We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Beach to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Just got back from Iberostar Paraiso Beach and thought a review might be in order. My friend was got married at the resort, which is why I stayed here. Overall, I had a fine time. Here's my breakdown from best to worst:

The Wedding
This is, of course, the most important part of the review since this was the primary focus of the trip. I have to say, the resort and the wedding planner did a wonderful job arranging the wedding, setting up the space and trouble shooting some last minute glitches. Bride and groom were happy and the backdrop against the ocean was a perfect setting for their vows. I have to give a shout out to the wedding DJ too because I don't think I sat down for more than 5 minutes at the reception. Everyone was having way too much fun on the dance floor.

Drinks/Pool Area
The pool area was fantastic. We always found chairs and there was a good mix of sunny and shady spots. The water was a good temp and the facilities very clean. The beach was very windy so we spent most of the time at the pool and no one was disappointed. Drinks were great - tip $1 every so often and you'll get a better spike.

Beach
Beautiful Caribbean waters. Plenty of chairs. Lots of sun. People were enjoying their beach massages too. I didn't get one because I was sunburned but lots of people in our group did and they loved it (same with the spa).

Rooms
I had a Junior Suite in the 30 block and it was spacious, clean and close to the pool and beach area. No complaints.

Now the bad....

Internet Access
Iberostar - it's 2012. Can we find a way to get Wi-Fi in the rooms please? Also, I think $5/30 minutes is a little much, don't you? I felt like the resort was extorting its customers for internet access (which is only available in the lobby). Most every hotel in the world now has a computer center with free internet. If you have to charge for WiFi, fine, but you should provide a couple of computers with free internet for people that need it for travel/communications reasons.

Food
Everyone in my group pretty much agreed that the food was terrible. I ate burgers every day because the prepared foods were sitting out and not at all appetizing. But even the burgers were overcooked and dry. My dinner at the Italian restaurant was inedible (penne arrabiata) - the noodles were falling apart and I've never had pasta sauce so salty. The Mexican restaurant was better, but still not up to par. I always try to find the good in something but there were no redeeming qualities here - not even with the food at the wedding.

Overall, I think this resort does a lot of things right (service, cleanliness, pools) but the food situation is a deal breaker for me. I would have a hard time paying to stay here again until it's addressed.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the 3000 blocks if you want to be close to the beach/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, for your comments, we really appreciate them since they help us to always improve our services and facilities.

We would like to apologize for any of the circumstances or expectations we had not been able to fulfill during your last stay at our hotel. Your comments are taken very seriously and they show us some of the areas where we should keep working to offer a better service for our guests. I can assure you, that we will be doing our best effort and the issues you are mentioning will be shared with the right areas to take them into consideration and try to improve them.
Once again we thank you so much for your comments, from which we are learning a bit more on how to be the best hotel for the best guests.

Sincerely yours,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,626
    1,054
    383
    123
    74
See reviews for
1,238
1,064
58
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at the Paraiso Beach from Jan. 2-9th, 2012.

This is quite a large resort. Long and narrow starting with the lobby area with most of the restaurants, then the buildings with rooms, pool...and finally the beach. The other Iberostar resorts run parallel to each other, and are all connected with paths. Some people found they got lost between the resorts, but the buildings in each resort have different rooves, so you can tell them apart.

My husband and I were in building 36 which was located towards the middle of the resort, just at the start of the endless pool area. My sister, brother-in-law and 78 year-old mom were in building 41 which was closest to the lobby area. Although Mom gets around quite well, this location was VERY good for them, as it was close to the lobby, buffet, most restaurants, and the evening entertainment. There is quite a bit of walking involved at this resort, but there is a trolley that circles around, but not on any particular schedule. There are golf carts always cruising around, and you can often stop one and ask for a ride. When we had dinner at a restaurant near the beach, they called for a golf cart to come and pick us up as that would be about a 10 minute walk for Mom back to her room at the end of the night. Their room was also on the main floor which was good as there are no elevators and stairs are a bit difficult for her. The buildings are 3 stories. Some complained about the peacocks being on the railings of the balconies of the main floor level, but we thought it was wonderful to be able to see the birds up close! The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Lots of wildlife to be seen at this resort! Peacocks, peahens, quinea fowl, coatis, parrots, swans, turtles, fish, geckos, iguanas, pelicans....

We did not require insect spray.

The pool area is gorgeus! Long, winding "river-like" pools, large open areas, volleyball area, lounges built into the water, 3 swim-up bars. There is no shortage of lounge chairs and cabanas at either the beach or the pool. If you are traveling with younger children, staying at the Lindo may be a good idea, as their kids club looked rather extensive, and they have a wave pool, kids water play area with a pirate ship and lazy river. Guests can access these pools from the sister resorts, but it may be more convenient to just stay there. The Paraiso did have a kids club as well.

The food at the buffet was decent. We enjoyed the mexican night the best. The pozole soup was amazing! The basa fish was always delicious, and made to order omelettes were great. For a la carte dining, we reserved the Brazilian, Steakhouse, and Mexican. The majority of us enjoyed the steakhouse the best, however, the ribs were quite fatty, with not a lot of meat on them...but they were tasty. Although we didn't particularly care for much of the food at the Brazilian restaurant, we did not starve, and it was entertaining! The Mexican was adequate. We heard too late that the steak and lobster at the Mediterranean was amazing. The coconut icecream, nachos with fresh guacamole, salsa and lime were favorites! In the shopping area, there are several places to eat that are ALL INCLUSIVE as well. We heard the tacos were amazing, and although we weren't hungry, we had to try them. We were NOT disappointed. They were VERY good. They are just little ones, so great for a snack, but you can order as many as you like. We heard the creperie was very good as well, but did not try it.

Others have mentioned that Daniel at the front desk was awesome, and spoke perfect English. We concure!

We booked tours through the tour desk at the hotel. Marisol (I think that was her name) was amazing! Very helpful, honest, and was always looking out for what would be best for our Mom. She went out of her way to come and meet Mom, and gave her a big hug. She personally met us in the lobby on the days of our excursions and made sure we were on the right van, knew where and when our pickup times would be, and that we had everything we needed. She worked very long hours, and was very efficient and always cheerful. Any excursion you book through her is full refundable if you decide not to go for whatever reason. We went to Xcaret and Xel-Ha, and enjoyed both immensly.

The beach was long and clean. Lots of big waves to play in. We are not sure if the water is ever calm there, as it was quite windy for most of our stay.

We traveled with Sunwing, and our rep never did show up for our orientation. I think he was eventually fired and replaced. It is a good thing we have traveled a lot, so we didn't REALLY need an orientation. Not good for 1st time travellers though.

Evening entertainment was so-so.

We took the shuttle to 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen to shop one afternoon. $5US/person each way. Had to pick it up at the Maya next door. Mom didn't come which was a good thing, as it is a long street with a lot of walking on bricks, so would have been exhausting for her. Some working in the shops are a bit pushy and want you to barter. Others their prices are fixed and they are not at all pushy. A lot of the people are very hard-working. Two staff members from our resort were working in relatives' shops on 5th avenue on their days off from the resort. They both recognized us, and were very friendly.

Would we recomment this resort? Yes. Would we go back? Possibly, but we like to travel to different places.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the lobby and on the main floor are good for those with mobility issues. You can aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Trip Advisor review
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Resort
Feb 22 to Mar 2, 2012

I read quite a few reviews about this resort before we went on our holiday and found it quite helpful. I hope this one will help you.

It is a very very large property with 4 resorts running parallel to each other. The Del Mar and Paraiso Beach share pools and restaurants. We were in the Paraiso Beach. Next over is the Lindo and Maya who also share pools and restaurants. There are roadways and paved pathways that connect all of them across to each other, and a shopping centre of about 20 stores that all share. That is where the Disco and Young Adults place are. That is also where the little hospital is if you need it. There is a doctor on call 24 hrs.

As many mentioned before this is a huge place and walking to and from the beach, pools, restaurants and rooms takes some time. The golf carts and larger shopping cart do come around but not on any real schedule. You cannot expect to rely on these.

The staff were all wonderful. Daniel at the front desk was always helpful and spoke very clear English, which we appreciated as none of us could speak Spanish.

The Rooms
We were in building 32 on the second floor. The room was cleaned very well each day, the mini fridge restocked with water, and extra water when requested. There are very few TV channels worth looking at. Don’t be fooled by the ‘satellite’ TV. Naturally, most are in Spanish, but we expected more USA or Canada channels since it was via satellite. The air conditioner can be set to your preference which we really liked. The room safe is easy to use. There are only shelves, and hangers, no drawers, so not easy to organize your clothes for the stay. There was a bit of mould on our shower curtain, but with so much moisture in the air all the time, that would be hard to avoid completely. The bed was super hard but manageable. The pillows smelled a bit musty at times, likely from the overall dampness from the humid environment.

The Pools
So very nice!! Long meandering pools connected by narrow sections and huge round sections. Several swim up bars within easy access. The water was really nice. We noticed the water was quite salty, and could not detect any smell of chlorine. The water is as warm as the sun will make it that day, which was warm and lovely every day we were there. The shallow connecting parts are as shallow as about 2 feet and the deepest in the more open areas is 4 foot 6 inches. There are lots of chairs each with cushions. There are several cabanas which are perfect for the day to allow you to be in the shade or sun as you wish, but you have to get up early to get those as there are very few. We snagged them a few times by going down at 6 am. Yup early !!! The rules say you can`t save the chairs, but everyone does it. Mark your spot with towels and a book, sunscreen, etc. and you can head off to breakfast. The bar service around the pools is quite weak. We hardly ever got approached to take our bevvy order. 99% of the time we walked or swam over to the swim up bar. These bartenders are masters of fun drinks and work at warp speed – amazing. Thanks Luis.

Dining
There is quite a mix offered. Buffets and al a carte. The food is good for the most part but some of it was not great. Often the buffet selection was only luke warm. But there is a nice large selection and we really enjoyed the convenience and selection at the buffets, both near the lobby and near the beach.

For our al a carte choices we chose:

Mediterranean - Fabulous !! We each had the surf and turf (steak & lobster). It was cooked to perfection and our server Abraham was fantastic. He was very attentive and personable.

Japanese Grill – quite good. You are seated around the grill and the chef prepares your meal there in front of you with lots of show in the process. Our only complaint there was insufficient ventilation and we felt the clinginess of the cooking oil lingered in the air and on our clothes. Also, dress comfortably for this one as you will be seated on little square stools.

Brazil – very good. Our sever was Luis and he worked his butt off! The bartender was a no-show that night so Luis was serving his customers and making their drinks. Plus, the service style is to bring the sizzling hot spit to your table and carve pieces of the meat selection for you and place it on your plate. So – he was running around like crazy carving beef, chicken, pork, sausage, etc all at each plate. The meal was very good. We liked the sirloin beef the best, and the pork next.

Bugs – we saw only a very few. In previous reviews we were warned to take bug spray, which we did, but never needed. We saw the occasional fruit fly and ant, but very few. I suspect they use a lot of pesticides there as it would be unrealistic to think that such a lush tropical area would be bug free.

Animals – wow, so fun. There are a bunch of peacocks that wander the property looking quite gorgeous and one that likes to wander through the lobby and the lobby bar. He jumps up on the low tables and walks around picking up bits of foods put on the floor for him just like your own dog might do at home. He lets out quite a squawk though if he doesn`t like someone getting too close. There a large number of racoon monkeys that wander around playing in the trees and even walk through the beach restaurant in hopes for a snack. They are really cute. Iguanas and geckos abound. You will see them all over the property but mostly on the rock walls getting some sun.

Drinks
Usually when I am at a Mexican resort my favourite is the margaritas. Not here. Theirs were quite poor. The lime tasted like a powdered drink mix like Tang or some such thing. Sad. Also the included wine selection is very small and all were terrible. Stick to cocktails and umbrella drinks. These they do quite nicely and are a bit thin, as expected, by the pool so that people can take in a few more than usual.

Sunburn – be very careful. The sun is hot and burns can happen in minutes. One of our group got a 3rd degree burn on his shins on the first day out. After a couple of days of suffering and what appeared to be getting worse, we stopped in at the hospital to see Dr. Lucy. She was great. There really isn`t much that can be done. Use aloe vera if you want to, but it doesn`t improve the problem, it just may make you a little more comfortable. Also, do not apply cold compresses as this is apparently, more aggravating for the already damaged skin. Keep the burned area out of the sun for the remainder of your trip. Thanks Dr. Lucy. We so appreciate you.

Disco
We did not go as it starts so late – 11:00 , but we did drop by one day during the day to have a look. It smelled awful. Part of the room is tile and part is carpet, so we assume that the carpet is full of spilled drinks and who knows what else …….. nasty.

Shopping
There are some shops in each lobby and a larger group of shops at the mall on the property. The prices were typical for a tourist destination. It is worth it to go to Playa del Carmen to do some shopping though so that you may get the chance to grind a little (or a lot) on prices. They don`t do that at the shops on the resort property.

Overall, a very nice resort that we would definitely go back too. I think next time, we will pick the Lindo. It looks quite lively and provides more access to dining options than the DelMar & Beach ones.

Room Tip: We recommend the 2nd floor. There is no elevator and on the first floor some of the local animals w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

An incredible property, for sure. To start, the entire resort is beautiful, manicured lawns, flowers, and shrubs, many fountains and waterways, with swans, peacocks, and flamingos everywhere. Yes, the resort is large, but walking the winding pathways and enjoying its beauty was very enjoyable. The entire staff was friendly, energetic, and eager to serve. Had a couple of minor room issues when we arrived, which were immediately corrected. We found the food quite good at the buffets and restaurants. Some things I didn't get, like sardines and oysters at the breakfast. It amazed me how Fernando, the manager of the food staff for the Beach, would be a the buffet every morning helping pour coffee, bus tables, and greet people....and he has his entire staff hustling the whole time. Also was impressed with the quality of the liquor available, certainly top shelf brands. It was a great vacation, and honestly can't think of anything to gripe about and left feeling it was worth every cent.

Room Tip: We had requested, and got, a room in a building in the middle of the resort, seemed to work out wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, NH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Was at the this hotel 2/13/12 - 2/29/12. Was having back surgery on the 23rd so my husband thought it would be nice for me to soak in the pools and sun. Here are my thoughts:

Grounds - Expansive... This is often complained about in other reviews but, it was exactly what I was looking for since about the only thing i could do comfortably was walk due to my back issues. It took about 20 minutes to walk at a slow comfortable pace from the lobby, down to the massive meandering pool area, continuing on down to the beach and back up to the lobby. So, yes you do walk a lot but your on vacation, whats the rush? The grounds were constantly being groomed and looked after. There are recepticles for bottles, cups, etc everywhere. It would be nice if the guests would use them more often. The pathwaths weave throughout tropical scenery, but should you want a more direct route, on the side of the property there is a roadway that the staff use on bicycles, golf carts, service vehicles and even the occasional trams can be found.

Transportation - I have read on TA people complaining about the train/tram not running often enough, again you are on vacation relax, be patient, wait at the designated spots and they will come by. If you are in such a rush, call down to Marko at the bell hop station and they will send a golf cart over to pick you up. All you have to do is ask. As I was traveling alone, I often would jump on the tram at night after dinner and just ride around on the tram as it went to all 5 resorts (Del Mar, Beach, Lindo, Mayan & Grand), and the shopping area. This was a nice way to see all of the properties and complex grounds. Also, if you want to go to Playa Del Carmen the hotel offers a shuttle for $5 each way but, the last shuttle leaving Playa Del Carmen is at 8:00 pm. If you miss it you will pay a taxi about $20 - $25 to take you back. Be aware of this.

Properties- They are lined up in order of quality. The Del Mar (Lowest) and Beach share a lot of the same areas, pools, beach, specialty restaurants. The Beach being the nicer of the two. If you stay at the Lindo, you gain privileges at the Mayan and the Beach and the Del Mar but not the Grand (Highest) . If i were to stay with this chain again, which is a possibility, I would definately stay at the Lindo or above (Mayan or Grand). I'll explain later............

Animals- If Iguanas, mexican racoons(Coatis), capibaras (giant rabbit/rat like creatures), salamanders, cats, noisy birds, wild green parrots, macaws, swans, peacocks, guinea foul, koi, and turtles are not your thing, do not go here. This is a tropical area and there are tropical fauna everywhere. I happen to like the animals but buyer beware, if your room is located close to the front of the property, near the restaurants and lobby, the birds (peacocks, etc.) tend to roost on your balconies and they can be noisy. Also, there are signs everywhere near the restaurants asking you not to feed the animals. Please don't! When you do, they swarm you and this is really not fair to your fellow hotel guests if they are not into the animals and the racoons can get a bit agressive. Our food is not part of their natural diet either so you are not doing them any favors. Please remind your kids of this.

Rooms- How many times do you need to read in trip advisor about tropical must. I have been to Cancun/ Mayan Riviera region 10x now, staying at at every level from the Fairmont Myokoba (NICE) to this Iberostar which I am now reviewing. You will ALWAYS encounter at least a little bit of a musty smell. Get over it or don't travel to this region of the world. I found it to be the worst - albiet not bad by any sense - at the Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret (I think it is now owned by another company). The bathrooms were all marble tiled, amenities were not great quality so bring your own shampoo/conditioner, etc. My hair dryer was fine with enough power. Sewing kit was supplied which was great because my strap on my carry on bag broke at the airport! Fridge in room was stocked with sodas, water and 3 beers (Sol and Dos Equis). I tipped $5 the first day with a note asking for them to keep all XX's for me and they totally complied. Replenished every day. Balcony was roomy and had a lush tropical view. Room safe (clue: there is a button on the INSIDE of the door of the safe that you first have to push to use a new code). I asked for and got a room in bldg 36 since it was very close to the quiet area of the pool and also where the water fall is. One huge pet peave, could all travelers please try and be aware of the noise you make in the halls? Also, I could hear some of the shows at night. Not loud enough to keep me up. I have also encountered this in just about every resort I've been to down there. There may be a guest trying to sleep in their room. This is at all hotels not just here. Once again, parents, please look around you. If you bring your kids into an area that has signs posted - "Quiet Area", dont start throwing the ball around in the pool, playing, engaging with your kids there. There are so many other areas that you can enjoy your family and they can be "kids" at. Okay so maybe i am being cranky here but, i was there to relax, so I specifically sought out the quiet zones! I do like kids. Let em enjoy their vacation in the spots where they can be loud, and have fun without disturbing others.

Pool - Kinda covered it some already. It is huge! there are designated quiet areas, activitiy areas, deep and shallow spots. Finding a chair was never an issues both on the beach and by the pool. Swim up bars........ well lets just say this resort had the lowest end boose of all the ones i have visited. You have to ask for the "good" liquor of your spirit and even then you my still get speed rack. I asked for good tequila at the pool on the quiet end from Eduardo and he brought out Aha Toro (clear bottle runs about $40 in the states) one problem, the color of the tequila in the bottle was clear, the clear or silver/ plata Aha Toro Tequila is sold in their blue bottles not the clear. The Tequila that is sold in the clear bottles is a represado which has a slight amber color so there was DEFINATELY some boose switching going on here. Can't fool this gringa! The central pool bar in the middle of all of the activities did serve a nice higher end tequila that i felt was authentic but again you had to ask for the good stuff, that was keep abajo or 'below". They had Jack Daniels, Absolute and also, i felt a little switchero with the Cuban Anejo Rum - color was off and this was disappinting since i cannot get that in the states). Over all I was not here to drink anyway but it was a bit of a bummer. Never had that probelm at the Riu Palace chain, Westin, Hilton (which Iberostar has since bought out), Fairmont, Occidental, etc........BTW - the towel card program is in full effect here too. You get a card and turn it in for a towel. If you like two towels, bring one from home. PS- dont forget to get you card back before you check out. you will need to give it back then.

Fellow Guests - I hope you like Canandians because you will be surrounded by them. French Canadians to be specific. I thought I was in France with all of the french being spoken around me. Not a probelm, very nice people, but many of them smoke. Cest La Vie!

Beach - A little rocky and rough but, this area is known for its "red Flag" days. Be careful with your kids if they are not strong swimmers. I am and none of that bothered me. The view to the North not that great, the view the south looks out toward Maroma, one of the worlds most beautful beachs. As with all other resorts, there will be local mexicans roaming the beach trying to sell you everything from, cuban cigars, beach sarongs, hats, shells, sunglasses, silver jewlery, etc. They are very polite, prices are always good and they are extremely greateful if you can smuggle them a cold water or soda. I always feel badly for them. So bring $10 or so down with you to the beach, you may see something you like.

Food- This was the deal breaker for me. I would not return to this property because of the food. The food was okay. Lets face it, is has never been out of this world at any of the AI's I have been to but of all of them, this was the worst. Not that it was bad, it just wasnt good. Okay at best. Selection not as vast as at other resorts, the quality of the cuts of meat, chicken, fish sub par. The preparation, cafeterior aty best. I get buffet style but, this was just marginal. A few stand outs, the Brazilian restaurant. They had crab balls at the "hot" buffet that may have actually had crab in them. The soup was also great. Keep in mind, before they come around with the skewers of meat, you are expected to eat from the both the cold and hot buffet. Pace your self because they will come around with, pork, chicken, sausage, and two kinds of beef. The Japanese retaurant is a typical Habachi style. they give you a menu and push you to do the habachi anyway. The apps were sushi which was a yawn. All in all, I was not there for the food anyway. I spoke with several guest who were staying at he Lindo and Mayan and they said the food was MUCH better there.

Almost done........

Excursions - If you book any excursions - always ask - will i need to pay any additional fees and always bring some extra money. Everytime I have have booked any excursions there have been times where extra money would be good to have. Some examples: tipping the captain or crew on a scuba, snorkle, catamaran trip. Tipping your guides on a mayan ruins, canoeing, zip line, horseback riding trip. These people make very little salary. They rely on their tips. Also, there is almost alway a chance to pick up some little momento/souvenier from where ever your excursion is taking place.

Over all - I would not go back to THIS hotel but would give a higher end Iberstar a try based on the service of the staff, cleanlinees of the grounds and overall experience. The food would keep me from going lower end Iberostar. If you are traveling with kids and or food is not a big deal to you, definately consider this beautiful resort!!!!!!

Room Tip: bldg 36 to be near quiet pool area. That is also about midway point of the ground between lob by and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Here are my thoughts of the Iberostar Paraiso Beach.  We stayed at this resort from Feb 22 to 29th.  In the past, we have stayed at the Barcelo, and Palace resorts.  We are both in our mid 50’s.
 
Check in/Reception:  OK, we did ask if there was any upgrade available, and were told that for an extra $700 could be upgraded to Lindo. Passed on that. Staff at reception desk were just OK.
 
Grounds: Beautifully manicured, clean.
 
Bar Service:  Very Poor.  We felt that in order to get a drink that tastes like it had a bit of alcohol in it, we had to tip.  The location of the bars in the pool area was strange.  There were three swim up bars.  If you were not in the pool, you had to approach the swim up bar at the side or from the top ledge. There was a walk up bar at the beach.  Iberostar failed miserably in the bar area.  A guest should not have to tip each time a drink was ordered.  
 
Food:  This is hard to judge, since everyone has different expectations. The buffet was awful.  We ate there for breakfast and 3 dinners: you will not gain any weight here.  We ate at 4 ala carte restaurants.  The Brazilian: service was very slow, food was mediocre.  The Mexican:  food was ok, the restaurant it self was very warm:  no windows were open no breeze/air conditioning at all.  Service was a bit better.  
The Japanese restaurant was the best, food and service good.
The Steakhouse:  many issues here (see below), steak was overcooked service very bad.
 
At the Steakhouse, a woman handed a quality service questionnaire to us.  We later learned that the Iberostar has an independent group to distribute these questionnaires on a random basis.  While we were waiting for our food, we started to fill out this questionnaire.  We gave poor ratings for bar service.  We put the questionnaire aside and started to eat our dinner. We were being watched by the bar manager (Mr Lizardo?, and his employee Roberto) and he saw that we rated the bar service unfavourably.  They pleaded with us to change our rating (while we were eating).  Mr Lizardo said that if we changed our rating, he would give us a bottle of any liquor we wanted.  This was disgusting; my husband finally had to tell them to leave us so that we could enjoy our dinner in peace.   We handed in our questionnaire to the manager at the front desk (they probably threw it our since it was unfavourable), and vowed never to return to this resort.
 
On the good side:  (yes, we were on vacation..) we golfed three times at the course on site.  The course was in magnificent condition, and the service there was great.
 
Room: we were in building 35: ground floor.  No issues with being on the ground floor.  Room was very dated, and very musty.  Bedspread was old, dirty and stinky.  Bathroom had walk in shower.  A couple bugs in room.  Cleaning Service was never on any schedule that we could figure out, one night at 5:00 room was not made up.  We had to beg for towels to be replaced.  BUT..on the day we checked out, cleaning staff knocked on our door at 8:00 am to tell us we had to check out.  We told her it wasn’t 11 am yet.  
 
 

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Iberostar Paraiso Beach.

First of all, I would like to send you my warmest appreciations for choosing Iberostar paraiso Beach, we are deeply glad and grateful because your choice was to spend your vacation with us.

Thus, we are very concerned to learn of your disappointing experience during your stay and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our bar service and housekeeping.

We would very much appreciate to further discuss with you the details of your feedback.
Please rest assured we are taking this matter extremely seriously as we always strive for service excellence and already took immediate corrective actions.

Once again, thank you for your comments and feedback - we apologize for not providing for a great experieence as we are capable of.

We will do our utmost and work to improve your next stay with us. It will be such an honour to welcome you back.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The grounds of the resort are pretty nice. Rooms are about what a 3-4 star hotel should be as well. However, buffet food was absolutely horrible. We stayed here for a week and towards the end of our stay we could barely find something to it that we were not disgusted by. Everything seems to taste the same. Everything was ground or minced. I don't think we saw a normal piece of chicken, pork of beef. Food tasted like it was left over from a day before, mixed all together and warmed up again. Specialty restaurants were OK, but not very good either. The beach is very rocky and unprotected - so you get waves that take you off your feet and throw you on the rocks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review on Tripadvisor about your experience during your holidays at the Iberostar Paraiso Beach. I am incredibly sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

We assure you that we will continue working to enhance our services, please consider us again and I'm sure we could provide a stay that would be memorable for all the proper reasons.

We look forward to your return visits.

Kindest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, VISIT US, INC. and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.