We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream wedding at the Paraiso Beach hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Paraiso Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Dream wedding at the Paraiso Beach hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We just returned from the Iberostar Paraiso Beach hotel and what can I say,.. the experience what priceless with pictures to remember forever. We happened to have our wedding planned there right on the beach with 40 guests and I couldn't ask for a better service from this hotel. Everything went perfectly, staff was very friendly and helpful, we enjoyed every moment until the very end of our stay.

I would strongly recommend anyone getting married to choose this hotel for the perfect beach wedding ceremony and to also get the professional pictures taken since they are much MUCH nicer than any picture taken by any of your family and guests.

Cheers !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    828
    320
    102
    63
See reviews for
1007
814
46
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We booked this at the recommendation of our travel agent (after reading all the good reviews). We were happy with some things (pools, numerous bars, well kept grounds, very friendly staff. BUT we were disappointed in MANY things. The food was weird and we had a hard time finding things we liked to eat. Part of the problem was that many of the foods on the buffet weren't labeled so we had no idea what they were plus many things were seafood. We were expecting carving stations with prime rib, ham, turkey ,etc. Didn't see this once. VERY international food -- not for the average american with kids. Also we had many communication problems with concierge and front desk staff, problems with our air conditioning, some of common bathrooms ocean side were filthy. This resort is HUGE. Its about a 10 min walk from rooms near ocean to dinner restaurants. They have a shuttle, but no schedule when it runs so you never know if you can ride it and get to your dinner reservations on time. I would rate this 2.5 if I could. If it weren't for beautiful pools and beach I probably would have given a 2.

Room Tip: Try to get one midway between front of resort and beach. That way you are in between everything. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was an amazing resort, would highly recommend to anyone, staff, food,entertainment and the grounds "ALL OUTSTANDING" This was my 16 year old son and mom vacation, and my son did not want to come home. Thankyou to all for a memorable vacation.
My son thought McGill and Joshua (resort entertainers) were absolutely AMAZING!!!!

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking, I honestly don't think there is such a thing as a bad room at thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Fantastic Vacation!!!!! First all inclusive resort, and loved it all. Staff were amazing, food awesome, rooms well kept, grounds well maintained. We were there 2 weeks (Dec 10-24th, 2011), and I didn't want to leave to come home to snowy Canada.
Took advantage of most of what the resort had to offer. It was great to have a Dressel Dive Shop right on sight, I did 3 dives and a snorkel excursion. The Dressel staff were awesome too. A special thank you to Tom who was very helpful indeed, with great local advice about what to do and where to go. It was his recommendation that led me to do 2 dives over on the Island of Cozumel, and is was SOOOOOO very worth the day trip. The reef there is unbelievable!!!
I would gladly return to this resort again; even right now:) The only thing I found that was substandard was the bicycle tour offered daily at 10am and 3pm. Out of the 30 or so mountain bikes they have available, not one was in good shape. They all had low tires, faulty brakes, no brakes, chains falling off, seats that would not adjust up or down. One lady had the entire pedal and crank shaft fall off her bike half way through the tour. The bike problems were clearly the exception, as everything else on the resort was very well done.
Gareth Dillistone
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Van
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at the Lindo next door ( same complex) in Jan this year and came back to the Beach for Xmas. Some differences but not worth the extra money for the Lindo, at least for us. Lindo has more air conditioned facilities, and the wave pool/lazy river, but my kid wasn't impressed with it. Showroom for the Beach is smaller and more crowded then the Lindo, but we didn't care.

Food seemed better on this trip. I ate more Mexican, which they do very well ( duh). Love the coffee con leche, chips and salsa and anything with chocolate. Specialty restaurants were pretty good this time, Gourmet and Mediterranean were our favorites, had steak and lobster in both and it was pretty good. Steak restaurant was a bit weak, my kid's steak had a funny taste so didnt eat it, but my wife and I both had too much so just gave her some of our meat and it was fine.

Christmas Eve they shut down all the specialty restaurants and only the buffet was open, food was excellent but way too crowded, it was crazy. Buffet was always fine, and not too crowed at other times. Food at the beach is always nice, BBQ hamburgers etc, enjoyed that again.

Room in the Beach was nice, seemed just as large as my "suite" at the Lindo in Jan and king sized bed was good. Asked for a room change because there was small fire in one of the rooms on our 3rd floor and fire alarms didn't go off, I realized our room would be a death trap it here was a fire, so asked for ground level room and they did a switch for me. Also didn't see fire hose in the emergency fire hydrant on the 3rd floor near our room( #3247), that should be there. I would request a ground level room always, design of building would not be allowed in Canada for fire safety.

Did see a very large cockroach ( just one) in our ground floor room, it scurried outside under the gap under door when I chased it. The front desk offered to fumigate the room immediately, I told them not to bother.

Beach was too rough for swimming every day, red flags always. Fun to play in waves but would be nice to have some calmer weather, it was the same in Jan so maybe its normal for the location?

Went to Playa de Carmen couple of times, it was fun, used the 50 peso ( $5) shuttle bus from Del Mar lobby. Cheap massages in town are great deal ( $35 per hour) and much better deal then the expensive resort Spa massage at the resort ( $110 per hour), I've had both.

Staff are nice, and doing their best, most of the time. Waiters and maids work 8-9 hours a day, 6 days a week ( unionized) and make decent money for down, there but a pittance compared to us.They do rely on getting tips .............would encourage folks to leave a few pesos. Front desk staff and other non union work 6 days a week but up to 14 hours a day during the busy season, they take long vacations during to off season. They could have more staff on the front desk but it wasn't too bad.

Overall we were very happy again. We like the "family" feeling of the resort. People are drinking but didn't see too many cases of over indulgence. Might go back but more likely to head down closer to Playa de Carmen next time, I like easier access to the town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Going to iberostar parasio beach i was very excited but nervous. i didnt know if i was going to like because from the past i have always stayed in 5 star resorts. when i got there i was amazed of how gorgeous the hotel was. there was so much natural beauty there and there where a bunch of animals. it was like a jungle. the weather was AMAZING. food was great a lot of variety. i dont recommend the Japanese a la cart. stick to the buffets. the rooms where very nice not to hot. the staff where very nice and caring. there where always so many activity's and i was never bored.Ofcourse i was there with 10 people that probably helped it. i recommend going swimming with the dolphins. it was a great experience. now that i am back home i want to go back more then anything. i am sure i will be going back. have a good time at iberostar paraiso beach.

Room Tip: the first floor is a lot cooler. ask to be in buliding 38 about 5 minute walk to pool and beach. 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have been here on spring break with our teenage son and his friend for the last 3 years. It has everything you (and they) could want! We love the food, the drinks, the beach, the staff is so friendly...always making sure everything is perfect. The grounds are gorgeous...very lush and tropical. We've never gotten sick and though they do have lots of restaurants, we love the buffets as much if not more. We truly are beach snobs and this beach is awesome!! White sand that you can walk for miles. The price is right. Our only dilemma is whether or not to try some place new. Until we stayed here, we never stayed in the same place twice. Now it seems we've traded our adventurous spirit for the confidence in booking this resort. I could not recommend it enough!

Room Tip: can't get a bad room here! The JR suites are going to have the ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.