We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK resort but disapointing for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Lindo to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt Chetumal - Pto Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK resort but disapointing for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just came back from our vacation at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo resort. We have 2 kids and a baby and had big expectations since the critics were on average very good and the price was fairly expensive.

The site was great but you have to expect a fair amount of walking. Staff and service were very nice and professionnal. Beach was nice. Not to many rocks. the various pools were great for the kids and altough there was many vacationners on the site, we never felt crouded. The room was decent but had ants everywere even if we were located on the 2nd level. We paid extra because we had 2 children plus a 7month old baby but our room was the same size as the others and did not have an extra bed or crib. So I am not quite sure why we paid more. Also, we had to ask for extra blankets beacause we were freezing in the rooms.

The kids pool with the water slides and giant bucket of water was too rough for young children and even though my 8 year old daughter likes to play in fairly physical activites, she did not like it much prefering the wave pool.

The restaurants and buffet were disapointing. Drinks around the site in general also. Food was average at best. The italian-Seafood restaurant was mediocre. The pasta at the buffet was more fresh but still average. If your are looking for nice coffee on the site, good luck! If your are looking for a latte, espresso or capuccino between 16h30 and 18h30 well you will just have to wait!

For our checkout, the bell-boy never came to get our luggage (at 6a.m.).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your recent vacation in Mexico.

We regret any dissatisfaction you encountered during your stay. Let us mention that all guests’ comments are our priority as they are very helpful in order to provide our future guests a better service. Your comments about the friendliness of our staff are very motivating, and we will passing them on to them.

With respect to the distance we would like to point that our guests can order a ride with their concierge or reception at any time and to any place within the hotel complex. Also, every 15 minutes there is a train going back and forth.

Our hotel provides of a variety of pools for every taste and target group. We always have to keep our guests’ safety in mind, as we receive clients of all different age groups and also the swimming expertise and fitness of them varies a lot. We are pleased to read your daughter enjoyed the wave pool.

We regret the incident that you had in your room. We have special fumigation program and each day we are entering in the rooms making sure to keep away all bugs. Ants are very common in sandy places and we are not the exception. With respect about your extra pay, it is important to remember you that you pay for each person in the room and you have the option to ask about upgrades in the front desk.

We are sorry to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level concerning the food and beverage quality. We already shared it with the departments involved in order to look for improvement and enhance the quality. However we would like to clarify that our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and a la Carte Restaurants.

Considering the amount of guests we have at our hotel, when seeking the bell boy service, we suggest making your request 30 minutes before departure, or one day in advance to provide better service. However, we apologize profusely for that.

We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,359
    1,147
    373
    145
    72
See reviews for
1,910
951
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heinenoord
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is part of a big resort with more Iberostar hotels, surrounded with a beautiful garden park very nice for walking around.
The restaurants are great with perfect service and dedicated staff, the beach is excellent
with good service en activities.
Every evening you can enjoy the shows or other activities in the theater.
With had a great 3 weeks holiday, the only remark is the resevations done very early in the morning done (7.00 hours) of the beds on the beach by guests which actually showup around 11.00 hiours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your vacation and for sharing your experience!

We are extremely proud to understand from your comments that you had a memorable experience at our resort and furthermore, that you were satisfied with several aspects of our services.

We sincerely hope that if ever returning to Mexico, you will not hesitate to visit our resort as we would consider it an honor to be able to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I went to this resort for wedding. I was very surprised at how huge the complex was. It had several pools (including a lazy river and wave pool), shopping, a great club for the younger crowd, tons of bars, and a fantastic beach.

The grounds and facilities were kept in great shape. The staff couldn't have been any nicer. They were happy to wait on you and take care of any needs you may have.

I've been lucky to have been on many vacations and stayed at a lot of resorts. I can say that I would come back to this resort in the future I enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Customer,

On behalf of the hotel staff and particularly the hotel manager, we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing to be valued guests of Iberostar Paraiso Lindo. We also very much appreciate you taking the time to send us your comments on how your holiday went at our resort.

It is very gratifying to read that you had a wonderful holiday at our hotel and it certainly motivates us to learn that you were pleased with our bars, the beach, the entertainment, facilities and especially our staff.

We hope that if ever returning to our beautiful Riviera Maya, you would not hesitate to visit Iberostar as we would consider it a privilege to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just returned from a family vacation in Mexico. Our experience staying at the Paraiso Lindo was amazing! There was never a dull moment for the kids - the Star Friends (entertainment crew) made sure of that! Before going there, we had read some of the reviews and were a little concerned about the food and the 'hard' beds - none of which we encountered as a problem. The beds were comfortable, the staff was amazing, and the food incredible. Some of the travellers in our group had dietary restrictions and the kitchen staff willingly catered to all of our needs. We would go back in a heartbeat and are even considering another trip to the same resort next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took in writing this excellent review.

We would like to express our most sincere gratitude for sharing your experience with other travelers. We feel honored to have contributed to making your stay unforgettable.

We are confident that you will be staying again at any of our hotels; if so, please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any requests!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Me and my mum stayed for 2 weeks.
This place is amazing, the Beach is incredible! The grounds are breath taking!
The restaurants were great, I recommend the French restaurant (Le Museum).
There is always something to do from everyday activities to the theatre and night club in the evening.
When I read the reviews no one mentioned that there are 4 hotels and a shopping centre!
You are not allowed to use the facilities of the Grand Iberostar because it is a higher rating, but you can go to the other 2 hotels, the shopping centre and use their facilities.
The food is amazing : To book a restaurant you have to speak to the person at the bottom of your building. You can go to the buffet every night without making a booking, they have different theme nights, which inlude my fave which was Japagnese!! Yummy!
Word of caution.. in the evening if you have someone come to your room and knock saying they want to change your towels or clean say 'no it's late!' They clean during the day not evenings.
I suggest when leaving the room in the evening to put a do not disturb sign on the door. We had no problems but after reading the other reviews we were paranoid that something could get stolen.
You do not need to tip, they are very friendly and will not treat you any differently if you dont.
The best drink to oder is the Mijito! Margarita is very nice too!
Great staff and always helpful!
Have your camera on you as you walk about the grounds as you will see the turtles, flamingos, parrots, white peacocks, swans and lizards. I do not know the name of the little cratures with the long tails! But they are adorable!! and they love hot dogs ;)
The rooms are spotless, you have a mini fridge that is filled every day, Queen size beds!
I had no complaints! The weather could have been better but hey :) Amazing experiance and im saving up the pennies to go back some time soon!

Room Tip: Buildings 49 & 50 are near the beach, near the swimming pool, buffet and close to the main resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for the invaluable feedback you have shared with us and fellow travelers with respect to your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very helpful to us in evaluating our service.

The management and staff at Iberostar Resorts are committed to providing an ambience which satisfies the needs of our diverse clientele so it is so gratifying to know that you enjoyed our services and friendship!

We would like to inform you that the little creatures with the long tails are Coatis, family of the raccoons :-).

We wish to have the opportunity to host you and your family again in a near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I will not write a lengthy review because there are so many already. I agree with all of the positive reviews about the Lindo! We loved every minute of our week (mom, dad, 10, 8) including the proximity to the airport (20 minutes if no stops, 45 minutes with 2 stops). The grounds, the staff, the food...all great. The staff at the Dive Shop was just wonderful. The one tiny criticism is the terrible hair dryer - it got very hot to the touch so bring your own if you need one. I did not find the beds too hard as some reviewers have mentioned. I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: I asked for building 53 which is halfway between the beach and the lobby/main buffet. I asked for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear friends,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your vacation in Mexico. We would also like to express our gratitude for the time you have taken to share with us and the rest of the online community, your opinion of your stay at our resort.

We are delighted to have provided you with an outstanding holiday and are also pleased to read that you were happy with our staff, delicious food and services.

With your most recent trip to Iberostar being so pleasurable, we are quite confident that you will be staying again at our hotel and therefore we sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL, CANADA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Well this place was amazing...we were located in building 51, 2nd floor facing the garden. Convenient and access to beach,pools and of course the buffet restos.

Room
Clean and quite cozy. Beds were comfortable and not as hard as some reviewers were claiming. Towels and mini bar were always taken care by the staff. As we did like to watch some tv at night, the only upgrade needed was to get a flt screen, which ironically was getting on the day we checked out.

Food
The buffet restos were always well prepared with all the ameneties. They were great for breakfast and a quick bite for lunch. We did reserve 2 steak dinners and 2 Mexican dinners which were fantastic. Great service and menu choices. The buffets at night were sometimes over crowded but the kudos go out to the cooks which took the extra step to accomodate. The beach snack bar had burgers and hot dogs, only drawbck was the rennvations og a newer snack and the annoying people that would bring food to the beach chairs and leave their mess behind
for the birds , it did get messy sometimes. The best on the beach was the paella.

Beach and pools
For a good set chairs on the beach with a palapa you need to get
to get up at 6 a.m.The reason is because of the 3 resorts sharing the best part of the beach. The adult themed " The Grand " shared the same beach as their side of the ocean was full of rocks, wow and they paid a premium for not wanting to be around kids...how ironic. The bar service was excellent and consistant. As for the pools , we had a blast at the wave pool not as crowded in afternoon hours.

Bars and entertainement
The bar located in the lobby was excellent, loud when the piano was playing but great seating outside for before and after dinner.
The shows were always full but lacking the real enthusiasm we had experienced at the Iberostar Jamaica. Good overall effort , needs to be reworked and adjusted to more creative themes.

For the people that complained that wifi was only available only in the lobby, well you're supposed to be on vacation and could you imagine the pain of having facetiming and Skyping all over the place? By the way for the people using your Ipads on the beach,
not ideal place...heat, sand and water not a great mix. You will finfd out once you get home. If you need to call home, buy yourselves a 20.00 calling card , well worth the investment. Using a cell phone is tricky even if you are using a prepaid plan from your provider. Remember drink your bottled water and protect yourself from the sun. The concierge service at this location was above my expectations...they were located in each building and were more than just helpful..by the way this is where you could book your reservations for the restaurants and anything you may need for the room. If only all Iberostars had this convenience it would make many guests..say wow. If you plan to swim with the dolphins, Dolphinaris is the place. Book through your rep and not at the airport. The half day excursion in th morning is pricey but worth it if you have children. Be prepared for a long day but the memories are priceless. No suntan lotions and necklaces aloud in order to prevent the dolphins. If you need sun protection for your body buy yourself the sunblocking shirts, as for your head and face, you will need to suck it in if you burn.
I highly recommend the Solorcane gel with vitamin e for the sunburn. Just a note concerning the airport, once you have cleared customs, you will be approached by sales pitches from timesharing to bar hopping, be careful with your money.
We were immediately approached for timesharing....say no politely and move on to find your rep to get you to your resort.

Hope everyone enjoyed my insight..we are looking at a possible Iberostar in Varadero, Cuba. Any suggestions will greatly be welcomed.

NB : as we all know what makes a good experience a great experience...is the staff. As all included means everything under the sun...kindly remember to tip when you feel it necessary..some guests at this locationand time period. ...believed that things were owed to them...shame on your bad demeanor and behaviour. A little more courtesy and respect would be more than appreciated.
I am refering to the 5 Russian men that were accompanied by wives and children acting uncivilized.;

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Address: Carrt Chetumal - Pto Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them A-la-Carte. 18-holes golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and VISIT US, INC. so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.