We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to experience this to appreciate it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya
Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You need to experience this to appreciate it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

I could write all day but I won't. Just returned from a week trip. I've been here twice before..this was my third time but the first at the Grande Luxxe.

Trip from the airport was quick and direct. Once at the resort, a short cart ride to our own personal check in space with Mimosas was welcomed...our room was ready in 5 minutes.

The roo s out huge...we were on the first floor with a phenomenal view of just the jungle. Very tranquil and secluded. Service was impeccable. Everyone wants to be sure you are having a good time.

Pools are endless and we met people from all over the US and Canada...all enjoying themselves.

Yes, the sales presentation is heavy but a simple no is all it takes.

Playa and Canun are a short taxi ride and it's always been safe and easy.

Booking trips from the resort was easy

I'll be back in a year!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    31
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
60
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have been a Grand Mayan owner for years and had recently upgraded to the Grand Luxxe villa. I took my friend and her 4 year old daughter who joined me and my 4 year old daughter in September of 2011. We were treated to an amazing experience. The unit itself was HUGE - we could lose the kids easily, ha. The wrap around deck was beautiful and so serene. The girls loved the deck pool. The entire complex is beautiful and we bounced around pools day to day - each offering their own experience. At the Grand Luxxe pool, our daughters were given popsicles in the heat of the day and with all the pools, the service was courteous, quick and on top of it. The staff work so hard. Loved the Cuban themed restaurant right on the water - awesome ambiance and enjoyable entertainment, but thought the Thai food was odd. Why not cuban or at least something with a Latin flair?? The beach is endless and clean. Sometimes difficult to swim in due to their not able to dredge the area and add sand. So we took a trip into Playa del Carmen and swam at their pristine white beaches. Playa del Carmen I feel is such a cool town. Cancun is like Miami where Playa del Carmen is like Key West. I can't say a bad thing about this place. We loved it and my friend is just dying to go back!!!

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with an ocean view. I believe they build away from the ocean due to hurrica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

At first we were torn about writing this review because quite frankly, we are selfish and really don’t want the world to discover the new Grand Luxxe….

But alas….I am writing it anyway. So where do I begin? At the end of course…my wife and I had such a wonderful time during our stay in September that we are returning for two weeks in May!

So here is the rundown:

Getting to the resort: Grand Luxxe / Grand Mayan provides transportation to / from the airport. Complimentary from the airport….you pay leaving.

Check-in: We were early, but our room was ready, so we were able to move in. Hassle free and efficient.

Timeshare presentation: At check-in, we were approached by a timeshare representative to take the presentation – aka sales pitch from hell. Having just taken one a few months previous at the Nuevo Vallarta property, we knew what was in store for us as the reputation is also just as bad at the Rivera Mayan property. We politely said “no” and we were never approached again to their credit….which was surprising.

Rooms: We had a beautifully decorated. furnished and spacious 1 Bedroom Master that has a huge kitchen / living room, and a half bath along with a separate master bedroom. Huge teak deck with plunge pool. This configuration is one of the largest in the timeshare / ownership industry. Quite honestly we could have spent the entire week in the room and on the deck. We did cook most of our dinners in the kitchen after a shopping trip to the Mega store.

Housekeeping does provide a morning and evening turn down service with surprises.

Note: Don’t expect a view. The Grand Luxxe buildings are situated in the jungle….which in itself is nice.

Pool / Beach / Restaurant: The GL guests have their own private pool with restaurant / bar service. Small, intimate setting around the pool with the beach a stone’s throw away. We spent every day here. You’ll love it.

Beach: Uncrowned with no vendors. The water is swimmable despite other reviews on the Grand Mayan, but there is a reef right off the shore, so bring along some footwear to enter the water. Some great snorkeling is only a few yards off the beach amongst the “pods”, which is a manmade reef. So bring your snorkeling equipment.

Note: After sunset, we were eaten by the local flying insects – so be prepared.

Also, GL does offer a Turtle restoration program with a turtle release during the birthing season – this is a must to go and experience.

As a GL guest, you do have access of the rest of Grand Mayan resort that includes the expansive pools in the event you grow tired hanging out at your own exclusive pool area.

SCUBA Diving / Water Sports: At the other end of the beach you will find the water sports center. If you are a diver, or just want to try it, you will find some excellent diving just minutes away from the beach. We met them at 10:00 am…wet / blowing bubbles by 10:30 and two tanks later we were back at the GL pool eating gourmet burgers. We dove three days.

Service: The service staff is awesome….everyone….no exceptions.

Brio Spa & Fitness Center: Don’t miss it.

Again we look forward in returning for two weeks in May.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top / third floor to see above the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

The staff was excellent Eden the bell person and all of the concierge
Staff at building two made my husbands birthday very memorable

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Also Known As:
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya to your Saves list