We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya
Save
You added Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Jungle Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at the Grand Luxxe, RM! The accommodations were top notch (lots of luxurious space), the staff warm and professional, and always lots to do. I read all of TA's reviews before visiting and I feel that all of the positive comments/ reviews were true and helped me plan well (so I won't bother to repeat it). But I will take time to repeat this... Do not attend the sales presentation! I was insulted when I tried to exercise my right to say "no" and felt harassed when I tried to exercise my right to leave. At least five agents confronted me on my way out and all with a different offer... how desperate! Some resistance on their part was expected, but I never felt more annoyed with myself for putting myself in that situation. It's so weird because that experience was so contrary to my overall experience with GL. I feel the sales team's attitude and approach was not in line with "the Grand Luxxe way". Anyway, take a dip in the pool, eat at any one of their fantastic restaurants, bike ride, play golf, go to the spa, sleep on the beach... whatever you do, you'll enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    48
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
90
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We are members of the Grand Luxxe and are badgered every year to attend a very high pressure sales presentation. This years scam is for you to provide your comments on the resort's service on a form and then discuss this with a resort representative. When you attend the meeting you are provided with a breakfast and a very quick overview of what all of the resorts are doing. Then without warning you are offered an upgrade. When you repeatedly decline the most recent offer the sales rep leaves the table without explaining why and comes back with a new offer. Total time wasted was 4 hours of your valuable vacation time. If you do go to the resort do not attend any offer for a free breakfast, discount on your room charges or tours. The sales reps are worse than lawyers, politicians or used car sales people.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet with 3rd floor rooms looking above the jungle vegetation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our second visit to the Caribbean side, the first being in May of 2011, when Tower one of the Grand Luxxe was first opened. The ride from the airport to the resort was good. The registering for our room was very efficient. Instead of the "Sales Presentation Breakfast" at the Tramonto Restaurant on Monday the 14th at 9:00am, it was entitled as a "Owners suggestion presentation time". However, we said no and they scheduled anyway and we didn't attend anyway!! It is the same crap just a different name. NOTE: Never give your passport and Credit Card to anyone other than the check in people. The rooms were great as always, the beds were outstanding as was the bath. We ate at all of the dining establishments and liked the Burger place by the Grand Luxxe pool best. The beach was nice, not hot like at Neuvo Vallarta. All of the service people were very efficient, professional and did everything they could to help us out!! We used the shuttle to go to Playa and defintely loved that city, the youthful vibe is great. Afterwards we just used the taxi to get to Playa and back. We defintely loved the on site shuttle dedicated especially for the Grand Luxxe Owners, Neuvo should be watching. Check out was very smooth and efficient, even though, we really didn't want to leave.
We will return next April 2014 for ouir 35th Wedding Anniversary!!
Charles & Rita Burrell
Conway,AR

Room Tip: If you are able to receive a room on the third or top floor, it is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Rita_Charlie :

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Grand Luxxe. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our accommodations, restaurants and facilities.All the same, we are happythat most of our staff was welcoming and pleasant, as this is what we strive for every day.

At Grand Luxxe we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence.For that reason, it is always pleasing to know that our guests do not want to leave, as it is the best evidence that we made their stay a memorable one.

It will be our privilege to welcome you back and we look forward to helping you celebrate your wedding anniversary in our paradisiacal resort, congratulations!

Sincerely,
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We just got back from a week in early Oct. at the Grand Luxxe, and I don't know how it could have been a better vacation than it was.
Arriving - First off, the Luxxe is about 15 min from both Playa Del Carmen and Puerto Morellos (south and north respectively). There is a free shuttle from the airport to the resort, but you have to reserve it with the concierge. The shuttle will drop you at the Grand Mayan and you will be golf cart shuttled to the Luxxe.
The Property - The Luxxe is one of 3 resorts on one huge (200+ acre) property. The others are the Grand Mayan and the Mayan Palace. You can walk around but it’s a long walk to many of the places, so its easier to take the golf cart shuttles (we never waited more than 10 min for a shuttle). Plus the Luxxe has its own golf carts that staff will call to bring you back to the Luxxe from wherever you are. The rest of the resort has golf carts that run on a schedule. The property is lush jungle where it has not been cut back and developed for the buildings. The foliage is beautiful in its own right and there is plenty of wild life to see. Birds and iguanas especially. The property has it’s own flamingo pond and two areas where they keep river alligators (both are worth seeing - ask about whether crocs will be fed during your stay). Spend a day wandering the property to get your bearings and see how beautiful it all is.
Rooms - When you check in you get a wrist band that says Grand Luxxe, this allows you access to places, it is also your room key. We stayed in a 1 BR studio, with a front room as well. The room was HUGE! Ceilings are at least 12' tall. The bathroom had a shower so large it could fit a smart car inside it easily. The furnishings are beautiful, the floor is polished stone, and the window took one wall up (since we were first floor it looked out on solid jungle). The bed was slightly firm but comfortable, and there is a menu of pillow options. There are 2 large flat screen tv’s in the room along with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. There is a safe in the closet where you reset the combo each time you close it. The housekeeping staff will knock around 7 each night and turn down the bed if you want (along with leaving a couple truffles). Overall the rooms are extremely comfortable. (Note - the AC is set to Celsius).
Luxxe Building - there are 4 buildings planned (2 are finished and one opens in Nov.). Each one is only 3 stories tall and the courtyards are conservation areas with original flora. There are ice makers on all 3 levels and a laundry as well. (Laundry is run by getting prepaid cards from the concierge - about 100 pesos per load). The grand luxxe lobby is under construction and the lobby services are currently run out of the concierge in building one. The concierge has complimentary soda, water, coffee and tea at all times. This was a really nice perk.
Restaurants - there are 10 total restaurants on the property. Three are right next to the pools. The one at the main pool serves food at the pool bar and around the pool. Some of the restaurants are only open for specific meals (2 are only open 11-5, and 2 serve breakfast). There are about 5 that are open for dinner each night. The food is all top notch, high quality, well prepared and wait staff are great. Trying to figure out which restaurant is open for what meal is probably the only thing close to a ‘negative’ I could say about this resort. Room service is delicious, fast and about the same price as the restaurants. The room service menu is not small either.
Pools - there are 4 pools total on the property. All of them are 4' deep or less (no worries for kid safety - but no lifeguards either). One pool (Mayan palace) is the main pool and the largest, open to everyone, with 2 pool bars. There is one pool that is reserved for Grand Luxxe guests, and 2 pools reserved for Grand Mayan guests. The Luxxe pool has the burger restaurant attached to it. The pools are warm enough to be pleasant, and cool enough to be refreshing. There are cabanas available, in high season you must reserve them through the resort, in low season if they are open you can use it. There are plenty of pool chairs around, and staff will wander around to bring you drink and food orders. There are daily planned activities around the pools that are pretty fun, and a pool volleyball net that is always up.
Beach - the beach is a mixed bag. The beach is very clean, the sand is soft and there are lots of chairs and umbrellas for shade. Once you get in the water though, it’s nearly all rocks. To get in the water you really need water shoes or exceptionally tough feet. The water is quite shallow and warm. They are building a beach club up the beach now and there is some talk of removing the rock there to allow for more of a swimming beach. There is a beautiful pier that heads out about 100 feet with a gazebo at the end. About 100-150 feet out from the shore they have sunken a hundred or so concrete honey combs to attract fish and encourage coral growth. Snorkeling off the beach is actually pretty good. I saw plenty of wrasse, tangs, parrotfish, angelfish, sergeant majors, trunkfish, blennies, needlefish, hamlets, stingrays and grunts. Corals included star, brain, finger, and flower; along with fans, anemone, urchins, and sea stars. If you are going to snorkel, booted fins work best, if you use slip on shoe fins you need to enter the water in a few specific areas. They have a turtle hatchery on site and when there are babies, they release them at 6 pm on the beach, ask about participating.
Staff/Service - NO AMOUNT OF WORDS can adequately describe just how good the service is here and how great and friendly the staff are. They all seem to be willing to go the extra step to make guests happy and comfortable. It is without a doubt the very best customer service I have ever experienced.
Misc - The resort strives for a “cash free” environment, meaning everything is charged to the rooms and automatically has a 15% service fee added to the bill. (I hope the staff gets that 15% as they deserve it). You can choose to tip with cash as well, which is always appreciated. The concierge can exchange currency at a very fair rate. And the travel agent can arrange tours, which I would recommend you use. They have a list of tours they arrange and the costs. We did sit through the sales breakfast, if you don’t want to participate, just say no and be firm, otherwise, go to it, eat the great food, listen to the sales pitch and get the perks they offer for participating.
The Luxxe may be a pretty expensive place to vacation, but without a doubt, you get what you pay for here. Great property, great rooms, great food, great pools and beyond great staff. Feel free to contact me if this ridiculously long review doesn’t answer your questions.

Room Tip: If at all humanly possible, right when you enter to check in, ask first thing if they can put you on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Took our family of five and stayed at the Grand Luxxe. Terrific accommodations. Stayed here as an exchange in our timeshare program. Very friendly staff who gave us great tips on places to see and eat both on and off the property. Staff was very attentive and super friendly. The timeshare push was a little too much but we were prepared for it and laughed it off to head out for the rest of a great week. Would highly recommend this property to anyone who wanted a great experience in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

No matter where you go on vacation, you want it to be perfect. From the time you arrive at the Grand Luxxe, you know you're vacation is going to be special. The grounds are unbelievable; the staff is attentive and the rooms are nothing short of "wow". The studios are HUGE, and offer a separate living area, refrigerator and microwave. The 1b (what we had) was bigger than a home and has 1.5 bathrooms, a plunge pool on the deck overlooking the jungle and a gourmet kitchen. You may never want to leave!
I've read some of the negative reviews, and understand where the Grand Luxxe can fall short for some guests. There are no ocean views, but the jungle views are a site not to miss. You do have to take shuttles, but if one is not there to wisk you away immediately, one is called for you. The wait is never more than 5 minutes. Every one is entitled to their opinion, but when it comes to the Grand Luxxe, it's absolutely wrong to call it "cold, inconvenient and deceptive".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear EFSN :
Thank you so much for commenting about your stay. We are very glad you enjoyed our accommodations, grounds, and we are grateful for your kind words about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

At Grand Luxxe we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence.We are pleased to learn you perceived this and we made your vacation special.

It will be our honor to welcome you once again!

Happily,
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed in The Grand Luxxe at the Mayan Properties in Playa del Carmen September 21-28th. I own there in a 2 bedroom, and this time I got to stay in the 2 bedroom, 2 bath Villa. It has two bedrooms with king beds I believe, and two living rooms. One shares a bathroom with one of the bedrooms, and it has a refrigerator, coffee maker and kiosk for all of that, along with a huge LCD TV, and two people can sleep on the super long sofa. It has a trundle underneath it that pulls out. In the other living room, it has a chaise lounge and a super long sofa with trundle beds underneath those as well. Nice sized kitchen with granite countertops, and all the pots, pans, dishes, silverware you need. Comes with a roll of paper towels, blender, toaster, coffee maker, microwave, and espresso maker. There is free coffee in the lounge of Building 1 from 7:30am - 9:30 or 10am, and then on first floor entrance of Building 2. They also have these delightful cookies as well. In Building 1 lounge, they have coca-cola, sprite, coca-cola light, and water in the fridge. You have to pay for espresso if you make it in your room with their pods, but if you go in the lounge in Building 1, you get it free. They also have creme, milk, and sweetners. The concierge's are located in the lounge in Building 1, and there is a concierge right outside of the elevator on each floor in Building 2. The concierge will help you with anything you need. They will make reservations, set up wake-up calls, set up your return to the airport. Oh, you are given free transportation from the airport to the resort which is about 40 minutes south of the Cancun (CUN) airport. You can take a shuttle for $15 back, if the time you have to be at the airport is within the time the shuttle runs (I think it starts at 7 or 7:30am. I wasn't so lucky there, and had to pay $37 USD back to the airport in a taxi, which was still reasonable to me though. They also have a shuttle that runs from 9am - 6pm to Playa del Carmen (cost is $5 each way/pp). They let you stay 2 or 3 hours before they pick you back up. You can stay all day in Playa though, and take the last shuttle back or even a taxi or other transporation. You can also walk outside of the premises, but it's a long walk, and they won't shuttle you up to the gate. You can walk in about 20 minutes though, go out the gate, and catch a van (Playa Express or white van with blue line down the sides) for $2 USD one-way. You can go grocery shopping at the Walmart or Mega Market. They also have a Mexican-based Grocery Chain called Chedraui. You can get massages for anywhere from $25 on up. Much more reasonable than at the resort, but the massages at the resort are to die for, but costly (about $120 USD). There's the Jade store on premises of resort to buy food and stuff also. They have meat, fruit, beer, wine, soda's, etc... I would suggest getting Vino (Wine) at one of the grocery stores in Playa. The wine in Jade is like $25 and up. Too rich for my blood. I got two bottles in town, cheaper than what you would pay for one bottle at Jade. Beer is like $3 a can at Jade, and you can go in town and get it for like $5 USD for a 6 or 7 pack. Yep, 7 pack. They tape another one to the 6 pack, and it was Corona. The Jade store is nice to have there if you need something quick, but I don't suggest buying all your groceries there. Cost too much. They also have breakfast items, sandwiches, and desserts they make there. Alcoholic beverages at the resort are close to $9 USD. I'm not sure about beer. They do have a Happy Hour though from 11a-1pm, and then I think from 5pm-6pm. I usually just waited until they had that, and got some drinks. You have a blender in your room, if you want to make your own drinks. I take a little cooler that collapses in the suitcase, to carry anything I make to the pool. I don't think just any place will let you do this. I went to this one resort one time, in which I was not an owner, and they threatened to make me leave the pool area because I wasn't buying drinks from them. I thought that was absurd, and I let them have it. Activities are going on all day around all of the pools (volleyball, biking, trivia games, bingo, etc... There are at least 4 pools, and if you're staying at the Grand Luxxe, you can use any of them. Only Grand Luxxe owners/renters can use the Grand Luxxe private pool. The pools you use are in a hierarchy of what you own. It keeps trickling down depending on which one you own. Ocean Breeze is the lowest (so you can only use that pool), then Mayan Palace, Bliss, Grand Mayan, Grand Bliss, and Grand Luxxe. They have some new buildings going up for that look like the Grand Luxxe, but have their own Spa's in it, and massage room in your actual room where you can have a Massage Therapist come and give you a massage. You can buy these for a Full Share (Deed). They're also having their own Cirque du Soleil show coming with this Full Share Ownership members. They have the largest oval pool in Latin America on the beach. I mean that thing is huge. There are at least 7 or 8 restaurants on premises a Custom-made Burger place for Grand Luxxe owners, then Havana Moon, Frida's/Bache, Gong (Asian Cusine), Tramonto (Steak and Italian), Green Break (by the Golf Course), and they have a Buffet Style under the Palapa. The food in the restaurants are very costly to me. If you want to be pampered though, go on and pay the high prices to get it. Staying at the Grand Luxxe 2-Bdrm you get 16 rounds of Golf on a signature 18-hole golf course with a cart and green fees paid. All you have to pay for is golf clubs ($30/day), if you didn't bring your own. You also get 2 free massages at the spa. I would book them when you arrive at the resort or they will more than likely get booked up, and you won't get to use them. There's also a Scuba Diving shop on the beach, if you scuba dive or want to snorkel. I would suggest not going to the high-pressure 90-minute sales presentation or update if you're a member. You get free breakfast and 10% off of your final bill. I don't think it's worth it, because they will keep you in there all day, if you let them. They hand you down from one sales person to another. It's very stressful, and will make you end up not enjoying your vacation. Just remember, you don't have to go!!! Graciously decline when they invite you when you get there. My last comment is that no matter which level you stay in at the resort. It's nice. A very beautiful and huge resort!!! I will go back.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you stay in. They have a shuttle that will pick you up and take you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear haleyinlr :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience while staying at Grand Luxxe.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you and your loved ones. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other luxury resorts.
We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.