We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort, Terrible Beach, No Watersports” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 48 carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Resort, Terrible Beach, No Watersports”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

This resort is really nice, but massive. The staff are great, always helpful and friendly. The pool is great and the resaurants are decent. Some of the rooms are very far from the beach, 20 minutes walk or catch the shuttle that runs about every 15 minutes. The beach however is horrible. You cannot swim at the beach, it is all rock. Any kind of waves and it would be dangerous to go in. You need to walk 15 minutes down the beach to Valantines resort to swim. There is not a lot to do other than sit around the pool or play volleyball. They have no sailboats, kayaks, waterskiing or anything you would expect at a beach resort. Probably because you can't use the beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    728
    612
    254
    162
    229
See reviews for
620
545
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We had banked points w/RCI,used 1-week here, we were in a lock off room small,no frig.
no coffee pot,nothing.
The beach was all rock,the food price for the most part were high,but the staff were friendly.
Long walk to the beach,halls were noisy,as well as the rooms.
The people next to us were up all night,called the desk,nothing was done.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

The pool at this resort is breathless. Food is amazing, but a little pricey!!! Although if you compare it to an all inclusive it is about the same amount of $$ and it is of much better quality!! Our room was very clean and the maids did a wonderful job with upkeep. Highlight of the trip was a photo shoot that we did on the beach of our family. You can't beat the colors of the Caribbean in family pictures. We have had so many compliments on them and it was a nice souvenir of our trip. This is definitely worth booking if you visit this resort. Our photographers name was Mateo and he was amazing with our kids (ages 2, 7, 10). Not to mention one of the best photographers I have ever had. Overall, this is a great resort if you plan to relax and hang by the pool!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Even if you think you are getting a good deal to stay! They have so many hidden costs when you get there, it's ridiculous! Now, before you read on here is a disclaimer. I am not a cheap tight wad, that would be impossible with my wife ;-). I know that you spend money when you go on vacation. I just think it's criminal when they try and bleed every last drop of it out of you.

Food: Overpriced, and no refridgerators in your room for leftovers. The cheapest cab fare anywhere is 20 bucks minimum (and 80 bucks from the airport to the hotel). So you're pretty much stuck there for meals....the hotel charges you 20 bucks each time you exchange currency. Internet costs money.....Gym costs money.....every little amenity that we usually enjoy for free here in the States costs a fortune down there at the Mayan Palace. The hotel claims that for "Security Reasons" they don't take cash or cards....they just bill the room. However, I think the reason is so that people don't pay any attention to how much their spending. On top of all that, they hit you with the high pressure sales pitch to buy their time share. I mean....who goes on vacation and is fully prepared to get locked into an 89,000 dollar commitment! (That's right folks 89 Grand). They offer you all these deals for a 1.5 hour presentation, but it turns out to be closer to 5 hours! They are jerks when you tell them afterwards that you're not interested. Let's see.....what else.....Oh, my wife's travel blanket was taken from the room while were out and the hotel did nothing about it.

I will say that the staff was wonderful and the spa was great. The tours and trips we took were great.....everything was great except our hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed from 2/6-2/13/2010 as guests of owners. We had a standard room - two double beds, bathroom.

THE SHORT LIST:

Beautiful resort, great service, but rooms were not comfortable and no night life.

POSITIVES:

Beautiful, huge resort. We stayed in building #11, which is just past the main lobby -- 10 minute walk to the pool/restaurants. Gorgeous walk to the pool through the gardens. Did not mind it at all. Pool is fabulous.

Excellent service throughout the resort. Balche's poolside bar and restaurant was our favorite. Definitely try the corn cake dessert. So worth it. Havana Moon was excellent also. Del Lago (buffet restaurant) good but the birds were a nuisance in my opinion. Did not eat at Tremontos; advance reservations recommended (day or so ahead of time at least) and strict dress code we heard - collared shirts/pants for guys, no flipflops). Food prices were not outragious in our opinion. We spent about $850 for the week on food and drinks for my husband and myself.

Take advantage of shuttle service at resort. Went went into Playa Del Carmen for about $3 each way per person.

Do bother exchanging your US currency to pesos. The resort is a cashless system, and US currency is widely accepted. In fact, you often will get a better exchange rating paying with US dollars as opposed to pesos in Playa Del Carmen ($14 as compared to $11.50-$12). If you do exchange, I recommend doing it at the resort (12:1) and if you have any left, you can just have it put on your account before you close out your stay.

No safety issues whatsoever. Safe was electronic and spacious. We used it and had no issues. Even stored our video and regular camera in it.

NEGATIVES (and deal breakers in our opinion):

Rock hard beds.

EXTREMELY noisy rooms - could hear everything in hall, neighboring rooms, and above. No joke here: could even hear people using the bathrooms. We would not go back for this reason alone.

No coffee pots in standard room.

No nightlife after 11 p.m. Havana Moon has music at night, but more like restaurant entertainment than night club entertainment. They do have karaoke if you like that kind of thing, but really no play list to speak of. Really very few activities by the pool also. Love what they had, but someone actually complained the music was too loud and they had to tone it down,even though it was not loud in our opinion, and we were right next to it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

My husband and I purchased a HSI vacation club membership, while vacationing at the Grand Mayan Resort In Neuvo Vallarta in December, 2008. HSI did not have any available dates to destinations that we wanted to visit, in 2009. We finally arranged for a one-week stay at the Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, from February 6-13, 2010. We agreed to accept a studio with one of the HSI certificates. We had stayed at the Mayan Palace Riviera Maya in a one-bedroom, two years ago, and I had remembered that the lock-off was very spacious. We had been in building No. 8 two years ago, and within a short walk to the pool. We had a very nice vacation experience during that time frame.

We were assigned to building No. 14 this time. As soon as we arrived in the room, we were very disappointed. There was no refrigerator, microwave, or coffeemaker. We could hear our neighbors next door, as well as the neighbors upstairs. We called the front desk, to ask for a room change, and were told that we would have to pay an additional $900 for an upgrade. We decided that since we had a rental car for a week, and planned activities,
that maybe the studio would work out, without adding an additional expense to the vacation. So, the first night was the worst, we could hear every, knife, fork and dish, that our neighbors either set on the dining room table, or washed in the sink. We could hear their television blasting from 8:00Am until 1:00 am. We could also hear their conversation.
We could hear our neighbor upstairs, moving furniture around, as well as entertaining their guests. So, after the second night, we decided to leave. The purpose of the trip was to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we were not about to have it ruined by this substandard resort.
We also attended a sales presentation on the second day of our stay there. During the presentation, we heard so many untruths from the sales staff, that made the entire experience laughable. One of the sales staff named, Maurice called us, "timeshare junkies," because we had attended two other Mayan sales presentation, without buying a timeshare, but we did buy our first Mayan Vacation Club membership, called "Great Vacation Club," in 2007. We were able to make little use of this vacation club membership, due to the unavailability of the destinations that we requested. The new and improved HSI membership, we were told, would offer more vacation options.Needless, to say, I would not recommend attending the timeshare sales presentations. When you say no, the sales staff can become abusive.

We are Starwood Resort owners, so we decided to use our Starwood Points to save our vacation. We moved to Le Meridien Resort & Spa in the Cancun Hotel Zone. Le Meridien saved our anniversary celebration, as this resort knows what service is all about. We felt like VIP's from the moment we entered the resort. From the beautiful pools, delicious restaurants, valet parking, and individualized service with a smile; we regretted wasting two days at the Mayan Palace. We will never stay at another Mayan Property after this experience, nor will we recommend it to family or friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

My wife and I both agree this is one of the top resort we have visited with RCI. Where to start, the staff and employees were the best! Friendly, helpful and always a big smile. The resort itself was large, well maintained and beautiful. We stayed in building #4 which was close to all the action. I had read the reviews so I knew we wanted to be
in a building between 1 and 8. Building #1 is closest to the pools and resturants and
building #8 is closest to parking. Their are 21 buildings all together! Even if you were
assigned a higher number building the resort had a shuttle service that runs all day.
In February the wheather is super so we found the walking very enjoyable.

Food/Service-We found it to be top notch! We eat the Breakfast Buffet at Balches and
found it to be fabulous! Super selection, fresh and reasonably priced.We highly
recommened it! We ordered pizza with room service one nite, it was OK. We saved
our money and went to the Wal-mart and Mega mart and stocked up on food and eat most of our meals in the room. Wal-mart had the better selection and prices! The rooms
have an adequate kitchen for light meals.

Transportation-We rented a car and found it very rewarding. We had no problems with the Police or the Rental Car Company. We rented from American Car Rental because they offered all the Insurance coverages with the price. They did try to stick us with a
older car at first. But all we had to do was ask for another and they agreed without any
problems. Keep in mind this resort is off the beaten path and my wife and I like to come and go as we please.

Activities-As you will read the pool at this resort is to die for. We had never seen
anything like this one. If your a all day pool person this resort is for you! They have
scheduled activities all day and a 2 for 1 happy hour from 11 to 1. They also have a
drink of the day special all day. The pool has several swim up bars as well as someone
willing to wait on you all day. If napping by the pool is for you heaven is right around
the corner. The resort has a nice beach area but the rocks in the water make it
tough to enjoy. We both brought water shoes which did help in the water. The resort
also offered a variaty of water sports. And lets not forget the golf course. We do not
play golf but I am a walker and enjoyed walking the cart paths in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayan Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayan Palace Riviera Maya 5*
Also Known As:
Mayan Riviera
Mayan Palace Cancun
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Cancun Grand Mayan
Grand Maya Mayan Riviera
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Mayan Palace Playa Del Carmen
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Mexico
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mayan Palace Riviera Maya to your Saves list