We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I need help trying to call them....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmas

Las Palmas
Playa Laguna - Dominicus, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
829-850-2665
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Bayahibe
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I need help trying to call them....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are traveling to DR next week and would love to make reservations at Las Palmas. But I cannot get thru.....does anyone have any suggestion....I am calling from the US....I have been dialing 01.801.829.850.2665......is this correct?
Please help! :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    232
    14
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
red deer, alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a beautiful birthday and anniversay spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to try this small restaurant on the Dominicus Beach not just once but twice in one week! We were greeted by the owner Didier and his wife Sylvie. They welcomed us into their beach side restaurant and settled us in with a yummy cocktail. that was then followed by fish cooked in foil over the open charcoal, then baked potatoe served with cream/onion /parsley, and then for the large lobsters, that were freshly caught. After gorging ourselves with all the food a selection of liquer was brought around. The set bill for all this was just 40.00 and worth every penny of it. We enjoyed it so much we returned to celebrate a birthday/ anniversary a few days later.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Romantic setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The new restaurant that opened in 2013 behind the public beach area between the Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace and the Iberostar Hotels is a truly quiet and relaxing beach setting. The owner Didier and his wife Sylvie greeted us (2 couples) with a warm and genuine smile. The four lobsters, which we had ordered the day before because they had to be caught by fishermen, were grilled in front of us. We retired afterwards to sit quietly with a liqueur. The fix price per person was $40, but well worth it. A good, full and delicious meal. An Argentinian couple had referred him. We'll visit again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely place with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are in the area Bayahibe or around, as especially if you stay at on of the all-inclusive nearby, you must visit this place. Make sure to make reservations one day before and you will be served feshly caught grilled lobster and french vine by a lovely couple. The evening was fantastic and a lovely break from the all-inclusive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The great thing about TripAdvisor is finding those places that comprise the 'highlight reel' of a great trip. Las Palmas is that and more. Tucked away on the beach between big hotel properties and a nearly impossible to find parking lot, it is an oasis in a myriad of ways. Simplistic, yet stylish, you walk in to the effusive warmth of Didier. It doesn't matter that Didier only speaks French. All understand the true signs of hospitality and welcome. Nice music, tables literally sitting on the sand on the beach and the aroma of grilled lobster and fish. The menu is limited, but the vibe is fantastic. This is a don't miss place if you are in Bayahibe, but it is also clearly worth the 30 minute drive from Casa de Campo. Get off campus and immerse yourself in the graciousness of Didier and Marino (who speaks about 7 languages!). We loved our time at Las Palmas

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Palmas also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.