We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were looking for just a place to eat and found this awesome restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saona Cafe

Saona Cafe
1 Calle La Bahia, Bayahibe 12345, Dominican Republic
+1 809-833-0541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Hamburgers, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Algonac, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We were looking for just a place to eat and found this awesome restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

When we first arrived in Bayahibe we walked around town to get a feel for where things were and maybe have a Presidente! When we got to the Saona Cafe there where a bunch of people at the bar and a few sitting for meals. It had this great vibe, people having fun and a great view of the harbor. We ended up having dinner here 2 nights and breakfast on our way out of town. Friendly service and did I mention the view?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    54
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Good service and right on the beach. We only had a couple of beers but we were made welcome. We needed a good beer before walaking back to our hotel.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great beach bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Great beach bar. We walked to it from the Dreams La Romana on the beach. Had a beer......walked in town, had some ice-cream.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana Province, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat,drink and meet people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Great food with a nice view. Good choice of wines. The owners are really nice and taking care of the customers. The staff is outstanding and you could be serve in French,English,Spanish and Italian.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Bayahibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

What a fun spot and great addition to the town of Bayahibe. We arrived in the late afternoon after taking the quaqua ($1/each) from our resort near Dominicus. It was so nice to get off the resort for a change of pace and explore the town to see the real DR. We had heard about the Saona Café through Tripadvisor and had looked forward to visiting. It is a beautiful, little spot near the bay. They had an extensive drink and food menu-I enjoyed my wine and my husband commented on just how cold his Presidente was. After, we explored the town and came back after sunset to enjoy the wonderful evening atmosphere. We decided on appetizers, but would go back for lunch or dinner next time as all the food they brought out looked excellent! It was a great mix of locals and tourists. We met and enjoyed visiting with Denise from Discover Bayahibe on fb and her husband, Vlad. Denise had helped in planning our trip. The owner was so much fun and visited with our group during the evening. They called a cab for us at the end of the evening and we took that home.($10) It was 2 miles or so back to the resort. The owners and all of the staff were as pleasant and as helpful as can be.It was a Friday night and music was playing and everyone was having an amazing time. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saona Cafe also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Saona Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saona Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.