We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful fun packed surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A delightful fun packed surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent a week, from March 12 - 19 at the Paraiso Beach resort (one of five different Iberostar resorts sharing the same general property). We booked our Westjet Vacations trip through Thomas Cook Travel, which is associated with Best Day Travel in Cancun. The trip down aboard a Westjet 737 was direct to Cancun and was typical. Once we arrived at the Cancun airport, and after clearing Mexico customs, we were bustled to the loading area by a porter who hooked us up with a Westjet agent and then taken to our waiting shuttle to the resort.
Upon arriving at the resort we were taken to our rooms which were main floor and very clean and modern. The first night we went back to the main lobby for a drink and then went for a walk down to the beach. By the time we headed back the sun had set and we were a bit disoriented with our surroundings. We had met a person dressed in a tradional Mexican cowboy outfit complete with a big broad rimmed sombrero and fake moustache in the lobby and he had insisted we come to the show at the theatre that nite.
I would like to take a minute and tell you that that gentleman turned out to be one of the main reasons that I had the time of my life. His name was Cesar and he was part of a team of people who's whole purpose was to interact with the guests. Cesar and his coworkers Hector, Benito, Christian, Laura and Lester were always putting on small events at the pool, the beach and in the theatre areas. Being an outgoing person I felt very comfortable becoming involved in many of their activities. Within a couple days I had met so many people literally from around the world that I felt like Norm from "Cheers". People would see me and wave and call my name. The "activities" crew were always friendly and outgoing and treated you like you were family. I strongly suggest that when you go there you take some time to meet them and become involved in their fun events.
I played 4 rounds at the onsite Championship course that has been home to several PGA events. The course was designed by Pete Dye and I seriously think the man doesn't like golfers. Although the fairways were relatively user friendly in that all shots funneled to the center, unless you totally missed it, the greens were built to make the proudest man humble. Extremely fast greens with tiers sloping 6 feet in some cases, front to back. Some greens had natural drainage areas not for water but for your golf ball with deep potbunkers waiting at the bottom. The beverage service was better than most courses I've played with no less than 2 interventions per nine. Again, like the resort, all food and beverages were free. As much as Mr. Dye dislikes me, I will happily play that course on my next trip to the resort.
Food at the resort was endless with buffets running for breakfast, lunch and supper and the al la cartes at the special dining areas was good. Beverage service at the beach and at the pools was very good with a minimal wait for service. Specialty drinks like Mai Tais, Tequila Sunrises, Marguaritas, Coco Locos and many more were available and prepared in seconds.
From the resort we did a trip to Xcarat and Xplor. We swam with the dolphins and my wife zip lined at Xplor. We swam / floated down an underground river and saw numerous exotic animals indigenous to Mexico at the park.
All in all 7 days wasn't enough. I miss the resort, the friendly staff and the good friends I made while we were there. We will be going back next year but as returnees we will be more savvy to the ways of the resort.
One other thing. I saw a caption that said, "stay at one, play at five". That only applies if you are staying at the Grande. There you get to access all the pools on the resort, all the other activities on the resort and a couple rounds of golf free. For the Maya it's "play at four" for the Lindos it's "play a three" for Beach it's "play at two" and the Del Mar is all you get plus access to beach and the pools adjoining.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,241
    786
    295
    95
    58
See reviews for
909
777
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Indiana, USA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We enjoyed the atmosphere, though at times we felt we were staying in the jungle with all the wild animals in the resort (bring earplugs so the birds don’t wake you in the morning). White peacock is rare & beautiful. It is a HUGE resort which resulted in a lot of walking and it was easy to get turned around and end up at neighboring Iberostar resort - even when sober. There was a shuttle but we found it easier to just ask the nearest bell boy for a ride. The room was average, clean and mini bar restocked daily. The staff all spoke enough English for efficient communicate. The nightly shows are NOT recommended. Beach was great! Pool(s) were huge and swim up bar lots of fun! Buffet food was just ok but the Mediterranean and Japanese specialties restaurant were good so definitely make a reservation for those as soon as you arrive as they book quickly. Loved the freebies like trial scuba, snorkeling and beach bed (wake up early if you want to reserve yourself one for the day)!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your comments with us.

Thank you for sending your feedback as it is very helpful to us to learn about your perspective. We have already forwarded your comments to the management responsible for the different departments to work on the room style, the content of our nightly shows and have all our transportations units running efficiently to make sure our guests do not walk too much.

We are glad to know that the Japanese and Mediterranean restaurants were good for you and you recommend them, the Chef and his staff will be happy to read all your comments.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and restore your confidence in Iberostar when you see our improved service!

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just returned a couple of days ago and miss it already! It was our first time visiting Mexico and we were very hesitant due to the media over the past few years focusing on Canadian's getting killed in Mexico. For years, we have wanted to go to Mexico and so finally decided that we would take a chance but be extremely careful for our safety and wellbeing.
Let me tell you that the resort, the Mexican people and the country was more beautiful that we ever imagined! This resort is gated with security so that eased a bit of our fear. The resort is also attached to a couple of other sister resorts which expands your options of food and entertainment. There is a shopping mall, a medical building with a 24 hour doctor on the property. The pools were awesome and there are so many places you can rest, relax, play, sleep or swim with or without the crowd of other people. The resort is huge, so keep this in mind if you have issues with mobility and/or you dont mind walking or waiting for golf cart rides. The staff do an amazing job at keeping the grounds clean and well maintained.
We are "beach people" and always found a lounge chair at the beach. The beach was nice although the waters were rough with a lot of high waves and under currents. We swam in the beach despite the red flag being posted most days. The beach sand was kept pretty clean without much garbage or cigarette butts. The eating areas were free of cigarette/cigar smoke!! which pleased us since we are non-smokers and do not like breathing in smoke everywhere we go.
We also did a couple of day excursions to Xel Ha and horse back riding. The extra excursions were quite expensive compared to other tropical countries but well worth the price. We went to the town of Playa del Carmen. We didnt feel entirely safe their, it was a very busy town and every vendor was practically shoving stuff into our face to buy. We did find this very annoying and disappointing.
Will we return to this resort? You bet!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Iberostar for your recent stay and also for taking the time to share your comments.

We are so glad to know that your holiday experience with us was great and you had a wonderful time from beginning to end. Taking care of our guests and our property is not an easy task and we are very proud to know that you found our facilities always clean and that the Staff was polite and friendly, since this is our main strength!

It is truly important to us to receive these comments since it provides us and many readers with valuable information on how our guests perceive our facilities and our services at the resort. Your feedback and comments have been forwarded to the entire Staff; this for sure will motivate and encourage them to keep working on the service standards that make guests feel like they are at home away from home!

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future; please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival if you have any special request.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very family friendly resort. varieties of delicious restaurants to choose from. Brazilian, french, steakhouse, mexican, hibachi style japanese restaurants , three buffet style restaurants. The beer, wine and liquor selection was great. Excellent with their cutomer service . all the employees are very helpful. The only thing wrong with this place is the hard bed. other than that, I would return to this resort again. the pool is absolutely long, wide .....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Clients,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar.

It is truly important for us to know your feedback since it provides us with amazing information to improve our service and the facilities.

We feel honored and thrilled to know that the food, beer and wine were incredible and enjoyable at all the restaurants, buffets and bars. These comments lead us to think that we are on the right track to achieve the complete satisfaction of our guests.

We have already forwarded your comments to the staff and the managers in charge so that they can be motivated!

The housekeeping department is already aware of your feedback about the hardness of the mattress and are working on ideas to make them softer. In the meantime we do have foam bed toppers you can request our front desk or public relations that make a different for those that do not like firm mattresses.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy our hospitality and service; if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyburn, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked our package with West-Jet Vacations who uses Best-Day Representatives at the resort. I had emailed the resort prior to arriving with some requests which were all met by their staff. We had a bottle of Tequila waiting in our room and later some "Ibero-Fans" T-Shirts were delivered in a gift box as we were repeat guests to Iberostar. Previously we had stayed at the Iberostar Tucan in Playacar area back in 2007 and the Paraiso Beach/Del Mar is very similar to the Tucan/ Quetzal complex in so many ways. One being the excellent food and the energy of the Star Friends and activities.

We were place in Building 34 on 2nd floor looking towards the pool. Rooms are just as in pictures and very quiet at all times. We had excellent maid service the whole week with no issues with minibar restocking either. Requested a foam pad for the bed and it was on there by the time we returned to our room for the night and we never checked in till 630 pm. Daily towel animals and turn down service was nice to see.

During our 1 week stay we had 5 a la cartes and ate at the buffet 2 times. You can go to the concierge desk at 4pm each day and book any a la cartes for that night if there are still openings in addition to the 3 you get with a 1 week stay. We ate at the following....Japanese, Steak House, Italian, Brazilian and Mexican with the Mexican being our least favorite. Buffets are good also for all meals but could get repetative. We usually ate lunch at the Snack Bar
"El Puerto" although you could also eat at a location beside the beach bar which had limited items...burgers, hot dogs, nachos, corn on the cob....Smaller Breakfast options also available at the Snack Bar instead of buffet if you wish.

Building 34 was close to the middle of resort which was nice for quick access to beach and lobby. Went for a run each morning and timed how long it takes to get from building 30 shuttle loop to front road at lobby staying on the sidewalk and it was 4 mins 40 secs to jog from end to end. Look at a resort map to judge this with room locations...[http://www.resortsmaps.com/maps/map-IberostarParaisoComplex-2-RivMaya.jpg] A 1/2 hour jog will allow you to explore to complex, many joggers and walkers every morning. A quick pace walk from our room door to the lobby was 5mins.

We hung out on the beach right at ocean edge infront of the beach bar all week and it was lovely. Plenty of beach walkers and vendors, a simple no keeps them walking though. A few windy days kept you covered with sand and ocean spray also. Always Star Friends roaming trying to get you involved in activities which I took part in Horseshoes, Bocce Ball, Rifle shooting daily....It was nice to have drink service on the beach if you chose to not get up, a little tip goes a long way for repeat service also but did not seem to be necessary. We would head to near the Pool Bar "Las Olas" daily at around 330 pm to get a spot where we coud see the pool games taking place. If the sun was out these bars would be packed with people and the games were always a blast to watch. If you are just drinking beer you can get it at the ice cream counter instead of waiting at the swim up bar at these locations. Tried the scuba in the pool and it was fun but very short lesson. Take a walk south on the beach to the point past the Secrets Resorts (close to 3 miles) and then back. The Iberostar seems to be the place to be.

The amount of staff at this resort in all areas is just amazing right from gardeners to wait staff. The grounds are always being manicured, raked and watered. Plenty of animals around the complex also with many animal sounds adding to the tropical ambiance. We never had any issue getting onto a cart if we wanted but for the most part we walked where we wanted to go. It could cause issues for guests who have walking difficulty as the grounds are massive. Although wheel chair access seemed quite nice. You can even get your wheelchair to a palapa on the beach and have access to the Beach bar with the use of the wooden walkways.

Nightly shows were very good at the theatre although after many, many trips to Mexico we are getting tired of the Mexican Dancing and Mayan Culture shows with the costumes and stuff. For newcomers to Mexico these would be excellent Shows so do not miss them. Table service for drinks also while at the theatre. Never did make it to the Disco as by 1030 pm we were beat every day so usually retired to the room as 0700am comes quick.

We never felt the need to reserve any loungers at the beach as you could usually find some at any time of the day, you may have to pull a couple togethor from different spots but they are deffinately not lacking on loungers.

We would definately return to Iberostar Paraiso Complex again or to any Iberostar property for that matter. We did walk through the Lindo/Maya pool area one night but I think I would prefer the Beach/Del Mar location better. Can't comment on anything else there though. If you are on the fence about booking the Paraiso Beach or Del Mar, just book it and you will have the time of your life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar once again for your recent vacations and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us!

We appreciate your comments and we are sure that many readers will appreciate them too since they provide quality information of our resort and our services and also gives us many details that we can use to improve our services and to encourage our Staff to keep working to achieve our main goal, which is the complete satisfaction of our clients.

We are glad to know that the room location was great for you and that all requests you sent prior to your arrival were met by the Front desk Staff and the Housekeeping department. It is great to know that everything at our Resort was amazing and you had an incredible time with us. The Star Friends would be delighted to know that you had so much fun during your stay partly thanks to the activities they organize.

We have forwarded your letter to the entire Staff and the Managers in charge of every department because your positive comments are the best reward for our work.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our Iberostar and enjoy amazing vacations again with us!

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am writing this review a little late. Me my girlfriend and our couple friends went here in april 2012. it was a very nice resort the food is your standard resort food so dont think your getting a 5 star food. Drinks where very good tho and wait staff was great. only real negative was the walk its a huge resort so if you have knee prooblems or your older might not be the resort for you. O and if your a golfer the course is amazing. also some words of wisdon ignore the hater reviews some people can not be satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Clients,

We would like to thank you for your visit last year to our Iberostar.

We deeply appreciate you took the time to share your comments since it provides us with important information to keep improving.

We have already shared your comments with our Staff to ensure our service and facilities offered are the best in the Riviera Maya. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the golf course.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Forest, Ont.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I travelled to this resort in January 2013 with my husband and 7 other couples. It is one of the most beautiful resorts I have ever been to! The property was extremely well taken care of, the rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and service top notch. The food was great, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach was clean and the sand soft. There were plenty of lounge chairs available every day, and drinks served right to your chair. Leydie was the best beach waitress ever! The water was warm, but wavey. We had no trouble getting a la carte meals for our group of 16, also no problem sitting together every night in the regular dining room. We did have one day of heavy rain, which did not stop us from socializing in the lobby, and enjoying the plentiful activities under cover. The shopping centre and gift shops were very nice. We came home with enough souveneirs and jewelery to keep everyone happy. We stayed in a jr. suite on the ground floor of building 31 which was near the beach. On the last day, we found one spider in our room, but otherwise absolutely no bugs or critters at all. The outside critters, mostly coatis, that look kind of like a racoon/anteater were plentiful, but very shy, not agressive at all. There is alot of walking at this resort to get from the lobby to the beach is about a 15 minute walk, and the carts that can stop and give you a ride, don't come by often enough, but I did not mind the walk. I would have no trouble recommending this resort to anyone, and would definitely stay here again. Thanks for the awesome holiday!

Room Tip: We had a room closer to the beach, which means quite a walk to get to the main lobby and dinning roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the management team we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso Beach.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback since it provides us and many readers with valuable information on our service and facilities. We feel honored to know that the Staff was always friendly and helpful, that the service was outstanding and that your room was comfortable.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our Iberostar so you can enjoy another amazing time with us. If this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact the Public Relations office, we would be more than happy to assist you prior to your arrival.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.