We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PePe and Sara are the best!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayahibe Fishing Centre

Bayahibe Fishing Centre
Playa De Bayahibe,, Bayahibe 23000, Dominican Republic
+1 829 914 4162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 30 Activities in Bayahibe
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep Sea and Bottom Fishing trips specialist in Bayahibe/La Romana. We also do private tours to the islands.For a great day out..Come and fish with captain PEPE recognised as the best fisherman in the area. Multilingual staff with more than 20 years experience.We are based in Bayahibe Beach at Cyber Cafe Coco in Bayahibe
Divide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PePe and Sara are the best!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Enjoyed an all day charter on Sara ! with Pepe that we arranged via thier website in advance. Caught bonito, barricuda and a king fish on the deep line. Wonderful lunch on Soana Island with bbq lobster. Then the afternoon was handfishing with the yo yo reel - "traditional style." Pepe hooked a cuda and I brought it in by hand. Their hand fishing feels like fly fishing for us from Colorado. PePe and I got into a hand fishing contest in some flats between the island and the mainland. Yes I lost! He is quite a fisherman! We caught 30 fish in all!!!! My wife was aboard and enjoyed the day! She's not as serious a fisher person, but enjoyed the day as well. Also Sara went out of her way and helped us book a show at Altos De Chavon in the Casa De Campo Hotel. This is a must see! She not only booked it, but arranged and ensured ground transportation to and from. We were very well looked after by the person Sara booked our transportation with. That was an extremely nice touch to top off our vacation!!!! I hope to one day be back to out fish Pepe!!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbite, Propietario at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you and we are glad that you enjoyed your trip and show in Dominican Repubic.
Many thanks for your review and we hope to meet you another year

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    22
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH DAKOTA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THIS IS A MUST DO !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I met at the shop with Sara set up an excursion to Soana, went with Pepe and 7 others had an absolute great day. After that day 7 of us agreed that we must do more so we booked Sara for the next day to go to Catalina and had another fabulous day. Pepe and Sara treat you like family and make every moment as great as it can possibly be. Also ask Sara about the local area she sent us to some places that were awesome and we would have never known about them without her advise. We loved being in a small group and being treated as a friend more than a customer.
Thank you very much Sara and Pepe !!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbite, Propietario at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

What a great time we had all!!!!!!!!
We will never forget the Gagnam Style team

We loved to meet you

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dream excursion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Read about Saona island before our trip. I contacted Sara about the fishing and the boat trip several times. We were picked up in Punta Cana at 0720, we were boating by 0900 and arrived on a deserted Saona beach by 1045, we were with a friendly group from Spain, so Sarah translated in a timely manner. We passed beautiful resorts, fed sea gulls and saw the rocky cliffs of the national park. At the beach every one did their own activity such a snorkleling, swimming, walking/exploring the beach. Had a delicious lunch made by Pepe including BBQ fish and lobsters, we couldn't finish it all! We also had fun chatting with Sara and taking photos jumping off a large piece of drift wood! Afterwards we went see the fishing village with donations, we brought Tylenol and band aids and others bought Spanish books. We shopped a little and briefly held the tiny turtles! We later found three star fish and saw a pelican sunning on a log! I can go on and on but it was such a fantastic day and we wish we could do all over again, worth every cent! You'll love it, however if you're fragile, sit in the back of the boat! Very non commercial tour not exactly sure where but the second movie pirates of the Caribbean was filmed here! A must see while in DR!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbite, Propietario at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review

We loved to have you with such as passion for life.
It was a really pleasure to share with you experiences and we hope we can meet you again in future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVED IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

we contacted Pepe and Sara while staying at the club med about two months ago, for a different excursion than what was offered at a very high price by the hotel while staying at punta cana.
we were a family of five two adults and three childeren. went on a day long trip with pepe, for a tour of the saona island + deepp sea fishing. it was a great day the best one we had while satying in punta cana, and it was all thanks to Pepe and Sara. Sara helped with all the adminsitrative stuff like getting us a cab and the tour details, while Pepe took us around and made us a day we would not ever forget. i would recommend Bayahibe fishing center to anyone looking to do something different from the excursions offered at hotel which are both more costly and do not have any flexibility.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbite, Owner at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
It was a pleasure to have you and your family on board and we are glad that you found a great experience fishing and encountaring nature.

We hope to meet you again soon in paradaise!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best part of our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The excursion to Saona Island we took with them was the best part of our vacation. We truely recommend that anyone looking to go to Saona (or any of their other trips) should book with this company. I had emailed with Sara a couple weeks before our trip, and she was very helpful and nice with information on the different trips they offer. We didn't book ahead of time because my husband had never done a beach type vacation before and was not ready to commit to an excursion. A couple days after arriving to our resort, we walked into Bayahibe to book a tour. We found Bayahibe Fishing Center, and Sara was there. She talked with me, my husband, and the two friends we traveled with and gave us our options. We were able to take the trip to Saona the next day. Pepe, Sara's husband, picked us up right next to our resort beach in their speedboat. The boat holds a max of 15, so it's nice to have just a small group. We had a fun ride along the coast, along the National park, through some Mangroves, and to our destination of Saona Island. The beach we were taken to was all ours. Not another person in sight. It was like the Corona beach commercial. It was so beautiful. Take a look at the pictures. We saw other excursion companies while riding in the boat and where they were on the island, and they were with other tours with tons of people all on the beach together, and they use big boats. Way too many people at one time I think. At our private beach we had plenty of time to swim, walk, or snorkel (they provided snorkel gear). They had refreshments like water, soda, beer, rum, and such a great lunch. They grilled Dominican lobster, fish, chicken, and also had salad, potatoes, and rice/veg mix. Everything was so tasty, and the lobster of course was awesome, and there was plenty. After everyone ate, Pepe came around and gave everyone more lobster. All you can eat lobster on a gorgeous deserted beach. When all done on the beach, we got back on the boat and headed to the village of Mano Juan. We visited the turtle sanctuary and got to hold baby sea turtles :D Then we walked around town a little, and visited the "hot spot" of town and had a beer with the owner. Back to the boat and then to La Piscina Natural for a snack/drink break and to find starfish. The shallow waters were so beautiful and calm, and we got to hold a couple starfish. After all that, sadly we were headed back to our resort, and they dropped us off back at the beach at our resort. As I said, this was the best part of our trip, and the most beautiful scenery we've seen, with great food and great fun at a really good price. Thank you again to Sara and Pepe for your great company.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbite, Owner at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review.
We are glad that you enjoyed so much the trip and that you took the time to describe with detail your experience.
We hope to meet you soon in paradise!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayahibe Fishing Centre also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Bayahibe Fishing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayahibe Fishing Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.