We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort , will come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Bayahibe
Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great resort , will come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Amazing beach,great food in buffet and restaurants. Landscape simply amazing so clean . Rooms pretty nice too comfortable and large. Me and my wife stayed there in july 2012 and it's was one the best places we stayed. Thank you Iberostar for great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for posting a review in Tripadvisor about your experience in Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we also thank you for choosing our premises for your vacation.
We want to express you how glad we are to hear that you had enjoyed a “great vacation” as you wrote it in the review during your visit on July. We appreciate your motivating comments about our beautiful premises and facilities and the service provided by our friendly staff. In Iberostar we want to ensure memorable stays to our beloved guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,220
    829
    225
    94
    52
See reviews for
1013
1487
46
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived Nov 1, and the ride was just right from the LaRomana airport. The airport was such an improvement from the lines at Punta Cana, we were off to a great start.

We have been to the DR more than 10 times and always loved Punta Cana, this year we decided to go to the other side of the island. We heard the water was dramatically different from the Atlantic side and to put it mildly, it was awesome. We spent most of our days at the beach; the pool was nice but we came for the sand and water. The lighthouse bar was terrific.
The landscaping was beautiful throughout the hotel. The food was very good, there were always many choices and all of them pleasing. We greatly enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer and will not hesitate going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guests,
First we thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for enjoying your holiday and for publishing your experience on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we want to express our satisfaction to read your kind comments about the beauty and care of our facilities, especially the gardens. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our landscape in the best conditions. Our gardeners and maintenance staff are proud to know that their work left such a good impression.
We will be glad to welcome you back. Feel free to contact us before your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

stayed at the Hacienda Bayahibe La Romana to finish a two week stay in Dominica-.very nice.. hotel is clean with long cool open corridoors to reception areas. I stayed in a junior suite overlooking the beach . the gardens are a real pleasure to walk in-.the entertainment and shows are very profesional, and the staff all have a smile for the guests- the maids seem to take pleasure in making the rooms up so nicely-the gardeners take pride in maintaning the grounds- the food in the buffet was good with lots of choices-also thanks to Andres and the other reception staff for being so helpful---- ( hotel seemed to be rather full I think with many russians a shame they they didn"t smile or thank the staff)

Room Tip: I stayed in a junior suite very nice comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you for posting a review about your stay at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very satisfied to acknowledge that your vacation among us was memorable due to the beauty of our premises, our daily activities and nightly shows as well as the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”. We have communicated your motivating lines to Andres and the whole Front Desk team who are glad to know that their work contributed in your happy stay.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for the first time at the Iberostar. We were impressed from the moment we arrived until the last moment of our two weeks in paradise. This resort really has everything from daily ocean aerobics as "Lady Ga Ga" called them to amazing snorkeling just off the beach. The rooms were spacious and immaculate for cleanliness and we loved the refrigerated bottled water that was refilled upon need by our cleaning staff. There was a large variety of food and the specialty restaurants were a welcome treat when you wanted to change things up. The staff were always smiling and were genuinely warm and caring individuals. These touches just enhanced our experience. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone as you will not be disappointed. The beach was by far the nicest on our stretch of resorts. We had read to bring water shoes because of rocks and we found they were not necessary unless you were right by the lighthouse beach bar. So we would recommend you leave them at home. The sand was powdery soft and the waters were calm and inviting and you could wade out quite far before it was over your head. We did find though that you needed to be up literally at the crack of dawn if you wanted chairs under a beach umbrella and especially if you wanted to be oceanfront. That was really okay as it was so serene at that time of the day. If you are a person who likes to be busy then you can do the games, Spanish lessons, dance lessons and more. If you just want to relax then that is also an option. Lots of food, drink and activities and a spectacular location as it is only a few minutes from the airport. It was a pleasure always to go back to our room to see what towel art and other interesting touches were added to our room. Always inviting with a flower here and there. Just lovely. We will definitely return to the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus.

Room Tip: We were in building 5 and it was close to everything but then again all the buildings are situated t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for the time you took to post a review about your vacation at the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus.
We would like to express you how thankful we are to read your kind comment on Tripadvisor about the excellent value for money of our hotel chain. We are very pleased to read your motivating valuation about our varied gastronomy, the beauty of our premises and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. Those are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar and the key of our success.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff is amazing, food never runs out, and is good and mostly hot. Dessert scrumptous.Pleacnty of cabanas, if beach water was a bit wider would then excel. No satellite T.V., only cable. Mini bar replenished often. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays and for taking the time to share your experience with the Online Community.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and his team, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that the service of our staff members and the variety of our gastronomy ensured you memorable holidays. In Iberostar those are aspects of our philosophy as hotel chain and the key of our success worldwide.
We are already waiting for your next visit, please contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We just came back from 6 days at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus on Nov 9th. I'll start off by saying it was an amazing vacation but I'll offer some advice. We booked through CheapCaribbean.com and got transfers from Santo Domingo. I've read all the reviews from the past 6 months, and they were pretty spot on, the transfer takes about 2 1/2 hours. Honestly, it was a long day after flight and transfer but it wasn't too bad. If you can, fly into La Romana airport, but not sure which US airline flies there.
Check-in went smoothly and every member of the staff wore a smile on their face. Our room was in Bldg 5, closest to lobby, restaurants, food, and furthest from beach, but we really liked our location. It wasn't noisy and was close to everything. The rooms were nice, big shower, good furniture, and cozy little balcony. FYI, because I couldn't find this info from past reviews, they have 110V outlets.
NOTICE: The food is different! It isn't bad, but its not what you would typically find in US resorts (first time traveling international so I can't compare to other international resorts) However, the buffet was decent and there was always something to find to eat. My wife, who is a bit picky, did take a day or two to get accustomed to the food. Breakfast was one of the best meals, with an omelet station, fresh fruit, cereal, etc. We had 3 reservations and ate at the Geisha (hibachi), Steakhouse, and Colonial (upscale dining). We thoroughly enjoyed every single one! No complaints.
Ok now to the best part of the resort... the entertainment team or Star Friends... by far these people do an amazing job, morning till night, nonstop, with a smile on their faces! We loved Nicolas SOS, he speaks so many languages, and we loved taking Spanish class with him. He always welcomed us and really connected with people. The rest of the group were amazing, also. I can't remember all of their names, which I apologize, but of course their is Lady Gaga, very funny character. They were not pushy, but would try to get people to do activities if they wanted, and let your guard down a little. My wife and I not only took Spanish class, but water aerobics, snorkeling, dancing lessons, ping pong, beach volleyball, and took part in their fiestas. We also went to the shows at night, which were a little repetitive but entertaining nonetheless. Great singers and dancers every night.
I do want to make note that every single member of the staff do their best with English, but they don't understand everything. Keep in mind, American tourists were definitely the minority here, as there were many Germans, Russians, Italians, you name it, but I found everybody to be very nice and accommodating.
The pool was nice and big and the beach was beautiful. The pool and beach bar were very nice, my wife fell in love with the Pina Coladas, also try the Mama Juana (lol). The beach seemed to fill up the fastest, but we were able to get a hut (forget what they're called) before 10am. The huts at the pool seemed be open much later. The water at the beach was beautiful, a little wavy, but not rocky at all! There are some little rocks and shells at spots, and like 2 big rocks but compare this to the Jersey shore and this is nothing! There is also a man-made reef not too far off the beach, where I was able to snorkel and find several different kinds of fish, just not very colorful.
Overall we loved it, and would love to go back in the future! Feel free to contact me with any questions.

Room Tip: Bldg 5 was closest to everything but furthest away from beach, pool, and perhaps noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus as your holiday’s destination and also for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, and his team, we would like to express how glad we are to read that you had enjoyed from a beautiful experience during your visit to our hotel premises. It is a pleasure to read your kind comments about the friendliness and service of our staff members, especially from the Star Friends: Lady Gaga and Nicholas. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We are already willing to welcome you back again, please contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We just returned from Iberostar Hacienda in Bayahibe and overall we had a great time!
The staff was very friendly and was constantly asking for feedback, the food was wonderful and fresh however there were some minor drawbacks:
The Spa is under re-construction. They still offer spa services (using the hotel rooms) but there is no jacuzzi and sauna available. We were told the building should be ready in about another month or so.
There are alot of room re-construction going on right now. They don't start working on the rooms until shortly after 10am but if you are late sleepers like us, this can be somewhat of a "wake up" call.
The rooms are dated; there arent many electrical outlets and those that do exist only have 2 prongs (no grounding) bring adapters - 3 to 2 prong adapters.
There is no free wifi available. You have to pay about $3 per day for it and you can surf from your hotel room but even at the central lounge, you have to pay for wifi. This is the first Iberostar resort that did not offer free wifi at the central lounge.
They charge for room safe. I don't know why they do - also the first time we were charged for this service.
Other than these minor issues, we really enjoyed it. the beach and clean were kept clean, there are not outsiders that come in and haggle you. There are some beach shops (cabanas) where you can buy cheaper than resort shop and the staff is very friendly. We flew in via Punta Cana which was only 45 minutes but flew out via Santo Domingo which was alomost 2 hour ride.
We would like to return and by then all the re-construction should be complete.

Room Tip: Building 6 and 7 are best! - they are poolside and halfway between beach and restaurants. Bring ada...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear jerseyxguy,
On behalf of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your family vacation and for posting a review in Tripadvisor about your experience.
We would like to express how pleased we are to read that you and your family enjoyed “a great time” due to the kindness and excellent service of our team and despite our refurbishing works. In Iberostar we aim to ensure unforgettable holidays to our “stars”. Likewise, we extend our apologies for any inconveniences. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our premises.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please contact us before your arrival,
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Also Known As:
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Bayahibe
Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar Hotel Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar La Romana
Iberostar Hacienda
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe
Address: Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on a fantastically beautiful, fine sandy beach. Around 5 km from the finish village of Bayahibe. Top 5-star luxury. Tropical gardens. Varied gastronomy. Water sports galore. Spa & Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, VISIT US, INC. , Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.