We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A STOP YOU MUST MAKE WHEN YOU GO TO BAYAHIBE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saona Cafe

Saona Cafe
1 Calle La Bahia, Bayahibe 12345, Dominican Republic
+1 809-833-0541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 restaurants in Bayahibe
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Bar, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A STOP YOU MUST MAKE WHEN YOU GO TO BAYAHIBE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's the best "informal" restaurant in town with great employees and the owners are the perfect hosts. They make you feel your are friends not only a client. You can feel the warmth in their approach to the client and this is priceless...

Food is great - innovative and not expensive and with a lot of taste. Try the Lion Fish specialty -really good

One thing I liked is the diversity of wine - they let you taste before you buy if you are not sure but there is no way you will refuse the offer and continue.

Cheers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Informal we are and that's the way we like it to be! Come as you are and as you like... T-shirt and shorts for a nice cold one or all dressed up for a wine & dine seaside lionfish experience! Thank you for your great review, makes us enjoy our continuous ways of serving clients!! Till next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    118
    34
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had dinner here on a recommendation from one of the local tour guides and it was spectacular. I had a burger which I am always concerned about ordering here in the DR, but this was excellent. My wife had the chicken skewer and it was tasty as well. Both of my kids liked it as well. The service was good. The selection of food was good as well. The view of the bay is very nice to see while you are enjoying some great food. I would go back here to chow on some more delicious food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Puts a smile on our faces everytime we receive great comments like these!! Thank you very much to have taken the time to do so! We are very glad you enjoyed your family meal with us. We do hope that you can come again and visit us! Regards to everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great place to hang out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Thanks to Sharkey's Dive shop, we found this great little café right across the street. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there over the course of a few days and felt like family when we left. The owners, the Kuehne's are a lovely couple from Canada and they not only offered some awesome food with a personal touch but a make you feel welcome and relaxed. Hat's off to them both for following there hearts and dreams to live in such an amazing place and offer such wonderful food to both locals and visitors from afar! I wish them much success and highly recommend this little spot to everyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you David for your comment! Yes, we do breakfast, lunch and dinner... we even cater for excursions!! We aim to please!!! Wehope that you come and visit us again on your next scuba diving trip!! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really good freshly cooked food. Well worthy a visit. Free WiFi too. Situated in Bayhibe bay which is stunning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Yesss... FREE Wifi for all of Saona Café's clients! Be sure to ask for the password cuz it changes often!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great restaurant saona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great food and lovely people in the Saona bar /restaurant. we had a fantastic lobster meal twice. It made a nice change from the hotel food at La Romana Dreams which is just a short walk along the beach. The owner usually arranges and pays for your transport home and Sebastian dropped us back to our hotel the second time we had a meal there. Thanks to sebastian and his wife and staff for adding that extra nice touch to our holiday.The banana flambé is best pudding out of this world.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
From breakfast to 3 course lobster & lionfish meals we try to do it all!! Thank you Paul for your great review and we hope we can serve you another time very soon!! A seaside table is already waiting for your return! Bon appetit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saona Cafe also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Saona Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saona Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.