We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite of Maya Riviera” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso Beach to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite of Maya Riviera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

To preface: I have been to the Mayan Riviera 6 times now and this is my new favorite!

The iberostar paraiso beach... where to begin? Ah, arrival and check in. Upon our arrival we were promptly greeted by the Bell boy and ushered to the front desk where once our reservations were confirmed we were handed our first drink of the week. Checking in was a breeze front desk staff was friendly and even though they were completely booked went out of their way to be as accommodating as possible.

After check in we were offered a ride to our room (if you read other reviews note the size of the resort, and more on that later...) which we declined as we wanted to explore the open air lobby on our way. After stepping into the lobby bar for a drink we started our walk to the room. After passing through the restaurant area we were greeted by lush palm trees and Peacocks. The setting is truly amazing!

After we made or way to our room (about 5 min casual stroll through more trees and animals) we changed into more comfortable clothing and headed back up to the buffet for dinner/lunch (4 pm central) we were again greeted by the wildlife. Dinner was your "typical" resort buffet, nothing bad but nothing fantastic either. The wait staff was pleasant but not very attentive.

We then headed out for the rest of the resort. The grounds were well kept and luscious. The pool was clean and even with the young kids (10-15) was fairly quiet.

The beach was spectacular! Very few open chairs to be found and always activities to be had (volleyball, soccer, jet ski, etc) one day they even had a bikini contest.

The chair situation st the beach= horrible. We got down to the beach one morning by 8 am and ALL of the palapas were "reserved". Towels on the chair but no one to be seen. Went on and on all week. Just be bold and move the stuff as we did. One day we sat there for 4 hours without seeing anyone who grabbed the towels we moved.

Walking around the resort was a major complaint in several other reviews I read but if you are in reasonably healthy shape it should be no issue. From the waters edge at the beach to the front entrance, with stopping to wash feet in the sand wash area, at a casual stroll pace was 8min. Wore a pedometer one day and we walked, not including water time of course, 5.5 miles. And that day was probably just about average.

All in all I give it 4 of 5.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us by choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Beach for your vacation.

Thank you so much for the invaluable feedback you shared with us and fellow travelers with respect to your recent stay at our resort. Your feedback is very helpful to us in evaluating our service and it is very gratifying to know that we contributed to making your stay so pleasant.

Regarding the sun chairs on the beach, we are sorry to hear about the experience you had due to this situation. Our policy is to not reserve the spaces, and even though this is a situation that is hard to control, please be sure that we are working on it to prevent this type of situations.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to give us the opportunity of offering you our warm service in the near future.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    846
    323
    102
    63
See reviews for
1,024
836
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've been to a couple other Cancun area all inclusive. This was my least favorite as the place was probably the largest, the rooms ok but we got killed by the mosquitos.

The hotel was built straight inland from the beach so the beach area was small compared to the size of the resort. The reception and restaurants were on the other side of the resort so it was annoying to walk back and forth in the heat. There is a trolley that goes around the resort. The room was very clean but it had a musty/moldy smell since our air conditioning wasn't working well. We had to air it out multiple times a day to not get overwhelmed by the smell but was too lazy to ask for a new room to switch to since all our friends were right next to us.

The food was the best of all the resorts I've stayed at. It's nothing special but pretty good considering all inclusives. We were annoyed that the restaurants we wanted were "booked" but when you show up, the tables were maybe 50% filled. It just seemed like they wanted people to go to the buffet since it's less cost. Make sure you book as soon as you check in so you can get a spot.

The pool area was very nice and large. We really enjoyed hanging out there and there were plenty of cabanas to be under the shade if you save a spot in the morning. There's no water float beds except for purchase so bring your own. The beach is nice but parts of it can be rocky when you get into the water.

The main annoyance of our trip was the mosquitos. This is the only resort I've been to where this was an actual problem. I think it's because they don't clean some of the outside water features so they can breed mosquitos. Bring bug repellent wrist bands!

Overall, I wouldn't return since I think there's plenty of nicer resorts for about the same price.

Room Tip: We bargained/tipped/bribed our way into a beach side room upgrade for $100 for the whole 4 night sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear client,

On behalf of IBEROSTAR Management, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the resort, and for taking the time to share your valuable comments with us on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback since it provides us important information for our Management. Each comment is taken in consideration by our hotel in order to do the necessary improvements.

We deeply regret to know that your experience was diminished by the issues mentioned. Regarding the specialty restaurants, we guarantee a number of reservations that depend on the number of nights that our clients are staying. The purpose is to let all our guests have the opportunity to enjoy a different, more private culinary experience. We can also offer more reservations by including you in our waiting list, as cancellations do happen.

As per the transportation, we would like to apologize for the waiting. Some of the steps taken to improve this point are the purchase of 2 new units to offer a faster service, and also the improvement of the coordination of this service. We are sure the results of these actions will be palpable very soon.

We are delighted to learn that you were so pleased with the animals and the environment in general around the hotel. We are sorry for your bad experience with mosquitoes. This humid and warm environment attracts them; however, we have periodic fumigation programs to reduce the number of mosquitoes in the hotel.

We have already taken note of your comments on our gastronomy. All our guests' feedback are included in a report, which is then sent to our Management and Department Heads. This way they evaluate them and make appropriate changes to try and adapt to all our guests suggestions and needs.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments. Please be sure we will take in consideration all the points that you have shared with us.

We sincerely hope to have the chance of welcoming you back in the future and restore your confidence in IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Bring lots of bug repellant, resort is full of mosquitos!!! Paid to upgrade to beach front rooms, walk from lobby/restaurants kinda far otherwise. Golf carts will pick you up but doesn't necessarily stop all the time. Our room smelled like mold and mildew, had to open all the doors to air out the room every day. Mosquitos were in all the rooms since they're propped open during cleaning service. Beds were very damp, felt like sleeping on wet sheets every night. Food was only ok. Buffet had lots of variety but not great. Reservations at specialty restaurants? Forget it. They're "totally booked" yet they're nearly empty every night. Service is kinda slow here. Safe was not working when we arrived, took forever just for someone to come look at it. Overall, resort was only ok. Pool and beach were nice. Big but crowded every day. There are better resorts out there for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear customer,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach.

We regret to know that the mosquitoes were an inconvenience during your stay. As we are in a tropical area, surrounded by jungle, it is the perfect environment for them, however, we fumigate the grounds every day and the rooms before guests check in, in order to try and control that.

Regarding the guaranteed dinner reservations, they depend on the nights that our guests are staying with us. We also have a waiting list that is used when cancellations occur. We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy this aspect of our resort.

We appreciate all your constructive comments, which will be sent to the Department Heads to keep working on our improvement.

Once again, we are grateful for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you once again at IBEROSTAR and offer you the service that you deserve.

Truly yours,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams lake
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We planned out wedding at the iberostar beach and I must say that our expectations were passes in everyway.

Luciana the wedding coordinator and her folks were amazing, right down to every detail. We went with the dream wedding package and we are so happy we did

The only bad thing is that we were spread out a bit. We had rooms in unit 31, 36, 2 in 35 and 3 in 41.

The entire staff was awesome especially geraldo, Omar, and victor at the pools bars. Those guys work their butts off.

The a la carts were amazing and we all liked the choices at the buffet. We all met at the buffet in the morning to plan our day. So much fun.

We were there for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it and can't wait to go back.

The hotel events are great and out teenagers loved shooting and archery.

Well done Iberostar. See you soon

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach to celebrate such an important event as your wedding.

Moreover, we are more than happy to know that we exceeded your expectations and that everything was as you dreamed. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stay and that you had fun with the shooting and archery activities.

We truly appreciate your special recognition for Luciana, Gerardo, Omar and Victor for the service they provided during your stay. They will be thrilled to read your comments.

We are pleased to know that you would consider us for another vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I just got back yesterday, the resort was nice, many different wild life around resort with beautiful peacocks and parrots. the food at the buffet could be better and the drinks were weak except the lobby bar which had some top shelf liquor. I was fortunate to be able to eat at 3 specialty restaurants . I couldnt eat at the buffet anymore, the guest service were very helpful and reception and all the staff were pleasant

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear client,

On behalf of the staff of IBEROSTAR Playa Paraiso, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the wildlife that we are privileged to have in and around our resort. Moreover, thank you for praising the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the drinks and the food at the bars and buffets. We forwarded your comments to our Executive Chef and Food & Beverages Manager for their consideration.

We hope to receive you once again at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach.

Cordially,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The compound was very big be prepared to walk. The staff was great Rita is awesome. Elizabeth kept our room clean and tidy. Most of the staff were excellent. Do not lose anything the lost and found is impossible. If you do not stay at the Lindo you can not use the lazy river or the wave pool. The pool was massive it was clean. Top shelf liquor is only served at the lobby bars (Lindo lobby has air condition) and theater bar. There is only tap beer except in your Mini bar 4 a day (two different brands). The food was good. It would have been much better if there was air condition in at least one of the Buffett's . The wild life wondering around was cool. One Buffett had mesh around it so if you don't want animals coming to where you eat go to that Buffett. The beach was far from our room, it was clean there were plenty of lounge seats to use. The teen "disco" had nobody to serve drinks or play music. Not much for 12 to 17 year olds to do There is only free wi-fi at Lindo or market place. I would definitely go back to Mexico but I would pick a different resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us by choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach for your vacation.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us, since it provides us with great motivation to keep offering the same incredible service to all our guests and to achieve our main goal, which is the satisfaction of our clients.

We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you. It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays. Thank you for praising our staff.

We would like to inform that you we have taken note of the unfortunate issues you had to deal with while staying with us and passed them onto the Department heads in order to take appropriate actions to improve each point.

We hope that you will give us the chance to stay again at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach or any of our IBEROSTAR hotels worldwide.

Cordially,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We wanted to try a new hotel for annual trip to Playa Del Carmen so we chose the Iberostar Paraiso Beach. It's located about 30 minutes from the Airport, which is great, it's very large, there are several hotels inside the resort, the rooms were spacious, very clean, ours had great A/C, the staff was very friendly, our beds were fine and there was a lot of wildlife (the animal kind) around the building/rooms that we stayed in. (3911 and 3912) This area is far from the pools, far from the beach, it's at the front of the complex.. The pools and dive shop are actually located on the Del Mar side of the property not on the Beach side.

There is a shopping mall (Ice Cream and Taco Shop, Cigar, a teen disco, an adult disco, 3 or 4 stores) located in front of the Lindo. A short walk across the parking lot from the Parasio Beach.
Note, you have to visit the mall area in order to get WiFi...this was not available in our room or the lobby.

There is a "shuttle" (not what you are thinking) that will pick you up and take you from one area to another as well as employees providing rides to and from on golf carts. (This is not an around the clock shuttle, it's hit and miss, I don't suggest you wait on it if you're in a hurry)

There is plenty of dinning space just not options at the buffet. It's ok if you like the same food, day and night which was a real disappointment. There are Specialty Restaurants where reservations must be made, plenty of choice for these. We chose the Brazilian which was amazing and the Steak House which was good but it's somewhat outdoors by the beach area.

Over all we had a great vacation, what is there not to love about the Riveria Maya however; this is not a property that I personally would choose to return to; it seems to me that they are having financial issues; due to the number of features such as water falls, fountains that were out of service, needing repair, there was a lot of work going on in several buildings, the mall is very nice but empty, it's a ghost town, the lack of food options on the buffet and the entertainment was bland; something just was not right and I'm thinking it's lack of finances, not sure.

This was our 10th visit to the area; my son Scuba dives so it's a nice summer get away for us but even the dive shop seemed out of sorts; they have a schedule posted but you are provided a dive location until the morning of/afternoon of, it's up to the Dive Master as to where he wants to go that day, is what we were told, we've never experienced this and they were not organized at all. Great group of people but needing organization.

Roger at the beach bar was by far the absolute best! What a great, hard working guy who can prepare any drink request with perfection!

The beach was very nice, thankfully but there is no pier. I'd say there was a pier and more than likely it went away w/the last hurricane, the seaweed was incredible something we have never seen in the water there on any trip which I think it must be something going on in the Gulf but a great beach over all.

There are several other hotels sharing the beach once you walk past the dive shop, other properties, which are abandoned. Sad. I'm sure at one time they were very nice but it's a great stretch of beach.


I hate to sound like I'm complaining I'm really not just know that if you go for the beach, diving, be sure you pay extra to get near the beach and if you want to visit the pool, do not stay on the "Beach" side and do not go with expectations of a great buffet if you're accustom to this experience from previous visits to the area. Expect some "work" in progress on this side and some work is needed; over all it was a good vacation, we loved the beach once we got there daily it just is not a hotel that we would return to.

Room Tip: If you do not want to be by the pools or beach bldg. 3901 is your spot, if you do, do not stay a thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and other travelers your opinion of your stay at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach.

It is gratifying to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We are committed to providing an ambience which satisfies the needs of our diverse clientele and drives us to keep improving ourselves.

As per the meals, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the Brazilian and the Steakhouse Restaurant. However, we do appreciate your comments about the food offerings and we have already passed them onto the Executive Chef for his consideration, in order to make the necessary changes.

We would also like to mention that our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working on areas to be improved. All our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable.

We hope that you might consider giving us another opportunity to host you in the near future to experience all the positive changes made based on our guests’ recommendations, with the intention of enhancing our facilities and keeping the natural environment that represents our hotel.

We look forward to having the opportunity of offering you our hospitality again and have a memorable stay.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.