We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Beach to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“awesome place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just returned from another great trip to Mexico! This time we decided to try a different resort and were not disappointed. The resort was beautiful with lots of wildlife everywhere. The food was good, especially getting an afternoon burger at the beach. The Star friends were very hard working and always entertaining. Bring comfortable shoes as you'll do lots and lots of walking!!!
We would definitely stay with Iberostar again.

Room Tip: we stayed in building 3122, close to pool and beach, but very far from main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your nice review with us on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful that your experience was so positive and that our team's efforts contributed to your having an unforgettable time.

We are glad you would definitely stay at IBEROSTAR, we are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    946
    351
    108
    65
See reviews for
1,112
926
50
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel and the property were really nice, and well maintained. The staff were all very nice and helpful. I would suggest the property note to guests if they have small kids, to bring a stroller as the children will become tired from all the walking as the property is very large. The on-property shuttles don't run as frequent as stated, especially in the morning. The beds weren't that comfortable, but overall we had a GREAT time and we are planning on going back soon. We've already told our friends and family they should plan to come along with us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management of IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you found our hotel to be nice and well maintained, our staff works hard every day to keep it impeccable for our clients.

Our staff will be thrilled after reading your nice comments regarding their service; we always share them since it provides a great motivational tool for our staff. The management has already received your feedback regarding the transportation and the beds, we are actually doing some renovations to the rooms and this includes bedding changes, which will happen slowly but surely. Transportation is another area that our management is reviewing, to make it more efficient.

We are pleased to know that you are planning to return to our hotel and for your recommendations!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Paraiso
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Such a beautiful resort! We were given a free room upgrade so our trip was awesome right from the start. We had a 30 second walk to the beautiful beach. There were always plenty of chairs open. The food was great! Had read bad reviews of the food but did not agree. There was a good variety at the buffets. The grounds were so clean and we enjoyed long walks just looking around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management of IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation.

We are glad to know that your stay was wonderful. We thank you for your review since it provides a great motivational tool for our staff and the management.

We hope to have the chance once more to offer you another great stay.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family just returned from 4 nights & 4 days at this resort.

lunch- We did not like the lunch buffets at all, but this is pretty much the same experience we have had with every resort in Mexico we have stayed at. We were always able to find something to hold us over until dinner. There were tons of bread choices and fresh fruits. We pretty much survived on bean & cheese nachos for lunch every day or french fries from the snack shack on the beach. The burgers on the beach were much better than the ones at the buffetts. There is also a cook out of some sort each day on the beach. One day they had tacos that my family liked, however I didn't try them. Another day they had some sort of pasta dish that had clams, shrimp, etc...I'm not a seafood person, so I don't know if this was good either.

Dinner- We emailed ismael.dzul@iberostar.com.mx prior to our trip and requested the Brazillian, the Japaneses, and the Steakhouse restaurants. We only stayed 4 nights, and we got all 3 places I requested, even though their policy says that with 4 nights you will only get 2 nights at the restaurants. All 3 places were WONDERFUL!!!!! The Steakhouse was our favorite! At the Brazillian we asked that they cook our meats well done, and they did. The Japaneese was delicious too.

Breakfast - This is probably the best meal offered on the buffets. Pancakes, eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausages, omelettes & eggs made to order, etc.....

Shopping Center - Not good shopping at all, but the Taco Shop was AMAZING! We would have eaten here every day if our room wasn't so far away from it. We had beef, chicken,, & shrimp tacos. They also have an awesome habanero salsa if you like HOT sauce. GREAT STUFF!!!
There is also a crepe place in the shopping center. It was good, but the toppings, etc.. are preserved straberries, etc... and these would be so much better if fresh fruites were an option, and if they would top them off with some whipped cream. We tried several flavors, but I think that our favorite was the crepe topped with chocolate and caramel syrup.
FYI - we looked for aloe vera, and one store was selling it for $24!!! Luckily I found another store that had it for $12. Be sure to pack your own!!!

Hotel Transportation - There is a golf cart type shuttle system that they run that is hit or miss. Every once in a while we lucked into catching a ride, but it didn't happen very often. If you are willing to wait on it, I'm sure it will eventually come by.It is a pretty walk, very hot, but pretty!

Drinks - Do not stay here if you are going for the drinks!!! They have the weakest drinks of any Mexico resort I've ever stayed at. I even ordered additional shots to add to my drinks, and they still had no kick! I resorted to drinking beer only. They have Dos Equis and Superior.

*Pack your own floats. I bought floats at a store in Texas called Five Below before going. A cheap raft there is between $1 & $5. There is a shop by the pool where they will blow up your floats for free. Just an FYI. That cheap raft that cost me $1 in Texas was $22 at the little shop.

*Wildlife - Lots of peacocks, Coatis, Flamingos (next door when we went to eat at the Brazillian restaurant), etc... Very neat! There is a peacock in the lobby bar that has laid her eggs in a giant flower pot. They said it is the 2nd time she has done this. Cool that she feels safe enough there.

Pools - Beautiful, but not refreshing!!! Not the resorts fault, but the water is just HOT! There is only one place to get and return towels, and this could be an issue if you didn't want to hang out by that particular part of the pool. The towel hut is not open super early, so do not return your towels at the end of the day if you plan to use them to save you seats in the morning. Yes, everyone does it. I went out around 7:30 every morning and placed our items in seats by the pool and down by the beach. There isn't anyone telling you not to. If location doesn't matter, then you should still be able to find a seat somewhere.There are tons! Pools close at 7:00, and I wished it was later for the kids. Not much action going on at the pool. Maybe 1-2 hours of each day the Star Friends came out with some sort of entertainment at the pool. Most places I've stayed at have something going on all day long at the pool.

Beach - Hammocks, beds, etc.... soccer and volleyball on the beach daily. our daughter played and loved it. One day they set up a mechanical bull, and that was pretty entertaining to watch. There was seaweed, but only up close to the beach. There is a swimmers rope, and we would float out to it on our rafts and hold onto it while we tanned to keep us from washing back in with the waves. There weren't many fish, but we did see a few. No shells at all! There was hair braiding on the beach if you want to pay $30 per braid. NO THANKS!

Tips - we tipped at dinner, because we had great service. We also left a few dollars each day for the cleaning ladies and we tipped when they took our luggage to our room and picked it back up.

Shows - The only show we saw was the magic show, and it was awesome!!!

Rooms - beds were fine, but our air wasn't too great! we had to pull our beds out away from the walls and center them directly under the ceiling fan to keep from burning up. We complained about the air, and they sent someone to check on it, but it didn't really improve. Prior to our trip we requested connecting rooms with my parents and asked for building 33, because I had read on Tripadvisor that the location was great. We got the building and our connecting room, so I was very impressed by this. This building is super close to the main pool area and close to the beach. However, it is not close to the main lobby.

We had a great time, and we would definitely stay here again. Other than the weak drinks and then buffet food, everything else was great!

Room Tip: Building 33 is right by the main pool and close to the beach. However, it is far from the lobby (abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guests,

On behalf of the staff of IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate you took the time to express your comments and share them with us on Trip Advisor. It is great to know that everything was great and you enjoyed an amazing stay along with your family.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the drinks and the foot at the bars and buffets. We have shared them with the people in charge of these departments to take them in consideration. We are glad that even with these issues you had such a good experience.

We are glad to know that you will consider us for your next vacations, we are looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved it! The hotel was very tropical, clean and had amazing grounds that just captured that Mexican spirit. It was a very foreign clientel, mainly Latin American, which we really loved as well. The restaurants, beach and our room were immaculately clean. The pool was enormous with lots of little turns, tropical foliage and a waterfall feature. The only disappointments were the food and mixed drinks. We had read tripadvisor reviews, so we were expecting the food to not be too great, and the reviews were correct. The food wasn’t gross, as some have commented, and the buffet was really quite large, but it had many Latin American and European options, which for North Americans, were odd--crudites for breakfast? artichoke hearts and sliced salami for breakfast? This made the buffet fun, but with these options and the "bread isle" that had what looked like a beautiful variety of breads, but in actuality was all made from the same dough so that it all tasted the same--the buffet became a little less extensive and was almost identical on a daily basis. The restaurants were very lackluster and you only get so many reservations, so you eat many of your dinners at, once again, the buffet. I believe a few of the restaurants shared a main kitchen with the buffet, so it’s no wonder so much of the food tasted the same, and most of it was just flavorless. Excellent guac, chips and pico de gallo, though! Also, the bars were great and the service was wonderful. Unfortunately, they had some odd drink mixer that was in most of the drinks--or maybe it was a brand of mixer? Anyway, it tasted like aspartame or saccarin and ruined most of the tropical mainstay drinks like daquiris and margaritas. The false sweetener flavor was just too powerful. The hotel would do well to find a new supplier. But the other drinks were great and the service was super fast. Also, they had a bar and a grill right on the pristine beach, so that made for a great day under a palapa with no reason to leave! We would return here every time we went to Mexico if the food had been better as everything else was truly just perfect! I would not stay here if you are planning a longer vacation because I think your food options would become very weary. But for a short visit, ours was 4 days and 5 nights, this was just perfect for us. (Also, you are right next door to the Iberostar Lindo and Del Mar. Del Mar and the Beach shared all restaurants and pools...so save the $ and stay here as the grounds were more charming. The Lindo was on the other side of the Beach, and they could use our grounds, but we were not to use theirs. from what we could see, ours were still more charming and fun, so we'd pick the Beach of the 3.) Oh--we did the water therapy at the spa one day for $30 apiece. Totally worth it. We went in 2 separate times as you got all day access, and we enjoyed ourselves. Great for a day when you are burned and need a break from the sun!)

Room Tip: If you want beach, stay in buildings closer to beach. All restaurants and action are up near front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR as an option for your vacations in Mexico.

It is nice you took the time to share your wonderful review with us. We are delighted to know that the service, grounds and facilities were great and you enjoyed your vacations.

We appreciate your suggestion about the drinks; we will share it with the Food & Beverage Manager to take it in consideration for our improvements.

We thank you for your nice comments and sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Traveled this past week with my 18 and 10yr old and we had a great time at the hotel. It was very accommodating and well kept. You literally don't have to leave the resort unless you do excursions, it's like a small town within the resort. It is spread out, but I love it because it brings you in touch with nature. The staff was very friendly and in particular Felipe in the buffet service area. Consistently went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of. I have already recommended this resort to my family and friends! Had a great time and would go back in an instance!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso for your vacations in Mexico.

We thank you for sharing your nice experience with us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time at our resort and we are glad that our service, facilities, grounds and staff were excellent.

We appreciate your recognition for Felipe at the main buffet and his commitment to deliver great experiences to our guests during their stay in Mexico.

We will be looking forward to your next vacation in the Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Paraiso
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just returned from our holiday at this resort. A warm welcome - a great hotel! Facilities excellent and you don't really need to leave as everything is here. Hotel food was great with lots of choice (I'm such a fussy eater and was fine). Very clean and tidy...would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to know that your recent stay was great and we managed to offer you a service of excellence.

We are thankful for your nice comments and your mention to the facilities, food and cleanliness of the Hotel.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach in the beautiful Caribbean!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.