We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not perfect as usual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Save
You added Mayan Palace Riviera Maya to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 48 carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but not perfect as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We went to mayan palace a couple days ago, it was nice but not perfect like in the past. The beach area is not nice! There's a lot of rocks instead of sand. Had to go to another closer public beach. Playa mamitas in Playa del Carmen I hope my review can be help

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dea Marl S :

Thank you so much for choosing Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review with us.

All the same, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Most of the feedback provided by our guests is excellent; nonetheless, we are always looking for opportunities to exceed our guests' expectations.

Warmest regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    723
    303
    191
    250
See reviews for
776
657
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We are a Timeshare owner at the Mayan Palace. We have never had a bad experience yet in the 13 years we have been an owner. We visit about every 4 years or on very special occasions. The rooms are very clean, the pool and grounds are the same. We have never had a bad meal at any of the restaurants or the Buffet on the Beach in all these years. We get very nice discounts for site seeing events and have not been disappointed in any of them. The hotel staff has been very kind to us and ever made our 25th and 30th anniversaries trips that much more memorable. We've had a friend and their family stay in in our Time Share in June 2014 and they had a wonderful experience themselves. We can't say anything but good things about the Mayan Palace in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Debbie A:

Thank you so much for choosing Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff, as they are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing service excellence. It is pleasing to learn that you also enjoyed the pools.

We hope you continue celebrating with us such special moments, and we truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

First time at a resort. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was helpful. Although excellent, the restuarants were extremely expensive. Very difficult to get out of resort if you don't do one of their tours/attractions.

Room Tip: Lower number rooms are closer to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Shellie F:

Thank you so much for choosing Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us, and your comments will be useful for this purpose. We would like to point out as well, that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

Warm regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had the chance to tour this property in April and I have to say I was thoroughly impressed. The rooms are beautiful. So many choices from the pools to the restaurants I don't think you'd have to ever leave this resort. I ate at the buffet and there were so many options it was hard to choose. If I was a golfer I'd be in paradise. I can't wait to come here next April for my birthday next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Carla C :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options and the pools.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Spent two weeks at the Mayan Palace in a 2br, 2ba suite. This was our second time staying at the resort.

The Mayan Palace is a fantastic place to just kick back and relax. The huge pool, beachside location, and very comfortable palapas (queen size bed under a thatched roof) are heavenly. All the staff were very friendly, attentive and professional. We also thought the food was pretty good, and not as overpriced as one might think given other resorts of this quality.

The resort has free shuttle service from the airport to the resort. Return shuttles to the airport run $12 to $15 per person, depending on whether you book in advance. Tip: a taxi ride from the resort to the airport is about $31, which may be a cheaper option for a party of three or four. We took the taxi to the airport and thought it was much better than the shuttle ride to the resort.

The Mayan Palace has a small grocery/general store where you can buy essentials at a fairly reasonable price. There is also a deli and ice cream shop attached. Tip: the sandwhiches and other items served in the deli are the same ones you can get from room service or at the restaurants, but are about one-third to one-half less costly.

The resort offers a shuttle service from the resort into Playa del Carmen. The shuttle drops you off right next door to Mega, which is similar to a Walmart. The Walmart is a short walk down the street. The shuttle drop off is also a short walk to the main tourist/dining areas of Playa. Price per person for one-way transportation on the shuttle is $5. Tip: if you plan to buy groceries, it's probably a lot easier to take a taxi back to the resort. The total fare is about $22. If you split the cost with another couple it works out about the same as paying for the shuttle, without all the wait or hassle. Shuttles only pick up every two hours or so.

One thing that I thought was exceedingly pricey was the resort wifi. There is no free wifi anywhere at the resort. Instead, you have to pay anywhere from $4 for 30 minutes up to about $15 per day, per device. You can also purchase a week's worth of wifi for one device for about $85. This can really add up. Tip: if you have an unlocked GSM cell phone, you can purchase an Amigo sim card from Telcel (also available at Walmart) and buy some 3g wireless service for a fairly reasonable price. I think 1.5 gigs of data was about $25. Other plans/prices are available. I received a good signal everywhere at the resort, and everywhere we traveled in Riviera Maya.

One other note for those who may consider taking the timeshare presentation. Don't. I always refuse these things as they're more hassle than they're worth. However, my 16 year old son couldn't believe that the "presentations" could be as bad as I said they were, so we agreed to go just to give him a valuable life lesson. Since we are timeshare owners, we were told our presentation would only be an hour long and it was called a "timeshare disclosure." The disclosure turned out to be them telling us that their property was rated very highly by RCI, and, for the small sum of $65,000, we could purchase one of their units and live happily ever after. I managed to limit the time of the entire ordeal, including breakfast, to about 2 1/2 hours. For that we received 2,000 pesos (about $170), 10% off all food/drink purchases during our two week stay, and three free trips to Tulum. Apparently most folks only get offered 1,000 pesos and the 10%. We talked to probably a dozen other couples staying at the resort and they all said they had to endure between a 4 and 5 hour water-boarding session before being let loose. Bottom line, unless you're into self-flagilation, steer clear of any timeshare presentation, regardless of what it's called.

Room Tip: There are 8 buildings in the Mayan Palace. The lower the number of the building the closer it is to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear JunoGHonk :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities, the pools and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us, and your comments will be useful for this purpose.

We appreciate your feedback and we truly look forward to serving you again in the near future..

Best regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The most memorable thing about the Mayan Palace is that every single staff person we met was genuinely interested in making our experience better. They did their jobs with enthusiasm and were so pleasant to deal with, whether they were driving the shuttle or letting us know how to catch a ride to Playa del Carmen, or handing out towels or serving a meal. Everyone was very, very nice.

Now, about the resort itself...it was restrictive. We felt like there was nothing to do except sit by the pool all day. If we didn't want to spend an arm and a leg renting a jet ski or going parasailing, we were pretty much going to camp out by the pool all day every day. Let's face it, that gets kind of boring, no matter what kind of reading material you bring with you. There were shows, we found out later, that are offered (free of charge, even) but they're poorly promoted. (Maybe because they're free?) And the resort activities generally were under promoted so you felt like there was nothing to do.

Because the Mayan Palace is located between Cancun and Playa del Carmen, two of the Mayan Riviera's larger communities, and the beach is rocky (but currently undergoing a facelift), there really is nothing to do and no where to go that isn't going to cost money. Best to simply own up to that fact and prepare for it. (I understand that there's some really outstanding snorkeling and diving nearby, and there are nature parks that are close, but they all require you to leave the resort property, of course.)

The room was quite comfortable (Building 11) and the short walk to the shuttle for the beach/pool was very easy. The bed was typically hard and the pillows small, but neither of us minded it much as we still slept soundly because the neighbors all behaved themselves so it was nice and quiet. The maid service was fantastic (twice a day) so the room was always neat and clean and we had plenty of fresh towels. Front desk services (concierge, etc.) were all very good as well, so there really were no complaints about anything or anyone the entire week.

The food offered in the restaurants was better than expected. Some meals were outstanding (fajitas at Freida's) and some were simply OK (fish at Harvest Moon), but the portions were large enough that the two of us shared an entree and no one left hungry. Plus having leftovers at night was a winner, so we were happy all the way around.

Room Tip: Buildings closer to the pool are the first to fill (or at least are hard to get), so be prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear RoadWarrior817 :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We will gladly share your feedback with the staff, as working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us. The same way, it is pleasing to find out you liked the portions of our food options.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance.

It will be our privilege to welcome you back.

Happily,

Mayan Palace Riviera Mayan Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Originally, we booked 1 night in Ocean Breeze but due to renovations, we were moved to the Mayan Palace. That sounded good to me because the next day we will be moving into the Grand Mayan and this will give me an opportunity to compare the two timeshares. Now that we are back, I can objectively say that the Mayan Palace is 1 small step above a hotel room. The 1BR unit was spacious, but the refrigerator is about the same size as many hotels. Also, there is no balcony in MP. Overall, the accommodations were average, hence the rating. One more thing, the mattress on the bed is really hard. Call housekeeping and ask them to ‘soften the bed’. That means that housekeeping will add an egg crate mattress. It makes a HUGE difference.

Room Tip: Ask housekeeping to 'soften the bed', then you'll get an egg crate mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Roger H :
Thank you so much for choosing our Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review about your stay.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation.

Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance.

It will be our privilege to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Mayan Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Also Known As:
Mayan Riviera
Mayan Palace Cancun
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Cancun Grand Mayan
Grand Maya Mayan Riviera
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Mayan Palace Playa Del Carmen
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Mexico
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.