We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Viriginia,usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Not certain why the negative reviews exist for this resort...I found the resort to be delightful. Great food, great staff. Our room was always clean...minibar stocked everyday, and this is the first place I've stayed where room service is inlcuded....Elena at the front desk multitasked like no one Ive seen. All pool bars were great...thank you luis and esteban. Ate at both the mexican and mediterranean restaurants...delicious...first time for tamarind and Gilberto at the mediterranen went the extra step to find me flan and rice pudding when all was depleted from the dessert bar. The buffets were loaded and the staff had that morning coffee and water ready. At no time did I and my companions feel we had to walk too far for food,fun,or a drink. We would go there again. Did I mention how gorgeous it was...look at the photos they don't lie.

Room Tip: request a room near the quiet pool bar...sort of halfway between beach and lobbey and all else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
On behalf of Iberostar Paraiso de Mar we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the property; we really appreciate your kind comments about the food, pool, beach, room service & room and especially about our staff as we recognize they are our main strength and the most important element to create the best memories to our guests.

Thank you also for your compliments – our whole team appreciates them greatly, especially Elena, Tamarind and Gilberto no doubt they make them feel even more motivated.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Paraiso del Mar!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,874 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,462
    891
    326
    119
    76
See reviews for
973
840
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I booked this as my first ever all inclusive holiday. Right from the start, my expectations were exceeded in every way. The staff was friendly, the food was good, the room was comfortable and the beach was amazing. Swim up bars, drop in yoga, nightly entertainment...it was great!

One of he best features of this place is its location. It was challenging to make ourselves stay put on the resort. We opted for two extras, one short excursion to Dolphin Discovery- we swam with Manatees! And a trip to Chichen itza (That was a really, really long day, but still awesome).

Their food service is pretty flexible, but if you have a super early flight out, you might want to organise some take away breakfast ahead of time. Shampoo, soap and towels are provided, but you may want to bring blow up floatie toys for the pool. The rooms all have a safe that you can set the code to. There is room service, but we never used it. Bring one nice outfit if you want to go dine at one of the 5 a la carte restaurants...no jeans allowed!
This place is also focusing on sustainability and they use re-useable cups for your drinks.
I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing us. We are deeply glad and grateful for your visit.

We are very happy to hear that you had such an amazing vacation with us and pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations during your vacation. Thank you for all your comments regarding on our friendly staff, fine restaurants and facilities. We will make sure that all the staff receives your comments!!!

We do focus on sustainability as you well said, as we are part of the Green Globe program! So we take actions to preserve the environment every day, thanks for appreciating that :-)

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, hopefully in the very near future.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Iberostar Del Mar hotel is very beautiful with a lot of wild life. The pool is huge, plenty of space for swimming and having fun. Plenty of pool bars. But no where to hang out at night other then the lobby bar or theater. Was tough to make dinner reservations. But the Mediterranean restaurant was very good. Pedro was an excellent waiter. The Bartenders at the Lobby bar at night were also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

Your positive comments regarding our food, the staff, native fauna and our beautiful property in general, are much appreciated.

We are very happy that you had a great and fun time. Thank you for your generous and kind comments about Pedro from the Mediterranean restaurant and the lobby´s bartenders. The best reward that staff can have is your compliments.

Regarding your comments on other bar options, we would like to mention that beside the Theater and Sport bar (STAR ROCK) in the lobby, we also have two disco for the entertainment and enjoyment of our guests, these are ; GALAXI DISCO just for adults and UNDERGROUND for teenagers, both of them located at the Commercial Center of the complex and available for all our guests.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I just returned from a 5 day trip with my 18 yr old daughter and can't say enough good things about our trip. To begin, I was a bit skeptical about the resort because, compared to the reality of the resort, I don't think that any of the photos I saw before hand did it any justice!! The place was BEAUTIFUL, kept immaculately clean and felt like paradise. We stayed in an ocean front jr suite (well worth it!) and enjoyed the beach and pool equally. It was enjoyable watching the wildlife throughout the property (coatis, swans, flamingos, peacocks & various other birds) The only caution I'd offer is if you're a foodie and looking for 5 star food quality you won't find it here. Don't get me wrong, the food was 'ok' but most of the time you're eating from a buffet and the restaurants on the property aren't much better except that the food is cooked to order.

Over all I'd go back in a heartbeat and would definitely visit an Iberostar property on my next vacation!!

Room Tip: If you're going to Mexico it's worth splurging on an ocean front room, most of the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your visit to our resort.

It is cause of great satisfaction to read that you are impressed with the quality of service that we offer; we work constantly to improve day by day, so it means that we are on the right track.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed all our surroundings and services.

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your recent Mexican vacation and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at the Del Mar for 2 weeks, Jan 28- Feb 11- our 2nd 2 week stay at this beautiful resort, with my wife. We love it here. The specialty restaurants are super. We ate at 6. If you are into tennis you will enjoy the tennis clinic daily(ex Sun) at the neighboring LLindo Maya courts.800 for adv players and 1000 for beginners. Tennis pro Peter will run you through drills for one hour and you will meet other players-all free. If you seek a resort that is small ie parking lot, lobby, pool and beach within close proximity you should go to Cancun or Miami. This resort is huge and beautiful and does require considerable walking. Not a bad thing if you eat and drink a lot. The pool itself is probably 3/8 mile long w 3 swim up bars. Re internet access you pay 10 dollars for 10 hours or 16 dollars for 24 hours of use. As long as you log off the clock stops ticking. Desk personnel helped me twice to log off-very helpful.Service only available in the lobby at the Del Mar. Many other activities include a guided group bike ride twice a day, pool and beach volleyball, archery and air gun shooting, snorkeling, kayaking, water aerobics as well as a nice golf course-it hosted golf channels BBig Break. The staff is very warm and helpful. One evening at the buffet they did not have tortillas to make tacos.The cook said wait a minute and returned w tortllas and fryed me 4. Great breakfasts w eggs or omelettes to order, pancakes, french toast,and alarge variety of breads cold meats and cheeses. Great buffet near lobby as well as smaller breakfast and luch buffets between the pool and beach as well as smaller buffet at the beach. Reserving lounge chairs is not supposed to be allowed but nearly everybody does- we did not but could not always get a preferred spot. We will return again. Returning guests get their name on the sign in lobby as well as t sirts w " I'm back" printed on them.

Room Tip: No matter where you stay there will be a lot of walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations and for your loyalty! And of course for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

Many thanks for your kind words about our employees, our food, service and your recommendation! It is very motivational.

It was our pleasure to have served you we are delighted to hear that you had an unforgettable experience with us again.

We look forward to host you again at the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar : your home away from home.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

had a great time ,food good,beautiful complex, nice beach,
staff very friendly,especially front desk staff who did everything to help and acomadate us when Sunwing dropped the ball.only one item was a disapointment:=we found the cost of
spa services exagerated.
would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your recent stay. We are very happy that you had a great time with us. Also we are glad to know you had enjoyed the facilities, grounds, and our most appreciated asset, our friendly staff!

It is great to learn that you had an unforgettable experience, and we look forward to seeing you very soon. Should you need any assistance please contact us.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband & I booked our trip through Cindy at Anchors Away travel with Apple Vacations. We had an amazing time & are already thinking about going back.

For those who have never been to this area, there is a gated entrance and once you enter, there are a number of resorts next to each other lining the beach. So the whole area is filled with resorts and is very safe. There is a mall that you can walk to within the gated area and there are shops, a pharmacy, an ice cream shop, and a taco shop. We only left this area to go on an excursion because everything we needed was here.

The Room: Our room was very clean & always stocked with bottled water, soda, and beer. We stayed in the 1700 section, which is right in between the restaurants & the beach. The resort runs the long way, so the beach is at one end and the lobby/restaurants are at the other. The most important thing for me is the cleanliness & I was very happy with this resort. The AC worked well and we ordered room service once and it was prompt and the food was prepared well.

The Beach: The beach was beautiful. If you walk just a little to the right, there are less rocks and it's much better for swimming. There were plenty of chairs and a number of chairs with little straw huts over them. One thing we did not like is that people would come out very early (like at 6am) and "claim" the huts by leaving towels or something else on them. It was a little annoying but we found huts to use on some days. The weather was perfect with a beautiful breeze and the water was warm. Also, the sand is make from coral or something so it never gets hot! There is also a small lunch buffet & bar right out on the beach.

The Pools: The pools were beautiful & clean and one of them had a swim up bar. There was another pool area that was the "quiet" area and was very relaxing. There were plenty of chairs at the pool & straw huts as well for shade. There was an ice cream stand as well by the pool. In the pool by the swim up bar, there were always activities like volley ball or other games going on for those who wanted to participate.

The Food: We are particular with food and everything we eat at home is home made, so it is hard to impress us. That being said, the food was OK. There is a large selection, and we always found something to eat. There are several specialty restaurants you can make a reservation to eat at and these were good. The steakhouse, Brazilian bbq, and Japanese steak house were the ones we enjoyed the most. There is always food available or room service available. The drinks are good, not top shelf, but good. We drank mostly pina coladas, mojitos, and margaritas. There is always a bar nearby and waiters to bring you drinks.

The Wildlife: There is a ton of wildlife at this resort. I was hesitant about booking here because of the pictures & reviews I saw but really, the animals stay away from you unless you offer them food. We always ate in the food areas and were not bothered by any animals. They were actually kind of cool to see. Some of the animals we saw were: flamingos, peacocks, swans, cats, and coaties (mix between monkey & racoon).

The Service: We thought the service was good. We also tipped a good amount. Even though it is mostly included in the all-inclusive package, the employees there appreciate the tips a lot. Our flight home was postponed due to bad weather, and we were treated very well & even given back our same room we had checked out of. We had no complaints with the service.

We did an excursion to Xel-Ha (pronounced: Shell-ha) and Tulum. The tour of the ruins in Tulum was nice but very, very hot. We ended up leaving the group and going down to the beach, which was absolutely gorgeous!! Xel-Ha was like a huge eco-water park. There was snorkeling, zip lining, biking, and all kinds of other things to do & see. It was also all-inclusive for food & drinks for the day.

Overall, we had an amazing time at this resort & would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: A room in the middle sections between the beach & the lobby is ideal (1700's - 1400's)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for staying at the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar and for writing your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

Thank you also for your compliments, our whole team appreciates them greatly. It was a great honor to have served you. We appreciate your kind words about our rooms, food, beverages, service, pool, beach and hotel facilities.

We thank you sincerely for choosing Paraiso del Mar and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.