We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamed of paradise big let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dreamed of paradise big let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Firstly we are English booked with Thompson and paid £600 for room upgrade don't bother we were told waterfall shower feature lots of extras hotel staff said upgrade was to guarantee better location but that's subjective to every individuals needs it means a room nearer beach! We had a balcony that was unusable due to overgrown trees which if that's what we wanted we would have gone on safari our swimwear wouldn't even dry!
I read the reviews and even though I saw some negative comments I trusted the majority I can only say I am devastated. We were told they like tips so from moment of arrival I tipped it made no difference. The carts are almost impossible to get even if you ring to book they don't turn up!
They also don't like to drive around the resort if you're staying in the del mar and want to go to the mall you have to make two journeys firstly to your lobby then on to mall.
I don't mean to upset anyone so please don't take offence but they loved the American and Canadian guests, who often were not tipping. They got served first and interacted with 100% more. I would swim up to the pool bar and could stand for twenty minutes waiting (except when Luis was working) other guests especially those who spoke Spanish would swim up and be served on one occasion I made several comments and was fuming.
Went to Japenese restaurant with our 12 year old son who actually sat and cried as all the show cooking and tricks were done to a large Canadian family and we saw none then they got most of the food and our son didn't get what he had ordered, it was heartbreaking to see him so upset.
The rep was lovely but did say very few English guests booked that hotel I saw why from our second day I can honestly say I wanted to go home and had had enough! Even when we were waiting for our transfer home and new guests arrived it confirmed to me that we were being treated differently they all had welcome drinks in large cocktails with fruit on sticks attached. We got a small glass with two coloured juice. Again my son noticed so I had one made for him.
We are a very friendly family and our son always makes friends but this felt and was like a them and us holiday. We have been to many countries and even when there have been language barriers we have felt more welcomed. It was embarrassing and we felt very uncomfortable.
We got home yesterday and I am still shocked at our experience I am sure many will read this and like I did with negative feedback ignore but all I will say is if you are English don't waste your time and money you are not wanted!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacation.

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay since our main goal is the complete satisfaction of all our clients and the experience described is not what our service standard aims for.

As per the room comments, at the Hotel we do have 2 different rooms available the standard rooms and the junior suites, the junior suites are closer to the beach and are considered better located for this reason. Playa Paraiso Complex is located in a natural protected area and we cannot change any of the location of the trees or bushes, we can only make some modifications. We are sorry you were unhappy with this.

Regarding the transportation, we regret to know that you found it inexistent; at the Hotel we have 2 trains that offer transportation to our guests around the premises, during the morning it runs from 7 a.m. until 11 a.m. and in the afternoon from 6 p.m. until 10 p.m. In the meantime the bell boys offer transportation in the golf carts. The time that the train takes from one side to the other side depends on the amount of guests using it. We are really sorry to learn that in some occasions they did not seem to appear. This comment will be sent to Front Desk Department for their consideration.

As per the service provided at the pools, we apologize for the circumstance you described. We have already forwarded your comments to the Food & Beverage manager so that he can pay attention to this.

We regret to know that your son was unable to see the show at the restaurant and the food was different from what was ordered. The cooking show is made at the teppanyaki tables which are square tables for 18 people. The Chef cooks on both sides of the table to make sure our guests have the same view. We have forwarded your feedback to the Chef to verify what happened and to take your comments into account for our improvement.

We feel it is essential that we clarify that our staff, who are professionals in the tourism industry, are very much used to seeing guests from all over the world, and this is one of the things we all love. All our guests are important to us as it is thanks to all of you that we are still here in this demanding, competitive industry.

Once again we apologize for the experience you described during your stay, we really hope you give us the chance to welcome you back in the near future and restore your confidence in Iberostar.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,434
    874
    322
    118
    75
See reviews for
942
833
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent 8/10 to 8/17 with my family of 5 and another family of 6.All the kids were teenagers. We all had an awesome time and everything was first class. No one got bored with all the available activities between the nightcub, the ibersostar shows, the endless selections of games on the beach, pool, etc. The dinners at the Japenese and mediterean were especially great restaurants.The buffets were all good as well but the restaurant food being still the best.All the personnel at the resort were extremely friendly and very helpful.They work so very hard as do all the entertainers to make sure you enjoy your vacation.It was our first time here and would love to return again.The only negative are that the beach and pool chairs are very uncomfortable being that they are a hard plastic.I hope that Iberostar updates them.After a few hours, your back is very sore.It was a truly fantastic experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay.

We are pleased to have delivered you a fabulous vacation. It is also great that you enjoyed the different activities we have for our guests, the amazing service provided by the Staff and the great food you found at the Buffets and specialty restaurants.

We would like to thank you in special for your recognition to all this single employees that make our hotel stand out. We have already forwarded your comments to the management to take into consideration your feedback regarding the pool and beach chairs for our future improvement.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future to our Hotel and offer you the fantastic service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwich, Maine, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family of six (Mom, Dad, 14, 18, 20, 22-year olds) just returned from a five night stay at Iberostar Paraiso Beach.
At check in, we were told we had been booked into two two-double bed rooms. We asked if there were any king bed rooms available with a double nearby for the kids. The desk agent was able to find us two rooms on the del Mar side of the resort as a free upgrade.
The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. My wife and I especially liked our walk-in marble shower. Housekeeping left a cool towel sculpture each day and refilled our mini-bar with our requested beverages each day. We left a $2 usd tip each day in return.
Despite having two separate resorts side-by-side, we did not notice any difference other than having two separate lobbies. All restaurants, bars, pools, and activities were open to guests from either resort. We did prefer the buffet on the del Mar side as the service there seemed to be a bit more upscale. (Our daughters enjoyed having the waiters pull their chairs out for them.)
Specialty restaurants fill up fast, so make your reservations as soon as you arrive. We ate at the Steak House specialty only, and actually preferred the selection and service at the del Mar buffet.
Due to weather issues, the beach was red-flagged while we were there. However, coming from Maine, we were used to a colder water temp with some surf and enjoyed the beach anyway. The sand was beautiful and the water was warm, even if the locals said it was too cold to swim. (Maine water temp is lucky to be in the 60s in August !)
We had some morning rain showers on several days which created some issues for us. All of the lobby floors, walkways around the restaurants, and housing hallways are polished marble. Very beautiful, but also EXTREMELY slippery when wet. Use caution when returning to your room with wet feet from swimming or after a rain. The staff comes out in droves with squeegees after a rain, which helps, but you still need to be aware and take it slow.
The "Star Friends" activity staff was very pleasant and helpful. A daily schedule of activities was posted for the week offering a good variety of activities for all ages. Shows in the evening ranged from disappointing (Vegas) to spectacular (Sebastian the Magician). Arrive early (8:30 ish) to get a good table and play cards, have a drink, etc. until the pre-show starts around 9:00.
Very satisfied overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guests,

On behalf of the management we thank you for sharing your comments regarding your vacation at Iberostar.

We are thrilled that you highlighted several aspects of our facilities, and that the service from the Staff was always nice and welcoming.

It is great to know that the Front Desk was able to offer you a great location at the Hotel and your request of having your rooms closer was fulfilled. We have already forwarded your comments to the Front Desk and Housekeeping to make sure your nice experience is known by them and the people in charge of every department.

Your comments on the slippery show have been forwarded to Management.

It is gratifying to know we contributed to the happiness of our guests and we trust you will give us again the opportunity to host you at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar on your next visit to Riviera Maya!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is our second time at this resort and we've been to other Iberostars. The hotel is beautiful, great grounds, wildlife and public areas.
Our room was nice, the bed was great this time but if on the third floor (which we have been twice), don't expect great water pressure.
The food is great, even the buffet. Mexican night at the buffet was great. Room service although not a large menu, is perfect for an mid-afternoon or late night snack. Loved both theme restaurants that we had reservations; Mexican and Brazilian. My only complaint is the person at the reservation desk. Selena was the person on our last visit, there was someone different on this visit. I realize based on your reservation you only are allowed a certain number of nights, but we had two rooms, are repeat guests, and we did come each day and asked for any openings, any time, any restaurant, and she wouldn't even open her book to look, just gave me a flat out NO each time. Last time with Selena, she looked at all options and was able to help us. We weren't picky, we took Mexican three nights in a row. We prefer sit down and we purchased a bottle of wine each time. This would be a WIN for the resort, but she wasn't cooperating. This is the only part of the this vacation that I can honestly say I was unhappy about.

The lobby bar staff was fantastic. All of them knew us, what we were drinking and how to make it to our specifications. A couple of dollars here and there at this resort is always appreciated and it goes a long way. Even though it's all inclusive, these bartenders went above and beyond and were always happy and smiling even in the oppressive heat of the lobby. Mid-day there was no breeze, but they were busy.

The bell service and trolley staff were great. They take you were you want to go and take great care of you and your luggage. Carlos worked hard and carried all the bags up and down three flights of stairs.

Love the beach, really didn't have too hard of a time finding a shady area. We have a few people who couldn't be in the direct sun so we did find a great place for them to be able to enjoy the view and not be in the direct sunlight.

Definitely go to the shopping center. The taco bar and ice cream shop are a great way to get a snack and relax. The shops are great for shopping if you don't want to go into Playa.

If you want to go into town, take the bus in the lobby. It's cheaper then a taxi and very easy and convenient. At 2pm they leave the hotel and at 6pm they take you back to the hotel. Four hours is plenty of time to shop, and $10 round trip per person is a reasonable price.

Overall I would go back a third time, perhaps I would try one of the other resorts. They are all connected, but didn't have time on either trip to explore to see how they are different.

Room Tip: Buildings 11-15 are close to the pool and beach. Buildings 16-21 are closer to the buffets, restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Iberostar Guests,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar again for your vacations.

We would like to thank you in special for your recognition to all this single employees that make our hotel stand out and that at the end are the ones that would make you choose us again in the future.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the dinner reservations desk; we have already forwarded your comments to the Public Relations office to verify what happened and to take the necessary measures to keep offering our guests the most amazing service and the best experiences ever.

We feel confident to offer you our warm hospitality at any Iberostar and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

All I can say is that we must have picked a bad week. Could not find the great staff all these people are talking about in their reviews, in the bars and restaurants no one made any attempt to get to no our names are where we were from, we had the most un-welcome feeling the whole stay. To all of you who had a wonderful stay we envy you. As for us, strike one your out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Clients,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations.

We regret to know that the service was not as you expected and that you felt an unwelcome feeling during your stay. We have forwarded your comments to the Staff and the management to take the necessary measures to avoid these kind of experiences, since this is the last perception we want our guests to take home.

We hope you give us a second chance to offer you the service we are capable of offering and provide you with an unforgettable vacation.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been to Mexico more than ten times. This was a pleasant trip but we preferred last year's stay at the Iberostar Tucan. The rooms this year were perfect - exactly what we asked for and their location could not have been better. It is a large property - but with all the drinking and eating, we needed the walk. Maid service was the best. You couldn't ask for more. All the service at the property was good - everyone was very gracious. Some of the negatives were the mosquitos, the ocean water quality and the ability to get into the ala carte restaurants. If you walked south on the beach - past the neighboring property - the water is beautiful. Right in front of the resort, it has a lot of seaweed. We were frustrated at not being able to dine at a speciality restaurant until the last three days of a seven day stay. The buffets are fine - just not for breakfast, lunch and dinner four days in a row. All the food we ate was good - and we are a bunch of foodies. For the price it was a good value but we had a better stay last year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar again for your vacation.

It is great to know that your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed an amazing time with your family. We are more than glad that the rooms were perfect and the location could not be better.

It is great to read that you found that the service of the Staff was always outstanding and gracious. These comments are truly important to us, as our team’s main reward is the recognition of their hard work.
We regret to know that you did not enjoy the ocean during your stay; unfortunately since this is a protected area we are unable to modify the environment.

It would be amazing to welcome you back on your next visit to Riviera Maya; if this is the case please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The four of us stayed at this lovely hotel for 14 nights this summer. It is a huge property so there's plenty of walking to get around it, there is an 'express ride' golf carts to take you round the edge with bus stops. But you can find a quite spot if wanted because of the size.

The beach is the best feature of this resort, beautiful, we spent most of our time there sunbathing, kayaking, wave jumping, para sailing etc. The food and facilities on the beach are very good. The pools are lovely too, with pool bars, pool games etc, we just prefer listening to the ocean to the pool sounds.....We did have an issue with finding free sun loungers either by the pool or on the beach as people had 'reserved' them with towels, which apparently the hotel 'Prohibits', signs everywhere saying so, this was at 8:30am on some mornings a bit later on others, these reserved loungers where then empty of people til well into the afternoon. Very annoying.

The staff are mostly very friendly and are happy to help and serve you with a smile and an Hola! There is lots to do if you want and the "Star Friends" are very enthusiastic about getting people involved (the entertainment can be a bit tacky at times). The rooms clean and roomy, our maid was lovely, creating a different figure out of towels every day, we stayed in Block 17 which was pretty central to the beach, pool and restaurants.

The food is excellent, plenty of choice in the buffet area and the specialty restaurants are very very good, we highly recommend the 'Japanese' and 'Italian' restaurants.

We really enjoy our visit to Mexico

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and enjoyed the great service provided by the Staff and their unbreakable will to offer a quality service and unforgettable experiences.

We have forwarded your comments to our Staff since their main and most important reward is the recognition to our hard work and efforts. It is also great to know that you enjoyed the beach and pool with your family.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future; we will be looking forward for your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.