We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food la terrazza snack cafe and best waiter is Sanchez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 48 Carretera Federal 200, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best food la terrazza snack cafe and best waiter is Sanchez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is around2 star but service and food makes me love it so much,the best food was at la terrazza snack place at ocean breez section,all the waiters were very friendly ,they always please me,but the best was Sanchez,he was very fast, and always smile wich makes me come back only to this restaurant. the food was very tasty but over priced espasially buffet stile dinner and alcogol was not included ,I recommend this hotel only all inclusive

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    68
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
62
94
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is a jem, inside the Grand Mayan hotel, you can use all the beatiful facilities but why . The ocean breeze staff is the best. Nico at the restaurant is super nice makes you feel at home . Miguel at the beech is also great. Best vacaion ever.

Thank you Ocean breeze Claudia

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel itself is average, but it smells kind of weird and it doesn't have WiFi in the rooms just the lobby, but the price was one of the best in all the hotels of our trip. The ocean breeze hotel also gives you access to all the Mayan palace's installations which includes about 4 separate pools!
The meals are very expensive but since we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel that wasn't so bad.
All in all the hotel was very nice to spend the night and to go to the pools, but I do not recomend spending the whole day in the hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is an apartment with very limited hotel services. All distances are huge, far from the beach and the room has a horrible musty smell.
The pillows were smelling bad, like they were not washed.
We bought 5 nights, stayed only one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were staying at the Grand Mayan from August 11-18th, and needed another place to stay from August 8-11. I read about the Ocean Breezes, and called directly to make the reservation. The woman Maria, was very nice, and suggested I book the first night just hotel accommodations, and the 2nd & 3 night all inclusive. I have stayed many times before at the Grand Mayan, so I knew the food at the resort is great but wasn't sure how it would work at the Ocean Breezes using the Mayan facilities or all inclusive.

We were picked up (for free) at the Cancun airport and taken to the Mayan Place. We were than informed that the Ocean Breezes is currently closed and undergoing renovations, so we were upgraded to the Mayan Palace. They gave us a room with 2 double beds in the main building (great location). We were than asked if we wanted to give a credit card, since it is a cashless system. I explained to Stella (lovely Lady) that I did not want a $600 hold on my card since it was only for one night, and the next night I would be staying all-inclusive, and she agreed with me, and said that I could use my credit card in the restaurant (which we did...though the waiters seemed surprised, and took a while to process my payment since they do not have access to credit card machine).

I was advised that my all -inclusive would start the next day in the AM, so we settled our bill for the first night and started with our all-inclusive vacation.

Here are the restaurants included with the all-inclusive:
Green Break Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Balche-Lunch & Dinner
room Service
Beach club-located Mayan Palace pool down by water sports area

All drinks were included as well, except for cappuccino

Our all-inclusive deal was good until check out at 12:oo pm.

We had absolutely no probelm using the all-inclusive. Only one waiter said the tip wasnt include, however, I think he was just trying to get a little extra, since we never heard that from any other waiter. Food was excellent!!! We ordered off regular menus (except for drinks..but basically the same drinks)

Go for it!!!! Resort is gorgeous!!!! You will love it! We ate and drank for 3 days like Kings, and when we checked into the grand Mayan...we went back to making our own drinks,and bringing our own snacks down to the pool since they are expensive (average $10 a drink) but good!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel belongs to a group of other properties. It is a nice property, far away from the beach so you have to take a small shuttle that takes you every half hour or so. It is a little bit inconvenient in this sense. However, the prices are very competitive. It has a very nice pool with a basic restaurant. You can use the other property´s infrastructure, which are very good. The beach is nice but the are too many rocks to feel comfortable. Overall, it is a good alternative if you have a car and can get away to Playa del Carmen. Service is outstanding. We had a small problem with our car being scratched by one of the valet, it took some time for the hotel to send us the repair money, but finally after some insisting they settled the repair.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent hotel, large rooms and always kept spotless. This hotel is part of a large complex but the Ocean breeze is a small sister hotel, some times we had the pool to our selves. the only criticism I can think of is that the food was a bit tedious after a week as we only ate in the Italian restaurant as we we rent really sure which other restaurants we could eat at at the larger complex.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal 200, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true paradise awaits you in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Ocean Breeze Golf Hotel offers you and your family complete relaxation in an unforgettable vacation experience. The beautiful white sand beaches and our kind staff will make you feel like royalty.Enjoy absolute comfort and first class service in an enormous complex shared between three hotels, where you will find a spa, a golf course, a swimming pool, a beach club and much more. You won't want to leave this amazing place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.