We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat user” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Repeat user”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Seventh time I've stayed here.One of the most beautiful resorts I've stayed at,in fact,I've gone back every year for 6yrs.Sadly I won't be returning.What use to be GREAT Food,has turned into simply survial food.Breakfast is appaling,lunch was o.k.and at least they have a buffet for dinner,and that is hit an miss. I recommend not even trying AL"CARTE,for the last 4yrs. I have walk out of everyone,minus the Italian,after the first bite.Sadly,I think this is the general trend for a lot of resorts,I heard the same opion from other people at other resorts.Going back to Jamica!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and other travelers your opinion of your stay at our Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

It is great to know that you gave us the opportunity again to welcome you to our Hotel, however, we regret to know that this year we were not able to accomplish our main goal and did not deliver an amazing and unforgettable stay for you.

We are committed to providing excellent services to satisfy the needs of our diverse clientele, so we have shared your feedback with the Executive Chef and the management to take your comments into consideration.

We hope you give us the chance to stay again at Iberostar; our Staff would be looking forward to your return, to show you the great service our guests are used to getting.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    982
    339
    130
    78
See reviews for
1,041
934
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just arrived back home from another wonderful holiday at the Paraiso Del Mar and this being our 6th time there, were not disappointed. The only criticism maybe being that the buffet restaurant was not quite as good as in previous times, they used to have themed meals but now do not and we found it a bit repetitive, although saying that, we ate in the a la carte restaurants as often as we could (although guests can use them six times in two week period, they do let you use them more if there are spaces left) where the food is of a very good quality.
We were again impressed with the upkeep of the hotel and grounds, the swimming pools are being renovated at the moment so all nice and clean. The beach towels are a little old though.
Just to finish we would like to thank Jorge in the lobby bar for his fabulous chocolate martini's!!!
Thanks again Iberostar, we will return!

Room Tip: The top floor in a corner position is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share with us and Trip Advisor your opinion regarding your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, and we thank you for your loyalty!

We truly appreciate you took the time to share this spectacular comments with us, since it provides us a great motivation to keep offering an excellent service to all our guests.

We regret to know that you found the food not to be up to our service and excellence; we have already forwarded your feedback to the Chef and the management.

We are happy to know you are intended to return to our Hotel, we have forwarded your feedback to our Staff and the people in charge of every department than contributed in making your vacation special.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in our Hotel many times.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a great holiday location great,wildlife superb,however we also thought the Hotel appeared tired has fans of Iberostar this certainly was not the best we have been too.Rooms are cleaned well and kept that way although the bathroom could cerainly do with a face lift. Food was quite good but a few times felt it was just warm enougth to tolerate
Staff where quite good but seemed to pay more attention to Americans if you where at the bar The complex cosists of three Iberostarr hotels one with a shopping centre the bit we didnot like was a t shirt shop which displayed openly Tshirts with foul language printed on them which we found offensive so would be aware if taking children Because of the behaveor of American youths and their language I doubt if we will return to Mexico which is a shame because we love the country

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we thank you for sharing your comments regarding the value of your vacation at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

We would like to thank you for choosing us as option for your vacation in Mexico. We appreciate you sharing your opinion with other travelers.

We are pleased that your stay was great. Please know that the management and staff at Iberostar Resorts are committed to providing an ambience which satisfies the needs of our diverse clientele, so we would like to apologize for the inconveniences certain aspects of it may have caused.

We will certainly pass your feedback on to the Department Heads concerned.

We hope you come back to Mexico in the near future; it would be a pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts Creek, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

just returned from Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar and didn't want to leave.

we have stayed at 12 other resorts thru out Mexico, Panama, and Dominican. This resort is the Top of our Resorts So far. The All up Gang was fantastic as were the servers and Bar Tenders,. especially Lionel who is amazing. Good Choices of food. Went to 3 a la carte restaurants and they were all very Good. The Mediterranean twice, best Steak and lobster I have ever had. Brazilian was also a Carnivores Delight! The only Down side of the A la carts is you have to book the Day you arrive. We tried the following morning to book our 3 and they only had a few 9pm sittings. So you have to show up and hope there is a cancellation. We called from our room at 4pm and got in to a restaurant. Not our Choice one, but did get in. The Beach was fantastic with many empty lounges and a few palapas empty as well. If you want to go windsurfing, they actually have gear, but you need to bring a harness. Diving is Cheap right from the resort.

we would absolutely recommend this place to any one.

John and Tracy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear John F,

On behalf of the management of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us on Trip Advisor how your vacations went at our Complex.

We are pleased to have delivered you a fabulous vacation, we are more than happy to know that you now consider us as your top Hotels. We will give all your nice and generous comments to the people that you mention, one of the best rewards for our employees is to receive these lovely compliments from their lovely guests, so they know that they are on the right track.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back and offer you once again our service of excellence.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allofus3
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went with another couple to the Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar from the 3rd of October to the 10th 2013. Although this is the rainy season we had great weather. I few showers here and there but just jump in the water and your fine.
The resort is so clean. The pool is always blue, the beach is clean & the grounds were manicured to perfection! You can really tell the staff takes pride in their job.
The room was always clean & an adorable towel creature was always left on the bed.
They have a wonderful group called Star Friends. This group is putting on great shows, talking with you playing games you name it they do it! YaYa (spelling?) was my FAVORITE! She always has a smile on her face and will make you feel your workout after aqua aerobics!
Food is good, bartending staff is super friendly and if you jump on a golf cart make sure to ask for SUPER Mario!
All in all it was a great trip. Feel free to message me with any questions!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and other travelers your opinion of your stay at our Iberostar!

It is very rewarding to cooperate in delivering paradisiacal and unforgettable vacations; we will share your comments with our Staff that participated to make you happy during your stay.

The management and staff at Iberostar Resorts are committed to providing an ambience which satisfies the needs of our diverse clientele and it is so gratifying to learn that you lived an amazing experience; it drives us to keep improving ourselves.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back and offer you once again our service of excellence.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The fabulous staff at this hotel make this place a little bit of paradise. From the hard working ground staff to the cleaners, waiters and bar staff all doing their utmost for you.
An extra huge thank you also goes to the excellent star friends who work so hard to make you feel included and valued, they were all brilliant but a special mention must go to YaYa whose smile is infectious and Cesar, Benito, Gama and Gabriel for their unending enthusiasm. Our stay had varied weather but this didn't detract from our enjoyment. We didn't mind walking about the beautiful grounds and nothing is more than a 10 minute stroll away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dearest guest,

On behalf of the Staff and management we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

We would like to thank you in special for your recognition to all this single employees that make our hotel stand out and that at the end are the ones that would make you choose us again in the future.

We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel in your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Visited in September, very enjoyable stay. It is possible to have a very rainy vacation this time of the year, but we lucked out with decent weather. I heard some other visitors complaining about the food, but I thought as long as you avoided the junk food then the choices were great (fresh goat cheese, smoked meats, fresh fruits and veggies, seafood)! This is a good place for a quick break...4 days even.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations; it is very satisfying to learn that you felt “like a Star” at our Hotel :-)

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share this nice comments on Trip Advisor, since they provide great information and we are grateful for your lovely words about our staff; we will pass them on, as one of the best rewards our employees can receive for their hard work, is their beloved guests’ compliments.

Our Staff would be thrilled to know they contributed to offering an unforgettable vacation and we really hope we can offer you our hospitality anytime at our Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.