We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saona Cafe

Saona Cafe
1 Calle La Bahia, Bayahibe 12345, Dominican Republic
+1 809-833-0541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Bayahibe
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Bar, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I went to this place everyday fro a week. They have friendly service, great food, low prices, wifi and a view. You can't beat that!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
That you for your review, always a pleasure to see the locals giving their approval of our little piece of paradise... Well, at least we think so!! Come back and see us soon! Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    39
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BestCafeInBayahibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The best food & view in Bayahibe...The staff are fantastic and the atmosphere is fun...We would eat here 7 days a week if they were open every day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review!! It would in fact be a great idea to stay open 7 days a week but we do enjoy our Mondays off... Sort of a guilty pleasure!! Hope to see you amongst us again very soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool little beach cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fun little cafe right on the beach. Price is right for everything, great music, only wish we would have made it for happy hour!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
And we thought it was Happy Hour all the time here at Saona Café! ;-) We'll have to correct that!!! Thanks for the review, always appreciated! Come back see us again soon for a mojito by the beach!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I live in Bayahibe, and treat myself to a meal from Saona Café as much as possible! I absolutely love it, Not only does it do great food, the staff are very attentive and friendly, and Sebastian and MJ who run the place are such nice people!
They have just updated the menu so it is EVEN better now! But my firm favorite is the henhouse burger (fried chicken) and the fries are to die for, I am sure they use a secret ingredient to make them taste so good!
I took some friends who were visiting me from my native England and one of my friends said the Saona burger (hamburger) was the best burger he had ever had! (and people from England eat a lot of burgers!)
If you are visiting Bayahibe, Saona Café has got to be on your wish list - you wont regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks Louise for your great review, it's always nice to see that we also please the locals!! See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply superb!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wow, Saona Cafe! What a great find in Bayahibe, the little fisherman town at a walking distance from Dreams our hotel. Yes, we did take a stoll without any problems, safe and fun! When we got to the village, we stopped to get drinks & burgers at this small joint and we where greeted by the frendliest staff! My wife says the mojitos are fa-bu-lous and as for me, an ice cold Presidente was the way to go! You have to try the ''bacon-pear'' burger OMG! We met Mary the owner and recommeded that we come back for dinner to taste the lionfish platter. Lionfish??? What a treat!! We enjoyed it so much we headed back for lobster and filet mignon the next evening! Service was excellent & it's right on the beach. They are open late and it's a great place for cocktails! We hope to be back very soon... Brianda, Francy-Italia, Mary and chefs, all the best to you all and thanks for all the helpfull tips on making our trip all that much better!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you Gerry for your great review!! It always us smile when we read about clients that have tried many different things from our menu. Indeed Lionfish is great and definitely our favorite thing on our menu!! Our doors (well... panels!!!) are always open to you!! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saona Cafe also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Saona Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saona Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.