We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our first trip to Mexico...My family and I (ages 15, 13, 11) stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar from July 29th to August 5th. We stayed in buildings 18 and 19. At first, we thought that it was a long walk to the beach but it is not as bad as it looks on the map. It was actually a good location as explained by Daniel at the reception because it is close to the restaurants and lobby. In any case, there is a small shuttle that brings you back and forth all day.

Our room was spacious and was cleaned nicely everyday. The cleaning staff made a towel animal everyday that we always looked forward to see at the end of the day. We asked for an extra pillow and they brought it to us right away. The kids also ordered room service a few times and it was delivered within 30 minutes.

The grounds are beautiful and nicely kept. The pool was spectacular. The biggest I have ever seen. There is a quiet area and then the more lively action packed pool where the activities were held. The beach was beautiful and the sand was soft and white. There were plenty of palapas available at both the beach and the pool.

The entertainment staff worked all day…from 8 in the a.m. to late at night. Cesar, Edu, Christian, Benito and the rest of the crew do a great job in entertaining the guests and getting them involved. There were activities all day for all ages. My kids kept busy will beach volleyball, darts, ping pong, pool and beach games and the list goes on. The night shows were also entertaining which we enjoyed watching.

We attended 3 of the specialty restaurants. The Japanese is worth going to. The food at the Mediterranean Restaurant was served cold. The Mexican restaurant was ok but the guacomole was excellent. The food at the buffet restaurant was good. However, we found that there was a better selection in the buffet at comparable resorts we've visited in Punta Cana. No stomach issues which was my biggest concern. We ate at the pool restaurant (buffet) for lunch and then they also had a burger/hotdog/nacho/salad stand right on the beach for convenience. Overall, the food at this hotel was fine and most reasonable travellers would find it plentiful and of good quality.

For management to review: Free Wifi should be standard for guests in the lobby to accommodate travellers researching potential excursions and to do web check-in for their return flight.

My family had a wonderful time at this hotel and we all agreed we would definitely return again.

From Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Clients,

On behalf of the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar management we would like to thank you for your recent stay.

It is great that your entire stay was great and you found the services and facilities provided at the Hotel fantastic. It is our pleasure to know that our Staff made an outstanding effort to make sure your stay was incredible. The recognition of the staff’s hard work is the best reward.

It is great to know that you found lots of activities at the Hotel and enjoyed them all during your stay.

We would also like to inform you that we are already working to provide a better internet service at the facilities for our guests.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again an amazing stay with us.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    1,059
    375
    141
    83
See reviews for
1,128
1,008
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

"Welcome to Paradise" was our greeting on arrival on 23rd July 2013 for 14 nights, by bellboy Phillippe, which after a 12 hour flight from England was a much appreciated warm welcome - and how right was that saying!
The place is immaculate:- grounds, beach, pool, rooms, restaurants and bar area. All of the food is of a high standard, at the a la carte and the buffet restaurants. Our favourite a la carte was the steak house. The breakfasts were excellent, so much choice, and staff are on hand to whip you up an omelette of your choice.
All of the staff work extremely hard, polite, helpful and happy!
The Star Friends worked hard to entertain with no effort at all, clearly they all loved their jobs.
Our favourite Star Friend was Caeser, he did make us laugh, and Benito also, who did the cycle ride.
Other staff who provided an excellent service was Phillippe the bellboy, nothing was too much trouble. Alfonso the concierge, helped us out with an ATM problem, as the instructions were in spanish. He actually came to the ATM with us to assist, and gave us his business card in case we had any other problems throughout our stay.
Jorge the bar man was also very friendly and was genuinely interested in our opinion of the resort and Mexico.
All the reception staff were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Just as well as our First Choice/Thomson representative knew nothing!!
We found only one member of staff to be hostile and miserable- the manager of the Elfaro snack restaurant. Tall bloke, we called him Count Dracula. He was very hostile and chased us away when we tried to get a drink after 4 one afternoon. We said hello to him and smiled on numerous occasions but he ignored us and his miserable face never altered. He seriously needs spoken to about his attitude, he's letting the Iberostar image slip.
I don't understand the People on here who complain about the size and the walking- The size makes it variable:- choose between days at the fantastic beach or days at the extensive pool; nights can be spent in the lobby or catching the show or a walk up to the shopping centre for a drink in the bar followed by nightclubbing. I had my two children aged 18 and 21 with us and they loved the place and it was a very safe environment.
I would advise to do the cycle ride early on in the holiday. A Star Friend takes you round, its fun and helps you get your bearings. I would also advise trying the tacos and the ice cream at the shopping centre- both delicious. Trips - xcaret is a must. With there being four of us it was cheaper to go through the agent at the hotel rather than our own travel agent. Not only was it cheaper but we travelled by taxi rather than in the bus, which picks up at other hotels. It's worth checking this out. .
Please be wary of the ATM s on the complex, they charge ridiculous amount for withdrawals. Use a proper bank at playa del Carmen. Had we known the safety deposit boxes were free in the room we would have took all cash.
To the Management:- We will be returning next year, we've found paradise and can't wait !!

Room Tip: We stayed in block 12, which we found ideal. Blocks 12 to 15 are the best for us, near the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay and also for sharing you amazing comments regarding your experience.

We are more than glad to know that everything was incredible during your stay and also that you enjoyed the food at all the buffets, snack bars, and specialty restaurants. The Chef and his staff will be happy to receive recognition for their efforts and hard work.

It is fabulous that you took the time to recognize our employees and the great service they provide to our guests, it is their best reward since it keeps them motivated to deliver amazing service and a great vacation to our guests.

We regret to know that the service provided at the snack bar was not as you expected and made you uncomfortable during your stay. We have advised the Food & Beverage Manager and the Hotel management to follow up this matter since this is far away from the experience we want our guests to take home.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back; we are already looking forward to your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice people/staff and well maintained resort.

Scope for improvement for them:
- WiFi needs to be made available in the rooms. At the least a wired Internet connection in the room would be very helpful.
- Frequency of the transportation within the resort needs improvement. It was supposed to be 10 minute frequency and a couple of times we had to wait about half an hour.
- It would be great if they have a couple of English speaking members in the restaurant staff, or if they provide clearer signage by the food to indicate vegetarian/allergy information.

That said, we would not hesitate to go there again or recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your vacation.

We appreciate your sharing your feedback with us since it helps us improve our services. As per the internet access we are already working to provide internet access to the rooms and the public areas as the pool. Thank you for your suggestion!

Regarding the transportation, we have the white trains that run from 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. and from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. to provide transportation to our guests, but we are sorry to know that you had to wait for longer than 10 minutes at times; their frequency highly depend on the amount of stops it has to make and the time taken in each stop. However, management will be informed of this.

As per the allergies or vegetarian needs, the concierge can print our guests a letter explaining the condition in Spanish to present it at the restaurants to have a better idea of the food you would be able to eat. We apologize if these procedures were not offered during your stay. We also have a chef hostess at the restaurants that speak English to assist our guests with any special requests. Your comment is very valid and makes us realize this has to be enforced. The Food & Beverage Manager and Public Relations Departments will be informed so that future guests feel safer in this respect.

It is great to know that you would visit us again and also recommend us; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband travelled to the delmar on the 18th of june for two weeks for our 25th wedding anniversary from the moment we got there the staff where amazing the check in was very quick and the staff very helpful.the food was fantastic the al a cart restaurants where very good ,the rooms are lovely we stayed in block 13 very close to the pool and beach,the pool area is very clean with 3swim up bars had no trouble getting sun beds if you go to the beach you need to get there early for a bed.animation team work really hard and try to get everyone involved but are not pushy,be prepared to do lots of walking or jump on the golf carts u will always find one.we loved everything about our holiday and would highley recommend the del mar hopefully will be returning next year with more members of the family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing us for such a special celebration as your 25th wedding anniversary.

It is fantastic to know that our services, facilities and the Staff made sure this occasion was special from the beginning to the end.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future and offer you again an unforgettable vacation.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Overall excellent experience.

Service 10
Room 9
Cleaning of room/property 10
Pools 8
Beach 10
Food 8 (Buffet 9, good selections/restaurants 8, not bad)
Staff 10
Weather 10

SunWing Flight 8

Good value for the money as we travelled with two young men and required two rooms.

We would come back to this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1400 block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar Staff we would like to thank you for your recent stay.

It is fantastic to know that your stay was memorable and you enjoyed an amazing time at our resort. We are happy that you remarked all our services and that you were pleased during your vacation by our Staff.


We have forwarded your feedback to our Staff and the people in charge of every department since it is important for our improvement and motivation.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in your next visit to Riviera Maya; if this is the case do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Resort was very nice ... Good staff and very good food ... However I did not like the open to outside layout .... It's very pretty .... But you sweat ALOT ... This hotel be awesome in winter months ...... I traveled with small children and there was things for everybody to do ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Client,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar.

We are glad you shared your comments regarding your vacations and also that you highlighted the service from our Staff, the food and the nice areas our maintenance department keeps by working hard every day.

We regret to know that the weather was too hot and the humidity was an issue with the open air restaurants. This was designed to have a more authentic tropical feel. We are happy to know, however, that you and your children enjoyed a nice vacation and the different activities offered throughout the day.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in your next visit to Riviera Maya, maybe in winter :-)

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed for one week with family. The resort itself is grand; we booked at Parasio Beach but when we checked in we were given our room in Resort Del Mar, no real difference as all areas are shared between the two resorts. The entertainment staff were extremely friendly, but front desk (reception) were cold and unfriendly, in addition to that service at reception was very slow. Food was great, there was always something to eat. Beach front was very sandy, with ample places to lay down. Water was warm, but at times the current brought in 'ocean grass'. Went to Playa Del Carmen for shopping, if there is anything you need to buy go there way cheaper and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay.

We are delighted about your highlight of the grounds at the Hotel, the friendliness of the Staff and the food quality and variety at the different restaurants. It is truly important for us since it shows us that we are on the right track to achieve our main goal, the complete satisfaction of our guests.

Iberostar Paraiso del Mar & Beach as you rightly said share many facilities and services but are divided in two for operational reasons. We have already forwarded your feedback regarding the Front Desk service to Management and Human Resources, to help them improve and satisfy our guests. We are sorry about your dissatisfaction in this respect.

Once again we would like to thank you for your nice comments and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.