We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
winsford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I will keep this short and sweet, travelled to this hotel with my parner for two weeks 25th May 2013 for two weeks, the weather was terrible whist we were there we had 7 days of tropical storms out of the fortnight we were there, there is nothing you can do about the weather once your there your there, the hotel was very clean with the staff maintaing the grounds daily, room was good with room service included in the price, bars were all good with quality drinks at all of them, resaurants were excellent with a great variety in all, a la cartes were excellent with great service, entertainment was outstanding which due to the weather was a godsend, nightly shows were excellent, staff all work hard and were more than friendly and helpful, all in all I have travelled to Iberostar hotels in The Domican republic, Cuba, Brazil, Cozumel and now the Riviera Maya all brilliant at every resort, cant wait to return to another.

Room Tip: blocks go from 10 to 24 10 being on the beach going towards all the facilities 24 being on top of ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing us as option for your vacation in Mexico and appreciate the time you took to share with us and Trip Advisor your opinion regarding your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

This is the type of comments we love to receive from our guests after a wonderful stay as they motivate us to improve our service daily.

It is gratifying to know we contributed to the happiness of our guests and we trust you give us again the opportunity to stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar/Beach on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future in your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,782 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,411
    863
    319
    116
    73
See reviews for
916
821
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice resort and great price!! We met friends from California there and had a great time. Very relaxing and beautifully kept resort! Beautiful weather!

Pros-Beautiful grounds, beautiful beach, very clean, very helpful staff, great pools, plenty of food and drink options, shopping center, spa, wildlife on the grounds are cool.

Cons-While there was plenty of food options it does become repetitive. I'm a picky eater and had no problem finding something good to eat or drink. There is a lot of walking...plan on walking to and from all the places as I only road the trolly twice. We waited several times but nothing comes by and you could have been there by the time they picked you up. Had to pay for iffy wi-fi. $4.00 per 1 hour

Overall, great trip, great resort and great value and I would definitely return. We have been to Punta Cana, D.R. and Montego Bay, Jamaica and this was by far our favorite.

Room Tip: Choose a building in the middle (we stayed in 1321) since it is a little bit of a walk to the lobby...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Clients,

On behalf of the Staff and management we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at Iberostar.

We truly appreciate your taking the time to share these spectacular comments with us, since it provides us with a great motivational tool for our team.

Regarding the transportation, we regret to know that you found it to be infrequent; at the Hotel we have 2 trains that offer transportation to our guests around the premises, during the morning it runs from 7 a.m. until 11 a.m. and in the afternoon from 6 p.m. until 10 p.m. in the meantime the bell boys offer transportation in the golf carts. The time that the train takes from one side to the other side depends on the amount of guests using it.

It is gratifying to know we contributed to the happiness of our guests and we trust you give us again the opportunity to stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar/Beach on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesaning, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a nice resort for the price. This was a girls vacation for my birthday. We had a great time, the food and drinks were really good and plentiful, Entertainment at the pool and beach was great. Nightly theater shows were really funny a few of the nights. Be prepared to do a considerable amount of walking. The resort is big and you do a ton of walking to get from the beach/pool to the front of the resort to the lobby and restaurants (my only complaint). The food in all of the restaurants and buffets were excellent as were the drinks and service. Rooms were clean and receptionist upgraded us to rooms closest to ocean and activity pool for free, On my birthday the maid designed a towel cake for me which was really cool. Overall we had a great time and would go back again.

Room Tip: We were in section 11 close to pool, small buffet, and ocean which was nice. But resort is so big w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations. We are glad that you had such a great time.

We truly appreciate you took the time to share this spectacular comments with us, since it provides us a great motivation to keep offering the same incredible service to all our guests.

We feel confident to offer you our warm hospitality again at any Iberostar and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, the beach is awesome. The room (1026) was, well a room. Nothing exciting except the view, it was on the beach and listining to the waves at crashing at night was outstanding. We did however have a problem with ants in the riim and it took 4 calls to the desk to get it resolved. The beds are firm the pillows were terribly hard for our liking. Ended up using the couch pillows to sleep on. The food was ok, but after the second day of the exact same thing on every buffet (3) was enough. We ate at the Mexican restaurant ( Hacienda) and it was just ok. The Japanese restaurant was also just ok but, the show was pretty good. The staff was friendly and was always asking if we needed anything. The pools were very nice. The drinks at the bars were never consistent and out of all the places we've been in Mexico they would be dead last for food and drinks. Now the bad stuff that has nothing to do with the resort. The Russians there on vacation were some of the most rude people I ever met. The worst was the group of I guessing age of mid 20's people the cussed out a guy at the Italian restaurant for not letting them in with no reservations. They would also show up to their rooms at midnight and be yelling and screaming. The worst was when a couple was fighting and he tried to kick in the door. The other people was the Mexicans on vacation, they would push you out of the way at the buffet, bump you off the side walk and block the walk ways. Even my 7 year old asked why they were so mean. Needless to say they were the worst part. Unless you count the 36 F degrees when we came home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We appreciate the time you took to share with us and Trip Advisor your opinion regarding your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

We truly appreciate your time and the feedback from your stay, since it provides us important information from our services and facilities. We are glad you highlighted the beauty of the grounds and the beach at the Resort, our Staff works very hard every day to keep it nice for all our guests.

We regret to know that the room was not as you expected and it did not exceed your expectations, we have already forwarded your comments to the Maintenance department to improve our response times with these issues. As per the beds and pillows, the Housekeeping department has foam covers for the beds to make them softer and the pillows can be replaced by them during the cleaning of the room.

Please know that the management and staff at Iberostar Resorts are committed to providing an ambience which satisfies the needs of our diverse clientele; while on vacation you can present your concerns to our Public Relations Department and our team will gather efforts to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All your comments have been forwarded to the people in charge of every department and to the management for their consideration.

We hope you give us the chance to stay again at Iberostar so that we can work to make you holiday wonderful.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Seventh time I've stayed here.One of the most beautiful resorts I've stayed at,in fact,I've gone back every year for 6yrs.Sadly I won't be returning.What use to be GREAT Food,has turned into simply survial food.Breakfast is appaling,lunch was o.k.and at least they have a buffet for dinner,and that is hit an miss. I recommend not even trying AL"CARTE,for the last 4yrs. I have walk out of everyone,minus the Italian,after the first bite.Sadly,I think this is the general trend for a lot of resorts,I heard the same opion from other people at other resorts.Going back to Jamica!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and other travelers your opinion of your stay at our Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

It is great to know that you gave us the opportunity again to welcome you to our Hotel, however, we regret to know that this year we were not able to accomplish our main goal and did not deliver an amazing and unforgettable stay for you.

We are committed to providing excellent services to satisfy the needs of our diverse clientele, so we have shared your feedback with the Executive Chef and the management to take your comments into consideration.

We hope you give us the chance to stay again at Iberostar; our Staff would be looking forward to your return, to show you the great service our guests are used to getting.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just arrived back home from another wonderful holiday at the Paraiso Del Mar and this being our 6th time there, were not disappointed. The only criticism maybe being that the buffet restaurant was not quite as good as in previous times, they used to have themed meals but now do not and we found it a bit repetitive, although saying that, we ate in the a la carte restaurants as often as we could (although guests can use them six times in two week period, they do let you use them more if there are spaces left) where the food is of a very good quality.
We were again impressed with the upkeep of the hotel and grounds, the swimming pools are being renovated at the moment so all nice and clean. The beach towels are a little old though.
Just to finish we would like to thank Jorge in the lobby bar for his fabulous chocolate martini's!!!
Thanks again Iberostar, we will return!

Room Tip: The top floor in a corner position is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share with us and Trip Advisor your opinion regarding your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, and we thank you for your loyalty!

We truly appreciate you took the time to share this spectacular comments with us, since it provides us a great motivation to keep offering an excellent service to all our guests.

We regret to know that you found the food not to be up to our service and excellence; we have already forwarded your feedback to the Chef and the management.

We are happy to know you are intended to return to our Hotel, we have forwarded your feedback to our Staff and the people in charge of every department than contributed in making your vacation special.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in our Hotel many times.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a great holiday location great,wildlife superb,however we also thought the Hotel appeared tired has fans of Iberostar this certainly was not the best we have been too.Rooms are cleaned well and kept that way although the bathroom could cerainly do with a face lift. Food was quite good but a few times felt it was just warm enougth to tolerate
Staff where quite good but seemed to pay more attention to Americans if you where at the bar The complex cosists of three Iberostarr hotels one with a shopping centre the bit we didnot like was a t shirt shop which displayed openly Tshirts with foul language printed on them which we found offensive so would be aware if taking children Because of the behaveor of American youths and their language I doubt if we will return to Mexico which is a shame because we love the country

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we thank you for sharing your comments regarding the value of your vacation at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

We would like to thank you for choosing us as option for your vacation in Mexico. We appreciate you sharing your opinion with other travelers.

We are pleased that your stay was great. Please know that the management and staff at Iberostar Resorts are committed to providing an ambience which satisfies the needs of our diverse clientele, so we would like to apologize for the inconveniences certain aspects of it may have caused.

We will certainly pass your feedback on to the Department Heads concerned.

We hope you come back to Mexico in the near future; it would be a pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , Venere, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.