We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautful Property"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“"Beautful Property"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Upon arrival in Cancun Airport be prepared to encounter a stifling hot scenario of crowding , chaos, and endless lines for customs and immigration. Signs are non-existent, and many of the workers and government officials are only grudgingly helpful. Be sure to fill out all customs and immigration forms fully and correctly before you deplane or you will be reprimanded and pulled out of line. You’ll know you’ve mastered the system when you finally meet up with the nice Apple ground transportation people who greet you at the back door. Beware of vendors who fraudulently claim to be from Apple but who are not.

As for the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, you really need to be reasonably fit and active to stay at a hotel complex of this size. Specifically, it requires a good deal of walking to reach the beach and the restaurants from your room (they’re in opposite directions). And at night, it’s difficult to follow the myriad of darkened walking paths that dot the courtyard . Visibility is less than optimal because of the dim sidewalk lamps and there are very few, if any, meaningful signs or maps posted. In addition, the del Mar is laid out very close to a second hotel—the Iberostar El Paraiso Beach—and you can very easily wind up at the wrong location despite your best intentions.

At our 1:00 PM check-in there were no lines and our room was ready. We had some trouble understanding the lady behind the desk who spoke really quickly and, as a result, there was some confusion about the various rules, locations and times for meals, buffets and late night snacking. While still in the lobby. we made a quick visit to the concierge who made all of our a la carte restaurant reservations.

While being shuttled to our room, we were impressed with the cleanliness and beauty of the property, including the lush tropical foliage, the peacocks, swans, flamingos and free running coatis. We were also pleased to see that our “standard room” was roomy, bright, up-to-date and well-appointed. However, there were no chests of drawers to store our stuff. Additionally, a toilet clogging problem arose almost immediately and some light bulbs were burned out. Maintenance took care of it within 15 minutes of our call. We later found a few tiny gnats hovering around the bathroom sink but didn’t bother to report it. Again, the mattresses were a bit on the soft side and the A/C didn’t really seem to cool down as much as we needed at night. Some of the caulk was coming away from the interior of the tub but there were no leaks to speak of. In fact, there was lots of hot water and good water pressure.

While the beach at this hotel has been described by a number of other reviewers as “tiny”, this is difficult to ascertain since there are no demarcation lines and the beach itself runs contiguous with the beaches of other adjacent Iberostar hotels. We walked afar to find a lounge chair and no one stopped us, although a bartender at one of the beach bars noticed that our identifying wrist tags were of the “wrong color” and limited us to one drink.

Because we avoided travelling the week of President’s Day and possibly because a storm in the Northeast US apparently disrupted a lot of incoming flights, the hotel and the beach were only about 3/4th full at most. Thus, there was no problem finding a lounge chair. However, there was some problem finding a shaded spot on the beach before 2:00 PM. The sea was relatively calm, clear, beautiful and more warm than cold. You do need to tread carefully, however, to avoid patches of algae/seaweed and clusters of rocks beneath the surface. Swimming shoes might have helped. The swimming pools at this hotel also looked inviting but we didn’t use them very much.

All of the a la carte restaurants had a pleasant ambience, although the rule that males have to wear long pants was annoying. In fact, I saw several women wearing shorts. As for the food, “It is was it is”. My friend was not happy, although she did seem to enjoy the surf and turf served at the Mediterranean restaurant. I, myself, would have to say that the meals were generally Mexican interpretations of various international dishes. Don’t expect Ruth’s Chris, etc. One night, we took a side trip to the nearby city of Playa del Carmen where we ordered wine, meat and seafood at a very nice local restaurant while watching a cheerful and colorful “Carnivale” procession go by.

While on the topic of side trips—we took a very long day excursion to visit the amazing Mayan ruins of Chichen Itza. Unfortunately, it hit 95 degrees that day with no shade available. The grounds were also filled with hoards of vendors hawking gadgets, gizmos, knickknacks and tchotchkes. Think twice about making this trip.

One added observation is that all of the Hotel staff that we encountered were very friendly, quick to smile, neatly groomed and anxious to help. We were also pleased that our departure from Cancun Airport was much more pleasant compared to the chaos of our arrival. It was an efficient and nicely air conditioned experience. Also keep in mind that second week of February can provide very favorable weather in the Rivera Maya. The temperatures we encountered ranged from the mid-eighties to the mid-nineties and there wasn’t one drop of rain.

Room Tip: Standard Room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

We appreciate you took the time to share your feedback from your recent stay. It is truly important for us to know this since it helps us to improve our services and facilities, as we are always work to attain the complete satisfaction of our clients.

The staff is already aware of your comments, thank you very much for recognizing their efforts. Your suggestions are very welcome and have been forwarded to all departments involved for the proper follow-up of the issues you mentioned. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences encountered upon check-in and maintenance details in the room.

Regarding the dress code at the a la carte restaurants, as a family hotel that we are and with the aim of maintaining that ambiance in every aspect, as well as consideration to the rest of our guests we kindly ask our guests to wear trousers during the formal dinner. In order to facilitate this request we also have them available free of charge through our Public relations offices which they can bring you directly to the restaurant.

We are glad that in spite of the situations mentioned you had a great holiday and that you enjoyed the beach, the buffets, and facilities during your stay.

Thank you again for your comments. It will be a pleasure to host you in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,700
    1,091
    395
    147
    84
See reviews for
1,167
1,048
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charles City, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 5 nights at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar with my wife and two other couples. This place is set up a little differently than many places that I have been. There are 5 Iberostar resorts side by side and you share some facilities with the resort next to you (the pool, some restaurants). Overcrowding is not a problem though. The resort is quite large which is made up for by the extremely well maintained and beautiful grounds. The pool area is great. Swim up bars are a blast. Great bartenders! No problem getting chairs anytime of day.
The beach is very nice too! Great sand, swimming and waves.
The rooms we stayed in (ocean view suites) were clean and nice but nothing spectacular. Very few rooms here are ocean view so if that's a requirement you may want to upgrade in advance.
The reservation-only restaurants are excellent but you need to make reservations ASAP as they are very busy. The buffets and snack bar restaurants are at best average.
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar is considered the least exclusive of the 5 Iberostars in the row, but overall, I was very satisfied. Great service! Beautiful grounds!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Mar for your recent stay.

We are glad to know that our rooms, beautiful grounds and property as well as our restaurants met your expectations.

All your comments have been shared with the staff and the people in charge of every department; the Chef has already taken your comments into consideration to improve the food selection at the restaurants and of course the quality and recipes to offer the best food to all our guests.

We will be waiting for your next visit!


Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, USA
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar in Cancun in August and loved it! When searching for a vacation our travel agent suggested Iberostar Del Mar, because of our stay in Cancun we decided to go for it! When we arrived, Danny at the front desk was very professional and his English was very good with plenty of tips. The resort was impeccably maintained and our room was very nice. Luis at the pool bar was a great bar tender and always had our drinks poured when we got to the bar. Buffet had a lot of variety of food and I rate it ok. I did not starve. We met a lot of nice people and had long walks on the beach. Off the resort they should clean up debris on the beach. Wish we could have stayed another week the weather was perfect! We were there from Feb. 4th thru Feb. 11. My opinion about this resort is you cannot go wrong going there! It has left us with a great impression of the Iberostar Resorts and their quality.

Room Tip: Bring some walking shoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar. It was a pleasure having you with us.

We are grateful for your comments on our grounds, food, and our staff. Your recognition to Daniel, Luis and all the rest of staff has been shared to them so that they can feel encouraged and motivated. They are our greatest asset to ensure customer satisfaction.

We take note of everything you did not find entirely satisfactory and pass it on to the concerned departments. Thank you for your constructive criticism which help us improve day by day.

We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance you might need.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viriginia,usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Not certain why the negative reviews exist for this resort...I found the resort to be delightful. Great food, great staff. Our room was always clean...minibar stocked everyday, and this is the first place I've stayed where room service is inlcuded....Elena at the front desk multitasked like no one Ive seen. All pool bars were great...thank you luis and esteban. Ate at both the mexican and mediterranean restaurants...delicious...first time for tamarind and Gilberto at the mediterranen went the extra step to find me flan and rice pudding when all was depleted from the dessert bar. The buffets were loaded and the staff had that morning coffee and water ready. At no time did I and my companions feel we had to walk too far for food,fun,or a drink. We would go there again. Did I mention how gorgeous it was...look at the photos they don't lie.

Room Tip: request a room near the quiet pool bar...sort of halfway between beach and lobbey and all else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
On behalf of Iberostar Paraiso de Mar we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the property; we really appreciate your kind comments about the food, pool, beach, room service & room and especially about our staff as we recognize they are our main strength and the most important element to create the best memories to our guests.

Thank you also for your compliments – our whole team appreciates them greatly, especially Elena, Tamarind and Gilberto no doubt they make them feel even more motivated.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Paraiso del Mar!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I booked this as my first ever all inclusive holiday. Right from the start, my expectations were exceeded in every way. The staff was friendly, the food was good, the room was comfortable and the beach was amazing. Swim up bars, drop in yoga, nightly entertainment...it was great!

One of he best features of this place is its location. It was challenging to make ourselves stay put on the resort. We opted for two extras, one short excursion to Dolphin Discovery- we swam with Manatees! And a trip to Chichen itza (That was a really, really long day, but still awesome).

Their food service is pretty flexible, but if you have a super early flight out, you might want to organise some take away breakfast ahead of time. Shampoo, soap and towels are provided, but you may want to bring blow up floatie toys for the pool. The rooms all have a safe that you can set the code to. There is room service, but we never used it. Bring one nice outfit if you want to go dine at one of the 5 a la carte restaurants...no jeans allowed!
This place is also focusing on sustainability and they use re-useable cups for your drinks.
I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing us. We are deeply glad and grateful for your visit.

We are very happy to hear that you had such an amazing vacation with us and pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations during your vacation. Thank you for all your comments regarding on our friendly staff, fine restaurants and facilities. We will make sure that all the staff receives your comments!!!

We do focus on sustainability as you well said, as we are part of the Green Globe program! So we take actions to preserve the environment every day, thanks for appreciating that :-)

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, hopefully in the very near future.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Iberostar Del Mar hotel is very beautiful with a lot of wild life. The pool is huge, plenty of space for swimming and having fun. Plenty of pool bars. But no where to hang out at night other then the lobby bar or theater. Was tough to make dinner reservations. But the Mediterranean restaurant was very good. Pedro was an excellent waiter. The Bartenders at the Lobby bar at night were also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

Your positive comments regarding our food, the staff, native fauna and our beautiful property in general, are much appreciated.

We are very happy that you had a great and fun time. Thank you for your generous and kind comments about Pedro from the Mediterranean restaurant and the lobby´s bartenders. The best reward that staff can have is your compliments.

Regarding your comments on other bar options, we would like to mention that beside the Theater and Sport bar (STAR ROCK) in the lobby, we also have two disco for the entertainment and enjoyment of our guests, these are ; GALAXI DISCO just for adults and UNDERGROUND for teenagers, both of them located at the Commercial Center of the complex and available for all our guests.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I just returned from a 5 day trip with my 18 yr old daughter and can't say enough good things about our trip. To begin, I was a bit skeptical about the resort because, compared to the reality of the resort, I don't think that any of the photos I saw before hand did it any justice!! The place was BEAUTIFUL, kept immaculately clean and felt like paradise. We stayed in an ocean front jr suite (well worth it!) and enjoyed the beach and pool equally. It was enjoyable watching the wildlife throughout the property (coatis, swans, flamingos, peacocks & various other birds) The only caution I'd offer is if you're a foodie and looking for 5 star food quality you won't find it here. Don't get me wrong, the food was 'ok' but most of the time you're eating from a buffet and the restaurants on the property aren't much better except that the food is cooked to order.

Over all I'd go back in a heartbeat and would definitely visit an Iberostar property on my next vacation!!

Room Tip: If you're going to Mexico it's worth splurging on an ocean front room, most of the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your visit to our resort.

It is cause of great satisfaction to read that you are impressed with the quality of service that we offer; we work constantly to improve day by day, so it means that we are on the right track.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed all our surroundings and services.

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your recent Mexican vacation and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.