your lovely words about are staff; we will pass them on, as one of the best rewards our employees can receive for their hard work, is their beloved guests’ compliments.

We hope to welcome you to our Hotel and enjoy once again our warm environment and great service.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    937
    334
    126
    77
See reviews for
1,010
883
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

It was our first visit to the Riviera Maya in August 2013, for only five nights, we will reserve at least 10 nights for the next trip! We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and the location. It was perfect, great price, great service, everything better than expected.
The hotel is wonderful, rooms are comfortable, tasty and varied food, excellent specialty restaurants, awesome beach and pool, good drinks, and helpful staff. Everything was relaxing and enjoyable, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the restaurants are better, because carts sometimes don't pass so frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

It is our pleasure to receive feedback like yours and to know you experienced an amazing time with us during your stay. It is fulfilling to cooperate in delivering paradisiacal and unforgettable vacations; we will share your comments with the Staff that assisted in making you happy during your stay.

We are happy to know you are intended to return to our Hotel, we would be more than glad to welcome you and offer you again an amazing vacation!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful week of sun, beach and drinks. I went last week and there's nothing horrible I can say about the place. If you love to walk as I do this is the place for you. The building we stayed at was in 1200 block. Close to the pool, the snack shack near the pool and just a short walk to the beach. But maybe an 8 minute walk towards the lobby/restaurants. If you like to walk the property is big. with lots of walkways. If not its a long wait for someone in those carts driving around to pick you up. Just one bit of advice the animals there are beautiful but don't feed them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Clients,

On behalf of the Staff and management we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at Iberostar.

It is fantastic to know you enjoyed a great stay with us and we were able to make this experience unforgettable. It reinforces our determination to offer unforgettable holidays when we receive your nice comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another amazing vacation at Iberostar.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the perfect vacation! We loved everything about the hotel. The staff was above wonderful and accommodating, especially the bartenders. The hotel is large and has plenty to offer everyone. The rooms are nice and the property was beautiful. My boyfriend especially loved that they had Dos Equis on draft!! If we were to complain about anything it would be that the rooms could have been a little colder and we would have liked to have been able to attend more of the nice dinners but they were not deal breakers and we plan to go back to this hotel next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are glad to know that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed our facilities, services and the great tropical environment at the resort. For us is truly important since it provides great information and helps us to keep offering the same unforgettable experiences to our clients.

It is great you highlighted that you enjoyed your dinners and also that you would like some extra dinners, these comments will make our Chef and his Staff very happy.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and offer you our warm hospitality.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winsford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I will keep this short and sweet, travelled to this hotel with my parner for two weeks 25th May 2013 for two weeks, the weather was terrible whist we were there we had 7 days of tropical storms out of the fortnight we were there, there is nothing you can do about the weather once your there your there, the hotel was very clean with the staff maintaing the grounds daily, room was good with room service included in the price, bars were all good with quality drinks at all of them, resaurants were excellent with a great variety in all, a la cartes were excellent with great service, entertainment was outstanding which due to the weather was a godsend, nightly shows were excellent, staff all work hard and were more than friendly and helpful, all in all I have travelled to Iberostar hotels in The Domican republic, Cuba, Brazil, Cozumel and now the Riviera Maya all brilliant at every resort, cant wait to return to another.

Room Tip: blocks go from 10 to 24 10 being on the beach going towards all the facilities 24 being on top of ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing us as option for your vacation in Mexico and appreciate the time you took to share with us and Trip Advisor your opinion regarding your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

This is the type of comments we love to receive from our guests after a wonderful stay as they motivate us to improve our service daily.

It is gratifying to know we contributed to the happiness of our guests and we trust you give us again the opportunity to stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar/Beach on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future in your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice resort and great price!! We met friends from California there and had a great time. Very relaxing and beautifully kept resort! Beautiful weather!

Pros-Beautiful grounds, beautiful beach, very clean, very helpful staff, great pools, plenty of food and drink options, shopping center, spa, wildlife on the grounds are cool.

Cons-While there was plenty of food options it does become repetitive. I'm a picky eater and had no problem finding something good to eat or drink. There is a lot of walking...plan on walking to and from all the places as I only road the trolly twice. We waited several times but nothing comes by and you could have been there by the time they picked you up. Had to pay for iffy wi-fi. $4.00 per 1 hour

Overall, great trip, great resort and great value and I would definitely return. We have been to Punta Cana, D.R. and Montego Bay, Jamaica and this was by far our favorite.

Room Tip: Choose a building in the middle (we stayed in 1321) since it is a little bit of a walk to the lobby...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Clients,

On behalf of the Staff and management we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at Iberostar.

We truly appreciate your taking the time to share these spectacular comments with us, since it provides us with a great motivational tool for our team.

Regarding the transportation, we regret to know that you found it to be infrequent; at the Hotel we have 2 trains that offer transportation to our guests around the premises, during the morning it runs from 7 a.m. until 11 a.m. and in the afternoon from 6 p.m. until 10 p.m. in the meantime the bell boys offer transportation in the golf carts. The time that the train takes from one side to the other side depends on the amount of guests using it.

It is gratifying to know we contributed to the happiness of our guests and we trust you give us again the opportunity to stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar/Beach on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesaning, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a nice resort for the price. This was a girls vacation for my birthday. We had a great time, the food and drinks were really good and plentiful, Entertainment at the pool and beach was great. Nightly theater shows were really funny a few of the nights. Be prepared to do a considerable amount of walking. The resort is big and you do a ton of walking to get from the beach/pool to the front of the resort to the lobby and restaurants (my only complaint). The food in all of the restaurants and buffets were excellent as were the drinks and service. Rooms were clean and receptionist upgraded us to rooms closest to ocean and activity pool for free, On my birthday the maid designed a towel cake for me which was really cool. Overall we had a great time and would go back again.

Room Tip: We were in section 11 close to pool, small buffet, and ocean which was nice. But resort is so big w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations. We are glad that you had such a great time.

We truly appreciate you took the time to share this spectacular comments with us, since it provides us a great motivation to keep offering the same incredible service to all our guests.

We feel confident to offer you our warm hospitality again at any Iberostar and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, VISIT US, INC. and Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.