We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Clear Spring, Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was the biggest pool that we had ever seen it must be about a quarter of a mile long. The bartenders worked very hard but if you want to be waited on while relaxing around the pool sorry about your luck it doesn't happen here. The beach was beautiful but,you will need to get up early to get cabana and we did get tired of the hamburgers and hotdogs almost everyday. Food is good at the specialty restaurants but just ok at the buffets. Be sure to get the travelers insurance , my niece slipped in the room and had to go to a hospital in Cancun and get 14 stitches in her forehead. They charged us $2,000 dollars for this visit. Thank goodness we had the Apple insurance and she was reimbursed all but a $200 deductible. We were also told that there is a hospital in Playa that is only a 15 minute drive and it would have been much cheaper. Supposedly the Iberostar gets a kick back for sending people to the very expensive hospital in Cancun that is a 40 minute drive from the resort. The taxi ride was an additional $100 fee. The shows were good but their not climate controlled so its not very comfortable watching them.The rooms are clean but outdated and the a/c will not go any lower than 21 This is a big beautiful resort so be prepared to do alot of walking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations.

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with us regarding our services and your experience at the Hotel.

It is truly important for us to know this feedback since it provides important information for our improvement.

As per the incident during your stay, we are sorry about what happened to your niece and hope she is completely recovered. We would like to clarify that Hospiten is an external company that provides medical services at our Hotel, and unfortunately the prices and which hospital they transfer patients to, are not under our control. The decision to go to the hospital is always the guest’s. However, we will pass all your comments on to the Hospiten Management to make sure they know your dissatisfaction with their prices and procedures. It is important to us that our guests are happy even with the external services provided.

We have also forwarded your constructive criticism on other areas to each of the department managers to take into consideration. Thanks again for taking the time to make those comments so that actions can be taken to improve our service and facilities.

In case you visit Mayan Riviera in the future, it would be a pleasure for us to host you and your family again!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    1,061
    375
    142
    83
See reviews for
1,130
1,009
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is the 2nd yr in a row that we stayed at the Paraiso del Mar, and we again really enjoyed ourselves. The resort was not very crowded this year (2nd wk of May), but we saw people from last year & met new friends this year...The help even remembered us from last year!! Especially "George" from the lobby bar (who makes the best shooters ever!) Only a few issues though--1st, we have used Apple vacations for over 15 years, and the hotel has an on the beach thank you dinner for all Apple guests, HOWEVER, when making our dinner reservations for the week, the concierge failed to tell us about the Apple thank you dinner--we found out afterwards from several guests...We went to the front desk as well as the Apple rep, who only said they could not understand why we were not advised of the dinner--Next year we will be there for the dinner, for sure and if you are able to attend, do so--we were told it was really a great time had by all......2nd--BUGS!!!!! I know the resort is in the jungle, but something has to be done about the biting bugs--everyone was walking around with giant size welts on their bodies......3rd--the front concierge has to stay at his station at all times & call for the transportation to take you to other parts of the resort...Too many times, he was out driving guests around, and no one was there at his station for assistance...Also, they need to have the carts continually available at the front entrance as well as the "cart trail"....Our room was always clean & the fridge always stocked and the towel animals always made us laugh at the end of our day..We will return in 2014--and probably bring along some of our friends, so they can enjoy the resort as much as we have so far.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray!!!!!!! And have "George" at the lobby bar make you one of his "speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Repeat Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you again for your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your stay and our services and facilities. We are more than happy that you were able to see some of your old friends at the Hotel and that you had the chance to meet new people.

We have already forwarded your comments to the Staff to let them know that their service is very much appreciated. We take note of your feedback and suggestions to offer a better service to our guests and ensure a better experience. Thank you so much for that, it has been forwarded to the corresponding head managers.

We regret to know that you missed the Special Dinner for our Apple guests, we hope next time we are able to share this special moment with you and your family. We have forwarded this to our Public Relations Department to avoid this from happening in the future.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, if this is the case do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival, the Concierge Department would be more than glad to assist you.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The place is outstanding. Everyone there makes you feel at home. The place is beautiful. The place is big however there are golf carts everywhere that will transfer you. The star friends add so much to the experience. The shows at night are outstanding. You will not be bored. Since there were so many negative comments regarding the food we were very concerned. The Mediterranean and Japanese steak house were very good. The Brazilian steakhouse was awful. The food does not taste like they should. The buffet was very good. There were many choices so you will find something you like. Overall the experience was awesome. We did not want to come back to home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf of our Hotel Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, we would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude for choosing us during your recent vacation.

We highly appreciate your positive comments regarding our gastronomy, staff service, daily and nightly entertainment and excellent service from our friendly staff shows that make our hotel stand out. At Iberostar we aim to ensure unforgettable experiences to our valued customers.

On the other hand, we regret to hear your experience at the Brazilian was not a positive one. Your comments have been forwarded to our Executive Chef in order to look into areas of improvement.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our second visit to this resort.The pool was warm,and so was the ocean. It was never hard to get a chair. The room was large & very clean. We enjoyed the food,especially breakfast! The grounds are beautiful. We also enjoyed talking to the staff. Thanks & hello to the bartenders at the lobby bar, Victor at the beach bar,waiter Julio, and Star friends Monse & Ishmeal.We would love to come back again. Pete & Penny from Ohio

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Clients,

We would like to thank you for choosing us again for your vacation and for taking the time to share your amazing comments and feedback about your experience.

It is fantastic to know that for the second time we were able to offer you an amazing stay and a great time with your family. We have already forwarded your comments to our Staff and also the special recognition to our Star Friends and the waiters and bar man. The recognition of our hard work and efforts fuels us to keep offering a great service and amazing experiences for our guests.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our premises for the third time and share another incredible time with you and your family. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

There was 6 in our party. We had an awesome time. Resort is approx. 30 minutes from airport. Never had to wait in line for food or drinks. The staff were all friendly.Our rooms were ready when we arrived - cleaned every day and well stocked fridge. Loved coming back to the room and seeing what kind of towel sculpture was left for the day. We ate at the Mexican, Japanese and Steak restraurants. The Japanese was the best! Would have eaten there every night! The buffets had a variety of food and you could find something that you liked-even if pizza or fries! The shows with the Star Friends was awesome! Lot of talented individuals and they got audience involved. Everyone was very friendly and wanted to help you. Jose the manager was great in that we asked for fresh brewed iced tea and the next day it was at the buffets, restraurants & bars! The pool was clean and loved the activities daily at the pool. The beach is beautiful and there are plenty of cobanas and chairs. Loved Iris who came around and gave 5 minute massages! She has wonderful hands! The Segway tour is great to see the other resorts in the complex. The snorkeling and Segway excursions were very reasonable. We also went to Chiche'n Itza' (the Mayan Ruins). This was an all day trip and very interesting. So much to do and not enough time - could have used another 7 days! During this time the resort was not packed - great time to go! The only bad point was watch the $50 off coupon Apple may give you for Latis jewelry store. We asked to go to Playa Del Carmen and Apple sent us to Latis (which we thought was in Playa) then went on to Playa and to get back shuttle asked for $95! There is a shuttle to Playa del Carmen from hotel for $5/person but no one told us that. Shuttle to Latis was to go from hotel to Latis to back to hotel only. Instead of paying $10 RT/person we paid $95 to get back to hotel! very misleading! Check to make sure exactly what price is to and from and to exactly where! Had no intention of going to Latis! We were very happy with our visit and planning our next vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We appreciate your feedback since it gives us information not only on our service and facilities but also in areas we can improve. Thank you for hightlighting the friendliness of our Staff and the fact that they were always available to help you and assist you with any request. Be sure that José would be honored when he receives your comments.

Our Chef will be very happy to know that you found the food at the buffets and a la carte restaurants to be great and with a wide variety .

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is our second time staying at this resort we went in Oct and liked it so much we went back in April! We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the wonderful staff! We normally don't goback to the same resort twice, but enjoyed all the amenities of what the resort had to offer!

Room Tip: We stayed in the block of rooms that was 12xx and it was great close to beach and thete is a small b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the management and our staff at Iberostar we would like to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel, and that you took the time to write about your experience about your recent vacation with us.

It is good to know that you enjoyed once again our friendly service and our nice staff. Our team is glad to hear that they contributed to another unforgettable vacation. The recognition of our job is the best reward we could ever ask for. This motivates us to keep on the same track to ensure all our guests an incredible time.

It would be a pleasure if you chose us for the third time you travel to Mexico. If this is the case, please do not hesitate to inform us, we would be honored to assist you prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our stay was excellent from start to finish. The only downside was having to leave!
Our rooms were excellent, service was excellent, food was fabulous, beach and pool were great too, and the resort grounds are beautiful at every turn.
The brochure we read did not do this resort justice - it exceeded our expectations in every way. Thanks Iberostar Paraiso del Mar!
PS. I am one very picky traveller and have nothing bad to say about this place :-)
PSS. You have to try the taco place at the shopping centre on the resort! And the mango sherbert at the icecream place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Clients,

On behalf of the management team we would like to thank you for your recent stay at our Iberostar Paraiso del Mar and for your lovely review!!

Your comments are truly important to us since they give us your insight of our service and facilities. It is wonderful to know that your stay was great, and that we managed to exceed all your expectations even when those were high! :-) That is truly motivational.

We have already forwarded your comments to the Staff and the people in charge of every department, they will be proud and honored to know that their hard work made your stay incredible.

We would be very happy to welcome you back in the near future, to create another amazing experience!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.