We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a week!......TEQUILA SLAMMER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso del Mar to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a week!......TEQUILA SLAMMER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just returned from 7 days, 8 nights at the Iberostar del Mar. Not much to complain about. Staff are always at work making the resort look top notch (cleaning litter, cleaning floors, trimming grass, etc). Not sure why people complain about the food, there is always something to please everyone. We also got to try every a la carte restaurants (all 6) during our stay. We booked our 3 at the start of the week, and then each morning we just talked to the concierge and that night we would be informed we have a reservation somewhere (tipping the concierge im sure didn't hurt too). Make sure to try the Japanese and Mediterranean restaurants. We also changed rooms after the first night without a problem (to get a better location in the middle of the resort). Beach was great, white sand and bright blue water. Shout out to Victor at the pool bar! Kept the tequila slammers and cerveza's coming all day long. Also want to commend Eduardo on the amazing job he does making sure everyone is having fun and getting people involved in all the activities. Thanks to the entire Iberostar staff! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you want near the middle of the resort stay in building 15 or 16. Stay off the bottom floors to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your visit to Riviera Maya and for taking the time to provide such a wonderful review of your stay at our resort. We really enjoy reviewing your comments that you enjoyed the friendly, warm, attentive and professional service.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future and have the pleasure to host you!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,608
    1,020
    354
    135
    80
See reviews for
1,090
963
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I planned a trip for 9 of us ranging in age from 42-67 to Riviera Maya Mexico. We stayed at the Iberostar. There were some pros and cons during the trip. The pros were the rooms were spacious and very clean and the grounds were exceptionally well taken care of. The swimming areas were large but the water was very cold ( in comparison to Punta Cana). The staff was very friendly and there were always activities. The cons were that the place was so spread out that you had to walk for blocks to get anywhere. The lobby and beach were on separate ends and it was about mile walk from one end to another. The food wasn't bad but it was always cold on the buffet. There is supposed to be a train that comes every 10 minutes, but we only saw it about 3 times during the week!! If you have older people who cannot walk long distances, I would not stay at this resort... it is not senior friendly!!

Room Tip: Try to get in Building 17 or 18. They are central to the lobby and beachl
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the fact that you write about your stay with us.

We appreciate you took the time to write some positive and useful comments. We deeply regret that our internal transportation service has not met your expectations.

We will inform our staff of this message, to motivate them even more to offer the transportation services which you can expect in a hotel as big as ours.

It is nice to hear that our friendly staff exceed your expectations of service, our main goal is to make your stay the most enjoyable.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at any of our hotels, please do not hesitate to send us an email at rpparaiso@iberostar.com.mx

Best Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just returned from a 6 day stay. We could not be happier of the stay. Staff was exceptional. Accommodations were very nice. The setting and the grounds of the resort are lush and clean. Food was good but not exceptional. We never got hungry though and always found something we liked. November was a GREAT time to go. No lines anywhere, anytime. We enjoyed the nightly entertainment.

Room Tip: We were in building 11. That is a great location if you spend most of your time at the pool and beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your positive review about our hotel, the facilities and services provided were essential to make this vacations a wonderful moment.

We are glad to hear that you enjoy our food in ours buffets. We will inform to the Chef about all your comments to improve the service and the quality of our products.

We are already looking forward your next stay!

Warm Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just came back from vacation. Loved everything about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar. Not far from the airport, good rooms, great clean beach, testy fresh food, exotic fruits. Especially we were impressed by staff. We were greeted by smiling Karina Marron ready to assist assuring it is vacation time relax, now is our turn to work. We understand it is not easy to work many hours, doing not an easy work in hot weather to accommodate so many people and never show their tiredness or unhappiness. My husband and I would like to say thank you to yoga, Zumba instructors (Lester) to bicycle tour guide, all waitresses and waiters, cleaning personnel, drivers, cooks and bartenders and the rest of the staff behind the scene. L and A

Room Tip: Look on the map of the hotel before decide what is better for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations.

We have already sent all your comments to all our staff and the people in charge of every department, they were extremely happy to know that every effort they have done has made your vacation a very good experience. Thank you for especially mentioning Karina and Lester!

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, your home.

Kindest Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very good place for vacatin and relax. Very good services. Nice people. Food need some improvement. Very clean and good place. Apple Vacatin people are very helpfool from airport to hotel and in hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip
Advisor.

We appreciate you took the time to share your past experience with us, it is a cause of satisfaction that your holidays were special.

We are already looking forward your next stay, please do not hesitate to send us an email at rpparaiso@iberostar.com.mx.

Kindest Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Certainly enjoyed the resort. It is a very large complex. Food was good, not great. We enjoyed the room, although it was dated a bit. And there is a two to three inch gap on the bottom of the entry door that did allow creatures in like tree frogs, I think some cockroaches, etc. the pool was huge and you would have no problem finding a secluded place. We really enjoyed the bar and grill down by the end of the pool towards the beach. Service was great there. I did not even have to order drinks. They server knew what I wanted after the first day. There were many lizards especially towards the beach area. There also were some small mammals that roamed the grounds and Peacocks that would sit on your balcony. the only real problems we had was when we got sick for a day, three straight days of rain, and polished marble floors that were slippery when it rained :-( We were there in March of 2010

Room Tip: We had a room towrds the front, which was right by the resturants. If you like the beach, you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear guest

On behalf of the Hotel staff and particularly the Management, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor about your stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our premises as the bar and the grill by the beach; we will send your comments to the person in charge of these areas in order to give your comments to the people that work hardly in order to make your vacations unforgettable.

We really hope to welcome you back in a near future and offer you another memorable vacation.

Kindest Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

It was awesome vacation. We loved it so much! Star friends were awesome, rspecially Eduardo, Jesus, Liliana. The best vacation ever! The food was delicious, pool and the beach was always clean. Everyone was so friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your comment on tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

Your kind words about our staff members have been passed straightaway and are a great reward for the effort they put in to their work every day.
Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Best Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Address: Carrt. Chetumal-Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.