We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge complex, good value, not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Westfield, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Huge complex, good value, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This resort is part of a large complex consisting of four other Iberstars, the Grand (adults only), the Lindo, the Playa, and the Del Mar. The Del Mar is definetly the budget one, not that it is dirty, or ugly by any means, it is beautiful, however, beach amenities (lounge chairs, tiki huts, etc.) seemed less luxurious. Try to get to the beach by 8 am if you want a shaded spot, it's nearly impossible to get an umbrella (tiki styled) otherwise , and not sure what you have to do to get one of the lovely canopied beds that are advertised here. The pool is huge, winding with a waterfall at one end, simply lovely, but in June we felt no relief from the 90+ degree weather and 200% humidity. Ditto for any type of shade or beds by the pool, nearly impossible to come by at 11 am. Rooms are adequate, two full sized comfy beds for myself and two teen daughters. They were very clean, maid service even left adorable animal friends made from towels each night, a la cruise ships! Keep in mind the lobby, the restaurant where you buffet for breakfast lunch or dinner and the theatre where there is entertainment nightly are open air, no a/c and very warm. This is especially important for the nights you don't have reservations for the restaurants, which, much to my surprise they only guaranteed us 2 reservations on a 6 night stay. I was a bit miffed about this, but we ended up with a nice concierge who made 4 reservations for us. Restaurants that we tried were the Mexican (excellent) japonese(eh, typical hibachi smelly steakhouse style) Mediterranean (amazing) and American Steakhouse (awful, open air in the buffet by the pool in Lindo.) The entertainment was wonderful, the Star Friends have ceaseless energy, and are great fun, from games at the pool, fun games at the beach, and fabulous shows nightly. The gym was terrible, small, and a grossly inadequate amount of treadmills(5 maybe?) 3 bikes(2 of which were not in service) and 1 stairmaster. Not sure there was an elliptical, perhaps it was occupied the 3 times I was there?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments with us since it provides us an important tool to improve our services and facilities and reach our main goal, which is the complete satisfaction of our guests.

We have forwarded your feedback to the Chef and his staff, they would be more than glad to know that the Mexican and Mediterranean restaurants were fantastic and enjoyable. We would like to add that our reservation policy is to ensure all our guests have the chance to enjoy our a la carte restaurants; however, there is always the possibility to use them more times whenever there is availability.

Thank you for highlighting our Entertainment team, who work really hard to entertain our guests; we will be forwarding them your comments!

We have passed your comments on the gym equipment to management. Thanks for that feedback.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back the next time you choose Riviera Maya as your destination, if this is the case, do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    1,059
    375
    141
    83
See reviews for
1,128
1,006
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great Vacation. Hotel was very well kept. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was nice, and the air condition worked well. Only complaint was bathroom could have been laid out a little better. Room Service was great. Room fridge was well stocked (beer,water,soda)
Beach was the BEST of all the resorts in the area! Ocean clear blue water. A few rocky places, but overall very nice. Pool was nice. Very big ! Never crowded. Ok, to the dislikes food was the top of the list. I would like to see some Mexican Food! Im in Mexico! Buffets were set up for the American and European Tourist. Not much variety from day to day. Specialty Restaurants - we ate at the Mexican and Brazilian Themed. Mexican was not good. Again come on im in MEXICO. Talked to a manager and he said the same thing, that they needed to put more effort with Mexican food. He sent us to an authentic Mexican restaurant. Finally real Mexican food! The best food we had at the resort was at the Brazilian themed. A must if you stay here.
My final dislike. BARS. Drinks were weak. Not that I drink alot, but I would still like to taste a little tequila ! Even tried tipping the bartenders, no luck. Service was slow and under staffed. Excursions - we did the Be Maya Chichen Itza booked through AmstarDMC. Loved it. Long day, 12 hrs. Food was the best we had all week. Pepe and Alberto were very knowledgeable and friendly. The next excursion was the Whale Shark Snorkel. Booked again through AmstarDMC. Given the wrong pickup time to start. Ticket said 6:50 am but was to be 6:30 am. The experience was AWESOME! About 30 whale sharks in the area. Snorkeled 3 times for 10 minutes each time. After we stopped at a little inlet. Said to snorkel and eat. Food was a ham/turkey sandwich and a cup of salsa. Paid $205 each. Was not worth that price! You can book from others for the same experience and for a lot cheaper !

Room Tip: Building 20 is close to Lobby. Lower the building # the closer to the beach. We stayed in building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We walked in and felt like royalty!! Stunning Hotel...loved it immediately! Pool was super! Beach gorgeous! My kids loved the FOOD, Three teens ate for days! Entertainment was really fun and the clubs played great music. The Staff were so friendly, the beach volleyball was awesome. loved yoga everyday, kids loved archery! Our new year celebration on the golf course was so exciting! We loved the trip and would definitively go back!!

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

It is incredible to know that your stay was amazing and you enjoyed our paradisiacal environment and great Staff.

We would like to thank you in special for your recognition to all these employees that make our hotel stand out and that in the end, are the ones that would make you choose us again in the future.

We have shared your experience with our Staff and the people in charge of every department, be sure that the entire Staff will be looking forward to your next stay at our Iberostar.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I are managers at one of the top restaurants in the Tri State area, and when it was time for us to go away for a week we booked a vacation at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar in the Riveria Maya. My uncle is a travel agent so when it was time to go away this was his top recommendation. Boy it was worth it. It was amazing and we cannot wait to go back. We were shocked to see how well kept the resort was and how friendly the staff is. Everyone went above and beyond to fulfill our every need. The food at the restaurants were fantastic and the service was impeccable. Coming from us that means a lot because of us being in the industry we have our standards set high. The resort is huge and tons of things to do. There is no need to even leave the resort.The star friends that work at the resort are great, they did an excellent job at keeping everyone involved. Tons of activities during the day by the beach and pool that they encourage everyone to do, and the shows in the theater at night are great! When we did leave the resort to do an excursion we went with other couples at different resorts, when the driver dropped us back off the other couples we're so jealous because the Iberostar is 10x prettier and bigger then the others in the area. Our trip to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar was well worth it and more. Exceeded our expectations and recommend it to everyone. Our only complaint is that the week went by too fast.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Try to be on the second floor. If it does rain a lot you don't want to be on the first floor. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at our Iberostar.

We would like to thank you for your amazing comments and for taking the time to share this experience on Trip Advisor.

Our staff is more than glad to read your good comments about the food and well kept areas in our hotel; coming from such professionals as you, this is a gigantic compliment.

Thank you also for highlighting our star friends team, we will be forwarding your comments to them to keep them motivated!

If you come again to Mexico and to the Mayan Riviera, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and offer you again a memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My daughter is graduating from college this summer with her second degree in Medical Science so I chose Iberostar as our resort for her graduation present. We were treated like princesses! Everyone was extremely nice, helpful and cordial. This was my 3rd trip to the area and my daughters first but my first stay with Iberostar. We hope to make this resort our annual retreat!!! The BEST vacation of my life!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for your recent stay at our hotel, and for the opportunity you gave us to host you and your daughter on this special occasion.

We take pride in our warm hospitality at Iberostar Resorts, where each team member is passionate to make you feel like a star. We are more than happy to know that you had an excellent vacation with us, and that all our friendly staff made you feel like home. It is our main goal to offer the best service to our guests to enjoy unforgettable moments in our resort.

We would be very happy to welcome you back in the near future at our premises, the Staff would be delighted to offer you again an incredible vacation and make us your first choice for the next vacations.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pool had mold on walls and cut foot on missing tiles. Rooms were hot. One bartender at swim-up bar. Not enough staff to maintain the property. Entertainment by pool not geared toward children. Bikiinni contests and in general inappropriate for kids. A Cat jumped off the grill at one of the buffets. Food not great...no variety. We were shocked by the rudeness of the Russian people who were completely oblivious to common courtesies and didnt watch or control their very naughty children. This was our first 10 day stay and was not our idea of a good time! We payed for all the things you would expect and they said would be included like internet and there are no alchohol bars in the rooms. No import alchohol in general. Nickel and dimed to death. FAR from a 5 GOLDEN we are used to

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Clients,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments with us on Trip Advisor.

We regret the fact that you did not enjoy your vacations as you imagined, be sure that our Staff is committed to ensure our guests have an incredible time at our Hotel and have unforgettable memories.

We have already forwarded your comments regarding the pool to the maintenance department to give a priority to the tiles and the cleaning of the areas affected. These areas are constantly maintained, but we thank you for that feedback so that immediate actions may be taken. The Food & Beverage department has also been informed of your comments.

Your words regarding the entertainment have been forwarded to the Star Friends Manager to take into account. Ours is a family oriented hotel with activities for the older and younger, however, they will go over their daily array of activities to ensure every guest is satisfied.

In case you travel again to Mexico and to the Riviera Maya, it would be our pleasure to host you again and offer you the exceptional service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just got back from a safe, fun, exciting trip to the Riviera Maya and Cozumel areas. We were picked up at the airport and shuttled to the hotel where every possible need was met. It takes a little time to get places and sometimes when traveling late into the evening, people can get tired, hungry and a little irritable. The staff at Iberostar gets that and they make you feel at home really quick and will go out of their way to settle you in. The grounds are spectacularly groomed with beautiful pools, gardens and architecture. There are many restaurants to pick from and a beach buffet during the day to get breakfast or lunch. We liked the Steak House and the Japanese restaurants for the Ala Carte. The Star friends were there to make you laugh and organize activities with you. It was a very safe environment, good food, good drinks and everything is right there. The grounds are big so you can call on a golf cart shuttle to run you around and it makes everything quickly accessible and easy. I heard that people sometimes will grab up chairs under the little palapas and around the pool, marking their spots with towels etc. and not return for hours. i saw a little of that but it was never a problem for us. I found there was plenty of room everywhere. Only downfall, if it is one, there are so many people i want to tip from the Waiter's, Bartender's, Bell-men, Dive personnel, and the housecleaning people. I tipped them all and it was worth it although at times if feel we went overboard. BTW, the rooms were always cleaned and at night when we were away, like Elves’, they would come in and leave you various decorations like swans out of towels, rabbits, etc., very creatively done and they'd add red carnation petals, spelling out words or artistically placed. Too awesome.....

We dove with Dressel Divers on site at the Del Mar and the people there were awesome. I highly recommend staying at one of the hotels there for they are all somewhat intertwined so you can use facilities at each one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay and for your nice review about our hotel.

Our Staff is really proud to know that you had a wonderful time with us and we reached your expectations regarding our services and facilities.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our gardens and pools, also that the friendliness of our staff found you at your vacation; your recent experience motivates us to keep the hard work and the unbreakable will to help and to offer unforgettable memories to our guests.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel in your next visit to Mexico, the Staff would be looking forward to offer you again an amazing time in the Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.