We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus to your Saves list
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bayahibe
Ravenna, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My girlfriend and i spent six days here before heading to our usual place (iberostar bavaro) for a nice 26 day vacation. we liked a lot of the things here and had only a few small things we didnt like. to start reception was fantastic! francesca (i believe) was sooooo nice. she gave us all the info about the resort and was just fantastic to talk to. we were placed in a lower level room by the pool (not what we requested) and actually liked it a lot. the room was very spacious, simple and clean. the buffet was very good. not as big as we are used to but still a very nice selection and all very tasty. the grounds were very well kept and beautiful to look at and walk around. the pool area was spactacular. three different pools one off to the side for games and such and two huge pools. they also have a bar and the lunch buffet area was next to the pool area. the lunch buffet was excellent. the beach was small but nice. on the left of the beach bar it is rocky but to the right the sand iscourse and deep and the water is perfect. if all you want is great, calm,clear water this place for you. the beach also had a grill that was awesome. a good snack selection with a very nice place to sit and enjoy eating. the beach bar is a big lighthouse. very cool to look at but no so cool to relax at. this thing has no shade. after a beer or two you are burning up and have to go. whatever you are drinking gets warm very fast. a lot of people love to sit , meet and talk to people at beach bars. not here. the other problem i had with the beach and pool bars was the smell from the beer tap drains. wow it was bad in both areas. and not once did i see them taken apart and cleaned. im very surprised at this. the rest of the resort is spotless and really a joy to visit. also if you do not get to the beach early (7:00 is late) you will probably not get a palapa. not sure why but everyone runs to the beach before the sun comes up to get a spot. this wasnt a huge deal for us because we get up really early. the staff was very nice,the bartenders, cooks, wait staff , star friends,grounds crew,reception and bell boys all deserve a huge "thank-you" for the job they do! we were both impressed with how friendly they all are. all in all if they provided a small shaded area at the beach bar and cleaned the tap drains id have nothing to complain about. the hacienda is a very good hotel with a fantastic staff and beautiful beach. not disapointed we tried this hotel at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,187
    1,145
    279
    106
    57
See reviews for
1,464
2,137
61
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stay with my best friends in December. Everything was perfect! Special thanks to staff at the reception, in the restaurants and lobby bar. Special thanks to German, Lady Gaga (Star Friends) and the Russian-spoke staff(I don't remember his name, may be Victoriano). Compliment of a bottle of rum was very enjoyable. Particularly impressed with the dinner for customers who come back - it was fantastic. Thanks to management - this was 10 fantastic days!!!
Special thanks to General Maganer Amando Pozo and Executive Assistant Manager Britta Feldmeier

Room Tip: Every rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

More than I expected. I have all over the Dominican Republic. This is one of my favorite vacations.The place has good food and most important a beautiful beach. I love to swim and you can stay in the water all day.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays and for taking the time to write your review in Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that our beautiful premises, especially our beach, and our varied gastronomy ensured you a memorable holiday. In Iberostar we are on the best beaches worldwide.
We kindly invite you to contact us before your next visit; we will be happy to welcome you back.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was the second time we'd stayed at an Iberostar all inclusive. Our first was in Playa Del Carmen a couple of years ago. We liked the Iberostar for it's consistent service, good food (not gourmet, but solid for an all inclusive), and options for activities, if you choose. What we found at the Hacienda was in line with our experience in Mexico with a few exceptions:

ACTIVITIES: Variety of activities was adequate, but not overwhelming. We enjoyed many things at the Mexico location that weren't available at the D.R. location. Pottery painting on the beach, a lazy river, etc... However, we knew these weren't available when we booked.

Note: They did have an EXCELLENT man made reef, just 30 or 40 yards off the beach. There was an abundance of marine life, including, many species of fish, sea urchins, coral, etc... If you have snorkel gear, don't miss it! We also snuck a dinner roll from the dining room and fed the fish. They were very happy!

FOOD: Overall, the food quality wasn't as appealing as the Mexico resort. However, we didn't lose weight and were always able to find something to satisfy our hunger pangs. We actually had room service snacks delivered 3 nights while we were there, and we very satisfied with our food.

SERVICE: Others commented on the quick removal of dishes by the wait staff being a negative. We thought this was great! The resort was pretty crowded, since we were there over Thanksgiving week. We never encountered anything negative from the service staff.

Note: We were there during the Russian invasion and I have never seen such an unruly bunch of undisciplined children in my entire life! The were rude to the staff and acted more entitled than any brat Hollywood could dream up. The staff was incredibly patient with them and treated them with respect, even though they didn't deserve any. I would say the staff should be commended for the way they handled the juvenile delinquents that were forced upon them.

TOURS: We took two tours while there. The first was the Catamaran to Saona Island. I wouldn't recommend this tour to anyone whose ever been to a beach. Because that's all it really is. You are taken on a nice Catamaran, which takes 4EVER to get to the island. You are given a 35 yard wide stretch of beach to sun on, swim around, fed a decent lunch. Then you are packed up after an hour and a half and given a speedboat ride to a shoreline that extends 200 yards from the shore and anchored next to about 30 boats. You are told to look for starfish, and magically, the guide finds a couple of them, you hold them out of the water, take a photo and hand it to the next person in line. I think they bring the starfish with them and toss them in the water while no one is looking. The whole trip is billed as a full day excursion and you're actually on the water from about 10 a.m. and dropped off at your hotel around 2:30. Definitely NOT worth the money!

Second tour was the Safari Expedition. We really enjoyed this and felt we got our money's worth. You are picked up early at your hotel and are loaded onto a large open air safari style jeep. We drove through cities, rural areas, stopping at a local school, a sugar cane field, a coffee, cocoa plantation, Excellent buffet authentic lunch, river area to cool off, cigar rolling, a horseback ride, shopping areas, etc... It TRULY was a full day excursion and well worth the money spent, which was LESS than the tour above. I'd highly recommend this tour!

Overall, I would go back to an Iberostar. I don't know that I'd go back to this one, but that has more to do with not repeating the destinations we travel to, than a direct reflection on this hotel.

Last I'll say, is that we thoroughly enjoyed the D.R. and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,
First at all, we thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your experience at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo and his team, we want to express how pleased we are to read that you had enjoyed another memorable holidays although our gastronomy did not meet your expectations based on your experience in Mexico. As you have lived twice, in Iberostar we are committed to ensure memorable holidays to our “stars” on vacation.
We hope to welcome you again in any of our more than 100 hotels and resorts worldwide. Feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next holiday.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Arrived 3rd December for our fifth holiday at the Hacienda – can’t believe it was a year ago, felt like only yesterday. Got the room we had requested, so a perfect start to our holiday. The buildings and gardens looked as pretty as usual complemented by the Christmas decorations. Greeted like old friends by staff, but newcomers are made to feel welcome too as everyone is friendly here. Always spotlessly clean public areas.

We have made adverse comments this year but despite those we will still be considering going again because the friendly, hardworking staff and beautiful setting make this hotel worth coming to.

Notably a change of client this time a large percentage being Russian. Far fewer Americans, Canadians and British than before. Spoke to guests who were also here earlier in the year and the ratio of Russians then too was far higher than other nationalities. We met and talked to at least 8 nationalities nice to know what’s happening around the world.

Problems with selfish guests reserving two lots of sunbeds for themselves, so they could move between beach and pool, consequently many beds were not being used most of the day. The hotel supplies large quantities of beds but there is a shortage of sunshades on the beach because environmentally the hotel is only allowed a certain number. Management sent out notes regularly saying beds could not be reserved but this did not solve the problem – if you were not up by 6 a.m. you stood no chance of getting a bed on the beach, and certainly not one with a sunshade. You cannot fault the hotel only the selfish guests.

Problems too in the restaurants because of the amount of food being heaped up on plates by so many guests it was difficult for staff to keep up with replenishing items. You saw the same guests putting even more “goodies” into their bags to take out! As this is an all-inclusive resort with a restaurant within yards of the pool and beach ,food is available all day so we could not understand the mentality of the guests doing this.

The peacocks have bred and there are too many now roaming the pools and grounds, they may be pretty birds but they are messy. Apparently previous guests have requested them. We think they are a mistake however if you like an early morning call (squawk) from 5 a.m. onwards they could be considered an asset - you may be early enough to get a bed on the beach!

Food quality is good although the selection this year was monotonous; maybe the economic situation is having an effect as we noticed on European holidays earlier in the year. For a change try one of the themed restaurants. We have never had any tummy bugs at this hotel.

Good sized bedrooms in seven individual blocks, each built around a themed garden. Fridge was always kept well stocked with drinks and large bottles of water supplied in bathroom for teeth cleaning. $2 per day for safety deposit box. Towels changed upon request, our maid even changed them when not requested and room was cleaned thoroughly.

Pleasant paths through gardens when fine but all blocks are interconnected so you don’t get wet if it rains.

Spa is being operated in Block 7 temporarily as renovation work is being done in the Gym/Spa areas.

There is a huge pool here with a big sloping area which is ideal for smaller children and non-swimmers. The pool is never crowded and, of course, there is the swim-up bar if needed. There is a separate deeper pool near the main pool and another pool which is used for water-polo or other games. Towels supplied from pink building near pool, replace them each day or ask for a towel card and get them the next day.

Table tennis near pool area. Pool tables and small library in hotel area but as more people are using Kindle there are a lot less books available than previously.

The beach is deeply shelving at the moment, more so than last year, may have been caused by the high winds during the hurricane season, and a little difficult to get in if you have difficulties – having said that it was very enjoyable and if you walked further along the beach was flatter. Vendors do not bother you on the beach. There are authorised vendors allowed in the hotel on Saturdays but a simple “No thank you” and they do not bother you.

We don't go to the Theatre but others who did seemed to enjoy it, and we would like to say the Star Friends do work hard to keep the guests entertained throughout the day.

Everyone here does there best to make your holiday a very enjoyable experience and we would like to wish them all a Happy Christmas and a Prosperous New Year.

Room Tip: Blocks 1,2,5 and 6 nearer restaurants and bars, 3,4,6 and 7 nearer pool and beach. All pretty none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear guest,
On the behalf of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager and his team, we would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus as your holiday’s destination and for having taken time to post a review about your fifth experience among us.
We are very pleased to read your positive comments about the beauty of our premises, our varied gastronomy and the service provided by our friendly team. In Iberostar we aim to ensure our guests a memorable holiday. We are pleased to read that your recent experience was a wonderful one.
On the other hand, we apologize for the inconveniences regarding our sunbeds and shades at the beach. We are working hard to solve this issue as soon as possible without affecting the holidays and the harmony between our beloved guests.
We are looking forward to see you again, we stay at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This whole trip was about relaxing and enjoying my sister and her boyfriend's company and my husband and I were able to do just that with the help of this Iberostar resort. We landed at what I would call a quiet(as an airport can be) non crazy type atmosphere perfect to start our vacation ,La Romana Airport I suggest it to everyone who can land there no lines anywhere! It's just a short trip to the resort from there,no bumpy roads can't guarantee no crazy driver but the scenery nice and green. When we got there we were promptly treated well by the front staff and courteously taken to our room which was in the 3rd building first floor which we didn't mind. It was very close to the pool and the beach a short walk to the buffet which was a welcome to work off some of the extra pounds we knew we were acquiring.
The rooms were kept very clean they fumigated once while we were there which was good I hate bugs. I only saw 2 centipedes in room whole time we were there I was impressed no spiders not even an ant .I was even impressed around the grounds and buildings didn't see any spiders or other creepy crawlers .The grounds of the resort were immaculate there were always men trimming trees picking up garbage and general upkeep. Plenty of flowers in bloom trees galore,different types of greenery made this site very lush looking!
People seemed to gather towards the white sands of the beach because if you weren't down there by 6:30A.M. you probably had a hard time finding a decent spot to sit a spot with shade impossible. The water was quite calm no big waves like Punta Cana and bottom relatively smooth very few rocks.There is a drop off as you first walk in that you have to time just right so you don't fall in or as you get out, I should say as I did, but the average person didn't seem to have any trouble at all.The waters beautiful !
We found the food at the buffet just average .The average all-inclusive type stuff but when it came to the specialty restaurants they were excellent. WE went to the steak house first some had the tenderloin which was very good and others had the rib-eye not bad. We then the next time visited the Mexican and don't be afraid of this one it was great they had chip and salsas , taquitos,fajitas, other little munchies set upfront to taste before dinner they weren't all spicy either .We Had the Kebab excellent choice they had such unique flavor I think it was the tequila but they were good!Our next venture was the Colonial we saved the best for last I started out with the shrimp cocktail in a pineapple (so appetizing) wait til you see the presentation on this one , then had the lobster with risotto (best I've had in years) and finished with the cream puffs in chocolate sauce (don't drool) all was as it sound to die for .The specialty restaurants made up for what was lacking in the buffet food. The buffet did have it's moment also of great dishes too.
We tipped the maid extra to leave extra water and diet coke a little tip goes a long way.When we left we made sure we tipped all our favorites as we did each day so after 7 days we left to our almost private airport.

Room Tip: 3 was right by pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus as the destination for your vacations and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo and his team, we would like to express how pleased we are to read that you and your relatives enjoyed for a relaxing holiday at our beautiful hotel premises due to the friendliness of our staff members, our specialty restaurants and the cleanness of our grounds. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable vacations to our beloved “stars”.
We hope to welcome you back again, please contact us before your arrival.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed from 12/1 - 12/8. Great hotel. Clean beach,clear and calm water. Only you have to get up like 6 am to reserve place on the beach. By 6:30 they all taken. Special thanks to Tiago scuba diving instructor he was very helpful. If anybody would like to get certified he is the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays and for taking time to share your comments.
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed a memorable stay due to the beauty of our beach. In Iberostar we are on the best beaches worldwide.
We will be honored to welcome you back again. Feel free to dontact us prior your arrival.
With the best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Address: Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on a fantastically beautiful, fine sandy beach. Around 5 km from the finish village of Bayahibe. Top 5-star luxury. Tropical gardens. Varied gastronomy. Water sports galore. Spa & Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., VISIT US, INC. , Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar La Romana
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.