We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Runners Adventures - La Romana and Altos de Chavon Shopping Half Day Tour
Calle Wayne Fuller #8, Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
809-833-0260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Bayahibe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Breathtaking views are bellowing to be revealed from place to place in an unparalleled blissful dominion. The way par excellence of knowing its people is by immersing oneself in their beliefs and customs. Dovetailing round the baroque Chavón River lays Altos de Chavón, a faithful replica of sixteenth century Mediterranean villa. Cobblestone streets take us back to yesteryear, gazing at its architecture and high-quality traditional craftwork and wrought iron accents. Shops within the historically re-created walls sell fine cigars, embroidered linens, jewelry and clothing. And the design school has its Altos de Chavon Studios here as well, offering pottery, fine arts, woven crafts and more.
Independence, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Altos de Chavon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Took this excursion from Carnival Freedom, very nice bus picked us up and took us to this replica village with very pretty views, small shops and museum. The replica buildings were pretty amazing. There is a small shop where you can pick up sodas and small souveniers at reasonable prices. The tour was a little long given there isn't that much to see, but you definitely want to remain in one of the resort or guided tours in the DR, some people the next day were telling us they ended up in bad places when they took unofficial tours / taxi's to see the "real DR".

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a very historical experience but a good tour overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I took this 1/2 day tour thinking that we would see some history of the town of La Romana. We didn't feel that we got any of that. That is not a big deal but we were told that we would be visiting and learning about historical landmarks and what not.

I guess we can't say there was NO historical information given on the tour. We were not informed until the day of that we would be taking a tour of a small cigar factory to show the process from plant to cigar. My husband and I are not cigar smokers so this was new to us. Very interesting and informative. There is quite a bit of labor and care given to each and every cigar that is made.

We were given time to tour Casa de Campo. This is a community outside of La Romana where a lot of celebrities have houses. It was a very unique area with beautiful surroundings. They have a quaint little town with shops and great views of the river. We got great pictures! There was an amphitheater that could seat 5,000 people. We were given about 45 minutes to kind of wander around the little town.

We then stopped at Columbus Plaza. I would recommend to save your souvenir shopping for this place. They seemed to have the best prices we found and it's haggle/pressure free! That's always a plus. We realized how badly the vendors at various places screwed us over when we looked at what the price should have been. Save your money for this place.

Our last stop was Jumbo, it's kind of like a Wal-Mart. My husband and I only bought a Dom. Rep. baseball hat for my dad there and it was about $10. That was a better price than Columbus Plaza. I don't know that I can say buy all of your souvenirs here because we didn't get a lot of time to walk around there and browse a bit. We were given about 20 minutes. We did spend quite a bit of time at Columbus Plaza though.

The tour guide and driver were very informative and friendly. They made sure we were given water and if we chose, rum. Overall, great experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Xmas in the Dominica Republic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I took our first cruise last week during xmas and the day after xmas, we were in the Dominica Republic. The weather was hot but there were nice winds and we immediately found an onshore excursion that seemed to fit us. We took the half day tour and we were amazed by the natural beauty of the county side and the historical landmarks. We shopped with local vendors and explored the city. We were even able to take in part of a prized futbol game and although we are not fans of soccer, we were caught up in the passion of the natives who seem to love the sport. It was a very nice visit. We hope to return for a more in depth visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runners_Adventures, Manager at Runners Adventures - La Romana and Altos de Chavon Shopping Half Day Tour, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your comment! This island definitely has a lot to offer, and I am very glad to hear that with the little time you had on shore, made you wanting to discover some more. See you soon for another adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A very fun and informative tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We took this ½ day tour recently and really enjoyed it. Our guide, Hector, was knowledgeable and entertaining. We first went to a small cigar factory for a tour. It was surprisingly interesting to see how they are made and how the tobacco is dried and processed. At the end of the tour is an opportunity to purchase some cigars, which we did. Next we visited the Jumbo store in La Romana for shopping. We picked up some coffee, rum, hot sauce and Dominican candies to being home as souvenirs for our family members. Prices were very good and most everything is priced in US dollars. Easy no-haggle shopping! Then we got back on the bus for the short ride to Casa de Campo to visit Altos de Chavon. It was a beautiful village built to resemble a medieval Mediterranean village. There was a huge outdoor stone amphitheater, fountain, gardens, art galleries and shops, and several restaurants. I wish we had been able to spend more time here so that we could have eaten lunch there. The views above the Chavon River are gorgeous! All of the buildings were built to look old, so it was a very authentic experience and very enjoyable. Afterwards, before boarding the bus, we were given a cup of “Dominican champagne” (rum and sprite). It was very refreshing and they pour it as strong as you want!
We also walked along the streets of La Romana to experience their outdoor “market” where the locals go to buy their fruits, vegetables, eggs and meats. Very interesting. We then were taken to a small, rather expensive, shopping center called Columbus Plaza. We did find a few unique gifts here and it was nice shopping atmosphere – no-pressure sales. Once again, before boarding the bus for our return to our hotel, we enjoyed another cup of Dominican champagne. It was a fun and interesting tour and one of the highlights of our trip. Go...you'll have a great time!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“what a gorgeous village..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I highly recommend to visit this amazing little village, such romantic place it really looks like a small french riviera. You will find nice restaurants, Quaint shops, boutiques, art galleries ,museums, a Grecian-style amphitheater & the Chavon School of Design affiliated with Parson´s School of Design in New York it is a place to be inspire...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runners Adventures - La Romana and Altos de Chavon Shopping Half Day Tour also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Runners Adventures - La Romana and Altos de Chavon Shopping Half Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runners Adventures - La Romana and Altos de Chavon Shopping Half Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.