We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Denver, Colorado, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After ten years of marriage, my wife and decided it was time to leave our four kids with the grandparents and enjoy each others company without interruption. We booked our stay at Iberostar through a last minute special on Apple. The resort was beautiful, the lush gardens were fantastic. Obviously a lot of effort goes in to the maintenance of both the grounds and the buildings. All the staff we encountered, from the concierge to the grounds keeper were all very friendly and happy to help. The food was about what we expected, good, but nothing spectacular. We were happy to get a specialty restraint reservation each night during our four night stay. This was the perfect relaxing “no-brainer” just show up and enjoy yourself vacation- exactly what we needed. We’ve already discussed coming back with the whole family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar and also for sharing your incredible comments with us on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you took your time to have a “second honeymoon” and you did it with us!

We are especially happy to know that everything was smooth during your vacations and also that the service provided by any of us was spectacular and welcoming.

We would be more than happy to welcome you and your family again to our Resort in a near future, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us at rpparaiso@iberostar.com.mx we would be glad to assist you prior your arrival.

Wrm Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    986
    340
    130
    78
See reviews for
1,046
935
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The food and drinks were very poor. The service was okay but we expected better.The shows and entertainment was as poor as the service throughout the hotel.The only good thing was the location and the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. We are very sorry to read about the impression you had as our main goal is to create wonderful memories to remember. We look forward to welcome you again to our resort, hopefully under brighter circumstances.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed Nov. 15-22 at Del Mar. Awesome property, just like all the others we have stayed at (Tucan, Rose Hall Jamaica, Dominicana & Hacienda, DR). Very close to the airport. The beach is georgeous with plenty of space to float / swim in the ocean. It is a rather long walk from the lobby to the beach, but it's good exercise! and we spent most of the day on the beach anyway. The pool is huge ! The Star Friends had "contests" later in the afternoons for the guests which were very funny (kayak racing and jump rope in the pool were crazy). Food was ok in the buffet, but the restaurants were very good. Had "surf and surf" (2 lobsters!) at Mediterranean; the Brazilian was excellent with 4 or 5 kinds of meat served; Mexican and Italian were good. Big "kudos" to all the staff - everyone was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Rainier for helping with dinner reservations and to Lionel at the beach bar who made excellent gin & tonics! And the best bartender in all of Mexico is that very handsome Jorge - his "Grandma's Recipe" resulted in several seriously hilarious evenings at the lobby bar. Hope to return next spring. Muchos gracias ! Kolleen in Cleveland !

Room Tip: Stayed in Building 13...close to beach where we stayed all day. Nice long walk to dinner/drinks in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar once again for your last vacations.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community your experience at our Hotel.

It is gratifying to hear that you enjoyed our premises as the pool and beach, all the staff works hardly daily in order to keep the areas in the better conditions.

We are pleased to know that the food at the specialty restaurants exceeds your expectations we will send your comments to the Chef and he will be proud because of your recognition.

We will send all your comments to the people that you mention and they will be glad to know that they have contributed to making your holiday special.

We hope to welcome you back again in a near future and offer you another memorable vacations.

Kind Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a very affordable and fine hotel. Everything was immaculate, the premises were spotless. The staff is friendly, the food is out of this world! The fish and stake just melted in your mouth! The walkways are shaded and very nice. The beach is absolutely fantastic! It has a lot of room to walk and enjoy those turquoise waters! The wooden walkways are a nice touch! Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas for everyone to enjoy the beach! The pool is ginormous and offers plenty of shaded seats, but we mostly spent our time by the ocean. Absolutely fantastic value for the money. The tour guide Demian was great and very informative. Overall a Fantastic Vacation place. Will definitely recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your vacation and for taking the time to post such a kind review of your stay with us on “Trip Advisor”.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable vacation and that you were pleased with the facilities and services provided by the hotel and staff. We hope to see you soon and serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The pools and the beach are great. You will be walking quite a bit, but the overall resort has nice views. The staff was below average for a resort in cancun, they should definately train their front desk staff on being more friendly. Any contact we had with them was less than pleasant. Customer service should be the #1 priority. The food was typical resort food, but they had plenty of options. The shopping center needs to be re-vamped. Several shops were closed at random times throughout the day and there isn't much going on in the shopping plaza.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay with us.

We deeply regret the fact that we did not fulfill your expectations since our main goal is your complete satisfaction.

Regarding the front desk staff, we are really sorry to read that you received this impression from them. We are always working to contribute to our guest happiness. We will definitely review this situation with our front desk manager.

We are confident to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to send us an email at rpparaiso@iberostar.com.mx. We will be glad to assist you before arrival.

Kind Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Were here the week before Thanksgiving, We have been to this Iberostar and the Playa del Carmen Tucan approx 10 times in total. Things have gone drastically down hill in the buffet food dept. since our visit to the Del Mar 2 years ago. The food was always cold and the selection has become very limited. There were many times that I just could not pick anything that appealed to me and I am not a picky eater. The pool was cold!, never experienced that in the past....BUT I will say as always the staff were and are great. Place is in need of a major facelift....but that happens with age right ;0) We have decided we will be looking for somewhere else to stay until room and lobby renovations are addressed. I will miss the beautiful grounds and am sure we will not find anything else that comes close to those tranquil walks to dinner, the beach and pool. We will miss you Iberostar....until we meet again.

Room Tip: Buildings 13, 14, are good bulidngs, if you want to be relatively close to the beach and the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to send your review. Please be sure that we have adressed all your comments with the involved Department Heads in an effort to improve our services. We would also like to thank you for writing this sincere review and letting us know the service areas where we can improve. We always try to use the best quality products in the market for all our restaurants and bars, we are sorry that some of the offerings from our buffet were not to your personal liking.

Our goal is for our guests to be totally satisfied and to leave our property pleased. We really hope to welcome you back and restore your confidence in Iberostar.

Best Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was our second stay at an Iberostar resort and again Iberostar knows their business. The property is beautiful and well kept, we NEVER saw a piece of trash anywhere. We had lots of fun and would go back with a few changes. We were two couples, one in our late 40's and our parents in their late 60's. First, the resort is big, we had a room near the restaurants which was good but we had a good walk to the pools and beach. They do offer the tram and golf carts but we found ourselves spending more time waiting for those then the time it took to walk to the water. I guess after eating at the buffet the walk was good plus it's beautiful. The reason I would request a room further away from the lobby and restaurants is because of the theater. The show starts at 9:45 in the evening so if you're wanting to sleep any earlier then 11:00 it might not happen. You can hear the whole show even with the door closed. If you like to stay up later, no problem. The beds were great, my husband has back issues and really liked the comfort, so once you fell asleep, you rested well. The rooms were clean and nice.
My second issue was the food. I had read the good and the bad and this is MY opinion. The optional restaurants are good, not great but pretty good. The steak and lobster were good, the japanese restaurant was fun and the steak house was also good.The buffets were lacking in flavor, I know they are catering to many but it's pretty bland. you have to doctor it up some to make it better. Also it seemed that most of the time it was the same things. I have to say though, the grilled chicken and grilled steak were pretty tasty. So take what you want from my opinion. You just have to not be very picky in what you eat and learn to use the condiments. OK now the bars, great bar tenders and wait staff, the wait staff was around often if you didn't want to go yourself. Tasty drinks but the only bear at the bars was Dos XX's so if you don't like this beer you're out of luck, they did have other bottled beer in your room. I have to suggest the "dirty monkey's" if you like chocolate milkshakes and the "michalada's" if you like beer.
The pools were clean and the temperature was pretty good even after a day of rain.
Location, location, close to Playa but a fairly long trip to Tulum and Xel Ha, we're taliking over an hour.
All in all I would say it was worth the money and we would return.

Room Tip: A room in the middle of the resort, building 15 would be good. AND there are no elevetors so the thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Management and all the staff of Iberostar, I would like to send you my warmest appreciations for choosing to be guests here.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience in our hotel. It motivates us to continue improving to make unforgettable vacations for all our guest.

We will share with our staff members your comments about the transportation, to motivate them even more to offer the transportation services which you can expect in a hotel as big as ours.

We will inform to the Chef about all your comments to improve your next stay!

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at any of our hotels, please do not hesitate to send us an email at rpparaiso@iberostar.com.mx

Best Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.