We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Beach Swim Area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Beach Swim Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent a week at the Del Mar. We are annual travelers to the all-inclusive resorts in the Riviera Maya so we are able to compare: The grounds were nice, the rooms were clean and satisfactory, and the swim area at the beach is the best we have seen yet. No rocks and a nice steady decline as you walk out. The food is average and I felt there wasn't much of a variety at the buffets compared to other resorts. The Japanese rest. was the best in my opinion. The trolley and golf cart shuttles were great and we never had to wait more than 10 minutes for one. Karina who works at the check in counter was a doll! She was so helpful and friendly and went above and beyond. She is the definition of customer service! I would stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is truly important to us since it provides us with important information that will help us identify areas that have room for improvement. We have forwarded your comments to the Staff and Management so they know you enjoyed the rooms, the areas and at the resort. Be sure that the Chef and his staff would be glad to review the food choice and menus to offer more wide range of possibilities.

Karina at the Front Desk will be more than happy to read your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in a near future!

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,413
    865
    320
    116
    73
See reviews for
918
823
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We loved the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

Nice rooms. Nice common spaces. Good food. Great pool. Great beach. Lots of activities. Very clean and well maintained. Exactly what we expect from Iberostar (we've stayed at Iberostars in several countries, and they're all very good).

The food and drinks in the "All Inclusive" were fine.

Beach volleyball, pool activities, plenty of chairs and cover from the sun.

We've been to the Cancun and Riviera Maya area 10 or more times, and I'd book the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar in a heartbeat.

NOTE: I didn't give Iberostar Paraiso del Mar a 5-star rating because Tripadvisor says that's "Excellent".

A 4-star rating is "Very Good", which is what this resort is. It's very good, and a very good balance between what you pay and what you get. That's called "value". We like it, and it's a fine value for a family beach vacation.

Again, highly recommended and we would return there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: To get a fair price, book well in advance if you're going in peak season. Be sure to check t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear repeat guests,

On behalf of the management team we would like to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your amazing comments about your stay.

It is truly important for us to know your opinion since it provides and many readers with valuable information on our facilities and our services at the resort. Your feedback has been forwarded to the Staff and Management. This for sure will motivate them to keep working on our service standards and making that extra effort to make sure that all our guests enjoy an unforgettable vacation.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and turn that very good into an excellent :-) if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact the Public Relations office, they would be more than glad to assist you prior to your next arrival.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightstown, New Jersey, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our first time at this location we took our two kids ages 11 & 14 Their was plenty to do for them between the beach, pools, on site scheduled events and off site adventures. The food was good at the buffet there was something for everyone to eat even for picky eaters. The restaurants in our opinion were not the best except for the Japanese restaurant was excellent. All the staff there were very helpful and polite. You could get a golf cart to go anywhere on the site if you didn't want to walk. Bring lots of singles to tip and find the staff looking to give u a ride every time they see you. You don't have to tip but I found I was getting picked up before other people were I have a bad ankle and don't walk long distances very well so this was helpful for me. There is a lot of walking to everywhere on the site it is very big and you have access to most of the other 4 resorts on this huge complex. The rooms were clean but our bed mattress's need to be replaced they were worn out not springs left I like a firm bed to sleep on. We would go back again using apple vacations everything ran like clock work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay.

We are so glad to know that you had a wonderful time. It is very important to us knowing that you found our facilities always clean and that the Staff was polite and friendly, these comments make us think that we are on the right track to achieve the complete satisfaction of our guests. It is great to read that you found our activities suitable for everyone in your family.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us since our staff is constantly working to improve our service and maintain spotless the general facilities at the resort. The Chef and his staff are aware of your comments and they will take them into consideration. We are also working on the mattresses to maintain a nice firm standard in every room.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in a near future, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Del Mar from March 22-29th. We have stayed at the Iberostar Tucan a few years ago and thought we would try a bigger, higher rated resort this time. I have mixed reviews.

Pros: The grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained. The beach is soft white sand and kept very clean and neat. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and always had a smile and attended quickly to whatever we needed. Our room was on the beach so it was very far from the lobby, no problem, we just called the bell boys and they were always prompt to come pick us up in a golf cart and take us where we needed. They were so nice to my son and he loved sitting up front with them and chatting them up in spanish. Lobby Bar had great drinks, pool bars were ok, so busy but they do a good job keeping up and trying to keep everyone happy. I recommend bringing your own insulated cup or mug, they will fill it up for you and it keeps your drink cold and reduces need for multiple trips.

Cons: The food was VERY disappointing. This is supposed to be 5 or 6 apple resort and we paid alot of money thinking we were going to get a higher end experience. Not so. The food at the buffets was bland, cold and mostly unappetizing. Anyone that says that the food was terrific at the buffet must not like flavor on anything. We found ourselves eating the same few things each day and that gets really old. Even the desserts were pretty tasteless. Only good thing was the fresh fruit everyday. The "7 specialty restaurants" is kind of a joke. You only get to use 3 of them during a 7 day stay and they require advance reservations and when I tried to make reservations the day we arrived most everything was booked up. My parents ate at the Mexican restaurant and said it was terrible. The Mediterranean was good and the Japanese was the best. We ended up going into Playa del Carmen 2 nights to eat dinner so we could skip the buffet.

When we made our reservations we booked a Jr Suite Ocean view with a King bed for 2 adults and 1 10 yr old. When we arrived we were given a 1st floor beach front walk out with 2 double beds. I called the front desk and said we had booked a king bed and they said since our reservation was for 2 adults and 1 child they gave us 2 beds. I explained to them that the reason we booked the Jr suite was specifically to have a King bed and a couch for our child to sleep on. I'm sorry but a double bed does not fit 2 full size adults comfortably, especially on vacation. They did not have another ocean front with a king avail so their solution was to come and push the 2 beds together and put an egg crate on top and made it a Super King. Have to say the bed was huge but it worked out. The couch was made into a bed and was perfect size for child. We all slept great every night.

Sadly because of high winds and rough water we didn't get to enjoy the beach or any of the water sports which was disappointing. My son and his grandma did go out on a jet ski one day and had a blast.

We did 2 excursions, Isla Mujeres and Xel-ha, I highly recommend both, especially Xel-ha, we had a blast and was the best food we had all week.

All in all we had a good time and enjoyed our vacation. Would I stay here again? Probably not, there are so many other places in the world we want to see and this place didn't Wow us enough to come back again.

Room Tip: Building 10 faces the beach. Building 20 by the lobby, depends on where you prefer to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your recent visit to Mexico and for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at our resort.

Your positive evaluation about the beautiful hotel premises and the friendliness of our staff members is truly appreciated. At Iberostar we are committed to providing the best service.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level concerning the buffet food quality. We already shared it with the departments involved in order to look for improvement and enhance the quality. With regards to our Mexican Restaurant, we would like to highlight the fact that all our dishes presented on the menu are typical from different states in our country; however it is true that they are not international known dishes, but recommended by our Chef for their assorted flavors that make our food so delicious. We will for sure be passing the information to our Chef in order to look for improvement at our buffet and Mexican Restaurant.

Concerning the room requests, these depend of availability even though we do try to fulfill as many requests as our occupancy allows.

Regarding dinner reservations, it is important to point out that we offer guaranteed dinner reservations at our a la carte restaurants depending on the number of nights our guests stay with us. However we do try to be really flexible with this and our guests can repeat or enter for the first time if there are spaces still available. Sometimes we get no shows but we need to wait a few minutes until we can give their space to other guests. We thank you for your understanding regarding this situation.

We sincerely appreciate your comments as they provide inspiration to our team and allow us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future and have the chance to show you our improvements and thus recover your confidence in Iberostar.

Kind regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

From the peacocks and Flamingos to the varity of restaurants and entertainment to the emaculante beach and enormous pool. There's something for everyone whether you travel with just your loved one, friends or the whole family

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Clients,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Iberostar for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are so glad to know that your holiday experience with us was great and you had a wonderful time from beginning to end; it shows us we are on the right track to obtain our guests complete satisfaction!

We would be more than glad to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future so that we can treat you “like a Star”.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My Husband and I just Completed 2 weeks at the Del Mar,We concur with all the others who found it excellent.We found all the wildlife amazing, facinating and a joy to be around,people who say get rid of the wildlife are so wrong...they were here before us!!!I was most upset to see a guest throw a cushion at a beautyful peacock that had walked through the lobby.The beauty of nature really made our vacation super special.The staff was all great always ready to chat and smile,.A few items to help others who will stay here.


1/ If you need the internet do like I did I bought 24 hours for 17 US .Lasted me the two weeks we were there Just make sure you log in /out if not you will loose your time..MUST LOG OUT.

2/The resort needs to supply some chairs on beach and around pool that are sit up type not the lie down ones!Met several elderly people and people with medical problems which made the recliners uncomfortable for them.

3/If you show up in lobby around 4 you can always get A lLa Carte dinners we did,they will work with you.

4/Enjoyed all sit down dinners except Italian which seemed rushed due to lack of staff,all the others were good for us.

5/Towel Game goes on here just live with it we did.....Got up early is all.

6/They need more cheesecakes as desserts......:)

All in all very happy with value and service provided,,,,,The Taco place in the shopping plaza was amazing ..the Nachos are the best we visited 4 times!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed poolside Bldg. 14 half way to beach ......Ask for a King room with Shower we found it be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for a much needed vacation! We had stayed at this facility two years ago, so I knew what I was getting into. My impression is that the economy has really had an impact on this hotel. It was clear to me that there was far less staff than previously and the food choices were far more limited than in the past. It used to be when you went to an Iberostar that there were so many food choices your head would be spinning! Not so much any more. The grounds are beautiful, the ocean is beautiful! The concept of the Iberostar is wonderful - you can do as much or as little as you want to on your vacation. I think that the price has increased, but the level of service has decreased and the food has decreased, so I do not think it is as great of a value as it used to be.

I would like to give a shout out to one of the "Star Friends", by the name of Hector. He was a great guy - very good at engaging the crowd in whatever activity he was involved with. He is certainly an asset to Iberostar - they are lucky to have him as an employee!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear repeat guests,

On behalf of the management team we would like to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We have already forwarded your comments to the managers and staff involved in the F&B areas. We regret to know that your impression was that the service was not as good as before, be sure that we do maintain the same level of staff and service standards that characterizes our company. Hector and the Star Friends will be honored by your comments.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and rediscover the beauty of our grounds and the friendly and warm service the Staff has to offer, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , Venere, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.