We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso Lindo to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt Chetumal - Pto Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
North Richland Hills, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this resort. We actually got married there 10 years ago. It has grown a lot since then, but is every bit as beautiful as we remembered. The staff is friendly, the service is excellent. Great pools, but an even better beach. we went to relax and soak up some sun, and that's just what we did. There are plenty of excursions you can take, but this trip we just relaxed. It was paradise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting us again on your 10th year Anniversary. Thank you so much for your loyalty! We are also very happy to know that we were capable to offer you another great vacation.

We really appreciate your recognition for our service, our pools and our facilities in general.

Thank you for this feedback. We sincerely hope to see you for many years to come. We look forward to serve you again.

Warmest regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,115
    968
    318
    128
    63
See reviews for
1,649
803
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family of 5 (2 adults and 3 teenage girls) along with my parents (60's), brother and sister in law with their kiddos (2adults and 10/7 year olds) and my two step son's and a friend (in their 20's) visited the Lindo this past June.
This resort had something for each person in our group. Not an easy order to fill with so many ages. From the arrival, the check in process was pretty quick. We arrived on a charter and the Iberostar staff were busy with a lot of check in guests. The lobby is air conditioned and has WiFi and a lot of seating.
Our room was not available until later in the day, so we went for a delicious lunch at the buffet. Many choices, friendly staff! Once our room was ready, we went to quickly change and hit the pool. We requested rooms nearby one another and ended up all in the same building. We were thrilled. My teenagers were just 3 doors down. The rooms were standard, not junior suites, but were spacious and had a balcony. Steps, no elevators. The air conditioning stays on until you turn it OFF, not when you place a key in a slot. So, our room was nice and cool when we came back from the hot sun. Beds were firm, sheets clean, bathroom large and clean. Plenty of drawer and closet space. Not super luxurious but certainly very nice and perfect for our needs.
Beach- VERY Good!! Not much seaweed, large wide stretch of white sand. A ton of sunbeds and covered thatched hut's for shade. Beach bar and Food served on the beach, as well as server's available to bring you beverages!! Drinks were good, not watered down. Beer was cold- I think it was Sol and Dos Equis. Didn't see any "American" beers, which we didn't want/expect...but it seems American's tend to think everyone has "our" beer. When in Rome.....
Pools- Aside from the area around the swim up bar, which tended to get a little oily feeling late in the day, the pools were VERY clean. The pool deck was pristine. The resort grounds as well were exceptionally clean and well manicured. We spent our pool time near the waterfall, as it offered a cool breeze. The bar near the wave pool was convenient and the staff there were quick, friendly and poured whatever we asked for. There were also a lot of chairs and thatched huts for shade. I would have loved a few regular chairs, as I honestly get tired of laying down! Pool towels available.
Activities- the staff is great about encouraging people to join in. Non motorized water sports were included, but some days it was too windy for the kayaks. Other water sports available for a fee. The activity pool for volleyball, basketball etc is only good if you are at least 6ft tall. But there are plenty of spots to have impromptu volleyball or toss a ball in the main pools. Lazy river was nice too.
Food- Buffet choices were plentiful, well prepared, hot foods as they should be and cold foods the same. We ate at specialty restaurants twice and it was great both times. Would have liked to try another, but with our group size it wasn't available. Next time will make sure to book reservations as soon as we check in with concierge (Each building has their own concierge).
Excursion- we went to playa del Carmen. Our group took a van for a reasonable rate. Worth the trip, but plan to be hassled to buy in the stores. Prices are ok. So many very cool restaurants to see/try. Next time I will make sure to allow more time in Playa.
we had planned to visit Chichen Itza, but it is a 10 hour day from the resort, so we skipped it this time. Tulum is closer.
WIFI- free in lobby and lobby bar (both air conditioned) Fee to use in the room. At night it was impossibly slow, but so many were using it, that was no surprise. Gotta stay connected to social media.
Shopping/Nightlife- there were shows, it looked like people were enjoying them, but we didn't attend any. The World cup was being played while we were there. It was shown at the Disco (no clue the name)...it was AWFUL. Small Tv's and very dark. We found out the Maya was showing games and went there, it was much better. They brought out chips/salsa and it was a much bigger brighter room. I wonder if they considered showing the games in the theaters? It would have been fantastic in one of those venues.
The 20 somethings didn't love the night life, mainly because there were few single's in their age group- but we were all tired from long days or sun and drinking!
Teen club- my kids were not impressed
Photographer- booked a photo session with the onsite photography outfit. the photographer was very nice, but most of our pictures were not great. Might have been better had it not been quite so windy, but there was no purchase requirement. We bought anyway...and now have some ok pics and some that are pretty good!!
thumbs up to this resort, we will absolutely return to this and/or another Iberostar resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your invaluable feedback. Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travelers.

We really appreciate your comments where you indicate us that had a great experience in our resort enjoying our facilities, our food and the excellent service provided by our staff.

Thank you for trusting us, we are already looking forward to your next visit. It would be our pleasure to serve you and your family again!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We returned to the Iberostar Lindo for the 3rd time in 14 months for a dear fiend's wedding in late June. We took a party of 7 and there were 63 wedding attendants, it was awesome!!!

I must say I am so glad we gave this resort a 3rd chance. The first time we visited was in April, Mexico's dry season when the jungle was barely even there, and then again in September and it rained and smelled like bat guano and mold. The resort was also low staffed that week among other issues. This trip was wonderful in every way, a totally different experience.

Our Room- I begged for the room we stayed in the past 2 times because it was away from the jungle and did not smell musty, but it was occupied so we were put in another building closer to the jungle, and it was surprisingly very fresh smelling. The bed was new and had a soft pillow top. (room 5165) and the balcony was double the usual size. Our other family members enjoyed their rooms but still complained of the beds being hard. I think the resort has only replaced the kings so far.

The Food-All of the restaurants had improved. I don't know if it was because it was high season, but everything was fresh and consistent. Our favorite restaurant this time was the Mediterranean and 2nd the Brazilian but I must say the French waiters were the best, very attentive! The front entrance buffet had drastically improved and our favorite server "Juanito" was working there instead of the Beach side buffet which was still great.

The Beach and pools-Perfect as always. A bit crowded, but we found a perfect empty beach right on the other side of the Grande. Pure virgin beach. Our friends thought we were freaks for getting up at 6AM and putting our towels on our shaded beach chairs, but after they sat in the sun for a couple of days they did the same. Can't forget the pool games, we loved them!!

The wedding- Wow!! what a wedding! We had a fantastic evening. A great DJ, a Marmariachi band, dancing barefoot on the sand, fresh crab and lobster! O' and Tequila!!

The Service was wonderful as always. Please be sure to tip. Everyone there works so hard. We also say a big Thanks to Adrian and Beatrize and Shadoc who we missed this time. See you in Diciembre!

Iberostar Lindo! You won us back. Thank You for a great week!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 55 are the farthest from the beach and pools, closest to the mall and nightlife. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and the Tripadvisor readers how your third visit with us went, and of course, thank you for your loyalty!

We are very proud to hear that one of our repetitive guests had another memorable stay. We work hard every day to provide our guests always with the best and thanks to your comments we can see what we do right and what could be improved. Your lovely comments about our staff will be sent to them; they will be very happy to know that you had great memories thanks to their excellent service.

We are happy that you enjoyed the wedding celebration and that everything went as you were expecting.

Once again, thank you very much for trusting us, we look forward to your vacations in December.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the Lindo July 4-10 and had a wonderful time. From Jose at the front desk through the resort all the way to Julio and David at the beach bar, the staff was friendly, accommodating and very cordial. The grounds are beautiful as are the fountains and the huge meandering pool.

We had two rooms on the second floor in Building 51, which was steps away from the beach and a five-minute walk from the lobby. Our rooms were cleaned shortly after we left them and our maids Nuemi and Hermalinda went above and beyond to ensure our comfort, with delightful little touches like a fresh flower or bags of peanuts, and a restocking of our water bottles each day.

The buffets were delicious and had dozens of choices, a welcome sight since our daughter is a vegetarian. Our waiter Adrian made breakfast at the El Fogon buffet special every day. The restaurants also did what they could to make certain our daughter had choices at dinner. The chef at El Museo even visited our table twice to be certain our daughter was happy and we were satisfied. The food at the beautiful El Museo was fantastic, as was the food at the Iberostar Maya Marina seafood restaurant, well worth the extra $20 per person to go there. Don Alfredo’s Italian restaurant at the nearby Iberostar Del Mar was also very good. We enjoy eating late and had no problem reserving a table for each night of our stay, and found the concierge service in Building 51 to be most helpful doing so. The lunch at the beach was tasty, convenient and offered many choices, and the daily cookout in the massive cauldron was also very good. Diego, Nancy and the other Star Friends at the beach did all they could to keep us fit and entertained, and the beach waitresses were quick to bring drinks and to take away empty glasses. At the beach bar, Julio and David kept us smiling with the daily drink specials and plentiful shots of tequila. Room service was a fun twist and never took more than 45 minutes to deliver our orders, even in the busy evenings when we wanted a salad or snack before dinner. The lobby bar was fun, the piano player very talented and our waitress, Diana, and the manager, Elias, made sure our glasses were full and the martinis dry.

We also booked two tours (day-long Chichen Itza, Ik Kil and Coba private tour and a day-long catamaran to Isla Mujeres) through Trina at CARM Tours and would heartily recommend both tours. They helped make our trip unforgettable.

The Lindo is a lovely, fun and truly friendly place to stay and we are recommending it to our friends. We hated to leave.

Room Tip: Building 51 was steps from the beach and a five-minute walk to the lobby. Quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Your fabulous experience may encourage other travelers to choose us for their vacation.

Our main goal is our guests’ satisfaction and we are proud to hear that we succeeded in meeting your expectations and that you loved our personalized service. We will forward your comments to our friendly staff, especially to Diego, Julio, Jose, Adrian, Elias, Diana, Nancy, Hermelinda and Noemi. For sure, they will be very happy to know that they helped you to have a wonderful stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your preference and for your excellent comments. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are still talking about this trip a year later! From beginning to end this trip was PERFECT! The property is gorgeous. The family is greeted with a drink and made to feel special. The rooms are well appointed and spacious, and include a complimentary minibar.(and room service). There is a great variety of restaurants, which were all wonderful. The shows were entertaining for me and the kids. There were many pools, the beautiful beach, and always a covered area with seating without a struggle. The staff goes out of there way to serve you-truly excellent!! Warning*Make dinner reservations upon arrival or you will be sorry. **WiFi is available only in the lobby and there is a fee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review about our hotel. We are happy that your stay was so pleasant.
It is most satisfactory to know that we contributed to making your vacation a success. We are indeed happy to know that you enjoyed our well kept facilities, our services, the beach, and our food in general. At IBEROSTAR, we always try to provide an ambience that will fulfill our guests’ needs.

Once again, thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR and we look forward to seeing you again at our lovely hotel.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I recently spent 5 days at the Lindo to attend my sister's wedding and enjoy some sun. The hotel/resort was great. Our room was in building 51 (next to the pool with swim up bar and most of the action during the day). We felt this was a very convenient location as the beach was just steps away as well as places to eat. Noise wasn't a factor unless you are trying to nap in the afternoon.
The food was better than average. There were many choices at the various buffets and there were menu changes daily. Alcohol options were plentiful everywhere. The only negative would be that you really need to book reservations for the non-buffet restaurants well in advance (days to weeks).
The staff was friendly. The resort is rather large when you keep in mind the many Iberostar hotels all next to one another. You can get lost easily, but twice we were able to flag down an employee who was riding a golf cart, and he gave us a ride to where we needed to go. Don't forget to tip!!!
I usually don't do all-inclusive resorts, but I would not hesitate to go back here the next time I visit the area!

Room Tip: Determine if you want to be close to the pool, beach, buffet, kids area, or shopping. Look at the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing to be valued guests of our property, IBEROSTAR Paraiso Lindo. We are grateful for the time you took to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the celebration of your sister's wedding and that everything went so well. Moreover, we really appreciate your recognition for our service and all our facilities. Our staff will be very glad to read your lovely comments.

Once more, thank you for your preference and for choosing us, we look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day stay with husband and sons ages 8 and 10. Overall an enjoyable stay. The grounds were beautiful especially if u venture over to the paraiso beach/delmar areas with tropical paths and coati and peacocks running wild. The service was excellent especially Fredricko and Hugo at the swim up pool bar and Yareda our housekeeper in building 50. They were very hard workers and always smiling. We had a honeymoon suite room 5044. Yareda went the extra mile to make towel animals, designs in the curtains and flower petals in room. The food in the specialty restaurants (jambalaya, steakhouse and Mexican) was good and we frequented the beach buffets and ice-cream shops often. Be sure to check out the shopping mall across the street on iberostar property where the ice cream, tacos and hamburgers places are all included in price of stay.
However, if you are used to a chain such as Beaches here are key take away points. (keep in mind price differential-corporate has likely made decisions based on cost savings that impact quality.
1. Towel Cards. You are limited to one towel a day and must keep up with the towel or the towel card. This becomes annoying when going back and forth from pool to beach. I was told if we lost a towel or card we would b billed 40$ each us dollars!
2. Reservations are REQUIRED at ALL the restaurants except the buffet. I immediately went to see concierge when we arrived only to find that there were NO reservations at all available for the first two nights we were there. This meant we ate at the buffet restaurant for bresktfast, lunch and dinner for two days. The remaining three days we were only given late reservation options I.e 830 pm which was late for our sons who were exhausted and hungry by then. There was no availability for us in the Italian or Japanese steakhouse for us for our entire stay.
3. Compared to Beaches it was not as family friendly. There were A LOT of g - strings and girls my sons age (although prepubertal) without tops on. I understand this is culturally acceptable in other parts of the world but my sons had not been exposed to this in the past and this was uncomfortable and lead to some discussion. Personally we witnessed two fights that had to b broken up, a girl vomiting on the side of the pool at 5pm, and another drunken 20 something fall into the pool fully clothed at 5pm. This would have been ideal destination for us before we had children, however not quite the family environment that we have experienced with Beaches the past 3 years.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Lindo for your recent holiday in Mexico.

We are pleased to read that our facilities satisfied you and that our staff did their best to make you feel happy during your stay. For sure, we will congratulate Federico, Hugo and Yareda.

On the other hand, we are sorry about your discomfort with the policy of our towels, we, as well as many hotels in the industry, introduced this policy to have a better control of the towels used but it is important to clarify that our guests are free to request more than one towel in our towel center.

We offer our apologies about the unusual situation you experienced at our pool. IBEROSTAR is a family-oriented hotel and our Security team is always on the lookout to prevent incidents or any disturbance to our guests. We already informed our Security Department about your comments to make sure this does not happen again. Likewise, we are sorry about your discomfort at the beach with other guests. Topless is not permitted in the pool areas or other areas of the hotel.

In regard with our restaurants' reservation system, we are sorry you got seatings at times that were not convenient to you. Our a la carte restaurants are very popular, so we recommend our guests to make their dinner reservations on their first day or a few weeks prior to arrival through our Public Relation Service.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity of serving you at our resort again so we may prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Address: Carrt Chetumal - Pto Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them A-la-Carte. 18-holes golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.