We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mayan Palace Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 48 carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The resort is very large and it is gorgeous! There are many pools to keep you busy. I will say the beach itself left much to be desired. There are too many rocks so swimming or even walking out to the water is not an option. They make up for the poor beach by having huge pools. In addition, the food is amazing! Everything we tried was delicious even the room service was very great. The resort has a few animals that you can visit such as alligators and flamingos, which was nice. The rooms were clean and the resort staff were nice and accommodating. The negatives are the fact that we felt a bit harassed at the airport AND in the lobby of the hotel by people selling time-shares. Another negative is that they did not have many activities on the resort especially at night. Pretty much the main activities are to hang out at the pool or eat. They had a Rockwall and other activities set up on the beach, however all of the activities seemed to be out of commission while we were there. Also, the walls in the rooms are very thin so you will hear your neighbor. Lastly, there was construction going on since they are adding additional buildings to this already massive resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear lovethebeach818:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at Mayan Palace. We truly appreciate your kind words about some our staff, as they are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing service excellence. It is pleasing to learn that you also enjoyed our food options, ground and the breathtaking landscape.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your stay. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    653
    275
    170
    236
See reviews for
676
590
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

7 family members went to the Mayan Palace. We had 2 (1) bedroom units. We must have hit the perfect weekend June 3, because they shut down half the buildings due to off season. It was nice and quite. They get you at check in with the time share pitch. Get a room credit, 10% off food and drink and one tour or another. It's crazy, because you hear one offer of $500 room credit vs $125, etc. Shoot for the moon. Ask for tours, high credits, and if it's minimal, say maybe later. They will increase the deal. This is important, because The town is 20 minutes by taxi, and the prices are inflated beyond reason. I remember Mexico being a bargain. $11.50 for a hotdog at the poolside shack? $7 beers and $11-12 drinks. It adds up fast over a week. Example the Asian restaurant average entree $30-90 per person. Multiply that by 7 ( 3 ) times a day. They have a small store to buy food, but again 40% higher than in town. After talking with other guests, the best way is take the resort shuttle into town $5 each way. Mega is their cheapest market. (Wallmart is there, but $$) stock up on fruits, breakfast bars, chips, soda, beers, bread, meats and cheese for snacks during the day. You will be glad you did.

The resort itself is huge. Try and get buildings 1-5 closer to the mega huge pool. If not it's a very long walk. They do have golf carts, but 20 minutes is a long wait.

The Havana Moon restaurant seems the most reasonable and has a good variety.also ocean views. There are kids menus, but you have to ask.

Happy hour is twice a day 11-12 and 4-5 . 2 for 1 beers and talls for smalls on drinks. It's 2 for 1, but put it in a larger glass. Overall a great place to unwind. Friendly staff, turndown service, golf course, and a really really really huge pool. Just wish it was a bit deeper 3 1/2 feet.

Room Tip: Lower the building number the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Johnykiwi:

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our food options at Havana Moon. We are happy as well that you liked the pools and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us, and your comments will be useful for this purpose. We would like to point out as well, that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We exchanged a week in a 2 bedroom unit through RCI. I emailed the concierge about a week or two before our vacation to arrange airport transportation. From the airport to the resort is free, but you have to pay for the return trip. If you arrange it ahead of time, you still have to talk to the concierge a day or two before you leave, but you will get 20% off (it was $12 each instead of $15). We arrived at the resort around 2pm, so I was prepared to leave our luggage, change into our swim suits and hang out at the pool since check-in isn't until 5, but I was pleasantly surprised to be able to check-in right away. Check-in was quick and easy...they put a hold on a credit card for 8000 pesos and anything you buy at the resort goes on the credit, at check-out you can either pay that in cash or leave it on your credit card.
We were in building 13 on the 2nd floor, rooms 2151 & 2153. The door connecting our rooms was locked, and when we asked the housekeeper if she could unlock it, she didn't speak any English at all...she was able to get someone there, though, and he unlocked it. I had already read that the beds would be very firm and asked him to add the egg crate topper to our bed, which they did that evening for us. We had a balcony outside of each of the bedrooms and the living room, but was very disappointed that there were no chairs out there to sit on. The couches also pull out to a bed if you need the extra space (we didn't); but the couches themselves are very uncomfortable for sitting on. There was no complimentary coffee, tea or water. We didn't even have any dish soap for the fist 3 days until our dishes started piling up in the sink. We also had no service directory binder, with the room service menu and guids for the resort in it, until we asked for it. There's daily (sometimes twice daily) maid service...you don't have to tip daily, though, at the end of the week, they left an envelope with their names on it.
We took a taxi into Playa del Carmen to get some groceries from the Mega Mart. It's $25 one way, or for $50 he drove us there, waited and hour then drove us back. We were able to get bread, milk, cereal and some other staples for around $50. There's also a "shuttle" service that goes into Playa for $5 per person a few times a day...it's actually just the taxi vans, and they shove in as many people as they can get into each van.
When you look at the website for Mayan Palace, it seems as though they have about 10 restaurants to chose from, but they don't. Some of the restaurants are open only for breakfast and lunch, then they change their names and those are open for dinner (Balche is open for breakfast & lunch, Frida's is in the same spot and open for dinner). And not every restaurant is open every day. Lunch at Balche for 3 adults cost about $80 (American). Room service was good! They told us it would take about 40 minutes, but it only took 20..they brought 3 glasses of water, wiped off our kitchen table, and set the table for us, including a vase with flowers. For 3 burgers, no drinks or desserts, it was 600 pesos. All of the food & drinks are pricey.
On Thursday evening they have the Mexican Fiesta. When we checked in we were told that the only places we needed reservations for were for Tramonto & the Gong. On Thursday we asked if we needed reservations for the fiesta & we were told that we could get them by going over to the Del Lago restaurant and get one if we wanted. When we went there, we were told that the girl who makes the reservations wasn't there and wouldn't be there until 5:30, but that we could just come for dinner when we were ready. Well, when we got there for dinner, we were turned away, saying that we needed reservations. We were not the only people that this happened to. We have vacationed at other places in Mexico, and usually they have the Mexican shows outside by the pool where there is plenty of space for all guests to be able to attend. We were very disappointed.
One excursion we booked from home, not through their concierge. We were told by the tour group to meet at the lobby, they told us to go to Green Break. The guy at Green Break told us that we had to go out to the gate at the highway - they wouldn't allow the tour group into the resort to pick us up because we didn't book through them! The same tour group was there to pick up other people for a different tour, so it's not like it's someone they don't deal with. It was simply because we didn't book through them. Luckily, the driver who came for the other tour group was kind enough to take us and drive us out to the highway to our driver. The other tours we did we booked through the concierge and had no trouble with.
The laundry room was a pain to find! Even with help from the operator...she finally had to send someone to show me where it was (and once again, asking housekeeping doesn't help because none of them speak any English at all, and I really don't speak Spanish lol). There is a small building outside of buildings 16/17 on the side where the golf carts drive. It is only unlocked during the day until around 5pm. There are 4 washers & 4 driers. You need to get coins from the concierge (80 pesos for 1 load) and they will also give you a little packet of laundry soap.
All of the buildings are somewhat connected, and you can walk through on the first floor, or you can walk outside them, or take the golf carts, which run about every 15 minutes. It's not too bad of a walk. The pool is wonderful, and since we went during the shoulder season, the palapas and chairs weren't hard to get. I was amazed at how clean the bathroom was at the pool.
One thing we weren't told about is that there is a $47 daily room tax.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor, not ground floor; odd number rooms are on the jungle side, even number rooms are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear midnighter94:
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your detailed feedback about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are happy that you liked our pools and the room service.

We are surprised to learn about the inconveniences experienced. Your observations will be shared with all areas concerned as guest feedback is important to us, and ultimately is how we measure our success. We would like to point out as well, that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.


If we are fortunate to welcome you back in the near future, we are confident your stay will be a unique pleasant experience.

Sincerely,


Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary,canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

If your after a very relaxing vaction away from it all then you might consider this resort property,super quiet and very family oriented,very classy and sophisticated best describes this property,fabulous swimming pools,on site grocery store and gift shop that won't disappoint,good selection of on site restaurants as well,only drawback is the beach is very poor with lots of coral,if your willing to take a good walk along the beach,better beaches will be found,WATCH OUT FOR THE TIME SHARE SHARKS,they will attempt to invite you to a presentation they say will only last 2 hrs more like half of a wasted day,don't be conned ino this,great golf course on site as well

Room Tip: ask for a complex close to the beach,this is a huge property
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear jack123156:

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at Mayan Palace. We are so glad you had a good time with you family enjoying our restaurants, pools, activities and facilities.

It appears as though not all your expectations were met. As one of the most successful companies in the Mexican tourism field, we clearly communicate the terms and conditions associated with accepting an invitation to our sales presentation and everyone - at free will, attends and receives the gifts been offered as we appreciate their visit whether they decide to acquire our products or not.

We appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel was huge! You had take a gold cart ride to the lobby and other places in the resort that was the only thing I didn't like I'm used to walking to where I want to go without having to wait to be picked up and then they stop running at a certain time. Otherwise the property was great. The room had a plunge pool on the balcony, it was huge and we had a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom. We had a one bedroom but didn't make use of the kitchen but it had all you needed plus a nice dining room and living room with the balcony stretching to the maste bedroom. It was clean and well appointed. The pools were huge and the food was great especially the fish tacos. There were plenty of bars and wonderful people. The only bad people were the ones trying to sell you timeshares, they were so pushy and rude when you did not want to purchase it was ridiculous so I'd advise to stay away from them no matter what gift they throw at you. I would return and not do the timeshare tour because everything else was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Lori D:

Thank you so much for choosing Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review about your stay. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, also delighted to find out that most our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation.

We are grateful for your feedback.

Warmest regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Pool is unreal. They treat you like royalty except for the sales people. They are relentless sharks who are rude and will not take no for an answer. Dont meet them unless you want your day ruined. They tell you 45 minutes but we and others were there 4-5 HOURS ! Only negative. Other than that i cant wait to go back. Awesome, gorgeous, fun

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear liborio a:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay with us at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to find out that some our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We are happy as well that you liked our pools.

Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us, and your comments will be useful for this purpose.

Your comments and suggestions are always welcomed. It will be our honor to welcome you once again.

Best regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Remover When is a vacation club that I belong to. I told them due to family stress and illness ALL I wanted to do was swim in the ocean and walk on the beach. The beach had pipes with water coming out of them. Orange hazard tape cutting off certain areas and orange cones shielding certain areas. Due to all of the rock the ocean is not swimmable. The mildew in the room was so bad we had to change our room. The food was only adequate. The shuttles don't hold a lot of people so you may have to wait for another one in the hot sun. Roxanne, the manager of the vacation club has yet to make this right for us.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear NyDonna:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace.

It appears as though not all your expectations were met. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. With that in mind, your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas.

Your feedback is always welcomed.

Warm regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayan Palace Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Mayan Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Riviera
Mayan Palace Cancun
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Cancun Grand Mayan
Grand Maya Mayan Riviera
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Mayan Palace Playa Del Carmen
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Mexico
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.