We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Very Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya
Save
You added Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Very Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya two weeks in May 2013. I have been an owner in the Grand Mayan properties for several years and upgraded 3 years ago to the Grand Luxxe. The resort is nice in many respects but there are issues. I will try to highlight our experience at Riveria Maya and compare it to our experience in Nuevo Vallarta, so that owners of the Grand Luxxe can decide which report to try.

1. Booking process -- We booked through the phone and the reservation clerk apparently made mistakes when he booked it. We also did not get a room in Tower One, even though we requested it. "C"

2. Pick-up service -- It works wonderfully. Two years ago it was a hassle, as we had to wait for about 30 minutes for them to get a bus and take everyone to the resort in one big group. This time, even though we had 3 separate arrival times, each person was met and put in a van within about 5-10 minutes. No waiting for other people, no getting on a bus, just efficiency and comfort and FREE. "A"

3. Check-in service – Still a bit disorganized. Two years ago they said the Luxxe would have a reception area. But they try to do the check-in at the same desk used in each tower for the concierge. This results in people who want small tasks from the concierge having to wait excessive amounts of time while the groups are checked-in. For examply, I had to wait 20 minutes to get new keys for my room (the keys only last one week, even if you have booked two weeks) while the two guys were working the check-in process. Frustrating! That being said, the staff is very nice and friendly. "C-"

4. The rooms – Terrific but no view. The rooms are large and very well appointed. The beds are very comfortable, and I like the pillow choices. And they are kept spotless by the maid service. But they suffer in comparison to Nuevo Vallarta as there is no view. "B+"

5. The grounds -- As with the rooms, the grounds are immaculately maintained and very attractive. The grounds staff is terrific. But I think the Nuevo Vallarta grounds are a bit better with more sea views, more walking paths and more diversity in the plantings. "A-"

6. The facilities -- The pools are varied and very numerous. We enjoyed the water aerobics and some of the games near the Mayan Palace pool. But the activities are much more limited that the activities at the Nuevo Vallarta Grand Mayan. The activities staff does not try as hard as the staff in Nuevo Vallarta to ensure that people are engaged and having fun. The beach near the Grand Luxxe is beautiful and the water looks lovely, but you cannot swim. Nuevo Vallarta's beach is perfect for swimming. The gym is too small, overcrowded and the machines are too limited. The gym at the Luxxe in Nuevo Vallarta is wonderful. The spa services are first class….you feel pampered beyond belief, which is exactly what you want at a spa. The spa experience is even better than at Nuevo Vallarta. "B-"

7. The internet -- Part of the amenities at the Grand Luxxe was free internet. Unfortunately, the free internet is very slow. "C-"

8. Food/Restaurants – When we were in the Riviera Maya two years ago, I thought the food was a bit better. It is still good, but not great. We especially like the breakfast buffet at Del Lago….they change up the hot items which keeps it interesting. Generally, the food is overpriced. One thing we like about Nuevo Vallarta is that it is relatively inexpensive to travel to restaurants off the resort (a typical cab ride is $5 in Nuevo Vallarta but a cab ride to Playa del Carmen is $22). Also, I don't like it that a gratuity is automatically added to your bill. "B-"

9. Transportation Services – Two years ago, they ran the golf cart service to get you around the resort like a taxi service and it was easy and fast to get around. Now they run it more like a bus service and it is much slower. But Nuevo Vallarta is bigger so the in-resort transportation will be even slower than Riviera Maya. "C+"

10. Tour services – We didn't take a tour this trip, but we got the materials and the tours are very varied and reasonably priced. And the tours are more varied that in Nuevo Vallarta due to the reef and the availability of quality scuba diving and snorkeling, the cenote visits and the Mayan ruins (but Nuevo Vallarta has whales…..). "A"


11. General Service -- The service in the resort is generally very good. The people are friendly to the max and always trying to make sure your needs are met. However the concierge service is much better at Nuevo Vallarta (for example the floor concierge is generally around and willing to do all kinds of special services for you, like laundry. "A-"

12. Future Plans – Construction here has been SLOW! Two years ago, we were told that they were building Towers 3 and 4 (including a reception area for the Grand Luxxe and additional Grand Luxxe restaurants) and today they are still building them. Two years ago, we were told they had gotten the permit to clear the rocks off the beach so you could go swimming in the ocean, and there has been no progress. In fact, as best as I can tell, nothing much has changed in 2 years. In Nuevo Vallarta, everything changes all the time. Yes, that causes issues, but still it is exciting to return and see the new things. I assume that Vida is spending their investment $$ in Nuevo Vallarta and not in Riviera Maya. "D"

13. Overall – When we started coming to the resorts, our experiences at the two places was pretty even. It was cheaper and easier for us to fly to Cancun, the activities outside of the resort were more varied and the food in Riviera Maya was a bit better than the food at Nuevo Vallarta. Now it is easier to fly to Nuevo Vallarta than previously, they have improved their food on the resort (and it is very easy and inexpensive to eat off of the resort) and Nuevo Vallarta still has much better activities and facilities. As a result, we will probably spend most of our vacation time in Nuevo Vallarta rather than returning to Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    41
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
78
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raymore saskatchewan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We had family all over resort, in the Mayan Palace, Grand Mayan, and we were grand luxxe, it was awesome, restaurants are exceptional, beach is a little Rocky but good for snorkelling, all the help, maids, waiters, everyone was great, I have nothing negative to say, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were pointed to this resort by a advisor from Interval International when we were enquiring about a stay in Mexico and was told we wouldn't be disappointed.What an understatement? The whole Grand Luxxe resort is absolutely brilliant from the luxurious two bedroomed second floor villa we stayed in,the private Luxxe pool where sunbeds are always available, down to the excellent restaurants on site.The staff are very friendly,courteous and offer first class service.Read about all the details of the fabulous amenities of the villas in the other reports,they,re all fairly accurate . However there is a but about this resort and the BUTT is on no account get persuaded,bribed, cajoled, arm twisted or hog tied into going to one of their 90 minute "friendly" timeshare presentations.These meetings can take up to 5 or 6 hours,are a very hard sell, high pressure and very stressful especially when you are confronted by 4 or 5 different sales reps one after the other and then called stupid after you don,t take up their offers.We know we went to one so be advised enjoy a fabulous resort but don,t spoil your holiday with one of these presentations.

Room Tip: All the 2 bedroomed villas on the second floors in towers 1 and 2 are absolutely marvellous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya on a timeshare exchange. The room itself (a "studio") was at least 1000 square feet, with two balconies and a huge bathroom with a whirlpool tub. All of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and made our trip perfect. They even gave us chocolate-covered strawberries to celebrate! We enjoyed the many pools and restaurants on-site. While the restaurants are not cheap, the food was good, the water was safe to drink, and the service was excellent. At first we found it a bit odd that we had to take a shuttle everywhere rather than walk, but the shuttle service was so quick and friendly we didn't mind at all. We're already thinking about going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

And we've been there. The two bedroom villa at the Grand Luxxe was larger than my 4 bedroom colonial home in New England. The unit has 3000 square feet with almost every luxury possible (except a dishwasher). Private jungle views from a deck with a large dunking pool and beautiful teak furniture, a huge soaking tub in the bathroom, and an extra half bedroom for the kids in addition to the two listed. A concierge comes to the terrace, where you're served mimosas, to check you in. No lines this time! And they continued to provide service in a personal and expedient manor. The grounds are picture-perfect, the property impeccably maintained, the staff so attentive. There was shuttle service to and from Playa del Carmen, and reasonably priced taxis, so no car necessary .Many restaurants on premises, expensive, but not disappointing. The fiesta dinner had top-rate entertainment, and the Prime Rib Dinner was wonderful, and let's not forget the pool-side nachos or salads. Yes, this was indeed a most heavenly vacation where I truly felt as if I were royalty!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As an owner, I hate not giving this review 5 stars but will explain later. First of all, the resort is gorgeous. The pools are beautiful, especially the Luxxe pool, where we spent most of our time. The concierge and staff there are wonderful. Our villa was absolutely beautiful--two bedrooms, living area, kitchen, large deck with plunge pool. Unfortunately, we were not able to enjoy the deck area very much because we were on the first floor facing the trolley/cart path which were constantly going by our room. They were very noisy and intrusive, so it was impossible to sit out on the deck and read, make a phone call or just enjoy the "peace and quiet". Not only did this happen during the daytime, it went on until midnight and started back at 7:00 a.m. Hard to get a good night's sleep. It was very annoying, thus making my overall rating 4 stars, instead of 5.

Other than the above mentioned problem, I cannot say enough great things about this property. The staff go out of their way to accommodate you, from the trolley drivers, concierges, bellmen, etc. Everyone so friendly and helpful.

The restaurants are wonderful--we ate at Gong, Tramonto, The Burger Bar, and Havana Moon. Food in all were delicious. We especially loved Gong and Tramonto for dinner--ate at each twice--had lunch at the Burger Bar every day. The staff at all of these were excellent, as well.

This is a wonderful property. I had requested to be on the second or third level two weeks prior to my visit, but obviously didn't receive my request--very disappointed in location of my room. Otherwise had a great time.

Room Tip: Request a room NOT facing the trolley/cart path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stay here at least twice a year & the accommodations, the property & the staff are incredible. We can sleep 8 easily and have room to spare. It is about 30 minutes outside of Cancun (thank goodness!) & about 15 minutes to 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen. The resort has 6 + places to eat & drink, a market on site, an incredible spa & plenty of pools & palapas & plenty of room at the beach to accomdodate all who stay here. Suggestion: rent a car.....it's inexpensive & very safe & easy to find your way around this area. Enjoy your stay at Grand Luxxe but get out & see the area on your own. There are some great restaurants on 5th avenue (as well as $25 one hour massages!) & Akumal is an awesome place to spend a day, swim with turtles & eat/drink.
We have been with family & couples----great spot for either!

Room Tip: All the rooms are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.