We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
Fabius, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were at the Beach first then moved over to the Palace. We learned to sail, kayaked the ocean, set up a trip to Santo Domingo through the hotel which was a great trip, value, and experience. We loved seating on the beach relaxing reading, enjoying the drinks, I even tried the trapizee which was excellent. Check off the bucket list. The only issue was the language but it didn't bother us. We enjoyed listening to the different languages. We will defiantly go back again!

Room Tip: The beds were much more comfortable here. Again had a safe and a refrigerator, they brought is fres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    685
    254
    135
    130
See reviews for
576
668
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel shares the beach with it's "sister" hotel and the grounds on both are well kept, though the water along the nice, sandy beach is a bit too wavy for snorkeling while being just OK for swimming. The food ranged from excellent (breads, desserts, pastas) to just OK. The downside for us was the lack of (good or any) service at the front desk and through customer service. The Wi-Fi is not free and functions either very slowly or not at all. When this happened to us, we could not get a refund and the management was unavailable. On arriving at 4 pm, our room was not ready for almost an hour, even though check-in is advertised as 3 pm. We received no orientation or introduction to the hotel other than being handed a small, illustrative pamplet with a map (which actually turned out to be for the wronf hotel. we later found out) and because we were very hungry aftyer our flight and the long, 1 3/4 hr. ride from the airport, we requested information about available restaurants and we received no help at all. We are both active "senior citizens" who are well-traveled throughout much of Latin America and the Caribbean, at places both rough and lavish, and we are not particularly difficult to please. Yet, the apparent lack of caring or interest in customer service (but for lip-service) at this place managed to annoy us considerably. We stayed in one of the "oceanfront rooms" and had a relaxing week, despite the poor service, enjoying the pools, a couple of the specialty restaurants (waterfront and Mexican,) reading, and just "poking around," but it was in spite of the "service" staff (with a handful of individual exceptions at the restaurant buffet service stations and room service.) As to our recommendations, we suggest you keep looking around a bit before "jumping in" here ..............

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visited April 19-26 and it was a great vacation. We arrived in La Romana at 1400 and were at the resort, checked in and on the beach by 1530. The room was clean and well kept and we were in the 6200 block which was close to the main buffet and Palace lobby but a bit of a walk from everything else, which was never a problem.

The beach is gorgeous with lots of chairs and trees for shade if needed. There is a reef right out front and we snorkeled lots and saw lots of fish but mainly only 4-5 kinds. The pool is a good size and was never too busy. We would spend the day at the beach and move up to the pool around 1530 as that is when the entertainment would start.


The food was good. We ate breakfasts at the main buffet in the Palace and they had an omlette station and lots of variety. Many pastries and breads as well as fresh made donuts. The al la carte dinners were all good as well but the highlight as many others have said is the Pizzeria. Fresh wood fired pizzas served late into the night and were always very tasty.

Bar service was excellent and we spent a lot of time at La Papaya Bar by the pool and the bartenders were fantastic. Always had a smile and time to chat as they are trying to learn english. Language was never an issue and it is true there are many Italians and they cater to them but it was not an issue. The entertainment on the beach and by the pool is great and to my surprise it is a group of Italians that made up the majority if the staff here but they were awesome and very sweet.

The shows we saw were decent. They put a lot of effort into them and the dancing and costumes were great. They had themes every night by the beach side after the shows where everyone gathered and danced and hung out.

I would reccommend this resort. It is clean and well kept, the food is better than average, the staff is kind and fun and it has lots to do to keep one entertained. I plan to return to this area as it is stunning and the people of the Dominican are kind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited this resort April1-April 8.Beautiful landscape,very friendly staff exept those at the front desk.I couldn't find our representative entire week ( we forgot our baby carriage at the
airport when arrived). Food is very good,italian and Bambu restaurants were our favourite.
Nobody from our family,including our children,got sick from food poisoning.I would say the only
problem for us and our three children was day and night shows in italian or spanish, no one word in english (btw,english is not our native language and even for us it was big dissapointment, although shows were very artistic and professional!).I want to mention about our departure from the airport, which was absolutely horrible!! 2.5 hours in line with tired little kids is unacceptable!Airport staff is very slow and they dont care about people!We had a nice vacation and bad departure that I will never forget.I would rather spend 2 hours in the bus,going,for example,to Santa Clara,Cuba,then 2.5 hours in line at La Romana airport.Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room were on first floor and third floor (which has a roof and looks bigger, with beautiful sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family of four has been vacationing at all-inclusives for many years and I think this one is the most beautiful of any we've been to. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept, the beach is large, lots of palm trees for shade and everything is well maintained. The food in the dining rooms is as good or better than most AI's (it's still buffet style food, though) and the one restaurant we visited, El Palco, had better than average food. The best meal in the place is the wood fired pizza at La Roca or the Pizzeria; don't miss it. Be sure to hit the lobby bar on the Palace side; they have top shelf liquor and are always friendly and inviting. The capuccino is deliciouso!
The Dominicus Beach resort is loud and lively and the Palace side is much quieter; they really don't seem to be two resorts, more like two sides of the same one. We were very satisfied with our vacation.
On the negative side, the beds are extremely FIRM and not very comfortable and the lack of English speaking staff was problematic at times. I am a pretty seasoned traveller and was able to work through the issues that arose with the language barrier, but a more timid or inexperienced English speaking traveller might not be so lucky. I would estimate that English speakers represent less than 10% of their clientele and I understand they are more eager to cater to the Portugese/Spanish/Italian guests. However, a guest is a guest and staff should be trained to refer issues to a supervisor instead of dismissing them.
There were no Spring Breakers and no swim up bars and the bar staff made an effort to keep heavy drinking under control during the daytime.
I would recommend this resort and I would visit it again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mushka
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

After being to several all inclusives this was our first time to a Dominican one. We were not disappointed as this resort exceeded our expectations. We stayed at the Palace side but were able to use all the amenities of the Dominicus Beach as well. Our room was very nice and we had a partial ocean view. There was plenty of food and choice in both buffets. All of the al a crates were exceptional as well. One of the best parts of the resort is the long stretch of white sand beach, palm trees and the beautiful Carribean sea. Never had a problem finding a chair to relax on either. Being from European decent, the cultural diversity at the resort gives it a unique European flavor that you would not experience in similar resorts in Mexico. We didn't have a problem with any of the staff members not being able to communicate in English, however, as this a resort that caters to multicultural vacationers, English should be one of the languages spoken by more staff members, especially the animation team. I can see how this may cause issues to others. The animation staff are some of the hardest working people I have ever seen trying to get people involved in various activities including dance lessons, volleyball, Zumba, water aerobic, etc. Hope to be back one day soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is an area that I know very well and this hotel has made an effort to cut down on its terrible noise from the animation music on the beach, the lobby and its bars. Unfortunately, much more needs to be done. Upper management people need to spend time there and open its eyes. The hotel manager certainly made a strong effort to contain the problem and I'm sure he attempts to continue to make it better. We wish him luck. As a customer, I was constantly informing staff of the distractions which I and others were exposed to on a daily basis. Little was done about it, because it appears that all they care about is to fill-up the hotel with as many bodies and baby-carriages they can muster from anywhere they can.
On this visit, the animation staff and music volume (with boom,boom tempo) coming from the sister hotel Dominicus Beach next door seems to be difficult to control as it travels with the wind to the Palace Hotel. Similarly with diesel fuel, from some boats that pull-up at the sports shop , that could sometimes be nauseating.
The landscaping is pleasant and relaxing and doesn't fit with the activities of the hotel. The buffet dining room, the Yucca, has a good variety of dishes on a daily basis and very well displayed which makes it appetizing. The kitchen staff does a fabulous job. But their hardwork is undermined with the MANY baby carriages and their sloppy parents who arrive and place themselves immediately in the 9 tables to the left of the entrance. This is an area that should be for adults and seniors who don't want to walk to the right side further away. The carriages carry bacteria and they're transfered into the dining room. The visual impact is distressing because older people dress-up well for the evening dinner and they're greeted by a bunch of snotty kids in baby carriages, not to mention the awful screams that go along with that. I tried to inform them that kids, sans carriages, belong at the back where they can make life miserable for their own parents. It's very serious because the hotel now caters to many cheaper fares for families coming from many parts of Europe.
One evening, in the Palace lobby trying to enjoy a quiet drink the atmosphere was turned into a hellish screaming kindergarden with Italian parents doing little to control their kids from running around and giving older people a headache. The guest relation girl, an inefficient girl named Irene, was told to quiet down the mess and she replied that she was off duty and went to socialize with the bartenders!
Having said all that, the food is good in all restaurants, and a new one called '25' made its debut this year and the chefs are doing the best possible. If only the proper environment could be given more attention. Why is there at 9.30 p.m. right above the reception an entertainment theatre without regard to those who want quiet moments below in the lobby. And the animation there goes on in one language right up to 11 p.m.There's a theatre in the next hotel -- that should be enough!
The swimming pools and whirlpools are all monopolized by dozens of kids who by the way stay and eat free up to the age of 12.Incredible!! What happens to the many adults who pay? And where can they go, except the sea? We like the hotel and hope that the problems they face could be addressed. People want to return there but find it difficult to do that if the proper setting is not introduced.



f

Room Tip: Stress the fact that you want a very quiet room, away from any animation or bar music. Ask your Tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

Address: Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham La Romana
Wyndham Resort All Inclusive Bayahibe
Viva Dominicus Palace
Bayahibe Wyndham
Wyndham Dominicus Palace
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.